Customer Reviews for

The Twentieth Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Wow this book was much better than I thought it would be and proved to be a fast read too. Sundaresan has a wonderful talent of turning history into an amazing fairy tale, I could not put this book down. I loved how the story not only focused on the main love story but also included with amazing detail all of the political things that were going on in that time as well. I highly recommend this book and I can't wait to go out and get the second Feast of Roses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating

    This book is a wonderfully descriptive book that really draws readers into the story. The main theme is a love story, however, it gives great historic details of the times of the Mughal Empire. It is highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    I learned a lot!

    I had just finished reading The Red Tent and loved it. I was looking for a new book and the store did not have the one I was looking for. I found this one and after reading the back cover , I decided that would get it to read while the other one was being shipped. I am so pleased with my purchase. It is the fastest I have ever read a book. I bought it on a Monday and finished the folowing Monday. I learned so much about Indian history. I did more research on the subject and bought the second book tonight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep look at seventeenth century India

    Though too young and way beneath his station, Mehrunnisa, the daughter of a Persian courtier to the Mughal Empire, plans to one day wed the heir apparent to the throne Salim. The very intelligent eight-year-old Mehrunnisa knows she needs a plan if she is to achieve her impossible dream of marrying her beloved whom barely knows she exists. <P>A few years later Mehrunnisa is forced to marry a cruel soldier. Besides abuse from her odious spouse, she suffers several miscarriages. However, she ultimately succeeds in gaining more than just the attention of Salim, who is now the Emperor Jahangir, she shares passion with him. Finally, Mehrunnisa accomplishes her dream goal, but though now a powerhouse empress she and her family paid quite a price for her attaining her childhood desires that she never let go of as an adult. <P>Historical fiction readers that relish a deep look at seventeenth century India will gain much pleasure from this descriptive tale. The story line is loaded with historical references with a very illuminating portrayal of Mughal court life. However, the wealth of information, which seems authentic to this pre-school novice on the history of India, overwhelms the characters and thus undercuts the prime tale of Mehrunnisa¿s efforts to become the empress. Indu Sundaresan provides a vivid tale that the hard core sub-genre audience will want to read, but the weak characters make it difficult for casual fans to care what happens to Mehrunnisa or anyone else. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Beautiful story

    Who doesn't want to be a princess when they grow up? I would love to know the truth behind this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    A beautiful, haunting story, centuries old, but facinating!

    When I read this for the first time, I couldn't put it down. The story of Mehrunnisa is set in the late 16th and early 17th centuries, but seems like it is happening today. Her heartaches are so like ours today, different contex, but achingly familiar! Why isn't history told in stories like this? The next book, "Feast of Roses", continues her story and includes the Taj Mahal and it's creation. I have given this book to several people and keep mine to read again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Wonderful

    Actually read this after the sequel and was pleasantly surprised that not only is it as richly descriptive of a foreign time, place and customs, but that it is better paced tham Feast of Roses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    LOVED IT

    This book is incredibly well written and detailed. I was rivited the whole time. Sundaresan is a wonderful historical fiction writer. If you enjoy Philippa Gregory you will definately enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Good for historical fiction buffs!

    This was an enjoyable book, however it seemed a little drawn out to me. I haven't yet read The Feast of Roses, but The Twentieth Wife seemed to build up for the entire book and then stop short. I would liked have a more equal balance of the buildup with the resolution. Good read overall and taught me alot about Mughal society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome writing

    I loved the style and writing skills of the author. I even bought two extra copies to give to friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Good Read

    I have really enjoyed this novel. It was interesting to learn more about Akbar and his son, Prince Salim and his ruling period. The only thing sometimes I felt like that the author did not carry her main character that well through out the book. Otherwise, it is def a good read and I recommend it to everyone who loves historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    can't wait to read the other 2 books

    This story is dramatic, touching, historical, sensual, vengeful it really has a little bit of everything even lines that will make you smile. I loved how the story begins with the main character before she is born and you read about her life story as she becomes a woman. Even though the title gives you can idea about her destiny, all the twist and turns of her life makes the story enticing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Easy to read and very interesting

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I have gotten bored with the English and Scottish historical fiction books and found in this book a different bit of history in an easy to read ficticious story. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting...

    I enjoyed reading this book. It opened up a new world for me that I had previously not read much about. The story line was easy to follow and help my interst all the way through. I would recommend this to anyone. I can't wait to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    Read this more than 3 times in the past year.

    This book is based on Mehrunnisa (better known as Nur Jahan in Indian history), the first Indian woman who rules behind the veil in the Mughal empire. Its her story from birth to the time she weds emperor Jahangir.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    my absolute favorite!

    I have read this book twice and I loved more the second time...It sucks you in from the very first chapter. I just cannot put it down, its a wonderful story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Indian History

    If you are an avid reader of Indian authors like myself, then I highly recommend this book. I'm always enthralled with their writing styles and subjects of family and traditions. Too bad Americans don't pay attention to these things anymore! We could learn alot from them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    AP World History Review: The Many Adventures and Dramatic Love Life of the Twentieth Wife

    The Twentieth Wife, written by Indu Sundaresan, shows the life of a young, beautiful woman hidden behind a veil. This book was written in the late 16th century, early 17th century during the powerful Mughal Empire. King Akbar is the king in the beginning, and after his death, his son Prince Salim becomes King Jahangir. The other main character of this novel is Mehrunnisa. Since she was a little girl, she dreamed of marrying Prince Salim, but she faces many obstacles with her family's status and her arranged marriage. Mehrunnisa never gives up though after facing the unwanted marriage, many miscarriages, and the scheming of other wives. She eventually becomes the wife of King Jahangir and is given the title Nur Jahan, meaning "Light of the World."
    The Twentieth Wife is entertaining almost through its entirety, but it slows down near the middle. Mehrunnisa is living with her arranged husband, and she doesn't have much to do. It talks about her dull life between the walls of his house, and King Jahangir doesn't deal with any exciting business either. The story picks back up though, and Mehrunnisa eventually returns to the king's palace. The descriptions of the lifestyle of the rich is exquisite. You can picture the beautiful dresses and blindingly shiny jewelry. The story of this young woman is fascinating to me because it shows what one woman can do in a time where women don't really have any say. Even though not all the historical evidence is true, it's still all believable and fascinating. I greatly enjoyed reading the book The Twentieth Wife and can't wait till I can get my hands on the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Highly recommended for those who love to adventure into a cultural variety of history

    What a great book to read. It took me down memory lane, to streets that still exist to this day in Lahore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    The Indian Version of the Notebook

    One can only hope to experience the passion and unconditional love between two soul mates. After reading I had to run out and get the sequel. The images were so real and capture you from the start. You won't be able to put it down. The Notebook by Nicolas Spark was very similar as far as the characters relationship went(not as vivid).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5