Customer Reviews for

Twenty Boy Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(395)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Completely Amazing Book

I read a lot of books and this is my favorite book I have ever read. I never re-read books no matter how good they were, but this one was just so amazing that I will definitely read it again soon. I gave it to a few friends to read and they loved it. Favorite book ever....
I read a lot of books and this is my favorite book I have ever read. I never re-read books no matter how good they were, but this one was just so amazing that I will definitely read it again soon. I gave it to a few friends to read and they loved it. Favorite book ever. Since I read this, nothing can compare. It is truly amazing. You should really read this.

posted by pineapples11 on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A decent read, must be desperate.

I was desperate for a new book, my friend recommended this book to me. I read the whole book in about three days. Yeah sure, it had its good points. Sure, it was written well. But the same point the book is written around is repeated over and over. I can say I did not t...
I was desperate for a new book, my friend recommended this book to me. I read the whole book in about three days. Yeah sure, it had its good points. Sure, it was written well. But the same point the book is written around is repeated over and over. I can say I did not thoroughly enjoy this book. If you don't mind reading the same paragraph over and over every other page. Then by all means, jump right in.

posted by 5934819 on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 395 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Completely Amazing Book

    I read a lot of books and this is my favorite book I have ever read. I never re-read books no matter how good they were, but this one was just so amazing that I will definitely read it again soon. I gave it to a few friends to read and they loved it. Favorite book ever. Since I read this, nothing can compare. It is truly amazing. You should really read this.

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stunning book

    I was given this book to review.

    Twenty Boy Summer, a YA novel about two girls struggling to come to terms with the death of their best friend, hits like a most beautifully wrapped ton of bricks. Frankie and Anna are best friends, journeying on a spectacular trip to California. Last year Frankie's older brother Matt spend a dazzling month secretly dating their best friend Anna before Matt died of an undiagnosed heart problem.

    The book starts out describing how lucky the girls were to have survived the accident (Matt was driving when his heart gave), then proceeds to reveal what a misnomer "survival" is. Even a year later Frankie's family is torn apart by their loss, and Anna, having sworn to keep her relationship with Matt a secret, is devastated at not being allowed to properly morn her own loss (or even understand what exactly she's lost).

    So the girls make a plan to meet twenty boys in their quest to lose their virginity and leave their heartache behind. But their search only triggers all the fears and emotions left behind, particularly as Anna is terrified that moving on will make what she had with Matt less special.

    Twenty Boy Summer is beautiful, heartbreaking and a raw read through and through. While there are very few surprises here, and the plot is all character and angst driven, it speaks, very strongly, to anyone who has lost someone they love and has gone through the mourning process. This is not a fluffy, light-hearted fictional read, or even a fiction tale with serious, dark undertones. Twenty Boy Summer bears a resemblance the nineties film My Girl and the Katherine Paterson book The Bridge to Terabithia, set after the landmark character deaths and in a teen setting. Soulful and beautiful it's a must, but difficult, read.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I enjoyed reading this wonderful book. Very well written with good plot.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read!!!

    I can honestly say that twenty boy summer was one of the best books ive ever read. The story behind twenty boy summer was touching and anna's point of view made it all the better. I recommend this book to anybody who wants to read a book that is truly about dealing with grief, loss, friendship and finding yourself.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended...check this book out!

    This book was amazing. I could not stop reading it from beginning to end. It was surprising and just an excellent book. It had me wondering what was going to happen next at all times. I could read this book over and over and still feel like I am reading it for the first time. I absolutely love this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Twenty Boy Summer isn't my favorite boook , but I thought it w

    Twenty Boy Summer isn't my favorite boook , but I thought it was a really good book and I thought it was pretty sad in the beginning and
    I started to cry. This is book is really good if you want to read about a heart thrilling summer romance book with a little twist of shocking ! My opinion is that I wish Matt never died , I thought him and Anna would've really worked out .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Anna has been in love with her best friend's brother for five years. Now it's her fifteenth birthday and they finally get to be a couple. But this relationship is short-lived when Matt dies in a car accident just a short month later. Now she's got a secret that Matt told her not to tell anybody, a journal that she writes all her secrets in, and a summer in Zanzibar Bay, California with her best friend. This Summer Frankie and Anna make a plan to meet up to 20 boys in California, but what they didn't expect was for Anna to fall in love with her boy #1 and find her thoughts of Matt slowly slipping away.
    This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole book, trying to read faster and faster to finish the book. I just couldn't wait. This is BY FAR the absolute BESTTTTTTTTTTTT book i've ever read. Better than Twilight even ;) most definitely worth reading and i would recommend it to everyone that doesn't mind tearing up, major surprises, and finding what life is about. I literally almost cried a bunch of times in this book. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Looks are Deceiving!

