Customer Reviews for

Twerp

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Review 6****** I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in

    Review 6******

    I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in return for an honest review.

    WOW! Let me first say that this a fantastic younger YA story! I loved it!

    Julian Twerski (Twerp to his sister and friends) is a fantastic character! He is a typical 12 (going on 13) year old. He is very thoughtful and bright. Unfortunately, one mistake leads to a school suspension, and a project that really brings this character to life! I liked him very much!

    I was a bit unsure about this book when I first started it. It felt more like a memoir than a children's book. However, this book hooked me from the second page! This story follows Julian as he and his friends go about their daily business (school and play). But, he is reluctant to get to the reason as to why he was suspended from school. Given this assignment by his English teacher, Julian reveals his inner-self. His anecdotes are witty and had me smiling and giggling in places. Julian's reason for his reluctance to tell his story of the mistake was understandable. It was a terrible mistake, but a mistake nevertheless. He learnt from it, and that's the most important point. I love stories like this - with morals in them. Without morals, or at least subtle warnings, how are children meant to learn what is right or wrong? Granted, they could find out for themselves, but people (including themselves) may get hurt (either emotionally or physically) in the process. I think that today's society has lost some of these morals, and they need to be re-taught. This book would certainly help with that!

    Mark Goldblatt has written an amazing coming of age story that reminded me of my childhood (although I hadn't had the same upbringing, or made the same mistakes). It is a moving story of growing up, peer pressure and bullies. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Julian's journal, and will be on the lookout for more of this author's work in the future.

    I highly recommend this book to not only readers in the 8 to 12 age range, but to adults too! - Lynn Worton

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really unique, clever and honest look at a sixth grad

    This was a really unique, clever and honest look at a sixth grade boy’s life, growing up in Queens: friends, worries, girls and eventually guilt about the bullying he was half-heartedly involved in.
    The story feels honest, and with the setting of 1969 the outside ‘distractions’ are far more direct: friends, girls, hating homework, and all of those activities you filled those hours after school with that wouldn’t and didn’t involve television or computers.
    While initially started as a way to get out of a dreaded class assignment, the journal quickly spins into a clever diary of life, interests and even concerns and guilt that Julian has. While dealing with the core issue of bullying, the author doesn’t bring in a preachy tone, or even a particularly adult tone: language use and approach is completely appropriate for a 12 year old, and would provide good perspective for children in middle school. The whole story is carefully structured to appear not-so decidedly constructed, with a stream of consciousness style that is easy and enjoyable to read.
    I received a copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review as part of the Children Read week at I am, Indeed. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    It gives off the same feeling as the well known 80s film Stand B

    It gives off the same feeling as the well known 80s film Stand By Me, which is also a story about coming of age.
    This is a tale about reflection, guilt, emotional turmoil and the eternal confusion of youth.
    It has an easy comfortable flow and the reader slips easily into the mind and head of the young teenage boy.
    Julian has been given an assignment by his teacher. He is expected to write about an incident he took part in concerning a young boy with learning disabilities. Julian writes about everything except that event in an attempt to deny and deflect his own guilt and involvement.
    The chapter with the actual incident made my heart ache for boy in question, whilst I waited for Julian to do the right thing.
    The end product is a slow realisation that each person is responsible for their actions and you can either choose to acknowledge that fact or deflect onto others. In essence Julian comes to a fork in the road and he has to make a choice about which road he is going to travel upon from this point forward. The road of laying the blame elsewhere and not taking responsibility or owning his actions and decisions in life.
    Although the book features the bullying of a young boy I felt that the sub-plot was secondary to Julian actually acknowledging any wrongdoing on his part. Conceptually understanding what he did and in doing so being able and willing to make a choice.
    I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as reading material to readers 9yrs and upwards. The book is suitable for older readers and adults also. In fact I think quite a few people who took the wrong path could garner a lesson from this book.
    I received a free copy via NetGalley.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Twerp is formatted as if it is the journal the main character, J

    Twerp is formatted as if it is the journal the main character, Julian, is asked to keep. As soon as I started reading, I wanted to know what the bullying incident involved. What happened? We don't find out for a while, but I liked the placement of those details. It gave me an opportunity to get to know Julian through his own words first, rather than letting a horrible mistake make the initial impression.

