Customer Reviews for

Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

***This book was given to me as part of a book tour in exchange

***This book was given to me as part of a book tour in exchange for an honest review***

I love a good murder mystery, especially if it has a dash of humor in it, and I have to admit that being a southern writer myself, I tend to be drawn to tales set in the South. Perh...
***This book was given to me as part of a book tour in exchange for an honest review***

I love a good murder mystery, especially if it has a dash of humor in it, and I have to admit that being a southern writer myself, I tend to be drawn to tales set in the South. Perhaps that's why Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons by Denise Grover Swank entertained me as much as it did. I had put off reading it for some reason, and now that I've gotten to review it, I really can't wait to read more from this author!

Here's the synopsis of Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons from the book blurb:

When Rose reports for Fenton County jury duty she figures she’s lucky to get out of a morning working at the DMV. Instead, despite a disastrous encounter with the new assistant district attorney, Mason Deveraux, she’s picked as a juror on a murder case. As the trial progresses, she realizes an ominous vision she had in the men’s restroom proves the defendant is innocent. And there’s not a cotton picking thing she can do about it.

Or is there?

As if things weren’t bad enough, Rose’s older sister Violet is going through a mid-life crisis. Violet insists that Rose stop seeing her sexy new boyfriend, Arkansas state detective Joe Simmons and date other men. Rose is done letting people boss her around, but she can’t commit to Joe either. Still, Rose isn’t about to let the best thing in her life slip away.

First things first, this book is actually the second in the Rose Gardner series. I typically don't like to read sequels if I haven't read the first book, but one of the great things about Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons, is that I didn't need to read the first one. The author did a fabulous job of integrating in the back story without making me feel like I'd missed anything. That's actually quite an accomplishment! If anything, it made me want to go back and read the first book.

Rose is a nice, if somewhat naïve, girl who is just finding her place in the world. All her life she's had psychic visions which have been a plague to her, though they sometimes get her into entertaining situations. She comes across as a very relatable woman who manages to stumble into trouble, which drives her police detective boyfriend, Joe, crazy. I really liked Joe! He was that right mix of protective, jealous, sweet and endearing. Think about a snack that is both salty and sweet and you've got his character.

There were some fun situations and characters that helped drive this tale along. I love the "poisoned" casserole brought in by a jury member and the fact that the Judge is outraged because Rose doesn't know about Angela Lansbury and Murder She Wrote. Some of the character names cracked me up too, like Bruce Wayne Decker. Lots of Batman references there. I also thought that Violet, Rose's sister who is suffering from a mid-life crisis, was a strong character representing what many people go through when unwanted change comes along.

The story is fast paced and with so much humor, it was easy to read and enjoy. I did figure out who the murderer was, but it wasn't until close to the end. It didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book.

All in all, I could probably list twenty-nine and a half reasons why you should read this book! I look forward to checking out the first book in the series and reading the follow up to this one.

posted by MALoesch on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Rose Gardner Mystery continues in Twenty-Nine and a Half Re

The Rose Gardner Mystery continues in Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons. This time around, Rose is on the other side of the crime, as a juror, instead of the victim. Her new situation is normal enough, until a vision tells her the man on trial is innocent and she decides ...
The Rose Gardner Mystery continues in Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons. This time around, Rose is on the other side of the crime, as a juror, instead of the victim. Her new situation is normal enough, until a vision tells her the man on trial is innocent and she decides to bring the truth to light.

Rose is liberated from her strict mother, but still seems to have a hard time adjusting to the real world. She constantly puts herself in danger while investigating, but thankfully her beau, Joe Simmons, protects her when he's in town and she captures the loyalty of assistant DA Mason Devereaux. Amateur sleuths putting themselves in danger is to be expected, but Rose wouldn't know danger until she's right in the middle of it. Rose's naivety was at first, cute and subject to reader sympathy, but at this point it seems as though indecision about her future and relationship with Joe is clouding her judgement in other areas of her life.

There are so many layers to this story that sometimes makes it feel drawn out. There's tension between Rose and her older sister, Violet, Joe's secret past and family is slinking its way into his relationship with Rose, and Rose can't decide whether she wants to shake things up in her life or not. All of these other issues mixed in with the main mystery makes it hard to focus on the central mystery.

Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons still has all the southern charm and humor of Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes, but it just doesn't quite surpass it overall.

Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books

posted by Candace-LoveyDoveyBooks on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    ***This book was given to me as part of a book tour in exchange

    ***This book was given to me as part of a book tour in exchange for an honest review***

    I love a good murder mystery, especially if it has a dash of humor in it, and I have to admit that being a southern writer myself, I tend to be drawn to tales set in the South. Perhaps that's why Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons by Denise Grover Swank entertained me as much as it did. I had put off reading it for some reason, and now that I've gotten to review it, I really can't wait to read more from this author!

    Here's the synopsis of Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons from the book blurb:

    When Rose reports for Fenton County jury duty she figures she’s lucky to get out of a morning working at the DMV. Instead, despite a disastrous encounter with the new assistant district attorney, Mason Deveraux, she’s picked as a juror on a murder case. As the trial progresses, she realizes an ominous vision she had in the men’s restroom proves the defendant is innocent. And there’s not a cotton picking thing she can do about it.

    Or is there?

    As if things weren’t bad enough, Rose’s older sister Violet is going through a mid-life crisis. Violet insists that Rose stop seeing her sexy new boyfriend, Arkansas state detective Joe Simmons and date other men. Rose is done letting people boss her around, but she can’t commit to Joe either. Still, Rose isn’t about to let the best thing in her life slip away.

