Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 19312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15040)

4 Star

(1942)

3 Star

(865)

2 Star

(404)

1 Star

(1061)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

171 out of 226 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!

I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I...
I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

posted by FairyDust90 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful hero...
Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful heroine who doesn't know she's beautiful, who is so clumsy that I wonder if she has a serious neurological problem (and after she puts herself in danger THREE times, all of them which can be avoided with COMMON SENSE, I'm going to bet my house that she does) 2)Neanderthal hero who runs over heroine's wishes. (Do you feel that earthquake? That's hundreds of feminists doing backflips in their graves) 3) Beautiful, pure love that has absolutely no logic to it. (Edward loves Bella because she 'smells' good, and that is an ambiguous term, and Bella just loves him because he's HOT. Yes, how very deep of you, Bella.) 4) Problems that are solved quickly and easily, with the two-dimensional villain quickly slaughtered. (Bella wouldn't have gotten nearly killed if she hadn't made such a moronic decision that made me wish the aforementioned villain take her out of the genetic pool). It's trash, it kills trees, takes away habitats from poor animals, and it kills your time.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    Guilty Pleasure

    The Twilight Series is like literary candy. I has almost no substance, is sickeningly sweet, and can make you want to throw up if you ingest too much. That said, it is also good if you have a sweet tooth that needs to be taken care of.<BR/><BR/>This series is fun if you are just looking for a distraction from your everyday books. The writing is simple and easy, the dialogue is sappy bordering on disgusting, and the plot is one dimensional. The books get better as you get further into the series (as the writing and plot progress).<BR/><BR/>If you like this book because of the supernatural element, you should check out the Dead Before Dark series by Charlaine Harris. Those books have more interesting characters and a more complex plot.

    84 out of 181 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Doesn't live up to the hype

    As a number of my students recommended it to me (and I'm not THAT far out of the target age range) I decided to give this series a try. Unfortunately, while I can understand its popularity to a degree (average girl swept of her feet and out of her boring life by a mysterious vampire) I don't think it is a very good novel. Meyer tries way too hard to be Anne Rice and fails. The story isn't bad, however the writing itself feels very forced and stilted, and we really don't need to be reminded of Edward's beauty at least once per page. Bella comes off as a bit of fool, however some of the supporting characters (Alice, Jasper) are certainly interesting. All in all, the book kept me entertained enough to make it through to the end, though certainly not without a few cringes along the way. The melodrama gets to be a bit much, and vampires should NOT sparkle in the sun (although I suppose it's as good an excuse as any as to why Edward won't go out in it. I'd stay out of the sun too if I looked as though I had been bathed in glitter as a result.)

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Don't hurt me!

    This is a deceptive book. It will trick you into thinking it is good. You will begin to fall in love with the characters and you will love it. When you finish reading the series and you re-read it. You will realize how stupid it is. You will realize that Bella is an incredibly stupid girl That edward is a control freak, stocker,and jerk. That jacob really is better. You will also realize how stupid and pointless the story-lines are. it is good, I did obsess over it but then i was cured, i hope you are too.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Hmmm.

    I can understand the appeal of these books. The heroine is a girl that is easy for most teenage girls to relate to, and the love interest is a handsome, mysterious stranger. However, I don't think this novel lives up to the hype. When I read this book, it served as a mindless diversion to quiet my mind before I went to bed, and I liked it for that purpose. But in terms of long-lasting appeal, Twilight doesn't hold up for me. The characters are a bit flat, and the plot is predictable. Not too mention the relationship Bella and Edward have is completely unhealthy. Bella solely relies on him, forgetting everything else in her life. If you're looking for some one-time, quick mindless entertainment, then be my guest and read this book. But if you want something deep and meaningful, look elsewhere, like Tolstoy. Heck, read Wuthering Heights, since it's mentioned in the series so often.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    Not impressive

    I was really bored with the book for some reason. I mean we all know how she feels about Edward but really does Meyer have to mention that every single time those 2 make contact " that cold skin blah blah balh blah blah"? And also if humans are prey to vampires...how is Edward dating Bella? It's like I am dating a chicken...come on Meyers what is this? Also there wasn't any good action and Meyers like changed how vampires are really suppose to be in her own version. Meyers you barely give enough description on how Edward is...all you put in our minds is some hot guy in some small town and Bella is a beautiful hot girl...pathetic. Your book is interesting to read but book 1 really wasn't that good. I have so many other complaints and i did change readers mind on your book. I hope your next 3 books arent pathetic as your first one.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Hmmm .. Not A Fan

    My friends loved this book dearly, and when they told me to read it, I was excited for a really good love story. I have no problems with the vampire stuff that I thought would initially scare me, but what I DID have a problem with is the lack of love. I was so bored throughout the WHOLE book, and I thought that the story lacked the romance that it was hyped up to have ... I was very disappointed. What book where my friends reading??

