Customer Reviews for

Twenty-Two Faces

Average Rating 3
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book really sets out to do what it was meant to do, to show

This book really sets out to do what it was meant to do, to show that abuse really does happen and, even though people are harmed by the abuse, they are able to come forward and heal. How I wish I could say that this book is not true, that children don't get hurt, and t...
This book really sets out to do what it was meant to do, to show that abuse really does happen and, even though people are harmed by the abuse, they are able to come forward and heal. How I wish I could say that this book is not true, that children don't get hurt, and that rituals don't happen. I wish I could say there is no evil in the world, and that is not true. Evil lurks in families, and children are the brunt of that fragmentation. Dissociation and alter creation is not a hysteria, it is a fact. It is only through horror and the extensive use of repeated abuse that such psyche damage can take place, and this book describes it well, from the inside, and what it's like to be a child living through these extremes of damage. No one would want to make this up or could even think this up, if it were not true. Most people can't even understand this evil that lurks in man. It takes a brave person to speak their truth, and Judy Byington is speaking for many who have experience of extreme abuse. Thousands of people are healing from abuse so unfathomable that some many never recover. It takes a brave, courageous heart, and a belief in a higher purpose, that gives a stepping stone to recovery. Judy, thank you for taking the step to help so many and thank you Jenny, for allowing your story to be told.

Shamai Currim PhD

posted by Shamai on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Just saw Jenny on Dr. Phil

I have not read the book. But the interview on Dr. Phil was very interesting. I do believe that she is DSD. But I do not think this therapist wrote this book out of the goodness of her heart, for the betterment of Jenny, or her family. At one point Jenny said she di...
I have not read the book. But the interview on Dr. Phil was very interesting. I do believe that she is DSD. But I do not think this therapist wrote this book out of the goodness of her heart, for the betterment of Jenny, or her family. At one point Jenny said she didn't know about the Nazi who programmed her mind. Her therapist had to "remind" her about the old man. Additionally, this therapist does not have the families support, sued the son to prevent him from showing a documentary he made for a college class. After saying she worried about how it made Jenny look, she said also copywrite reasons. Jenny has signed over lifetime rights to her therapist, a direct conflict of interest between a patient and her doctor. The therapist is banking all of the money, and Jenny is not getting any. Dr. Phil was skeptical, his audiance and I are also skeptical. The Dr. Was paid for her services, now is making a profit off of her patient, and Jenny, who sufferred through all of this recieves nothing. Think twice before giving credence to this story.

posted by 1-Ammy on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Just saw Jenny on Dr. Phil

    I have not read the book. But the interview on Dr. Phil was very interesting. I do believe that she is DSD. But I do not think this therapist wrote this book out of the goodness of her heart, for the betterment of Jenny, or her family. At one point Jenny said she didn't know about the Nazi who programmed her mind. Her therapist had to "remind" her about the old man. Additionally, this therapist does not have the families support, sued the son to prevent him from showing a documentary he made for a college class. After saying she worried about how it made Jenny look, she said also copywrite reasons. Jenny has signed over lifetime rights to her therapist, a direct conflict of interest between a patient and her doctor. The therapist is banking all of the money, and Jenny is not getting any. Dr. Phil was skeptical, his audiance and I are also skeptical. The Dr. Was paid for her services, now is making a profit off of her patient, and Jenny, who sufferred through all of this recieves nothing. Think twice before giving credence to this story.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    This book really sets out to do what it was meant to do, to show

    This book really sets out to do what it was meant to do, to show that abuse really does happen and, even though people are harmed by the abuse, they are able to come forward and heal. How I wish I could say that this book is not true, that children don't get hurt, and that rituals don't happen. I wish I could say there is no evil in the world, and that is not true. Evil lurks in families, and children are the brunt of that fragmentation. Dissociation and alter creation is not a hysteria, it is a fact. It is only through horror and the extensive use of repeated abuse that such psyche damage can take place, and this book describes it well, from the inside, and what it's like to be a child living through these extremes of damage. No one would want to make this up or could even think this up, if it were not true. Most people can't even understand this evil that lurks in man. It takes a brave person to speak their truth, and Judy Byington is speaking for many who have experience of extreme abuse. Thousands of people are healing from abuse so unfathomable that some many never recover. It takes a brave, courageous heart, and a belief in a higher purpose, that gives a stepping stone to recovery. Judy, thank you for taking the step to help so many and thank you Jenny, for allowing your story to be told.

