BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twenty-Five Years Ago Today

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    recommmend

    I am reading this now and I am ejoyingit

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Plot moved along... enough suspense and turns to keep one wonder

    Plot moved along... enough suspense and turns to keep one wondering.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Great little mystery, would like to read more!

    Great little mystery, would like to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    160 pages

    I enjoyed this rather short, (160 pages) free book. I hope there is a sequal. It was nicely edited, had some nongory violence and murder, no cursing or religion, some romance, implied sex, a conclusion, some humor and a thought provoking mystery. Who and whydunit were a puzzle for me until near the end of the book. NICE! It could have used more details, which would have made it a better all around book, but even so it was still a nice read. The characters were rather one demensional. They too could have been a bit more detailed to make them more interesting. Readers 16 and up wouldenjoy this book.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Good read.

    Romance, mystery and family angst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Very good book

    Enjoyed this book and recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    good mystery

    Review: Twenty-Five Years Ago Today by Stacy Juba
    4 STARS
    Okay this mystery kept me guessing the whole book. Never sure where it was going, made a bunch a guesses. It kept me wanting to keep reading. I look forward to reading more from Stacy.
    Kris Langley was newly hired working in the night shift writing obituaries, weddings ect. When she came across a murder that happened almost twenty-five years ago. Kris wanted to help that family get closesure so she wanted to investigated it and see if she can see something different now. Kris had one editor that let her but the other did not like Kris.
    Kris when she was younger her cousin was murdered too, but her killer was got and at least helped her family know that. She wanted so badly make up for her cousin death that she though finding Diana killer would make a difference.
    Their were lots of suspects, they knew someone had been stalking Diana.
    I don't want to say more because I might give something away. It is a very good story. I really wanted things to be resolved for the family I came to care for them. I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review from librarything

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Twenty-Five Years Ago Today

    I thought the concept of solving an old murder, instigated by the research for the newspaper column, was original. The character of Kris shows a lot of initiative and follow-through for someone so young. Although some of her motivation is professional advancement, a piece of her back-story lends credibility to her continued resolve when the going gets tough and also gets the reader more invested in the story.

    This book is a good mystery with a resolution that should come as a surprise. The secondary romance storyline enhances the mystery storyline and gives the book a little spice (although not with anything explicit that should keep anyone away). "Twenty-Five Years Ago Today" has everything I look for in a romantic suspense; a mystery that keeps me guessing, a romance storyline that ends well, and characters that I like enough to care about what happens to them.

    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Surprising!!

    TWENTY-FIVE YEARS AGO TODAY by Stacy Juba
    Published by Mainly Murder Press
    ISBN-13: 9780615290119
    ISBN: 0615290116
    At the request of the author, a PDF EBook edition, was provided, at no cost to me, for my honest opinion.
    Synopsis (borrowed from B&N): Kris Langley has always been obsessed with murder. She blames herself for the violent death of her cousin when they were kids and has let guilt invade every corner of her existence.
    Now an editorial assistant and obit writer for a Massachusetts newspaper, Kris stumbles across an unsolved murder while compiling "25 Years Ago Today" items from the microfilm. She grows fascinated with the case of a young cocktail waitress who was bludgeoned to death and dumped in the woods.
    Determined to solve the case and atone for the death of her cousin, Kris immerses herself in the mystery of what happened to Diana Ferguson, a talented artist who expressed herself through haunting paintings of Greek mythology.
    Not only does Kris face resistance from her family and her managing editor, she also clashes with Diana's suspicious nephew, Eric Soares - until neither she nor Eric can deny the chemistry flaring between them.
    Kris soon learns that old news never leaves the morgue and that yesterday's headline is tomorrow's danger, for finding out the truth about that night twenty-five years ago may shatter Kris's present, costing her love, her career, and ultimately, her life.
    My Thoughts and Opinion: I apologize in advance for this review since it is going to be very vague but I do not want to include any spoilers. The suspense held my interest during the entire book. It was well written with relatable characters. However, my thoughts throughout the book was how believable could the story line be with an editorial assistant cracking a 25 year old cold case that seasoned professionals couldn't? My question was answered with the explosive ending of the book. When I thought that the killer was finally exposed,or was it the real killer, and the story was winding down there was much more to come!! Surprising!!!! Well done!!!!
    My Rating: 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An intriguing mystery!

    Twenty-Five Years Ago Today is the debut adult novel from author Stacy Juba. It has all the makings of a classically great murder mystery: high drama, murder, mystery, family dysfunction, unexpected twists, and even a bit of romance. Kris Langley is a woman tortured by guilt over what she perceives as her blame in the death of her cousin and best friend Nicole. Because of that she has spent her entire life punishing herself and trying to find a way to right that wrong. When the story of Diana Ferguson crosses her desk in the course of her job, Kris becomes obsessed with solving the 25 year old murder and bringing peace to another family. Through twists and turns and multiple subplots, the story line was a great one. It had no end to the suspense, and kept me guessing to the end. I thought I knew who the murderer was very early on, and assumed the rest of the book would be the back story leading to that inevitable, I thought (!), conclusion. Instead, I was completely off base.

    I liked the use of a little blurb at the beginning of each chapter. That "twenty-five years ago today" news blurb really tied together the title, the solving of Diana's cold case, and Kris' job at her paper. It was an interesting technique that really furthered the story line.

    Kris was completely likeable as a main character. I became so involved with her that I was fully irritated for her character during 90% of the scenes with her mother and sister. Her angst and guilt was almost palpable throughout the story. The supporting characters were easily as intriguing as the lead, particularly those in Diana's family. Juba does a very good job of creating believable characters.

    The conclusion made the story for me. It was so unexpected for me and I absolutely love the element of surprise in a genre that all too often can be too formulaic. A great read that should NOT be overlooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1