BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twenties Girl

Average Rating 4
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(282)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great read as usual

Twenties Girl: I love the Shopaholic series, and I've read all of her other novels. Twenties Girl is definitely right up there for me as far as Sohie Kinsella goes. It was fun, believable (if you believe :O)) and funny! I enjoyed Lara and Sadie both, and genuinely felt ...
Twenties Girl: I love the Shopaholic series, and I've read all of her other novels. Twenties Girl is definitely right up there for me as far as Sohie Kinsella goes. It was fun, believable (if you believe :O)) and funny! I enjoyed Lara and Sadie both, and genuinely felt the connection between the two as friends.
On a more serious note, I thought it was wonderful how Lara had never known this person, never bothered with her, then learned so much about her when she met her ghost. It's sad because the older generation is out there, and they hold so much history, and they are so often forgotten about.
Searching for Sadie's necklace only brought her into Lara's life...everything else that came after is where the real story was.
Sophie Kinsella has never disappointed me and she is one of the few authors I will go out and buy as soon as her books are in stock. I absolutely thought this was a fantastic story, and it very much had Sophie Kinsella's touch. I highly recommend it.

posted by Jessi-21 on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

E-book most expensive???

Why is this more expensive than even the hard back copy of this book? You've lost a sale because of pure greed, e-book should NEVER be more than the hard back, they should be the same price as the paperback!

posted by nookie_fan on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Another Sophie Kinsella stand-alone novel that I pretty sure did

    Another Sophie Kinsella stand-alone novel that I pretty sure did enjoyed too just like the others but The Undomestic Goddess still tops among her works for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Eh :/

    This was a good book in some parts but Sadie is very irritating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    3 1/2 stars. Touching & sweet.

    First of all, I'm not one to take to ghost stories, and that's probably why I don't love the book as much as others do. It's the uncertainity of the idea, not realistic nor fantasy. Anyway, the story got better as it progressed; it became more interesting when the mystery and love developed. It's not as funny throughout like the Shopaholic series. The funny moments were concentrated during Sadie's input on Lara's clothes and how she wanted to date Ed using Lara as a medium. I really loved Ed's character and wished he were mentioned more. The way he opened up and how Lara and him came together were very sweet. The mystery was predictable, but still thrilling to read. The friendship and closeness Lara and Sadie developed were touching. This was one of the more serious books from Sophie Kinsella.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not as good as her other books

    I like this book but by the middle of the book i lost my steam to read it and thats never happened to me before when i was reading this author. I still think remember me and undomestic goddess are my faves form this author. Still love and can't get enough of miss Sophie kinsella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review from Worn Pages and Dusty Shelves

    I could have loved Twenties Girl. It had amazing potential and I¿m really disappointed that it didn¿t give me any feel good feelings. I hated most of the characters. I really hated Natalie, Lara¿s headhunting partner. I have an intense dislike for Sadie, her great aunt, she was always yelling if she didn¿t get her way, and she did some infuriating things. I¿ve never met a character that I just wished would shut up and be killed off, oh wait, this character is already dead. Sadie was just awful. She hurt Lara so many times by ¿yelling¿ at someone who was alive. Sadie could make anyone into a puppet by ¿yelling¿ in their ear, excluding Lara, and it got old fast. There really aren¿t enough ways to say how much I disliked Sadie. Lara has an evil sister, parents who never quite believe her, an uncle who didn¿t play his part well enough to be called a villain, and lest I forget Lara who is pining after a guy who dumped her. Of course, there are some things I liked. The search for the necklace had a few great moments. Our Mr. American Frown (Ed Harrison), who doesn¿t come in until the story is about halfway done, starts off as a really good love interest, until the end when he just seems bleh and I thought, ¿Why is he here again?¿ He made the story bearable, he had a personality that wasn¿t dreadful, and his interaction with Lara was cute. Basically all the parts without Sadie were good, or the parts where she wasn¿t acting like a spoiled child. I¿m battling with the rating. I¿m not sure if I want it to be two stars or three, but I think I¿ll leave it at three because of Mr. American Frown.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Different than her other "Shopaholic" books

    I love Sophie Kinsella, and I have read the entire "Shopaholic" series. It is rare that an author can make me laugh out load, but Kinsella can. I found this book just okay. I guess my expectations were a bit high.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Fast and fun

    If you enjoy the other Kinsella novels, I'm sure you will like this one as well. The characters are fun and the situations ridiculous, as you would expect. Lighthearted and a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Easy Read.

    This is a fun book which focuses on a friendship between two young women in their twenties Lara and Sadie. Sadie is really the ghost of Lara's 105 year old aunt who after she died reverted back to her favorite time of life - her early twenties -during the roaring twenties. They both befriend each other like sisters - a love/hate relationship. The women embark on a mystery of sorts and get tangled up in lots of mayhem. Twenties Girl, is easy to read and at times humorous although, I can't say I laughed out loud much. Although Lara's life comes together in an almost too perfect way at the end, the most memorable part of the book was the tribute she gave to Sadie which seemed very real and respectable even if she never knew her in life. Lara did her aunt well with a prolific tribute at her memorial telling Sadie's story at last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A Bit Confusing

    I was confused as to whether the narrator was having a breakdown, was schizophrenic, or something else. The story seemed implausible.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    a letdown

    not nearly as good as others -
    not funny and really a bit sad
    not like her others where you laugh-out-loud
    would not recommend this - was relieved when I finished it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Predictable but funny

    I was not impressed by this book from Kinsella. I loved the shopaholic series for the humor, and this book is quite funny in the beginning. I found myself laughing out loud for the first 100 pages or so. Then I got annoyed with the constant talk of the ghost and Lara's past relationship. Overall, a good book for vacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chick Lit with a Historical Twist

    Another fun Kinsella. Typical screwed up girl gets her life together story. Less boy stuff that usual, which I liked. Lara is haunted by her great aunt Sophie. Occasionally Lara's stupid girl behavior bugged me, but mostly this was a lighthearted and interesting story. I always enjoy historical novels and this one had some of those elements.

    My one major complaint - where the necklace ends up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Kinsella's best novel

    I've read every novel by Sophie Kinsella, but this one is not one of my favorites. It does not disappoint as a "fun" read but falls a little flat. I still prefer Remember Me? and Undomestic Goddess by Kinsella.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4