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    And the story would be?

    I have had the pleasure of reading many fantastic and epic tales of love, friendship, and adventure. This book however, raved by many I found to be lacking much. Writen like a highschooler's diary, and presented in a maner where you do not care about how the caricters end up the way they do, or the journey it takes to get thier but more or less an ending that turns out to be disapointing and boring. Although the idea and potential for a truly wounderful book to emerge it is difficult to get by the mass amounts of informitive fluff that realy is not that important to the plot. It remains one of the few books that I belive the movie is better than the source it is based on.

    If you like tales of vampires, adventure, and a story promising entertainment. This book is seriously missing the mark. but if you do not mind waisting your time away reading petty little thoughts of a girl who is swallowed up in a world of junior high romance. This book migh just hold some intrest with little saving grace. Do not extpect much of a climax however, and don't bother reading it to look deeper for hidden meanings thier are none.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Yet Another Frivolous Teen Book

    The purpose of books is to entertain, inform, or inspire. Good books usually have all three qualities which prompts me to question, how did this series gain so much popularity? Twilight has no substance, holds no kind of challenge for the readers, and has no good writing qualities whatsoever. Authors and publishers fail, yet again, to grasp that teens may want to read more than a predictable romance, but then again, why should they? Teenage girls are buying it aren't they? Not that the story is horrible, it is actually a rather creative Romeo and Juliet spin-off, this time with vampires. It is just the writing expertise in it that are equivalent to a seventh grader's journal, with due respect to seventh graders. If it weren't for the main character, who every fan has a cruch on, copies of this book would be overfilling warehouses, just like every other forgettable book out there. Before I conclude my rant, may I just say to all the teen authors and publishers out there, some substance please?

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Against the setting sun

    OK...I'm one of the few non-females to read this book. My wife and many of her friends would push this into the 5 star category. I'm between 2 and 3 stars.

    It's definitely an enjoyable and well-crafted story with endearing characters. Meyer creates a lovable heroine that her target audience of women and girls can relate to and sympathize with. Then she pairs her with a gallant and chivalrous hero trying desperately to reconcile his love with his sense of self.

    For the male audience, the romantic twinges are a bit over-the-top and pull us back to reality while we try to deal with saccharine overdose. Still, the intrigue and bits of action and suspense can keep even the least emotional male invested enough to see the story through.

    I enjoyed it and will eventually read the rest of the series, but I wasn't caught in the "can't put it down" mode that my wife and many other readers found themselves.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is TERRIBLE!

    Twilight is bad. I mean, really bad. A true teen read to say the least. I mean, there are teen books I enjoy because they manage to blur the line well enough that I don't feel like I'm too old to be reading it. This is not the case with Twilight. It is so high school at times that it pissed me off. Those kids, Edward and Bella, literally hung out for 2 days and were professing their undying love for one another! Bella could not go a full night without spazzing about the separation. I mean, yes, in high school some kids do take their infatuations a bit far... but really??? It was disgusting! I would have been able to tolerate the book, had it not been for how overdone the emotions of the characters were. And only the main ones too... everyone else in the book seems normal. And don't try the, "It's an unexplained attraction, they're unique" bit on me. They're wack, end of discussion.

    I had seen the movie. I knew what I was in for. Thankfully, the movie didn't overdo the emotional ish like the book did. I was going into this willing to overlook the violations to the norm (Seriously- vampires sparkle in the sun, not burst into flames?!) And I'm all for the vamp/non-vamp thing. I have seen every episode of Buffy and Angel. I love Buffy with Angel and Spike. Hated the other normal guys! But this book was so bad that even overlooking those details didn't save it! Hell, even Sookie has relationships with Bill and Eric in the Southern Vampire Mysteries. Those books were AMAZING. I thought they were good before, but after reading Twilight, I hold a new appreciation for them!

    I will admit, I'm determined to see it through to the end now. If not for the love of the series, at least because I'm determined it has to get better. Steven King was right, this woman cannot write. At all. At least they're a fast read. I made it halfway through book 2, New Moon, in all of a few hours.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay start to an increasingly mediocre series

    The first book of Twilight was decent. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't anything to get excited about.
    You start out with a basic main character, Bella. The thing I didn't like most about this book was the lack of focus on the main character. She hardly had a personality of her own and was just dull. I understand that main characters that're ordinary are better ideas, but Stephanie Meyer didn't do a good job on it.
    Then we have Edward, who becomes Bella's lover. To me, Edward is very whiny, dull and cliche. He's supposed to be the utmost man of your dreams, which I hated.
    I also felt like the enemies created for this story were very unnecessary... Although it added excitement, they just had nothing to do with Bella and Edward's main problem, and came completely out of no where.
    It's a good read for teens and stuff, but shouldn't be taken very seriously.
    It wasn't awful, but I just don't think it deserves the hype it's getting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Ehh.