    Shamai Currim PhD

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly recommended - fascinating book

    What most impressed me most about this book was the detail in which Jenny remembered many of the events of her life. The book moved quickly from section to section and had me on the edge of my seat throughout much of the book. Through the eyes of a child and later on through the eyes of Jenny as a young adult, we get to read the horrors of what Jenny went through interspersed with her trying to live life at home and at school. The good news is that Jenny was able to work through much of this and go on to help others in her life. If you want an exciting read, this book is for you.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Judy Byington should be sued for the way she has exploited this

    Judy Byington should be sued for the way she has exploited this family. This book is garbage.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    This is a great read that is almost impossible to put down once

    This is a great read that is almost impossible to put down once reading has begun. I give it 5 stars.

    There are some major misconceptions about author Judy Byington since the Dr. Phil show and I find it repulsive the staff will not even post these things! I do not know Judy but I tend to fight for what is right and the groups of people out to now destroy her book because of this show are wrong! She has NEVER been paid as Jenny's therapist, but Jenny has been in treatment with SOMEONE ELSE - a therapist for over 20 years. Judy has been Jenny's "biographer." With all the editing of this show, if she was able to make this distinction is was totally lost.

    When the book 22 Faces makes money, then as Judy said on the show she does plan to take care of Judy. Sometimes this is the kindest way to take care of a person. Jenny signed her rights over so Judy's literary agent could sell the rights to the book 22 Faces to publishers. Judy was asked to handle the money until Jenny is off Disability. Jenny asked Judy to write this book because Jenny wanted her story told, not the other way around. It's horrible to spend your childhood unable to confide in anyone! To be able to get your story out after being hushed your entire childhood is incredibly therapeutic for some like Jenny.

    Jenny stated on national TV that this book has never been about money for her and what she wants to offer other victims is comfort. It is about helping ritual abuse survivors through knowledge and telling her story. Jenny herself asked people to buy this book in an online clip! Please stop the attacks on Judy. I have read many times that Judy is the one that has cared for Jenny through the years when no one else would. Judy has taken Jenny into her home and gone beyond what most book authors would ever think of doing.

    MURK

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Read the book and was open to what it said, but as a product of

    Read the book and was open to what it said, but as a product of the 80s witch hunt for child abuse in day care setting I was very skeptical. I found the book
    to be very interesting and it certainly seemed real and factual. Then I saw the woman and her son and the therapist on a talk show and found that the author was completely exploiting this woman. The author gets all the money. The woman gets none and her son was concerned by the changes in her story and the facts that didn't fit. I'm very hesitant to suggest this to anyone. It seems this woman might be a victim of an overzealous psychologist who is implanting memories.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    I just finishing reading this book. I was skeptical at first, b

    I just finishing reading this book. I was skeptical at first, but by the time I had finished the book - I was a believer! A very poignant telling of Jenny's story! I'm recommending this book to all of my friends.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Twenty-Two Faces is a voice for the thousands of ritually abused

    Twenty-Two Faces is a voice for the thousands of ritually abused across the nation. A fast read that will make you laugh, cry and be astounded

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Dr. Phil show on DID is messed up! There are some major misconc

    Dr. Phil show on DID is messed up!

    There are some major misconceptions about author Judy Byington since the Dr. Phil show and I find it repulsive the staff will not even post these things! I do not know Judy but I tend to fight for what is right and the groups of people out to now destroy her book because of this show are wrong! She has NEVER been paid as Jenny's therapist, but Jenny has been in treatment with SOMEONE ELSE - a therapist for over 20 years. Judy has been Jenny's "biographer." With all the editing of this show, if she was able to make this distinction it was totally lost.

