Customer Reviews for

The Twenty-One Balloons

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An exciting book to captivate your mind!

I read this book the first time in elementary school. It really made me aware that there is a great big wide world out there with many different cultures, places, and experiences. This book should be read by children to enhance their reading skills, open their minds to ...
I read this book the first time in elementary school. It really made me aware that there is a great big wide world out there with many different cultures, places, and experiences. This book should be read by children to enhance their reading skills, open their minds to adventure, science, empathy, so many different reasons. I wish many adults in the world today would read this book and learn to appreciate all people in the great world we live in. A fascinating must read for all to enjoy!

posted by Berkana on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Confusing!!!!

I thought that this book was confusing because there was too much going back and forth between what happened and when he was talking to the Western American Explorer's Club. It still was an excellent book.

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    An exciting book to captivate your mind!

    I read this book the first time in elementary school. It really made me aware that there is a great big wide world out there with many different cultures, places, and experiences. This book should be read by children to enhance their reading skills, open their minds to adventure, science, empathy, so many different reasons. I wish many adults in the world today would read this book and learn to appreciate all people in the great world we live in. A fascinating must read for all to enjoy!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    :)

    Love love love this book,my favorite of all time:) i especially love chapter 5+

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Amazing

    I loved this book!! First i saw it in the store read the back cover and it sounded good. Then i went home and guess what, i read the book in 2 days. That is some type of record for me. But i read it soo fast because i loved it! Go and get it today!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    oh yeah. Great children's book.Very imaginative.

    Very thumbs up. It moves kind of slow but I read this book as a child when it was given to me by the school librarian. For me it showed a great deal of imagination and ingenuity.It takes a simple pleasure of riding in a hot air balloon and combines it with a disaster of great magnitude to make a imaginative experiment using people on a isolated island. Normal everyday chores are made bearable and even enjoyable with the utmost thought of how to use pulleys and levers,cleaning your room and making your bed,keeping things neat & tidy are made very easy and fun,with a " Mary Poppin's "type of style.
    Worth a couple of hours to get you out of the hum-drum.-

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    HAVE NOT READ IT

    Have not read it

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Good book

    I read it two years ago in fourth grade and i still remember it as a great book. ;););):):):)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Amazing

    Amazing book. Imaginative and creative. I recommend this to advanced readers

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must-Read Award-Winning Book

    I read this book in 2 days, which for me is amazing. But i was just so into it that i just couldn't stop reading it. I had just got sucked into the book and couldn't wait to find out what the next chapter would be about so i just read it. i would love for you to read this because it is award winning and i get-sucked into book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Pages

    192

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Veary good

    This book is excellent and is well worth the money. I greatly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Help meeee

    Hate this book i have to read it for school. 38 more pgs to go help meee!!!!





    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    restaurant economics at its best

    I had never heard of "resturant economics". I had heard of this book, but could not remember the premise. Originally written at the turn of the century (late 1800s?), the story is little dated, but the thought-provoking scenarios and people relations issues remain current in any era. What would happen if someone discovered untold wealth on an unknown island? What sort of society could one build? And what security would have to be erected to keep out unwanted visitors?

    I was able to use this book (at about a 5th grade reading level) with one of my students who is fascinated with math and money issues. It served as an excellent teaching tool to discuss economics and the impacts of wealth on a society. The story was engaging enough (though somewhat dated) to keep the student's interest. The added intrigue of hot air balloon flight gave the story an extra boost (science buffs will have to suspend some belief).

    All in all and enjoyable and quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good

    this book is very absorbing and i liked it a lot!
    if you like adventure and suprises you will love this book !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    Confusing!!!!

    I thought that this book was confusing because there was too much going back and forth between what happened and when he was talking to the Western American Explorer's Club. It still was an excellent book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    It......

    Is incrredibly confussing. I am a 13 year old jr high student and i read a year above my grade level yet i dont understand a 93 page childrens book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Stunk

    Verty bad book waste of time and money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    HORRIBLE

    I wouldnt give it one star. It was very boring. Had o read it for school and it took me 20 or 30 minutes to get through a page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Great book!

    I first read this book when I was a young boy, and it fired my imagination. It made me interesed in the Indonesian volcano - Krakatoa/Krakatau, imaginative fiction, science fiction, and especially in Jules Verne. Some younger readers have said that they didn't like it & found iy boring. I don't see how that's possible with a disaster of that magnitude. It created the loudest noise ever recorded, and that circled the globe seven times before it dissipated. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Help me

    Hi since you know that it is summer most kids have summer reading like me well i chose the book twenty one ballons and alot of people say it is great and some dont? Please help Thanks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Is it worth my money?

    I dont know if it is worth my money. Please help me.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5