Customer Reviews for

Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John MacArthur gives a short biography

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John MacArthur gives a short biography of 12
    biblical characters: Enoch, Joseph, Miriam (Moses' sister), Gideon and
    Samson, Jonathan (Saul's son and David's best friend), Jonah, Esther,
    John the Baptist, James the brother of Jesus, and Mark and Onesimus.
    Each account take the biblical scriptures and stories of these figures
    and retells the stories. Although I usually like John MacArthur's work,
    this book was very dry for me. I've heard the bible stories since I was
    a child and it was very boring for me to go through the same old stories
    once again. The story of Jonah and the whale again? I also found the
    lesser known stories to be stretched with lots of material that wasn't
    directly relevant. Example: Enoch is barely mentioned in the bible.
    Perhaps 4 verses in the entire Bible. So how did MacArthur turn these 4
    verses into a 20 page chapter? By going off topic and teaching on other
    things that do not directly relate to Enoch: like Noah, a long
    discussion of walking a life with God, forgiveness of sin, the substance
    of faith, fruit of righteousness, and preaching the truth. If you
    haven't heard these stories in a while, you might enjoy this book. But
    for those of us who grew up with them, we will probably be kind of bored
    with hearing the same stories again, stretched into 20 pages per story.
    Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for this unbiased
    review. I am not required to give positive reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    I am familiar with John MacArthur's ministry, but this is probab

    I am familiar with John MacArthur's ministry, but this is probably the first book of his I have ever read. And I was completely impressed. This book is Biblically based, rooted in conservative theology. He introduces us (or reminds us) of twelve very unlikely people in Scripture whom God used to do great things. You will find yourself reminded and inspired by these stories, and I learned things about Bible characters I had known all my life. MacArthur has a way of writing that is easy to read but deep and penetrating. He brings in his love and understanding of Scripture and history, and this book works very well as a devotional/Bible study. I would highly recommend this book to all people who would like to read an uplifting book for their private (or small group) devotional studies. I plan to read this book again because there is no way I picked up everything the first time!




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes By: John MacArthur I received this book

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes
    By: John MacArthur

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for a review. Twelve Unlikely Heroes caught my attention because sometimes I feel insignificant, like there is no way God could use me or my abilities to do His work. If you feel this way sometimes, too, then this book is for you. By reading the front flap we learn, “We have reason to hope. God can use anyone to accomplish His purposes. The testimonies of these biblical saints demonstrate a powerful truth—that God delights to work through weak, imperfect, and broken people in order to showcase His power, wisdom, and love.” No matter what your ability or talent, even if you think you don’t have any, God can use your willingness to show His love, truth, and glory.

    John MacArthur reveals the stories behind Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, and Mark. If God could use a rebel, a social misfit, and a coward in the Bible, He can use the same kinds of people now. All you need to supply is the willingness to do His will. As stated in the introduction, “The greatest heroes are those who are the human means God uses to change people forever—for their good and His glory.” Most of the time it is the most unexpected and ordinary people God uses. In Jonah’s case, he was running from God; he would rather die than preach forgiveness to the Ninevites. Despite his determined disobedience and running away, God still used him.

    This book is for anyone who needs encouragement or is interested in the back stories of these biblical saints. If you feel that you don’t have the ability or talent to be of use to God, be encouraged! If you are willing, God is able. Step out in faith and let Him use you to perform His glory!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I recently read a work from John MacArthur called Twelve Unlikel

    I recently read a work from John MacArthur called Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You. This is the latest work in what seems to be a series that MacArthur has put out over recent years like Twelve Ordinary Men and Twelve Extraordinary Women.

    MacArthur seeks to share some of the stories of people from the Bible that might not normally get recognized. He tells the stories of Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Mark, and Onesimus to name just a few. MacArthur seeks to take these saints who’s stories sometimes do not get the attention that others do and put a spotlight on them and how God moved in each of their lives.

    One of the things that I really liked about this book was how it did shine a light on some of the characters from Scripture that often are overlooked. Also the knowledge that MacArthur shares in these pages is good as it sets a scene and helps the reader to really “know” the characters they are reading about.

