Customer Reviews for

Twelve Years a Slave (Barnes & Noble Signature Editions)

Average Rating 4
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

139 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Highy Recommended- Buy It!

This book was about the life and Journey of Solomon Northup, who unfortunately was stolen from freedom and made a slave. Born in New York State in 1808 as a free man, he was well educated, learned how to swim (which is very rare to find in an African American at the ti...
This book was about the life and Journey of Solomon Northup, who unfortunately was stolen from freedom and made a slave. Born in New York State in 1808 as a free man, he was well educated, learned how to swim (which is very rare to find in an African American at the time) and an exceptional worker. But in 1841 he was kidnapped in Washington D.C. where he was forced to work as a slave for the next twelve years on a Louisiana cotton plantation.

This book is definitely going on my list of favorite books. It has such a detailed and vivid description of his experience that I almost felt like I was there with him. He incorporates sadness, depression,and death with happiness, excitement, and love. This is sometimes very hard to achieve when writing about slavery but somehow he brought it all together in the best of ways. One of my major "likes" about this book was that he showed a side of slavery that doesn't get recognized all too often; compassion. Solomon made friends with other slaves that stood by him and showed him sympathy whenever he needed it. But the major shocker is that one of his many masters, a man named Ford, treated Solomon with respect and even said that he was better than a white man (Tibeat), right to his face. Thats when I started to adore this book and wanted to keep on reading. My only real "dislike" was that after a while, not much was happening besides him being a slave and going through what they normal experienced, but that did not stop the fact that is was a great book.

This book gives detailed descriptions of the fear, brutality, and hardships that slaves went through which makes it a must read book because people should know the history of our country and recognize the ones who were there.

posted by Max23 on September 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

rip of

The sample is only the table of contents

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 523 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Reviews

    Why do people need to use this site as social media and nothing to do with book reviews.... does not help in reviewing the book.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    Twelve years a slave

    I thought the story was compelling and it was not hard for me to believe considering my parents are both from Louisanna. Have heard so many of these stories.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    highly recommend

    This book should be required reading in all schools in America. The history of black men in this country has been so white-washed that people have no concept of what cruelty slaves had to undergo and are still going through. Because America does not publicize their faults, most white people have a white-washed idea of slavery,(Uncle Remus) as well as how African-Americans are still being wronged. This story far surpasses "Roots," which is mild by comparison with this first-hand account of slavery. The book is just marvelous and should be made a part of our history lessons. Just like the holocaust, this should be remembered so we don't make the same mistake in the future.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Its a phenomenal book. Its a profound visual of what life was as

    Its a phenomenal book. Its a profound visual of what life was as a slave and his endurance through it all. Excellent! Please read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Let us not forget

    this cruel and inhumane treatment in history, but this is boring. Reads like a textbook, only got halfway through it, old style prose is hard going and repetetive. How many times can a body survive 500 lashes?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Outstanding testimony

    Just completed reading this book. It stretches the bonds of my credulity that human beings could be so cruel and disinterested as to permit this aborhent practice of other humans. I truely believe that this book should be required reading for every student prior to graduation from high school.

    J M Lydon

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I saw the movie, then read the book. The book gave some insight that was not in the movie (even the flashback scenes). There were so many different copies online that I was uncertain which I should choose to read. It was quite interesting.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    I am having a hard time finishing it

    I find this book very hard to read. There are some paragraphs where it is just one sentence and it goes on and on forever and you get lost.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    An important book!

    This true story of what happened to a free black man with a wife and 3 children living peacefully in New York State should be read by everyone so that more people understand exactly what the Civil War was fought over.

    A well-known local violinist, he was sold into slavery by men who pretended to hire him for a job in Washington DC. He endured twelve years of harsh treatment and despair before he was finally rescued and brought back to his family again.

    This first-hand account of what slavery was really like, written by the man who actually experienced it, should be required reading in every high school.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    To audrey..jacob..erik..terra..etc

    U r all s bunch of idiots

    3 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Great book!

    Have not seen the movie. But reading this book is a must for white, blacks, and any other nationailty. Raceisum should not ever be in a person's mind or vocabulary
    The saying goes, walk in my shoes for a day. Or no shoes.
    God made us to be what He wants us to be. Follow His leading and be blessed you live in freedom. Be sorrowful for those that don't have and be there to help if you are able.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    I was assigned to read a memoir for my AP Language & Composi

    I was assigned to read a memoir for my AP Language & Composition class, so I decided that, due to the movie version’s critical success, it would be the perfect opportunity to read 12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northrup. Because the memoir was written in the 1800s, I was apprehensive at first that the language would be difficult to follow. However, I was pleased to see that Northrup used words that are still commonly used today. In addition to having accessible diction, the book was easy to read because it was very fast-paced; Northrup wasted few pages before he describes being kidnapped by the men who would sell him into slavery. He was brutally honest about the realities of slavery and confirmed many of the details that basic history classes only brush upon. His honesty made 12 Years a Slave a truly emotional memoir and had me engrossed in the story from cover to cover. While those who enjoy history should undoubtedly add this book to their shelves, I think it would appeal any other teen or adult as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    To # 1 review ( lies)

    First off were you there to see or go through it.? You have no idea of how these people were treated but i do believe it to be true after what happened to my ansestors the cherokee indians taken from their land during the civil war days and were made to walk what was later called the trail of tears i have a picture of myself standing in front of the bronze plack telling the story when i was back in Mo, going thru the ozarks, no i do not believe for a minute this book is lies but i think in the minds of some this could bring the thought of racisim into thought only because they look back on how their own people were treated and in some instances still feel treated look up your own history and you might have a different thought hopefully gain the knowledge it takes to be humble and realize civil war era was quite different than now

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    12 Years a Slave

    This was an excellent book to read; especially if one wants to learn the real facts about life during the 1880s for African Americans and how dangerous times were in those days for them, I recommend this book for consideration of reading in history classes as well as for general reading, There are valuable lessons in living and treating each other in this book,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Should become part of high school literature

    This is a heartbreaking story of a man with a strong constitution. He recounts his time in slavery with a detail that can be appreciated by free people. The story will allow the young as well as old an insight to the daily life good and bad of a slave.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    A great read

    A first hand account during our darkest time in america history. Its shows the good and bad in people. Read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Loved this book

    This book was excellent. It should be made manditory for all schools to read as ciriculum. This is proof of what our culture was like in past times. The sad thing is some people are still as ignorant about race then as they are now. I think this book is a true representation of american history. Thank god it is not like those times again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great book poor copy

    Interesting story if you can figure out the transcription

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    highly recommended

    i really enjoyed this book and it made me do a lot of thinking.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Boring

    Slow moving History book - Did not enjoy at all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 523 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27