Customer Reviews for

Twenties Girl

Average Rating 4
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(282)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great read as usual

Twenties Girl: I love the Shopaholic series, and I've read all of her other novels. Twenties Girl is definitely right up there for me as far as Sohie Kinsella goes. It was fun, believable (if you believe :O)) and funny! I enjoyed Lara and Sadie both, and genuinely felt ...
Twenties Girl: I love the Shopaholic series, and I've read all of her other novels. Twenties Girl is definitely right up there for me as far as Sohie Kinsella goes. It was fun, believable (if you believe :O)) and funny! I enjoyed Lara and Sadie both, and genuinely felt the connection between the two as friends.
On a more serious note, I thought it was wonderful how Lara had never known this person, never bothered with her, then learned so much about her when she met her ghost. It's sad because the older generation is out there, and they hold so much history, and they are so often forgotten about.
Searching for Sadie's necklace only brought her into Lara's life...everything else that came after is where the real story was.
Sophie Kinsella has never disappointed me and she is one of the few authors I will go out and buy as soon as her books are in stock. I absolutely thought this was a fantastic story, and it very much had Sophie Kinsella's touch. I highly recommend it.

posted by Jessi-21 on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

E-book most expensive???

Why is this more expensive than even the hard back copy of this book? You've lost a sale because of pure greed, e-book should NEVER be more than the hard back, they should be the same price as the paperback!

posted by nookie_fan on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 563 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read as usual

    Twenties Girl: I love the Shopaholic series, and I've read all of her other novels. Twenties Girl is definitely right up there for me as far as Sohie Kinsella goes. It was fun, believable (if you believe :O)) and funny! I enjoyed Lara and Sadie both, and genuinely felt the connection between the two as friends.
    On a more serious note, I thought it was wonderful how Lara had never known this person, never bothered with her, then learned so much about her when she met her ghost. It's sad because the older generation is out there, and they hold so much history, and they are so often forgotten about.
    Searching for Sadie's necklace only brought her into Lara's life...everything else that came after is where the real story was.
    Sophie Kinsella has never disappointed me and she is one of the few authors I will go out and buy as soon as her books are in stock. I absolutely thought this was a fantastic story, and it very much had Sophie Kinsella's touch. I highly recommend it.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    couldn't put it down

    Sophie Kinsella always entertains me with her novels. I walked with Becky Bloomwood to all the shops in the "Shopaholic" series, I went along on Lexi's adventures of amnesia in "Remember Me?", and I laughed as Samantha goes from being an office flunky to an amateur housekeeper in "The Undomestic Goddess". I was thrilled to see this book, "Twenties Girl", in the library as a quick read and snatched it right up.

    And there was no false advertising. This was a quick read. I was at the library on Thursday, and closed the book after the final chapter today, Tuesday, only 5 days later. I loved it. I devoured it. It was a great way to distract me from any stress or any other issues going on in my life. I needed a quick, light, entertaining read, and Sophie indulged me.

    Her characters are just so easy to relate to. I don't know what that says about my life, but it's true. And adding a ghost to the crazy mix was an adventure that I just couldn't pass up. Lara and Sadie make a great pair. Two completely different viewpoints and generations thrown together in one erratic enterprise. Something new happened with each page turn and I was so excited to find out what happened next throughout the whole novel. I love books like this.

    I admit it proudly: I love chick lit. Life can be so stressful and ridiculous that it's nice to sit and relax with an easy read and a cup of coffee (or tea, depending on your preference). And if Sophie Kinsella isn't the queen of chick lit, then she should be. All of her books are great, and I recommend any of them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED this book!!

    I have read all of Sophie Kinsella's books and always look forward to her next. Her books are fun - great chick lit. This one was different though. Still fun, but the story was deeper. It was very original. The main characters Lara and Sadie were well developed and there was such an emotional connection between them. I laughed (out loud) and cried. I did not want this story to end!! Tally ho Sadie - I miss you already!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow Start but Good Story

    I do recommend this book. But hang in there, the first few chapters I found slow going. I did not like either of the two main female characters for several chapters. Although they were adults, their behavior was a bit "middle school" (think 11- 13 year old girls). I almost gave up on the book, but kept on reading. After 4 or so chapters, the story picked up steam, the characters become stronger emotionally and intellectually. The story became a entertaining mystery. This book is a fast read, I finished the book in approximately a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    love it

    twenties girl is a funny, quick read. the story is touching and really interesting. i would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a fun book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My New Favorite Books!!!