    I would highly recommend that you give this book a read if you haven’t already. It is not a long read, but it will intrigue you and may even help you to see some of these “unlikely heroes” in a more clear light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    This is the overview of twelve people in the Bible who did not s

    This is the overview of twelve people in the Bible who did not seem to be destined for greatness. Many of them had humble beginnings, and most of them failed greatly, so much so that we would write them off God’s “useable” list. Those written about are: Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon and Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James the brother of our Lord, Mark and Onesimus. The author takes us through the problems each faced, to the beautiful way God used their lives.

    This is the overview of twelve people in the Bible who did not seem to be destined for greatness. Many of them had humble beginnings, and most of them failed greatly, so much so that we would write them off God’s “useable” list. Those written about are: Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon and Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James the brother of our Lord, Mark and Onesimus. The author takes us through the problems each faced, to the beautiful way God used their lives.

    There were many points in this book that required a highlighter! I love to read how God takes a weakness, and makes Himself great through them. One of my favorites was the chapter on Gideon and Samson. Gideon started out as such a coward, and as Mr. MacArthur points out, “That the Lord selected Gideon as the answer to deliver Israel is proof that His power cannot be limited even by the most unlikely human instrument.” And in bold contrast, Samson was too strong for his own good. He was strong enough to kill with ease, but too weak to resist temptation. But God used each of them in a mighty way! Another of my favorites was reading about John the Baptist. He was SO different from any other prophet. His clothing, eating, and habits were so drastic. But he was perfect to prepare the way of the Lord, because Jesus would change things when He came. John prepared the people for some shaking up!

    A few of the chapters were a little dry, but all contained great truth. This is a very encouraging read. One of the last sentences in the book sums it up: “If God didn’t use imperfect people, He wouldn’t have anyone to use.”

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    How often as a Christian do you feel that God must have made a m

    How often as a Christian do you feel that God must have made a mistake by calling you to serve Him? How often does it ring in your mind “I can’t do this, I’m too weak.” or “I certainly don’t know enough to help someone, other people should be doing this.”  I know I have felt that way plenty of times. But the great thing is the God who calls us is the God who equips us. And that is exactly what John MacArthur points to in Twelve Unlikely Heroes. 
    Twelve Unlikely Heroes is a book about the men and women who peppered Scripture that served God in a mighty way. From the Old Testament to the New Testament MacArthur shows the different people who were recorded not for the sake of a good story but for the glory of God.  Stories of women like Esther and what she did for her people, men like Samson who were so strong yet so weak are found in this book. 
    The book is well written, much in the same vain as Twelve Ordinary Men and Twelve Extraordinary Women. The chapters are fairly short, most around 20 pages in length, and this makes a great format to read this book over several weeks without fear of losing your place or forgetting what you read. In the hardcover edition the spacing and font provides the reader with room to make notes, if desired. 
    I also like the people MacArthur chose because within the chapters there is much to be gleaned for personal understanding, even some application. And it is a great way to start introducing these people to your family. I’d recommend going through this book with your family and then reading in the Bible more about these men and women.
    Overall it is a short read, even at 200+ pages, and it is a great way to find a place to jump into Scripture. As I read the book I found myself reexamining these people and really looking at myself. In the end this book helped me to see the bigger picture that God has for us.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book! It helped guide my own bible study b

    I really enjoyed this book! It helped guide my own bible study by helping me remember that the characters in the bible are real people! Several characters really sparked my curiosity and made me dig deeper into learning about them. Overall, I think this would be a fantastic book for anyone looking to dig deeper into the Old and New Testament

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John Macarthur Twelve Unlikely Heroes

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John Macarthur
    Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John Macarthur
























    I always like to find a book that i like so much that i get my hi-lighter out and go to town.In this case I found that book in Twelve Unlikely Heroes by Thomas Nelson Publishing.I loved reading this for the notes alone.The book centers around lesser known people in the Bible,and it tells their stories and shows us that God can use anyone at anytime for his will.We have to understand we are all created in his image and with a purpose .This wonderfully written book by Pastor John Macarthur once again he delivers with a great book with answers to what we seek.Are you someone who is wondering why you are here and what does God want you to do? This is defnately  a must read for you.The stories are told like you've never read them and so easy to understand.This is a book i will read again just to remind me  that  God can use me like he can use anyone.Must read Purchase this book it will change your walk with God. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    John MacArthur in his new book , ┬┐Twelve Unlikely Heroes┬┐ publis

    John MacArthur in his new book , “Twelve Unlikely Heroes” published by Thomas Nelson shows us How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You.