    Jenny signed her rights over so Judy's literary agent could sell the rights to the book 22 Faces to publishers. Judy was asked to handle the money until Jenny is off Disability. Jenny asked Judy to write this book because Jenny wanted her story told, not the other way around. It's horrible to spend your childhood unable to confide in anyone! To be able to get your story out after being hushed your entire childhood is incredibly therapeutic for some like Jenny.

    Jenny stated on national TV that this book has never been about money for her and what she wants to offer other victims is comfort. It is about helping ritual abuse survivors through knowledge and telling her story. Jenny herself asked people to buy this book in an online clip! PLEASE STOP THE ATTACKS ON JUDY! I have read many times that Judy is the one that has cared for Jenny through the years when no one else would. Judy has taken Jenny into her home and gone beyond what most book authors would ever think of doing!

    Dr. Phil again denies that DID even exists on his show! An insult to the therapists that diagnose it, the people that struggle with it, and the families/friends of people with DID that are affected by it!

    Skeptics have left 47 one-star reviews of this book, most in the couple of days since the Dr. Phil show! Let's give her what this work deserves - 5 stars!

    And for all you people who were stupid enough to have your opinions controlled by a TV show, hosted by someone who has absolutely NO right to question mental conditions (he's not a psychology expert or anything!), you disgust me!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    A Fascinating Read from Book Worm "Twenty-Two Faces" i

    A Fascinating Read from Book Worm
    "Twenty-Two Faces" is like nothing else out there that I have ever read. I cried with little Jenny and laughed with her Head Alter J.J. while being in disgust of her abusers. What was most electrifying was the thought that this could happen to me, or perhaps the child next door. Thank you Judy and Jenny for being so brave in speaking out against this most horrid disgrace of our society. You just might save some children from the traumas that Jenny endured.


    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    g

    g

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I respond because of the vociferous voices in opposition to Twen

    I respond because of the vociferous voices in opposition to Twenty-Two Faces. The opposition is atypical primarily for two reasons: the unusually large disproportion of negative responses, and the vehemence of their rhetoric.
    Formal rules for argument were established by the Greeks more than twenty-five hundred years ago and still hold firm as logical patterns of debate. One primary principle of argument is: we might passionately disagree with another’s stance, but we cannot deny their personal experiences and testimonials however far outside the normal standard of human experience they may be. There are “always exceptions to the (proverbial) rule.” Jenny’s unusual experiences are not within any norm society is pleased to acknowledge, nevertheless she has the right to claim them as her own.
    Both Jenny and Judy are enduring the barbs of self-appointed critics because they dare to reveal horrors of the underworld. Who purposely invites denigration of their personal life? Rarely, if ever, does an author spend years piecing together difficult and disparate material just for the fun of disagreement. Formal argument itself works to find common ground–to persuade–to agree. The author of Twenty-Two Faces has tackled a challenging, distasteful, and almost unbelievable topic. One may question the intent of authors, but not the integrity of their character without volumes of evidence. Valid criticism is essential to argument, but must be reasoned, not caustic; it does not attack character or credibility. Jenny and Judy deserve respect.
    Anyone familiar with history and ancient cultures will support the assertion that human sacrifice has existed since the beginning of time. The evidence is ubiquitous and irrefutable. Claims that we are immune from this horrific practice are naive and uninformed. Perhaps some of the most strenuous objections to Jenny’s account of nightmarish forays into hell come from those who object to the cover being lifted from their own dark and sinister practices. Children are not born evil, but born into an evil world. It is not innate to the character of a little child to conjure such terrible things; evil is carelessly and carefully taught to children. One of the unique marks of the ancient Sodom and Gomorrah was that the children were polluted by the adults.
    As a matter of fact, there are similar sinister tones in some of these contrary voices reminiscent of objections which occurred during the 1990's when human sacrifice was also an issue. During that time, many people came forward to bravely bear testimony of ritual sacrifice experiences, aberrant & incestual sexual encounters, and subliminal mind control practices. Some of the most vociferous objections to their accounts were verified by authorities to be from perpetrators, those most in danger of being revealed. Who else would have so much to lose through exposure to the light?
    Good and evil; right and wrong; light and darkness; belief and doubt; timely and timeless–opposition exists, nay, rules our world. Good people live so far removed from evil by choice that they are stunned by incredible accounts such as Jenny’s. Just imagine how evil smiles when we doubt the veracity of Jenny’s and others’ stories. However fractured the telling of her personalities may be, it is true. Edward Burke said: “In order for evil to flourish, all that is required is for good men to do nothing.” We must believe.

