Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 19315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15041)

4 Star

(1942)

3 Star

(865)

2 Star

(404)

1 Star

(1063)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

170 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!

I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I...
I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

posted by FairyDust90 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful hero...
Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful heroine who doesn't know she's beautiful, who is so clumsy that I wonder if she has a serious neurological problem (and after she puts herself in danger THREE times, all of them which can be avoided with COMMON SENSE, I'm going to bet my house that she does) 2)Neanderthal hero who runs over heroine's wishes. (Do you feel that earthquake? That's hundreds of feminists doing backflips in their graves) 3) Beautiful, pure love that has absolutely no logic to it. (Edward loves Bella because she 'smells' good, and that is an ambiguous term, and Bella just loves him because he's HOT. Yes, how very deep of you, Bella.) 4) Problems that are solved quickly and easily, with the two-dimensional villain quickly slaughtered. (Bella wouldn't have gotten nearly killed if she hadn't made such a moronic decision that made me wish the aforementioned villain take her out of the genetic pool). It's trash, it kills trees, takes away habitats from poor animals, and it kills your time.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1063 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 54
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Can't stand it.

    I was an original fan of this series having read it after the second one came out. As I reread 1-3 and then read the 4th one I began to realize how horribly written it was. The writing style was as if a kid in middle school or high school wrote it. I thought the storyline was certainly unique but poorly executed. It dragged on and had too much repeated detail. I must admit I am a fan of vampires that burn when the sun hits them, not sparkle.

    90 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    Horrible, horrible book.

    Where to start? The fact that the books encourage physical abuse, mental abuse as well as pedophilia, necrophilia is probably a good place to start. Not to mention the bad grammar, the repetitive use of words which, I'm sure, the author has no idea how to use correctly ("Inconceivable!" "I do not think that word means what you think it means"). It abuses geography, it sets back women's rights to about 50 years or so. And the romance? What romance can be had between to very stale characters who have absolutely no personality. And what about the plot, please, there is no plot. Girl moves out of town, meets boy, finds he's a vampire, falls in love within the span of a couple of days, thinks she's not good enough for him, blah blah blah. And by the end of the book series, no conflict is resolved, the characters are basically the same characters they were at the beginning of the books, and they ruined the one character I actually liked.

    Simply? I only recommend this book if you are an airhead whom can't get over the fact that there are /better/ books out there, and there are, believe me there are.

    61 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    WOW WORST BOOK EVER

    I can not believe that this is what the world has come to. This book is completly awful. First of all it's 100 pgs of Bella (the drama queen who is the main character)living a day to day life in a boring town. Then 100 pgs of her arguing with the stalker vampire Edward Cullen about who he is. Then they get together and say things that are forced and make you gag such as "You are my everything" is places where it does not fit. You have to have an IQ of 0 to think this is good writing. Sure girls like it because of the romance, i thought hey maybe it'll be ok with vampiers and them fighting but no it has 300 pgs of boring and gag causing scentences like "I'm unconditionally and irrovocably in love him." After she knew him for what a week or two then get to an ending that is so anticlimatic of some other vampier wanting to eat her which you always knew it would never happen so it had so suspense to it and the fighting chapters were so poorly written. IT IS AWFUL please do not get this book it will be a waste of your time

    51 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    What the hell was this?

    Alright, so in I will admit I read all of the Twilight saga, but something hit me after I finished the final book. This book is terrible. It kills the true vision of vampires. They are suppose to be scary, not wimps with feelings. But really it is stupid how people are flipping out about this book. No offense, but it was terribly written.

    27 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    not deserving

    The beginning was good. It was mysterious and interesting but then after a while it became Edward this and Edward that and stars and bull. I got completely bored. I had to really force myself to finish reading this book. It did pick up again but ended so quickly I was unable to enjoy the action. The author had a good idea she just couldn't execute it well. It's written poorly and it doesn't deserve this huge credit, praise, and success.