    From the back cover: What kind of people does God use to accomplish His work?

    Far from the children’s tales depicted in picture books and nursery rhymes, the men and women highlighted in the Bible were unnervingly real. They faltered. They struggled. And at times, they fell short. Yet God worked through them in surprising and incredible ways to accomplish His purposes. Scripture does not hide their weaknesses, caricature their strengths, or spin their stories as a display of human nobility. Instead, it describes these heroes of the faith with unflinching honesty and delivers an unexpected ending: “God is not ashamed to be called their God” (Hebrews 11:16).

    In Twelve Unlikely Heroes, pastor and best-selling author John MacArthur uses his deep knowledge of the Bible and history to take us back to see these three-dimensional men and women in their own times and cultures. In doing so, it becomes clear how their dramatic stories apply to us today. People who might at first seem foreign quickly become familiar and unforgettable—particularly as they reveal the true Hero behind every witness, the power counterbalancing every weakness, “the Author and Finisher of our faith” (Hebrews 12:1).

    Okay let’s do word association. When I say “Hero” what image pops into your mind? For some people the image might be Superman or Batman. For others it might be some valiant military figure. More than likely whatever image popped into your mind it was someone who got a lot of press. Most times we don’t think of ourselves as heroes nor do we think of the person we work with or go to church with as heroes. John MacArthur shows us that God sees heroes in the most unlikely of individuals. He presents twelve portraits of men and women who are heroes in the Bible. Most of them even show up in special honor listed in the hall of faith. You know what the nice thing is about reading of these men and women? If God sees heroes in them and He is no respecter of persons then He can see heroes in us. I think you will want to give this book to family and friends so that they can have a new perspective of who and what a hero is according to God. They will always remember your gift and thank you for it. I recommend this book highly!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes John MacArthur 2012 pages 221 Book De

    Twelve Unlikely Heroes

    John MacArthur

    2012

    pages 221

    Book Description
    What kind of people does God use to accomplish His work?

    Far from the children’s tales depicted in picture books and nursery rhymes, the men and women highlighted in the Bible were unnervingly real. They faltered. They struggled. And at times, they fell short. Yet God worked through them in surprising and incredible ways to accomplish His purposes. Scripture does not hide their weaknesses, caricature their strengths, or spin their stories as a display of human nobility. Instead, it describes these heroes of the faith with unflinching honesty and delivers an unexpected ending:“God is not ashamed to be called their God” (Hebrews 11:16).

    In Twelve Unlikely Heroes, pastor and best-selling author John MacArthur uses his deep knowledge of the Bible and history to take us back to see these three-dimensional men and women in their own times and cultures. In doing so, it becomes clear how their dramatic stories apply to us today. People who might at first seem foreign quickly become familiar and unforgettable—particularly as they reveal the true Hero behind every witness, the power counterbalancing every weakness, “the Author and Finisher of our faith” (Hebrews 12:1).

    Since I loved the previous two books with similar titles by John MacArthur, I was thrilled to review his newest book, Twelve Unlikely Heroes. Like Twelve Extraordinary Women and Twelve Ordinary Men, John MacArthur’s book is well written and easy to understand. He tells each of the heroes’ stories in an interesting way that demonstrates how God used these people for His purpose and how they became heroes in the faith. More then a retelling, the stories focused on the events that shaped each of these unexpected people into a hero. The book flowed from one chapter to the next, highlighting a hero starting with Enoch in Genesis. The other heroes included in this book were Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John, James, Mark, and Onesimus. Chapter 5, the story of Jonathan, was my personal favorite.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: This book was provided, by Booksneeze, in exchange for an honest opinion. No other compensation was received. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1