    Julian has a lot of wisdom for a kid his age. He's tenderhearted and thoughtful. He's intelligent - he goes on these little rabbit trails when he writes, and it's fascinating to read along and see how his mind works.

    Twerp shows how easily a "good kid" can get involved in something terrible. It is a coming of age story that works through the process of breaking away from peer pressure, learning to think independently, trusting oneself, and listening to the voice that tell us, "this is the right thing to do."

    Thanks to the animated and relevant voice of its main character, Twerp is certain to connect with middle grade readers. Geared for ages 9 and up.

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any other compensation for this review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    Love it!

    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Great book!

    This is not a true story. The author came to my school and talked. Great man. Great book. I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    So good it can be a movie

    Love it has a great lesson to teach to children and fun to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I truly did not enjoy this book, however, quite honestly, I didn

    I truly did not enjoy this book, however, quite honestly, I didn’t “get” it. As I read it I kept having those feelings I had when I watch “A Christmas Story” – wondering what it is about this genre that appeals to so many. So, no, I didn’t love it BUT I do know many who will revere this book!
    Try it out — or just give to to a boy that will appreciate it ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Musicnerd123

    I read the first 2 pages of the book and i was so bored!!!!!!! The author should have started with a big bang. I would raye this book 0 stars:( :(:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Is the sample the whole book?

    It seemed to be that the sample was the whole book. Is this true?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, but I think the name almost gives

    I really enjoyed this book, but I think the name almost gives it a disservice. I honestly thought it would be filled with dumb boy pranks and silly vocabulary, but I was totally mistaken. Twerp is the sometimes nickname of the mc - Julian Twerski. As he writes down his thoughts on his sixth grade year, he begins to fully understand what he "did" to earn the week-long suspension and how to finally come to terms with how to become a better person because of it. I also appreciated that Julian was in gifted classes, but was still portrayed as a normal kid - he's athletic, has a good group of friends and a normal family. So often smart kids are shown as nerds or geeks. Breaking the stereotype is refreshing. A great book and one definitely for boys, although girls might enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Explore Fears, Hopes, & Dreams of a Middle Schooler.  Journ

    Explore Fears, Hopes, & Dreams of a Middle Schooler.

     Journey inside the mind of a middle grader, as he shares his fears, regrets, and hopes through a touching journal exercise.




    Just by the passage I shared with you, I think you can tell at least one reason why I enjoyed this read. What makes this book is the voice. Hands down. Julian has a unique tone to his attitudes about his experiences, I couldn't help but like him. He's bright for his age--which he seems embarrassed about--and comprehends the world around him. I loved how honest he was about his view of the world while writing in his journal.




    The next element I thought of while reading was how easily middle graders could relate to Julian's position: being a watcher while negative action is taking place in front of him. Then, one of life's big choices presents itself to him: does he join in or walk away? It also gave a vibrancy to the thought we've all had--"Thank God it's not me being picked on."




    Setting the story during the 1960s worked, eliminating distractions from all our technological devices of today; it gave the story a direct focus on Julian's issues at hand.




    His thoughts in his journal were always addressed to his teacher, which gave an intriguing glimpse at student/teacher relationship. The more he wrote about events during his days the more intimate and in tune with himself he became. It was wonderful watching his maturing process. Of course, there was plenty of the average and expected events that happen to him as a middle grader. Girls, rough-housing with the boys, and other growing pains that make this book interesting.




    I'd recommend this book to any MGer who likes older settings and a more personal view inside a character. There's not much fantasy or adventure, so I wouldn't recommend it to those kiddos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Great Book

    I am a sixth grader that just finished this book for an advanced reading assignment in school and I thought that it one of the best books I have ever read. I just really enjoy how detailed Julian is with everything that is going on around him and inside of him. There are times in this book where may get angry, emotional, hysterical, or even just plain hooked. I ended up reading this book for hours on end because I couldn't get enough of it. I would highly recomend this book to anyone who enjoys reading realistic-fiction, first-person point of view books that get you hooked and don't let up until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Book

    What does he do!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1