Customer Reviews for

Twice Loved

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Twice Loved is a sweet holiday story of recovering after loss an

    Twice Loved is a sweet holiday story of recovering after loss and healing through peace and love. It has the warmth of Christmas memories and traditions, the history of a country recovering from war, and genuine Christian values for the whole family.

    Twice Loved is also a sweet love story. It is not an intense plotline or filled with suspense, like some of Wanda's other books. Rather it is a gentle story with genuine characters and real heartaches. Wanda walks us through the healing process and delivers a great story of love after loss and healing after heartache.

    I also like the extra pages of historical facts and war-time recipes. I look forward to trying many of the recipes. And my Christmas celebration will mean more since I have been reminded that not long ago our country faced Christmas very differently and had to struggle through war-torn Christmas celebrations. Thanks to the soldiers, their families and the country standing behind them, we can celebrate freely and fully. Merry Christmas!

    And I highly recommend reading Twice Loved as a family Christmas tradition!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Check it out

    Great, easy to read book. If you want as easy read, and don't have much free time to read, this book is ideal. Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    As soon as I opened the package containing this novel, I fell



    As soon as I opened the package containing this novel, I fell in love! The slip cover is beautiful and each page is creatively bordered with a gorgeous Christmas design. The back is filled with interesting facts and recipes that are an important part of our country’s history, and there’s a pattern for a cute toy as well. As a Historical Fiction fan, and an individual who’s heard several first-hand accounts from WWII survivors, I was impressed by the expert manner in which the author dictates a world that so many of us couldn’t begin to imagine.

    Bev and Dan are precious characters with remarkable resolve, courage, and faith. My heart broke for each one as they tried to push through the pain of losing a spouse, while staying true to their beliefs. Both struggle with the imperfections that we as humans must endure, but I was very satisfied with the paths that each chose in the end. The author obviously has strong Christian values, which is tactfully translated in this intelligently written book. I thoroughly enjoyed this remarkable Christmas tale of kindness, patience, and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Twice Loved is a heartwarming story of two broken people willing

    Twice Loved is a heartwarming story of two broken people willing to mend
    the other.  Set in post WWII, women found themselves widowed and asked
    to give up the job they held during the war because the men were returning.
    Where does a woman turn with a young family and no husband coming
    home?

    Wanda Brunstetter steps out of her usual Amish genre to take us to a
     different era and set of people and she does it with all the charm and talent
    we have come to love.  Don’t miss Twice Loved this holiday season.  It will
    warm you as much as a cozy afghan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    I loved Twice Loved! It's the perfect book to sit & read on

    I loved Twice Loved! It's the perfect book to sit & read on a cold winter's day while sipping a hot cup of cocoa. The book's title has dual meanings, & you'll find yourself enchanted with it's beautiful characters who find something that they didn't even know that they needed. Charming & thoughtful, it's a wonderful way to start off your holiday season, making you just relax & be before all of the craziness begins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    Twice Loved is the first book that I have read of Wanda Brunste

    Twice Loved is the first book that I have read of Wanda Brunstetter that is not of the Amish genre.
    The setting of this touching story is after World War II.
    The main characters are Bev Winters, a widow of the war and Dan Fisher, who lost his wife Darcy, through illness. Twice Loved is a used toy story, that was owned by Dan's late wife, Darcy. Bev takes a job there to help support her and her young daughter,Amy.

    Through Dan's kindness and Bev and Dan's Christian faith, their relationship grows. Dan and Bev learn from each other that it is possible to "love" again. Something they both thought was impossible after the loss of their respected love ones. The book also contains some historical information about the war and some wartime recipes. There is also a simple craft to make. I would highly recommend this book to read. This is another of Wanda's books that I have added to my collection Patti Bond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Wanda has done it again. What a nice story about losing love an

    Wanda has done it again. What a nice story about losing love and finding it again. It is a beautiful book that would look nice sitting on a coffee table during the Holidays. Would make a great present too! I love Wanda's Amish books but this was a nice story too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I just finished Twice Loved by Wanda Brunstetter. What a wonderf

    I just finished Twice Loved by Wanda Brunstetter. What a wonderful story. It was the first book I have read by Wanda that was not Amish. I enjoyed very much. Its a story of love and dealing with a death of a spouse. Bev was my favorite character because she was a strong woman taking care of her six-year daughter. This is a wonderful story and I encourage you to read it. It was also based around the holidays and that just adds to the story for me. Pick it up and enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Nice story but not GREAT

    I was very disappointed in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    All the previous books I have read which were written by Wanda B

    All the previous books I have read which were written by Wanda Brunstetter have all been of the Amish genre and so I really didn’t know what to expect when I read this book. It is a sweet and lovely story about hard times following WWII.
    The characters in this book were Bev and Dan. Both had lost their mates through illness and war. It was a time when you relied on your faith and the Lord to get you through the rough times, the times of need and loneliness. Wanda’s writings are very Christian and family oriented and this book was that. It is a quick read, took me about an hour but was very enjoyable.

    Bev meets Dan after losing her job and finds herself in a toy shop that Dan’s late wife had established. The toy shop, called Twice Loved, was a place for used toys and books. Many of these needed to have repairs and to be cleaned and renewed. Beverly takes the job opening at the toy store and although this was nothing like her previous job, does all she can to grow the little shop’s business, decorate and sell the used toys, all why caring for her little daughter. She becomes closer to her employer, Dan, and their relationship grows. Their relationship grows through their common faith in God and their Christian ideals. As the store is renewed so is their hope in finding someone to share their lives with, which neither thought was possible before they met.

    In this story, you see the kindness of others and the need for people to learn how to accept those kindnesses without taking offense but rather realize that these are God’s blessings being poured upon us through the hands of those we come in contact with.
    This story was very tender and I enjoyed reading it. At the end was a fun section with historical (wartime) recipes and a bit of historical information. For me, I could really relate to the wartime stories as it was a major part in the lives of my parents who survived prison camps and other wartime hardships. Knowing their sufferings brought this book into real perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    I read "Twice Loved" last night and couldn't put it do

    I read "Twice Loved" last night and couldn't put it down until I finished. To me it was a sweet and loving book, so refreshing for these days and times! Wanda Brunstetter is so good at capturing the subtle details that mean so much in connecting with the characters and this book will hold your attention. It's also special due to being set in the World War II time frame. My parents talked about those days and this made it meaningful to me. I was surprised to see the recipes made during that Era, too. A surprise bonus!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    My Heart Was Touched! This is a sweet tender story filled with

    My Heart Was Touched!

    This is a sweet tender story filled with love.  The end of World War II brought a lot of heartaches and tears.  Many
    women were left without a spouse, many children without a Father, the outcome of war.  

    Not only were there human loses but loses of jobs and income.  Women trying to make a living not only for themselves
    but for their children too.

    Author Wanda Brunstetter takes the loss of spouses and writes a heartwarming story of two people.  Bev Winters, a
    widow, trying to make a living for her and her daughter while feeling the stark reality that she is now alone without a
    helpmate.  Dan Fisher, alone because of the death of his wife.

    Two people, both Christians, trying to live their life that honors God.

    This story touched me in so many ways, as I too have lost a spouse.  God has other plans for Bev and Dan.  Will they
    listen to Him or will they try to handle their situations in their own way, too stubborn to let anyone else into their private
    lives?

    I wish to thank Barbour Publishing and Wanda Brunstetter for allowing me the joy of reading and reviewing
    Twice Loved.  It is a book that I will cherish for years to come.  The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1