Customer Reviews for

Twice Tempted (Night Prince Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I read this in one sitting.  I could not put it down.  This is w

I read this in one sitting.  I could not put it down.  This is what a vampire romance should be.  
Vlad told Leila that he could give her everything but love and that’s the only thing she wants from him so she is heading home to Marty and the carnival troupe.  Except so...
I read this in one sitting.  I could not put it down.  This is what a vampire romance should be.  
Vlad told Leila that he could give her everything but love and that’s the only thing she wants from him so she is heading home to Marty and the carnival troupe.  Except someone wants her dead and now Leila needs to figure out who to trust and how to stay alive.  
I can’t begin to say how very much I enjoyed this book.  Taking on Dracula is a challenge and Ms. Frost does him justice.  

posted by 1_trouble on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Dawne

I'm on page 183 of 287 and as of this point, it's all sniveling. "I can't marry you cause you don't love me" snivle, snivle. "I'm leaving cause you don't love me and won't give me a toilet" snivle, snivle. "Oh now you love me so let's get married" gag gag me. 183 pages...
I'm on page 183 of 287 and as of this point, it's all sniveling. "I can't marry you cause you don't love me" snivle, snivle. "I'm leaving cause you don't love me and won't give me a toilet" snivle, snivle. "Oh now you love me so let's get married" gag gag me. 183 pages of a sniveling twit. Really it's 2013, hopefully women out their don't really act that way. Maybe in the 1800's. Really people, you know how it goes and it's just not realistic. And to think some call it great romance. Hmmmmmm

posted by 3797909 on March 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Awesome

    I loved this second installment of the series. It was especially nice to see Vlad come so far relationship wise. It did hate that the book ended rather quickly, but it just makes me more anxious for the next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Review originally posted on My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    Vlad is back! It's been a couple of months since Once Burned. Leila is still living with Vlad. Unfortunately for Leila not much else has changed. Vlad still refuses to admit he loves Leila. Leila is worried about her powers coming back, but that pales in comparison to her worries about Vlad. Her heart can no longer handle Vlad's cold and distant behavior. The time has come for Leila to make a choice. Stay with Vlad who refuses to admit he loves her or spend the rest of her life without the man she loves most. Twice Tempted is fast-paced, action packed and an emotional roller coaster.

    The first 22 chapters show Vlad's other persona. Not the relaxed Vlad from the Night Huntress series. We see Vlad the ruler, who is a constant arrogant jackass. Although it's not my favorite side of Vlad, it was nice to see how he's forced to act around other vampires and his people.

    I feel a little sorry for Leila in this book. It takes her so long to realize the Vlad has to act a certain way when other people are around and that her actions are a direct reflection upon him. It completely sucks, but hey living in a castle comes with a particular set of rules. I love the compromise she found. Leila manages to keep who she is without compromising the safety that Vlad spent his entire undead life working for.

    I can't wait for the next book in this stellar series. As always, I will be impatiently waiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Enjoyed both book of Vlad & Leila. Waiting for the 3rd.

    Enjoyed both book of Vlad & Leila. Waiting for the 3rd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    So great! The first book was a big disappointment to me. With th

    So great! The first book was a big disappointment to me. With this one she redeemed herself. I love the book it was a great read. I stared reading the Cat and Bones series. I've read most of her books since and I love the characters she creates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book has tied nice and neatly into her other serires with Bones, Kat, and Vlad. I did not want to put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Only uspset the next one isnt out yet

    This has me even more hooked than the Cat and Bones saga. So much so that i read both in less than 12 hours of actual reading time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely loved it!

    Vlad and Leila are such an interesting couple, who, I think are topped only by Cat and Bones! I wish there was more than 3 books for Vlad's tale, but then, that's two more than Mencheres and Spade got... So I can't really complain. Jeaniene Frost's books are a sure win every time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Great Second Book; Doesn't Reinvent the Wheel

    The first book in this series was HOT, and engaging, and non-campy (finally, an "original Dracula" novel that didn't make me cringe). I liked Leila's powers, I liked the attraction between her and Vlad, I stuck around for the Big Bad that threatened both of their lives. The twist ending ensured a second book and I couldn't wait to read it. The second book did not disappoint! I liked the tension, and the ensuing trials and resolutions, between the two characters. Their relationship is what I enjoy most abut the books, even though the relationship was *slightly* less hot this time around, for me. I didn't like the new bad guy. I also disliked how the new bad guy tied into the Big Bad from book 1. But whatever. There needs to be a plot, I suppose. Why did I take away a star? Because it's my personal pet peeve when... SPOILER ALERT... SPOILER ALERT... SPOILER ALERT... the heroine has to turn into a vampire to stay with her one-true-love-forever-and-ever-and-evaaaaaaah. (That's a generalization, but it applies here.) Also, I dislike drop-ins from characters in other series. I understand that they all live in the same world, but it feels cutesy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Pretty good

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The blurb says that dating the prince of darkness has it challen

    The blurb says that dating the prince of darkness has it challenges, and does it ever! I’ve always liked Vlad. He’s such an unrepentant alpha bastard, that I can’t help but have a soft spot for him. He entertains me like no other, but I could never be in a relationship with someone like that. This book really drove that point home. Leila is a strong woman, but putting up with the attitude and indifference from Vlad would be enough to break anyone. It’s bad enough that he’s a vampire and barely conceals his contempt for her being human, but when you throw in his antiquated male chauvinist point of view, it’s too much. 




