Customer Reviews for

Twelve Years a Slave

Average Rating 4
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Always Read the Book First - Highly Recommended

If you're familiar with slave narratives, read this and understand the brutal language of slavery accompanied with your own personal experience with freedom. I had always wondered how slavery had been deemed as a 'peculiar' institution, and the narrator uses this term a...
If you're familiar with slave narratives, read this and understand the brutal language of slavery accompanied with your own personal experience with freedom. I had always wondered how slavery had been deemed as a 'peculiar' institution, and the narrator uses this term as if to say, "I experienced it. It's brutal, I can't honestly understand how I lived through it."

The language can be a bit a difficult at times, but I read it fairly quickly, and some of the descriptions brought me to tears. It was in utter helplessness the slave Northup experienced whippings and witnessed acts of cruelty. Moving, cruel and brutal most of the time.

I know there's a movie out now. I don't know if I can see it. Reading it was tough. Using my imagination, I cried. Seeing it on the movie screen, I don't know if I have the stomach for it.

Consider reading Frederick Douglas or even Harriet Tubman's slave narratives as well.

posted by Love2ReadGC on January 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

rip of

The sample is only the table of contents

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Always Read the Book First - Highly Recommended

    If you're familiar with slave narratives, read this and understand the brutal language of slavery accompanied with your own personal experience with freedom. I had always wondered how slavery had been deemed as a 'peculiar' institution, and the narrator uses this term as if to say, "I experienced it. It's brutal, I can't honestly understand how I lived through it."

    The language can be a bit a difficult at times, but I read it fairly quickly, and some of the descriptions brought me to tears. It was in utter helplessness the slave Northup experienced whippings and witnessed acts of cruelty. Moving, cruel and brutal most of the time.

    I know there's a movie out now. I don't know if I can see it. Reading it was tough. Using my imagination, I cried. Seeing it on the movie screen, I don't know if I have the stomach for it.

    Consider reading Frederick Douglas or even Harriet Tubman's slave narratives as well.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    To audrey..jacob..erik..terra..etc

    U r all s bunch of idiots

    3 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Disturbing

    My review is going to be short. Most people are remarking about the 500 lashes not being realistic. Those who know their history are aware many slaves were cut to bits, disfigured and killed by being lashed to death. One account I read said when the owner's arm became tired, he had his overseer take over the beatings or even had the slaves finish the job. One account had a woman boiled alive for visiting the grave of her child, then her bones and broth were poured over the grave and the dogs set free to eat it. Slaves were considered to be lower than animals. It was not unusual for women for women to have their breasts lashed off. Some whips had nine or more lashes attached to the handle and barbs attached to these so they would rend flesh better.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    Recommended, especially for middle/high school students

    Very interesting - just one more example of the horrors of salvery, the cruelity that greed produces, and how hatred must be learned. Written from the first-hand account of Solomon Northup, it simply tells it like it is - Solomon doesn't have hatred in his heart - he recognizes the goodness in people (even some slave owners) - he proivdes a good acocunt of the day-to-day life of a plantation slave. Beyond the obvious, Solomon also gives a good account of the work required to process cotton without the use of modern equipment. So few of us realize the massive effort in growing cotton and producing textiles at that period in history. Putting the issues of salvery aside, the book is also informative about life in the pre-civil war period of America. Much to be learned from this book. His writing is easy to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Opal

    She walked in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Fascinating story

    Well written fpersonal experience of slavery before the Civil War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Ender || Blacktail

    She eyed him cautiously, not afraid to kick some as<_>s if needed. ((Dun attack anyone, M'kay?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Very good

    It's hard to believe in this day and age that slavery existed. The story of a free man getting put into slavery is an eye opening story. It showed that love prevailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Great story!

    Excellent book and read. Great revelation on slavery and excellent history piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Well Worth Reading

    This is an artfully written account of the horrors of Slavery. It is griping and profoundly adds to understanding the cruel reality of this part of our history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Very Interesting and Readable

    I have not seen the movie, but am so glad I read this book! It is a truly fascinating account of Mr. Northrup's odyssey, and a very interesting window into American history. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Very good book

    To me this book was very insightful in how the slaves were treated. I understand that this is just one mans account of the matter but if he is being truthful in his account it was truly awful how they were beat for not being able to bring in as much cotton as they may have the day before. That is just the one part that sticks out in my mind. It was also nice to find out there were nice kind slave masters also. This was never mind type of reading but I read it for a book club and I enjoyed it very much and am glad I have read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Good book

    I don't think its as good as all the hype but a good book none the less!! A lot of it could get confusing, being that its more of a huge run on sentence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Very powerful & thought-provoking!

    Hard to believe things like this really happened in this country!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    You must check it out !!!!

    This book is well written and filled with suspense. Amazing that we left such horror take place in our country. This book will wake you up to the discrimination that went on for such a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Good Book

    I really enjoyed it. Now I want to see the mover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Fascinating!

    An amazing look into the past. Imagine being taken and sold. A heart ache story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    It was interesting to read about a time when such stupidity was

    It was interesting to read about a time when such stupidity was around - that a man could be put into slavery so easily is a crazy notion.

    Yeah, it happened back then but that does not stop one from shaking his head in disgust. It shows that society has not come very far in its ability to balance equality of reasonability and sensible decisions of sensitive regards towards other humans. And this is only less then 200 years back in our history - fictional truth is still too close to TRUTH for us as a people, for us as a nation, for us as a society!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    69

    Shiggy diggy doo

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3