    22 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Not a good experiance

    I'm tired of so many people at my school saying this is the best book. I don't think it's good at all! Really! The main character is shallow let along stupid and clumsy. Edward has bad taste in women *cough*. And he only loves her because of her smell.... If he really 'loved' Bella, then why would he put her in harms way? He's a vampire, she's his dinner. Come on, that's NOT true love. Sorry Stephenie Meyer, but this isn't your best work and i don't recommend anyone reading this! you'll easily get sick of the main character and everything else in this book.

    20 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    There are three phases...

    Phase 1: You read the book and while you read it, you actually like the book and it's hard to put down.

    Phase 2: You finish the book and realize that the whole story wasn't that great and that the plot didn't actually get interesting until James wants to eat Bella, like any REAL vampire should.

    Phase 3: You see the movie and all is lost... the book becomes the most awful thing you've ever read and you hate on it constantly.

    My conclusion: Vampires should stick to eating people. It was more interesting that way. And if you would like vampires to date people, then the Vampire Diaries is a much better series.

    17 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sparkling vampires soak the sun, and unfortunately do not die

    Oh why, oh why did I choose to read this commercially-profused book detailing the intricate lives of the people of the night? Was it the grand hype surrounding said novel? Was it my peers being so engrossed with the "intellectually stimulating" content of the novel? Or was it just my own curiousity getting the better of me, for which I curse? Whatever it was, it was a waste of my poor brain cells, which received much damage after reading this magnificently mediocre novel! I know how everyone has been raving of Edward Cullen of saving their life, but he's not the bite in my bit (no pun intended). Could the characters really get any more cliche than they already were? I think those who were acquainted with the Buffy the Vampire Slayer series can attest to the characters in that show to be have more dimensions than the likes of the Cullens and our little damsel, Bella. As much as teenagers would not like to admit it, face it, this novel was targeted for your age group. I don't have a problem with adults reading it, but to think of it as the "best book" ever read, or how it's their saving grace to all things vampire, please review your ideas before jumping to conclusions by reading something a bit more...substantial. Besides the plot being overly simplistic, the writing style was T-E-R-R-I-B-L-E!!! WHAT WAS THIS WOMAN THINKING? No, that's the wrong question, WHAT WERE HER EDITORS/PUBLISHERS THINKING?! I think I would give a third grader more credit for his/her reading abilities than Stephanie Meyer gave her audience. Gosh, I can still remember the best line in the book, "He was so mean." And for those of you who don't believe that line exists, it does, it's near the first part of the book when Edward comes into the school's office to change his classes and he sees Bella and gives her a grimace and leaves. I cannot provide you with the exact number because I had to throw my copy into acid water before it reached the hands of some unsuspecting poor fool in my family. I would not wish for them to endure the same everlasting pain that I still feel when I think of this book. All in all, quite a bore. And NEVER compare Edward "I'm invincible to everything but love" Cullen to Fitzwilliam Darcy of Pride and Prejudice. NEVER. I'm a bit glad I actually read it because now I can forewarn against it.

    16 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    A Waste of Time and Sad Beginning for Teenage Girls.