    The book begins by throwing the reader right into the loneliness and heartache Leila is experiencing. She is stuck in an unfulfilling relationship with a man uninterested in compromising. She has the option of leaving him, but there are also various vampires just waiting to kill her, and those close to her, the moment she lets her guard down. Leaving Vlad, and his protection, will definitely put her safety at risk. There is also the bigger issue of her being in love with him. She has some difficult decisions to make, and they’ll affect more than just her.




    I was surprised by how much I was pulled into this book. How could I possibly have forgotten how great the Night Prince and Night Huntress books are?! The first chapter felt like visiting old friends that I hadn’t realized I missed so much. Of course, there was the irritating but lovable Vlad. Bringing him some humility is Leila, she such a great character. She is strong, loyal, courageous, and passionate. She embodies all the qualities I admire, so I couldn’t help but like her more and more as the book went on. Vlad made me want to strangle him, but I could never stay angry with him for too long.




    Twice Tempted has an excellent mixture of their continued relationship, which is far from becoming stale, along with adventure and suspense. Leila and Vlad are not getting along, and someone is doing their best to kill her. Making the killer’s job easier is an unknown traitor within Vlad’s inner circle who has turned against him. It was fantastic, both fast paced and compelling. The only complaint I have is the ending. I realize urban fiction generally ends with a cliffhanger, but this one took me by surprise. I felt the buildup of the suspense, but the ultimate climax and unresolved issues weren’t as good as I was expecting. It was actually a bit anti-climactic, at least in comparison to other scenes in the book, and I didn’t realize it was the end. I went to flip the page on my nook and realized there wasn’t any more. I was a bit dumbstruck to realize it was done. That’s not the best final thought upon finishing a book. Still, up until that point I was loving it. I absolutely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    My rating 4.5 Vlad, Vlad, Vlad, I get it. You're a medieval war

    My rating 4.5

    Vlad, Vlad, Vlad, I get it. You're a medieval warlord and uber-master vamp. Any perceived sign of weakness spells doom for not only you, but your entire family. But loving Leila isn't a weakness. Just say the damn words already!! Leila, you know all this about Vlad. He's THE Impaler for pete's sake. But I'm not going to argue your methods as your leaving did pay off, didn't it!

    Once I started Twice Tempted I couldn't put it down! Honestly, I finished the entire book in about five hours and was left begging for more with this fabulous couple! Jeaniene proves, yet again, what a master storyteller she is! She seamlessly weaves action, suspense, humor and romance into a tale that keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. Oh, and the sex scenes....yep, those are scorching hot!

    Since Twice Tempted is set in the Night Huntress world, we're treated to cameos from Mencheres and our favorite red-head, Cat! We also get to catch up with some favorite secondary characters from the Night Prince series including Marty, Maximus, and Gretchen as Leila and Vlad seek out the latest threat against them.

    As I said earlier, Twice Tempted left me wanting more and we'll get it! There's one more book in store and I'll be on pins and needles until it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Must read

    Another winner for Jeaniene Frost

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Fun read!

    Couldn't put book down. Just as fun as her other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Love it!

    I like this couple ALMOST as much as Cat and Bones. Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Worth it

    Worth the Read, bur I prefer more Bones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended.

    Me encanto, lo recomiendo, me lo lei en un día.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Leila's powers are on the fritz. She is covered in Vlad's aura a

    Leila's powers are on the fritz. She is covered in Vlad's aura and it somehow short circuits her abilities. 

    Vlad is unwilling to give Leila what she desires most...his love. This drive a huge wedge in their relationship and ultimately sending Leila back to the carnival circuit. Almost immediately tragedy strikes, sending Leila on the run for her life and unsure who she can trust.

    I really enjoyed Twice Tempted although it seemed as I said with the first Vlad book, I miss the Vlad that had a sense of humor, jokes with women(Kat, etc). I wanted more personality to connect too. That being said, it was a very good story. The romantic connection, when it does happen is very steamy and passionate. The mystery was very engaging although it seemed to come full circle. I love Jeaniene Frost's works and I am a huge fan, this was a really great book but I think I had expectations. In the end, I found Twice Tempted was a fun and entertaining read, it gets a solid 4 stars from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Goodd Good love story

    T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    I read the first book and couldn't wait for this one to come out

    I read the first book and couldn't wait for this one to come out. It didn't disappoint !  I enjoyed it from the first page 
    to the last. Can't wait for the next installment.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Better than the first...

    And I loved the first in this series. Wow. I read it in a day. I can't wait for the next book in this series. And it is hard for me to say any more without spoiling the ending. Thanks for another great read:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4