Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 19316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15041)

4 Star

(1942)

3 Star

(866)

2 Star

(404)

1 Star

(1063)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

170 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!

I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I...
I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

posted by FairyDust90 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful hero...
Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful heroine who doesn't know she's beautiful, who is so clumsy that I wonder if she has a serious neurological problem (and after she puts herself in danger THREE times, all of them which can be avoided with COMMON SENSE, I'm going to bet my house that she does) 2)Neanderthal hero who runs over heroine's wishes. (Do you feel that earthquake? That's hundreds of feminists doing backflips in their graves) 3) Beautiful, pure love that has absolutely no logic to it. (Edward loves Bella because she 'smells' good, and that is an ambiguous term, and Bella just loves him because he's HOT. Yes, how very deep of you, Bella.) 4) Problems that are solved quickly and easily, with the two-dimensional villain quickly slaughtered. (Bella wouldn't have gotten nearly killed if she hadn't made such a moronic decision that made me wish the aforementioned villain take her out of the genetic pool). It's trash, it kills trees, takes away habitats from poor animals, and it kills your time.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19385 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 970
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!

    I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

    170 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I loved reading this book! It was unique and the story was fantastic.

    133 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    i love the twilight series. it's absolutely awesome!

    106 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can't stand it.

    I was an original fan of this series having read it after the second one came out. As I reread 1-3 and then read the 4th one I began to realize how horribly written it was. The writing style was as if a kid in middle school or high school wrote it. I thought the storyline was certainly unique but poorly executed. It dragged on and had too much repeated detail. I must admit I am a fan of vampires that burn when the sun hits them, not sparkle.

    90 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    Guilty Pleasure

    The Twilight Series is like literary candy. I has almost no substance, is sickeningly sweet, and can make you want to throw up if you ingest too much. That said, it is also good if you have a sweet tooth that needs to be taken care of.<BR/><BR/>This series is fun if you are just looking for a distraction from your everyday books. The writing is simple and easy, the dialogue is sappy bordering on disgusting, and the plot is one dimensional. The books get better as you get further into the series (as the writing and plot progress).<BR/><BR/>If you like this book because of the supernatural element, you should check out the Dead Before Dark series by Charlaine Harris. Those books have more interesting characters and a more complex plot.

    84 out of 180 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Once you start reading this book, all prior plans will go to ruin!!!!

    I started this novel on Friday and didn't put it down until it was over...yeah I lost some serious sleep over it! Meyer does an exceptional job drawing her readers into the world of her characters. I felt like I knew each and every one of them by the time I was finished with Twilight...and let me tell you I was really sad when it was over!!! I can definitly see a sequel in the making...please give us a sequel!!!!!

    67 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    In the end, love really does conquer all. No matter what you are.

    At first, I wasn't too sure about reading Twilight. I thought to myself as I held the book in my hand, "there's no way i'm reading this." I just figured that it was going to be about another lame vampire story with coffins by day and garlic being the end of them. By the time I read the book, I learned that the description I first thought about the book was the total opposite. What really intrigued me the most about the book was when I flipped the book to a random page where Edward is right about to kiss Bella (for those who haven't read the book, those are the two main characters) and Bella's describing Edwards beauty to the extreme all the way to the sweetness of his breath. It became so overwhelming to her how this beautiful creature was just about to kiss "her," so she almost faints! Flipping through pages is something I always do before reading a book just so I know I'm not going to be wasting my time.. So once I read that, I just had to read the book and because of all the great feedback I heard about the book. The day I actually started reading the book, I was instantly hooked! Even though I could have kept reading, I had to stop because of life's sometimes unpleasant committed obligations. During breaks at school or on my lunch at work I would read, any spare time that I had I would read. The intensity of the book, the description of Edwards's beauty, the insane stories and drama was just mind blowing. The book is such a thriller and it always, always, always left me anticipating, nervous thinking about what was going to happen next! The night I finished the book was the night I had just finished reading three chapters and the book was right at its climax. I honestly did try to put the book down to get some sleep, but there was absolutely no way I could do so. I had to keep reading I just had to! If you're not much of a reader, or are afraid of the thickness of books typically how I am, then have no fear! Twilight is the most amazing book I've ever read. I hope that Stephenie Meyer publishes six more novels. I never want this love story to end! Read this book, trust me, you will not be disappointed. I can almost bet my life on that!

    62 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Horrible, horrible book.

    Where to start? The fact that the books encourage physical abuse, mental abuse as well as pedophilia, necrophilia is probably a good place to start. Not to mention the bad grammar, the repetitive use of words which, I'm sure, the author has no idea how to use correctly ("Inconceivable!" "I do not think that word means what you think it means"). It abuses geography, it sets back women's rights to about 50 years or so. And the romance? What romance can be had between to very stale characters who have absolutely no personality. And what about the plot, please, there is no plot. Girl moves out of town, meets boy, finds he's a vampire, falls in love within the span of a couple of days, thinks she's not good enough for him, blah blah blah. And by the end of the book series, no conflict is resolved, the characters are basically the same characters they were at the beginning of the books, and they ruined the one character I actually liked.