    Seriously, I do not understand why girls go crazy over this repulsive and unintelligent book. Girls all around the world should feel offended by the book. Isabella, a 'clumsy' girl (that's the only trait she has!) meets the hottest guy in school who is also a vampire. Go figure! How many books have you read that started like that? Anyway, girls should feel offended because of how idiotic Bella is toward Edward. Stephenie wrote this book as if she were Bella, and Edward was the dream man that she wished she had but had to deal with her own husband. Bella i one of those girls who would do anything for Edward. And I've noticed some peers saying that they were Bella and their boyfriend was Edward. Why would you want to be a girl with no sense. If Bella was sensible, she would've given Edward a hard time but secretly loved him...not in love, but love as in developing. Some believe in love at first sight, but come on, that was too fast. If Bella had given Edward a hard time, then the story would've been better, in my opinion.If Bella had ignored him when she found out that he had been watching her, that would have been good, too. Then she should have given him a piece of her mind. In my opinion on girls, they don't just fall head over heels for this one guy they just met. Girls should be respected, and Edward doesn't have a clue on what respect is to be a hundred year old vampire. Edward and Bella are both idiotic. I'm suprised at Edward because he could read minds! I wouldn't kill myself if my girlfriend (not saying I have one) were to, oh let's say, jump off a cliff to bring me back home. I would show up at her funeral and pay my respects. Cry, a lot, but not kill myself. Before Stephenie writes anymore vampire books, she needs to learn a few things: This is not an opporotunity to throw your whole sap of a life into an underdeveloped character. She also needs to know that vampires do not sparkle. They burn, not sparkle. And she needs to make her characters develop. I'm a writer younger than her, and I'm ashamed to say that I can write better than this! Bella is just a shy girl who is sometimes clumsy. Edward is just a cold vampire who loves the first girl he sees. That's how most relationships end. She also needs to let their relationship grow. By the fourth chapter, I think, or maybe the fourth week of Bella's time with Edward, they were in love. Love takes a long time, and she should know that. Twilight should have been the time they spent on building their love, trust, and responsibility. New Moon would have been better to start the love deepening. Also, Stephenie needs to learn that she is writing to teens, not herself. First, stop using so many big words. We know you have a degree and a few special words would help, but sentence after sentence are college words for a junior. Second, this book has so much sexual preferences in her perspective that it is crazy! Like most people said, the book would be 100 pages less is she stopped writing about Edward's appearance. I'm only in my adolesence stage (14-18) and I could really do better than this. I might not use those big words she uses, but I would do better. I feel bad for girls who love this story. They are so blinded that they can't see the truth: Stephenie does not respect teenage girls and how they handle relationships. I don't believe she even respects herself with her arrogant interviews. Stephenie needs to improve in her work.

    15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!!!

    this was the worst book i've ever read, and it's a disservice to human kind.if you want to read horror steven king is your guy. if you want a sappy love story, read an author who actually has a brain cell. most people who read this book have wasted weeks of their lives for something that will quickly go out of style. the people who read this book at my scool are braindead popular kids. seriously, wake up people.

    15 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    It's Just a Book

    Listen, it's okay to like Twilight. There is nothing wrong with liking Twilight. But the fact of the matter is, they aren't the greatest books ever written. Not even close. You know why? Because there are so many illogical plot points and the characters are basically all the same people, they have no flaws at all or have flaws that are not really flaws (Bella is really pretty, but OMG, is she cluuuuumsy -- that's not a flaw.)

    Bella is a Mary Sue. Edward is abusive (and this NEEDS to be addressed, seriously.) The other characters are disposable. The last book, when paraphrased, sounds ridiculous (I thought my friends were joking when they talked about it at first, but it turns out, they were for real.)

    Stephanie Meyer has taken elements from almost every other vampire book and series and converged them into one vampire that "sparkles" (ew) and somehow still contains sperm to impregnate somebody. Along with this hodgepodge of vampiric traits, Meyer has included severe Mormon undertones. One of my friends is a former Mormon and was extremely disturbed by the deep Mormon undertones of the books, including the odd abstinence that Edward forces on Bella and their wedding in particular. Besides this, Bella is a self insert of what Meyer wanted to be.

    The plot, the characters, and the premise are illogical and poorly written. That makes them not the greatest books ever written. Does it mean you shouldn't like them? Not necessarily. In fact, regardless of how logical the books are or realistic or well written, everyone deserves the right to like something and fall in love with it. But Meyer won't win any awards soon and neither will her plot or character construction.