    truthyruthy

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    There are ritual abuse accounts that make an intentional mockery

    There are ritual abuse accounts that make an intentional mockery of ritual abuse survivors. Jenny Hill's account is NOT one of them. 22 faces is classic. Jenny Hill provides an impecable depiction of the very common "programmer" in ritual abuse cases, Dr. Greenbaum. This book is a must read for the study of ritual abuse. You will notice the exteme polarity of rating reviews in any book with the topic of ritual abuse. This is common. There is an active effort to discredit survivors. This alone adds to the evidence that it is very real.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Would not buy this book! Only gave it a star because it wouldnt let me post without it!

    After seeing this story on the Dr Phil show I thought about buying the book but decided against it. I think the author is taking advantage of this poor woman and her story. I have no doubts that parts of her story are probably true. There is a lot of evil on this world. Someone posted that she was just holding the money while this woman was on disability, if thats true that can be criminal. By saying shes on disability I assume they mean Social Security disability & you are very limited in the amount of money you can earn so in effect not only is the author taking advantage of this woman she's helping break federal laws! Shame on her!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Very poorly written, with implausible, and in some cases impossi

    Very poorly written, with implausible, and in some cases impossible, claims. The author admitted on national television that Jenny Hill gets none of the proceeds from the book. No trust fund or account has been set up for Jenny Hill; the money all goes to Judy Byington. Jenny Hill's family is on record stating that Judy Byington exploited and manipulated the fragile and impressionable Ms. Hill, and that this book is filled with lies.

    If you're interested in stopping abuse, please donate your money to a battered women's shelter or to a charity for abused children. There are many reputable organizations that fight for victims and survivors of abuse. But whatever you do, don't line Judy Byington's pockets with money that she made by exploiting Jenny Hill and lying about the Hill family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    This book is so poorly written it is a chore to read. The text i

    This book is so poorly written it is a chore to read. The text is disorganized and chapters contradict each other. The protagonist, allegedly went through sexual & other physical traumas but we, the reader, is expected to believe that no one at school noticed marks left on her face when her father reportedly pushed tacks into it. No one noticed a little girl dazed and roaming the neighborhood with a trail of blood dripping after several rapes?

    The text defies logic & reason throughout.

    Survivors of sexual trauma are not supported by such nonsense as this book published as if it is nonfiction. The author is trying to resurrect societal ills of yesteryear, namely multiple personalities and Satanic panic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I was blown away by this biography, it opens up a whole new real

    I was blown away by this biography, it opens up a whole new realm of society and the secrets and issues thrown in the back of the closet. Reading it took a while, but only for the horrendous acts of abuse discussed, but it does professionally address those moments of her life. I highly recommend this book. (As a side note, I feel that the interview on Dr. Phil did not at all cover what Jenny experienced in childhood and throughout her life, and am highly bothered by the interview by Dr. Phil)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Total bs

    This book is so ridiculous and farfetched its impossible to believe any of it, the author should be touting this as fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    I've not read this book but by reading the overview this sounds

    I've not read this book but by reading the overview this sounds eerily familiar. An old black and white movie was made called "The Three Faces of Eve." Over her lifetime she had 22 different personalities, odd that this woman does too. Also odd, a lot of this woman's alter egos sound like what Eve's were. So how much is real and how much did the therapist Jenny sees place in her head from someon else's alters. I work in a field where I do see these types of things so I know it does happen to people. I just find it odd that this story almost completely matches that one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2