    Simply? I only recommend this book if you are an airhead whom can't get over the fact that there are /better/ books out there, and there are, believe me there are.

    61 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    WOW WORST BOOK EVER

    I can not believe that this is what the world has come to. This book is completly awful. First of all it's 100 pgs of Bella (the drama queen who is the main character)living a day to day life in a boring town. Then 100 pgs of her arguing with the stalker vampire Edward Cullen about who he is. Then they get together and say things that are forced and make you gag such as "You are my everything" is places where it does not fit. You have to have an IQ of 0 to think this is good writing. Sure girls like it because of the romance, i thought hey maybe it'll be ok with vampiers and them fighting but no it has 300 pgs of boring and gag causing scentences like "I'm unconditionally and irrovocably in love him." After she knew him for what a week or two then get to an ending that is so anticlimatic of some other vampier wanting to eat her which you always knew it would never happen so it had so suspense to it and the fighting chapters were so poorly written. IT IS AWFUL please do not get this book it will be a waste of your time

    51 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    A Joy to read

    Wow. That had to be the best book I've read in a long time. The fact that fiction could be so subtly involved in a story - I didn't even know I was reading a fantasy novel until about halfway through. The characters were well written and the book invited me to become Bella through the love and pain that she endured throughout the book.

    38 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series.

    Great series.

    28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    What the hell was this?

    Alright, so in I will admit I read all of the Twilight saga, but something hit me after I finished the final book. This book is terrible. It kills the true vision of vampires. They are suppose to be scary, not wimps with feelings. But really it is stupid how people are flipping out about this book. No offense, but it was terribly written.

    27 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My very favorite book!

    Oh how could I ever begin to explain how much I love Twilight? What an incredible plot! What incredible characters! Just plain out...what an incredible series! I love love LOVE Twilight and would recommend it to anyone to read!

    27 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing book for everyone!!

    This book caught me from the beginning...The character of Bella was very easy to imagine and her flaws made her seem more realistic and made it easier for a lot of people to be able to identify with her. The mystery surrounding Edward Cullen and his family pulls the reader in, making them want to find out more. I have guy friends that love the books too, so it's not just for girls, or even just teenage girls! It really is an amazing book!

    25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    not deserving

    The beginning was good. It was mysterious and interesting but then after a while it became Edward this and Edward that and stars and bull. I got completely bored. I had to really force myself to finish reading this book. It did pick up again but ended so quickly I was unable to enjoy the action. The author had a good idea she just couldn't execute it well. It's written poorly and it doesn't deserve this huge credit, praise, and success.

    22 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EDWARD=LOVE

    This was the most amazing book i've ever read to say the least. Edward and Bella leave you wanting more and more and the chemistry and romance and excitement between them totally get you hooked. Throughout reading this, there was so much thrill, love, and very intense situations that'll leave you smiling or even fuming with anger. Edward is so complex and the way Ms Meyer describes him leaves you wishing you knew someone like Edward and constinetly wanting to read more to see what he does next. The end will defintetly shock you and you'll never see it coming. I love this book and I cannot wait to read the next three. Also, once you've read Twilight you have to go see the movie because it was pretty much as great as the book. TWILIGHT IS A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    22 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Not a good experiance

    I'm tired of so many people at my school saying this is the best book. I don't think it's good at all! Really! The main character is shallow let along stupid and clumsy. Edward has bad taste in women *cough*. And he only loves her because of her smell.... If he really 'loved' Bella, then why would he put her in harms way? He's a vampire, she's his dinner. Come on, that's NOT true love. Sorry Stephenie Meyer, but this isn't your best work and i don't recommend anyone reading this! you'll easily get sick of the main character and everything else in this book.

    20 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Caution!!!

    This is a caution to everyone that have obligations (ie children to care for, a house to clean) this book will prevent you from wanting to do anything but read!! This book is excelent. I could't put it down. The characters a wonderful. The way that Stephanie Meyer describes the closeness of Bella and Edward makes you need to take a break! It's very age appropriate for young adult. However, I'm 28 with a husband, 2 kids and now reading New Moon. You need to this book!!!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Why the hype?

    Everyone who could read was talking about this book. Generally, I wait until the hype is over before I read a book but since the movie was coming out - well, that changed everything. I hate watching movies then reading books. I must say, I was completely dissappointed. The hype added immenseley to my dissappointment as well so that didn't help matters. The book was predictable but honestly, so are three out of four. So that wasn't my issue. My issue was just how...mediocre...the book was. The storyline was ok the series flowed nicely but it was badly written. I know that almost everyone who is reading this wants to shoot me so I want to ask you this: If you had that very idea, couldn't you have written it? That's not to insult anyone's intelligence but a book with so much hype HAS to be AMAZING, not just good. The characters were interesting, I wanted to shoot Bella (she really got on my nerves but I think that was the general idea) and I saw Edward as an overrated, obssessive creep. The book was ok but was it worht the hype and drama?

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put this book down

    Beautiful characters. A coming of age story. A forbidden romance. Will spark the imagination of every heart.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19385 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 970