    Edward is unnecessarily hurtful to Bella throughout the novel; abuse is not just physical, it is emotional, mental, and sexual. He forces Bella to hide her sexuality; he makes promises and breaks them; he controls her and makes her think that he is the only thing she needs to survive. That's not a love story. That's a story of abuse, it just is not acknowledged. Does that make them bad books? Yes and no. Does it mean you shouldn't like it? Certainly, you are allowed to like the book. But should you be able to acknowledge that it is somewhat illogical, confusing, and could be concerning to others? Yes, you should at least try.

    Twilight is a series that is incredibly dividing. If you like it, like it; but don't scream and yell to defend it. When others say things about it, ask them why and at least try to understand. It doesn't matter if everyone likes Twilight or not. It's just a book and it's entertaining to a point. It reads quickly. It's great for airports. It's great for teenagers when put in context. Read it if you want, but just know, if you fall in love with it, just take the time and have the maturity to be able to accept that others have not.

    The same also goes for disliking it. It's just a book, remember, and everyone is entitled to their opinion. I may dislike the book, but I recognize it for what it is: a teen series, fluffy and light and airy.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    The worst book ever written

    i read twilight about a year and a half ago and hated it. than i read new moon and thought it was complete garbage and an utter waste of my time! i got to eclipse and almost threw up because of the fact that it was almost like a freaking porno! same with breaking dawn only it was more perverted and more freaky. the fact that bella and edward have a muntant baby together just freaks me out to no end and gives me nightmares that keep me up at night. i cant fathom anybody enjoying this series but yet there are still millions of twitards out there buying every edward covered tshirt they find...it absolutely rediculous that this obombination is even sellable. im sorry to say this stephany meyer but your books suck...you need to find a job more suitable to your skills because your obviously not a good writer AT ALL. i hope shes finished with these books and all the twilight nonsense can go away so everyone can get on with their lifes. I dont reccomend these books to anyone...at all...if your a teenager strolling through a book store and you find yourself with a twilight book in hand just throw it into the trashcan where it belongs. the world doesnt need anymore twlightlovers so find something better to read. and all of you twilight lovers out there...you need to get you mind out of your little fantasy world and realize these books make no sense and that you can do much better than to pollute the world with all that nonsense. so burn your team jacob tshirts, snap your twilight dvds in half,and throw your life sized edward posters out the window and begin the start of a twilight free world1

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No Way

    I read 2 pages and about jumped out the window! This book is about a girl and her petty little life. She meets a dead man who sparkles and they fall "in love". Umph! I think I'm going to puke! I don't recommend this at all. Now if you hate your life and want to kill yourself, but can't quite get up the nerve to, read this book and you'll be dead before you finish the first sentence!

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Meyer swings...and she misses.

    I will preface this review with the knowledge that there is already a vampire bible. Its volumes have been written by Anne Rice who, for all intents and purposes in the genre, is the first mover and shaker. She is the one that needs to be read.<BR/><BR/>Now. It might help to know the intended audience. These books are meant for lonely, prepubescent girls. This is the only explanation for the largely amusing characterization. For those young ones searching for "romance", it seems like they have found their fairytale romance in Twilight. What else have they found though, I wonder...<BR/><BR/>Within Twilight, we are acquainted with the character Bella Swan. She is supposed to be the "everywoman" character with which the reader resonates the most. She calls herself plain and repeatedly regales the reader with comments of how ordinary she is. Despite this, she attracts the attention of the vampire stud, Edward Cullen.<BR/><BR/>What blossoms between them is not romance. Bella is a whining, cringing, manipulative, desperate, co-dependent waste of space and Edward is a creepy, stalker-like boy with a fetish for Bella that can only be described as absurd and nonsensical. What they have for each other is not love, but a strange psychosis. They need no marriage; rather, they need counseling. From a counselor who doesn't mind when his patients turn fabulous in the sunlight.<BR/><BR/>Even more than the absurd characters, Ms. Meyer amused me with the choice of her words in describing her world. Usually when I read vampire literature, I expect something dark and gothic, but Ms. Meyer betrays those (very reasonable) expectations by turning out a work of fiction that young, bubble-gum chewing, teeny-bopping schmoes might enjoy chomping on for awhile before going back to their sordid lives. <BR/><BR/>Perhaps the intended audience should be those souls we have in the penitentiary system. It should be read aloud to them as a torture device so as to give them pause to reflect on what they had done to merit so harsh a punishment. Maybe the descriptions of the vampires turning fabulous during the daylight will cause them to reflect on their crimes against society. Perhaps Ms. Meyer will consider a prison-system reading of her work. The better to keep her from writing anything else.<BR/><BR/>In short, I feel that this is a work of fiction that would be unfit even to have its pages be starter for a fire. I find no real literary merit in it whatsoever. I also find it to be a waste of time and money. Purchase this volume at your own risk and probably to your very great delight (but more hopefully to your very great chagrin). It is a thoroughly deficient title in every sense of the word and I am sorry I read it.

