Customer Reviews for

Twenty Boy Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(395)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Completely Amazing Book

I read a lot of books and this is my favorite book I have ever read. I never re-read books no matter how good they were, but this one was just so amazing that I will definitely read it again soon. I gave it to a few friends to read and they loved it. Favorite book ever....
I read a lot of books and this is my favorite book I have ever read. I never re-read books no matter how good they were, but this one was just so amazing that I will definitely read it again soon. I gave it to a few friends to read and they loved it. Favorite book ever. Since I read this, nothing can compare. It is truly amazing. You should really read this.

posted by pineapples11 on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A decent read, must be desperate.

I was desperate for a new book, my friend recommended this book to me. I read the whole book in about three days. Yeah sure, it had its good points. Sure, it was written well. But the same point the book is written around is repeated over and over. I can say I did not t...
I was desperate for a new book, my friend recommended this book to me. I read the whole book in about three days. Yeah sure, it had its good points. Sure, it was written well. But the same point the book is written around is repeated over and over. I can say I did not thoroughly enjoy this book. If you don't mind reading the same paragraph over and over every other page. Then by all means, jump right in.

posted by 5934819 on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 395 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Loved it

    I was hooked by the secomd chapter. So good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    This book is.........

    This book is simple amazing. It is full of emotion sometimes raw emotion and its the perfect example of to be loved and lost. This book made me cry and laugh i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    20 Boy Summer!

    I absolutly love this book! I haven't even finnished it and I love it so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Ikr

    Great entertaining love story has real emotion, love and friendship. I reccomend to all people who like luv stories :+)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book made me cry. And trust me, I don't cry very often.

    This is about to girls trying to get over the death of Matt, Frankie's sister and Anna's secret boyfriend. A year after his tragic loss, the two go to California for three weeks. Their main goal is to meet twenty boys, lose their virginity at some point, and ultimately, though it remains unspoken, their true goal is to forgive, forget and move on.

    Anna is afraid to lose her virginity to someone else, though, because she fears it will erase her treasured Matt and their relationship. But soon, things get very complex and I'm not going to spoil it for you, but she has a whirlwind of a summer, complete with boys, parties, and yes, losing her virginity. (Don't worry, it's not THAT graphic)

    I loved Ockler's writing tecnique which helped me get close to Anna's inner ongoing battle. I warn you, YOU WILL CRY. But if you like bittersweet endings that leave you yearning for more and crying for the intricate language not to end, then you have read the right review. Please get this book. You won't regret it. I promise.

    I hope this has been helpful!!!!
    Best,
    --A teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Best book that i ever read

    This book is breath taking has drama and is exciting through the first two chapters
    Hope you enjoy the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Perfect Summer Read

    This book was so amazing. It had delicate traces of Frankie's wild humor and Anna's calm manor. You really got to explore what went on 13 months before Zanibar Bay and how Anna really progresses and in turn grows up a little more. This book may be intense for some readers due to certain sexual content so I would reccomend it for 14+. It was truly one of the best books I have read in a while. Read Twenty Boy Summer to find out yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    H

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Heart Warming!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was really sad when Anna thought about the memories a year ago. I guess it is true ur heart really can break:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    Book Review Outline Book title and author: Twenty boy summer by

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Twenty boy summer by Sarah Ockler.
    Title of review: Twenty Boy Summer
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction:
    Anna’s best friend, Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect chance to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy every day, there’s a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there’s something she hasn’t told Frankie. She’s already had her romance, and it was with Frankie’s older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.

    Description and summary of main points:
    Anna Frankie and Matt were best friends. On Anna’s birthday she wished that her secret lover, Matt, would finally kiss her. After having an icing war, they go inside to clean up and they soon realize their love for each other. A day before leaving for their annual trip to Cali, all 3 went out for ice cream and the excitement on the way back got to Matt. Matt was speeding and crashed his car, and right then Matt died. A couple years later, Frankie’s family decides to take Anna to Cali with them for the first time after the death. The two best friends planned to have a “Twenty Boy Summer” consisting of one boy, everyday, for twenty days. But, Anna finding Sam, which changes a few things.

    Evaluation
    I really like this book. It is a great book for teenagers. A Romantic comedy that builds your heart up, tears it apart, and builds it back up again.

    Conclusion:
    In conclusion, Twenty Boy Summer is cool


    Your final review:
    Anna Frankie and Matt were best friends. On Anna’s birthday she wished that her secret lover, Matt, would finally kiss her. After having an icing war, they go inside to clean up and they soon realize their love for each other. A day before leaving for their annual trip to Cali, all 3 went out for ice cream and the excitement on the way back got to Matt. Matt was speeding and crashed his car, and right then Matt died. A couple years later, Frankie’s family decides to take Anna to Cali with them for the first time after the death. The two best friends planned to have a “Twenty Boy Summer” consisting of one boy, everyday, for twenty days. But, Anna finding Sam, which changes a few things.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Five stars.

    LOVED. SUMMER READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Beauitiful!

    I started to read this book thinming that it was going to be a sad and terrible book. That is nothing like it at all. It really, trully broke my heart into tiny little peices from the moment I started to read it. It was a really great book. At times I was so happy, but at other times I was so sad and I about cried. But I feel like it was supposed to be that way. She wanted to show that it was all going to be okay. And that is the reason why this is on my top ten favorite books and it always will be. Thank you, Sarah Ockler for making such a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Awesome summer

    I loved this story because of how much drama they put into it. Not to little and not to much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Baby

    I balled through this whole book it truly is an amazing story with heartnreak & love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Summer romance

    Heartfelt and lovely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Best book ever:)

    At first i cried whenmatt died but then it made me laugh then cry again thats why i loved it and its my favorite book!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    My favorite book

    This is the best book i have ever read in my life. Im 17, and it is a perfect book for my age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Amaxingggg

    Best book i have ever read! Cried and laughed and in love with sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Ohmygosh

    This book was sooo amazing. I did not expect this at all! It had me cry, smile and laugh out loud. I most def recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    ...

    It was an amazing book, it even got me emotional. I instantly fell in love and it feels as though you wouldn't ever want to lose your true love.

    *The best secrets aren't hidden, but you still have to look for them*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 395 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20