    The title and cover of the book make it look like another teenybopper romance, but it is a very emotional book that I think any age can read! The plot is well written and I always check for the authors next book just because this one was so amazing. If you cry easily there might be some tears, but you need a good cry every once in a while! It has friendship, romance, heartbreak of more than one kind, family, and angst and fluffy moments!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    When this book came out I was shopping at the boulevard mall and

    When this book came out I was shopping at the boulevard mall and she had signed the novel for me! I could not believe how quick I read the book and I could not put it down! Amazing writer and always had you intrigued to find out what was on the next page and what turn of events would pursue! I do currently have all of her books! Keep writing :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    One of my very favorite books<3

    This is a book you will never get bored of. Its amazing. It keeps you entertained. I recommmend this book ages 13 and up. But im 11.. so idk lol.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    One to Remember

    I couldn't put this down! It really displayed Anna's confusion about whether or not she should pursue a boy she likes when she loved Matt so much; the author described it as "cheating on a ghost." Humor, romance, loss, forgiveness, and guilt are main themes throughout the book. I became connected to each character. I was laughing, crying, and smiling while reading. Two thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I adore this book!

    This novel is the perfect summer read! Not only is it cute and fun, but also it's deep and meaningful. It's such a realistic and detailed story of loss and breakthrough. This book was so hard to put down, and I was begging for more even after the last page. I could understand each character perfectly and relate to them easily. It was interesting seeing how Anna and Frankie changed throughout the story - especially from the car crash. Sarah Ockler has amazed me with this story and I can't wait to read what she comes up with next! I absolutely love this cover, too. It's so beachy and symbolic and ties in with the novel greatly. Just looking at this book makes me want to pick it up and see what adventures are inside. A must-read for all ages!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!

    This is honestly the best book I have ever read. And I read a lot of books! I love Sarah Dessen and this book looked like it would be kind of like what she writes but it is a thousand times better! I got all my friends to read it and they all love it too. I could read it over and over again and not get tired of it. If you are considering buying this do not hesitate!!!! You wont regret it! I would give it more stars if I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    ;)

    The Best Book EVER

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    FANTASTIC!!

    20 boy summer is a wonderful book. Its a book that refects a young womans true personality. THIS IS A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    twenty boy summer

    this book is absolutely heart breaking and happy I love these kinds of books they have so much emotion and its hard to put down five out of five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Loved it

    Good book light easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Absolute best

    My favorite book of all time. I cried, laughed, & smiled all at the same time. This book helped remind me what friendship is, how true love feels, the process of healing, & the meaning of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Absolutely amazing. It really does break your heart and then put

    Absolutely amazing. It really does break your heart and then put it back together again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I picked up this 2009 debut, I expected a fun beach read (a

    When I picked up this 2009 debut, I expected a fun beach read (apparently, I'm not very good at reading the synopses of the books that I purchase). Well, I was surprised when I realized what the subject matter of the book was (dealing with grief, death, and first love). The story is told by Anna, and really begins after the death of Matt, the older brother of her best friend, Frankie. What's even more traumatizing, is the fact that Anna has been in love with him for years, and they had just recently started a relationship (secretly, of course).

    Most of the book takes place in California, where the girls are vacationing (which is where the twenty boy game begins). They spend time traveling to see the sights (San Francisco), spending the rest of the time, where else, on the beach. I've vacationed in California, and it was surprisingly different from the chaotic lifestyle that I'm used to on the East Coast. Granted, it was a vacation, but Palo Alto and La Selva Beach had a different atmosphere. Plus, I completely geeked out that I was in the city where the Stanford Prison Experiments took place (have I mentioned I'm a psych major?). But I digress, it was really nice to see that the laid back atmosphere I had experienced was able to translate to the book. I also loved how Ocklwer was able to capture how it feelts to be a teenager, particularly how everything seems like it's the end of the world.

    The great thing about this novel is that isn't just a beach read. It's got something special that makes people look forward to, or reminisce about their first love. I can't wait for more from this author. On a different note, is it just me or are the debut authors this year amazing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 395 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20