    First things first, this book is actually the second in the Rose Gardner series. I typically don't like to read sequels if I haven't read the first book, but one of the great things about Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons, is that I didn't need to read the first one. The author did a fabulous job of integrating in the back story without making me feel like I'd missed anything. That's actually quite an accomplishment! If anything, it made me want to go back and read the first book.

    Rose is a nice, if somewhat naïve, girl who is just finding her place in the world. All her life she's had psychic visions which have been a plague to her, though they sometimes get her into entertaining situations. She comes across as a very relatable woman who manages to stumble into trouble, which drives her police detective boyfriend, Joe, crazy. I really liked Joe! He was that right mix of protective, jealous, sweet and endearing. Think about a snack that is both salty and sweet and you've got his character.

    There were some fun situations and characters that helped drive this tale along. I love the "poisoned" casserole brought in by a jury member and the fact that the Judge is outraged because Rose doesn't know about Angela Lansbury and Murder She Wrote. Some of the character names cracked me up too, like Bruce Wayne Decker. Lots of Batman references there. I also thought that Violet, Rose's sister who is suffering from a mid-life crisis, was a strong character representing what many people go through when unwanted change comes along.

    The story is fast paced and with so much humor, it was easy to read and enjoy. I did figure out who the murderer was, but it wasn't until close to the end. It didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book.

    All in all, I could probably list twenty-nine and a half reasons why you should read this book! I look forward to checking out the first book in the series and reading the follow up to this one.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Crappy doodles, she has done it again!

    I read the Chosen series almost non-stop and although very different, I am loving the Rose Gardener books. Can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Love Rose even more. I am so excited for the next book to come

    Love Rose even more. I am so excited for the next book to come out! What a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons is the second book in the Rose Ga

    Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons is the second book in the Rose Gardner Mystery. An easy and fast read with humor, mystery and romance. Denise pens her novel with just enough action to keep you captivated. Now I need to read the first book (Twenty-Eight and a Half Reasons) to see what I missed, and I'm looking forward to her third installment which is coming 2013. I highly recommend this to all who love a good mystery/romance story with a touch of humor.

    This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Rose Gardner series rocks

    I really love Rose Gardner series. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    I read all the books in this series thus far and am patiently (n

    I read all the books in this series thus far and am patiently (not) waiting for Thirty-Three and a Half Shenanigans!! I absolutely LOVED this series...it's wonderful! Rose has made me laugh out loud, cry and exclaim in shock!! I read these books one after the other in a matter of a week while on vacation!! I couldn't get enough of this series and am officially a fan of the wonderful Denise Grover Swank!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Great book

    Loved this book and all in this series! Waiting anxiously for next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Enjoyed!

    Love the characters...moving on to book 3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    Another fun mystery with Rose and her sexy boyfriend, Joe! Ther

    Another fun mystery with Rose and her sexy boyfriend, Joe! There are a lot of new faces in this book, and they are all well written and easy to like or loathe, as the case maybe. I recommend reading 'Twenty Eight and a Half Wishes' before you read this one, just because you'll get the whole background on Rose's life and understand how far she's come in this book. I'm on to the next book, 'Thirty and a Half Excuses'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    rferentzy@optonline.net

    Add me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    "Crappy Doodles!" this second book is a definite must

    "Crappy Doodles!" this second book is a definite must read! If you have read the first book, then this one is next. If you have not read the first book, then I encourage you to, as this is an another excellent mystery/romantic story that follows up the events from the end of the first one. The story here is also intriguing once again. There is a new feeling to it as there is a new relationship (Rose & Joe!) and you see how they're doing after over a month of dating. We read the mysterious aspect and that is when Rose reports for Jury Duty and literally bumps into the arrogant Mason Deveraux. Hmm something tells me we will read more of him. He himself was an interestingly written character, and I would love to read more about him. Anyways, ok so Rose is a Jury Member. The suspect (Bruce) is in question for a murder, that some are convinced that he did commit. This brings Rose into curiosity as from a vision she had, she believes him to not have committed the crime, but will everyone else agree with her, especially Deveraux? Just how far will Rose go, to prove that Bruce is innocent? Hmmm... Along this, there are other family situations that occur between Rose and her sister. We also will know some interesting facts about the reclusive Joe Simmons!

    The characters again were spot on; written wonderfully. We definitely see Rose a good different type of character; in ways different from the first book. She is more independent, but at the same time not so sure about a few things, including her relationship with Joe. There are tender, loving moments between these two, and you just know they are meant to be, but other people might not think so; just read and see! All in all I was very happy with this second book; there was a good flow again, and I simply cannot wait to read a third book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Loved It!!

    "Twenty Eight and a Half Wishes" was one of the first novels I reviewed and I absolutely loved it, so when I found out there was going to be a second novel in the series, I think my being ecstatic was an understatement. "Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons" takes place a month or two after the murder of Rose's momma; and even after a couple of months, Henryetta nor the people who live there has changed one bit. Rose and Joe have been dating a little over a month now, she still has her job at DMV, and she is still the "mother" to her little dog, Muffy. Just when I thought things were easing up for Rose, she finds herself late for jury duty and having a vision in the men's restroom about the real killer. There were so many additions to this book that made me absolutely love it; I loved the addition of the character's Neely Kate, Heidi Joy, and Mason Deveraux. I also loved the fact that we got to see another side of Joe when Mason was around. I enjoyed reading this novel because the characters seem so realistic and are very easy to relate to; I also admired Rose and her friendship with Neely Kate. I can't believe I'm saying this, but I actually have a crush on Joe; I think this may be my first fictional boy crush…I'm officially deeming Joe Simmons my book boyfriend. Overall, I thought this novel was great and it is definitely a MUST READ…I'm heartbroken that I have to wait until 2013 for the next novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1