    Sophie Kinsella is an amazing writer. I could read this book over and over again. This book was funny and moving all at the same time. Didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    I loved this book!!!

    this was a book that made me laugh out loud. The story was original and I couldnt put it down. Can't wait to read more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book

    Sophie Kinsella books simply make me smile. This is a book that you will not want to put down until you are finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great book and an easy, fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    I recommend her books

    I like and read her books I enjoy ,laugh and
    Forget what's going on in the world today.t
    People are always getting into some problem
    Or other ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Hilarious and perfect for fashionistas

    Hilarious and perfect for fashionistas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Another Sophie Kinsella stand-alone novel that I pretty sure did

    Another Sophie Kinsella stand-alone novel that I pretty sure did enjoyed too just like the others but The Undomestic Goddess still tops among her works for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Eh :/

    This was a good book in some parts but Sadie is very irritating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I feel so lucky to have stumbled across this book at a garage sa

    I feel so lucky to have stumbled across this book at a garage sale (and for only 25 cents!)  I saw the author's name and remembered "Can You Keep a Secret?", my favorite chick lit novel of all time.  Twenties Girl is a close second!  It ties in history and family values without over doing it in a way that feels, well, boring.  It was slightly slow to start off with, but soon left me excited!  The only problem I had with it was I would have liked to see the love interest develop a bit slower and see more of it.  The scenes with the love interest, however, were fantastic.  Also - the whole last chapter was stupid.  I really thought it was corny and over-the-top...  So maybe just skip that.  Overall, great summer beach read.  Very cute, but with some depth!  Can't wait to read more of Kinsella's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Oh my gosh where do I begin?!  Lara Linton has a lot going on in

    Oh my gosh where do I begin?!  Lara Linton has a lot going on in her life right now.  She's starting a brand new business with a friend who took an extended vacation before showing Lara the ropes.  Lara is coming out a break-up where she finds herself wondering what went wrong and tries to fake indifference at the same time.  On top of those very real and very stressful problems, her great-aunt Sadie has returned in her young fun-loving twenty-five year-old form wanting Lara to find a beloved necklace.  Of course, Lara is the only one who can see her.  So now Lara must keep her business together, try to get back together with her her ex-boyfriend, and entertain a fun-loving and sometimes annoying ghost all at the same time.  Sadie further complicates things by wanting to do live through Lara's life.  Surely anyone would go a little insane trying to balance it all.




    On the story...
    This story is so cute.  When I chose this audiobook, I had no idea what a fun story this would be.  Lara is a somewhat quirky character who finds herself in the most amazing scrapes.  I loved that she persevered despite being in the most embarrassing predicaments that I could ever imagine.  While she doesn't escape unscathed, I found her loyalty to Sadie to be endearing and heartwarming.  Like Lara, I found myself quite annoyed with Sadie and her antics but by the end, I was just as attached to the snooty little ghost.  This is a book where you just sit back and enjoy yourself.  You will laugh and cry and laugh again.  Everything is not wrapped in a pretty little bow at the end, but we get a pretty satisfying ending.  There is a little bit for everyone.  We have a mystery, paranormal elements, romance, and historical fun.  




    On the narrator...
    I loved Ms. Landor.  While this isn't my first audiobook by her, it was my most enjoyable.  There are so many characters in this novel but she manages to make them all distinct.  Her voice is easy to listen and sh handles the accents quite well.  After finishing this book, I went looking for more books narrated by her.  She does a remarkable job.




    Overall, this is the best audiobook experience I have had to date.  I recommend this book in both book and audio form.  However, I think the audio form might be preferable.  Read this if you enjoy books about friendships (and train wrecks).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Age level. Age level...

    How old should you be to read this..........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it! Wanted to punch Bill in the face from the first time h

    Loved it! Wanted to punch Bill in the face from the first time he was introduced. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I LOVED this book! It was my first by Sophie Kinsella and it won

    I LOVED this book! It was my first by Sophie Kinsella and it won't be the last. I loved her style of writing. I couldn't put the book down! Finished it in a little over a day. Loved the character Sadie too.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    One of my favorite books of all time!!!!!

    Amazing!!!!
    Love it
    It has everything a book needs.....sad parts,funny parts, and amazingly heart warming things.
    This book will always be a classic girl book.
    Hopefully you'll think so, too :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Very good book and was well written. I read it in two days and c

    Very good book and was well written. I read it in two days and could not put it down (except for when I was at work). I have read other books by Sophie Kinsella and I think this has got to be one of her best novels to date!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 563 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29