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Why...why?

    Some of the twilight fans I know are starting to get out of the series because it's just too popular.But that is not my only reason for hating the book.I laugh in disbelief as some fans call the book their "life" and their "bible".I should'nt have to explain how ridiculous that is.What happened to real literture? The book is very unrealistic refering to edward's "god-like" beauty about 165 times.I think the women who read this series are being decieved into thinking this is real romance.The relationship is very unhealthy between them.This is not Romance...this is Obsession.Just take a random flip through the pages and you'll find some horrible "heart-throbbing" scenes.Bella cannot live without him or she will die.Edward stalks her.Bella describes his glory on and on.<BR/><BR/>Now making point about the writing.<BR/><BR/>To be honest the author just told girls what they wanted to hear...a perfect handsome guy with streak of extroidanary mystery without any flaws.Don't get me wrong when it comes to writing anything is possible but you must think of the audience.There are more things to this world that will get you by without a vampire to swept you off your feet.The book was written badly with no plot...and if it did have one it was hidden beneath the garbage of obsessed romance.<BR/><BR/>Read something real like the books I recommend...

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Waste of paper and your time

    I read this book not a month or two ago and it was horrendous. Bella is whiny and extremely predictable, and Edward is nothing but a bloodthirsty fairy. Jacob was just something to get everyone watching the movies. I cannot go near a movie theater showing the latest Twilight movie without someone screaming "Oh my God Jacob/Edward is soooooo hot" or a huge cutout of Taylor Lautner or Robert Pattinson(Can't remember his name, and I'm glad I can't) shirtless in my way. The other characters are completely used and have no real purpose but to cause another ridiculously melodramatic plot in the story.

    Bella is easily predictable- average, clumsy girl falls in love with sexy hunk Edward. She always goes along with Edward's plans even though half the time they go horribly wrong and somebody ends up hurt. She doesn't display any sign of being normal, not sniffly or upset about one stupid over exaggerated thing. She expresses more emotion than needed. She cannot tell left from right and cannot find her place until she finds the "perfect" Edward. If he was perfect, he wouldn't dare bother with Bella and keep the greatest distance possible away from her.

    Edward is nothing more than a sparkling fairy. Plus, they took out the sparkling in the movies to save money in New Moon and Eclipse. He runs around shirtless everywhere, showing off his abilities- running around obstacles, always "being there" for Bella. It's getting a little annoying. He always uses random excuses. "But I have to go feed this weekend..." Grrrrrr. The only reason he likes Bella is because she smells good. She's not exactly that "girl" you'd always want, but she smells good. LAMEST WAY TO LIKE A GIRL EVER!

    I also read New Moon (skipped Eclipse because I watch the movie at a party) and Breaking Dawn. The best book out of them all was the last. I don't know if it was either the fact it finally ended or the Twilight fans were taking control of me.

    This is MY opinion. Please do not give me an "unhelpful review" because I don't like Twilight. If you do, then tht shows you are over obsessive with the topic and if you can't except that fact, well... that's that. Thanx for understanding my point of view!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not live up to the hype.

    I continue to be amazed at how such a terrible book could have such a huge following. After all the hype, and everyone I know raving about how amazing Twilight was, and about how Meyer was such a genius for writing it, I started reading it full on ready to love it too. That didn't happen.

    The more I think about it, the more I realize how truly horrible this book is, and how little effort Meyer put into it. The characters are flat and boring and highly uninteresting. Bella has to be one of my least favorite female characters in fiction. She complains about everything, even things that she should be grateful for, such as her dad getting her a car, and every time someone at school tries to be nice to her, she completely bows them off. She's selfish and shallow, and a horrible role model for girls today. And I don't get why every girl is in love with Edward Cullen, there's nothing remotely interesting about him. He has no personality, no quarks to find cute and adorable, plus he's abusive and an out right stalker. The love that Bella and Edward share that so many find to be just perfect, isn't really love at all. It's lust. Real love goes beyond "godlike looks" which seems to be the only thing Bella cares about since it's all she can talk about. Meyer is no genius, the books are about as unoriginal and cliché you can get. She put so little effort into her book and it shows, the writing, the plot holes, the fact that she only wrote one draft and didn't bother to edit. Steven King, one of the most popular and acclaimed writers of the modern era, had it right, Stephanie Meyer really can't write worth a darn.

    The only good thing about this whole series, is discussing the flaws with other people who didn't enjoy it as well. It's a sad day when the only time you can have an interesting conversation about a book is when you are criticizing it.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    A Waste of a Good Book Title

    Possibly the most profound disgrace to the English language ever written, this unfortunate excuse of a romance novel deserves respect only in the fact that, despite it's unfortunate existance, is miraculously still on book store shelves. The writing is mediocre at best and suicide-worthy at worst, the characters are flat and uninteresting, and the sequels are just as bad. How S. Meyer has found a way to expand ten pages worth of plotline into a four book saga is, frankly, beyond me. Don't be fooled by it's popularity, Twilight is not worth your time.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    I tried to read this book. I really TRIED. But about half way through i couldnt take it anymore. The writing is dull and undescriptive. It is about a gloomy boring teen girl who meetes a vampire. She just talks on and ON about how PERFECT and GORGEOUS he is. Perfect characters are the last thing you want in your writing. They should be interesting with good qualaties and bad ones, strengths and weaknesses! Characters you can relate to, people that you can become intrigued with! Plus bella is a horrible roll model for the girls reading this series. She has no self esteem and is completely dependent on her boyfriend. Then there is the fact that the vampires......sparkle. VAMPIRES SHOULD NOT SPARKLE!!!!!!!
    if u want a series to get into, i recomend THESE!:
    Harry potter(best books ever)
    Percy jackson
    The hunger games
    The kane chronicles
    Maximum ride
    Series of unfortunate events

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    Why i hate Twilight

    I've given a lot of thought to why i hate twilight when everyone else on the whole damn earth loves it. It's not that i'm not into teen fiction or anything. i am. but there were a couple of things. It was incredibly slow. That book could've been at least 300 pages less than it was and still would've gotten the point across( it rains a lot in forks, bella is boring, and edward is gorgeous and a vampire). Two, it really had no moral whatsoever. I didn't learn anything from this book. i took nothing away (although i stopped after 250 pages because i wanted to claw my eyes out it was sooooo boring!) other things, too much question and answer. way too much. <BR/>But the primary reason i hated this book so much, and don't get me wrong i liked edward cullen, i did, was that edward and bella were flat characters even though they were the main characters. THEY WERE FLAT. they didn't change, or grow, or mature. the only thing bella learned was that edward was a vampire. also, they liked each other. whoop dee doo. if maybe bella had learned something along the way or there was some POINT to reading this book, i would've liked it more. but no, i couldn't even finish it it was so terrible. although i'll give meyers the fact that she can write really well.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1063 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 54