    It was ok, but not the most captivating story i have ever read. It was written poorly and the characters were predictable and boring. Save your time. And money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Kinda Bad...

    This isn't an amazing book. This isn't a god awful book. It falls somewhere in the very mediocre bordering on bland and bad, with typical characters and a very uncreative storyline. There's the damsel in distress named Bella who everybody loves... for no apparent reason other than she's new in town, and the knight in white called Edward who of course will be the savior and lover of the dreary, boring damsel. As for the storyline, I seriously couldn't find much creativity in it at all except for the "vegetarian" vampires, where they sucked the blood out of animals instead of humans, which to me took all the fun out of them being vampires. Also, the relationship between the "damsel" and the "knight" is pretty unhealthy, Edward following Bella and trying to control her, and it only gets more unhealthy as the books progress. As my English teacher said, "This book is a terrible message to girls."

    This is a book for twelve and thirteen year old girls, despite the terrible message. They will eat this stuff up. I've also seen people who usually only read books when they have to love this book, claiming it's an amazing masterpiece, yet they of course haven't read much in their lifetimes. If you fall under these categories, give it a try. Otherwise, don't waste your time with this overrated book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Did't like it

    I am going to be a negative nancy here, and I am sorry to be so. Meyer's writing I have to compliment though since it is well done along with her characterizations. I just didn't like the story. I like how at the beginning Bella started out strong, but then all of a sudden became totally dependent on Edward. I found her selfish, but I can't really blame Meyer for that since Bella is a teenage girl; yet I found her 'emo-ness' tiring. I am probably going to sound like a raging feminist here, but I am far from it, it's just that I don't think Bella is a good role model for young girls to follow. More so than that, I just found the book uninteresting, but if you like standard vampire romances I would recommend this book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why Such a Phenomenon?

    I know a lot of people like this series. Most of my friends do in fact. But after finally reading this book, I just can't see why. I'm a young writer and have read books on writing, so I know what a good book needs (real characters, interesting plot, strong theme, great writing are my big 4) and Twilight just doesn't have those things.
    First, the characters. The main character, Bella Swan, is remarkably boring. I don't know anything about her past, besides that she came from Arizona and her parents are divorced, and I wish I knew a little more about where she came from and who her friends were back home. The first day at school she puts on a fake smile and comments to herself how much she doesn't like anyone even though they're giving her a warm welcome. That just seems mean to me. And then the only person who doesn't act nice to her (a.k.a. Edward Cullen) she likes? What? That just annoyed me. As for Edward Cullen, the second main character, I don't get why girls go so head over heels for him. He follows her to a city before he knows her, creeps into her bedroom to watch her sleep, and takes her to a meadow and then talks aloud about how he could kill her while they're there alone. Uh, that's not romantic, that's really creepy. There's a ton of fictional boys out there who are much better than Edward Cullen.
    The Plot. The plot in this book is non-existent. For the first 300-400 pages NOTHING HAPPENS. The characters have no conflict. Yeah, Edward's dangerous, but he never attacks Bella. He never does anything to hurt her. There's no forbidden romance. Nothing's stopping them from being with each other besides themselves. There's no outer conflict either. It's just creepy stalker Ed and boring Bella for 400 pages. I was bored to death and about to give up when finally a little bit of action was thrown in. But when there was actually going to be a fight, Bella blacks out and we're also left in the dark about what happens. That annoyed me most. I wasted hours on this book, trudging through 400 pages of "Oh, Edward, you're so beautiful!" and "Oh, we can't be together because I'm dangerous and stuff, but I'm still going to go out with you anyways." only to have any action in this book skipped. Sigh.
    The theme. I just read an article recently about how theme unifies a story. There was no unifying theme in this book at all. In fact, I couldn't find one redeeming theme. I guess you could say the theme is "Love conquers all," but what Edward and Bella had was not love. Love takes sacrifice, patience, sweat, tears, and time. They had more of an infatuation going on with each other. So "Love conquers all" isn't the theme for this book.
    The writing. I laughed a lot in this book from the (bad) writing. And moaned in pain too. When Bella says something about Edward (mostly about his "Greek god-like looks or how he looks like an angel or his topaz eyes) she repeats it over and over again until I want to throw the book against the wall. The author decides to tell us everything instead of showing us. Bella's supposed to be selfless because the author tells us that, but I see her being selfish over and over again. Edward's supposed to be beautiful, but he's never really described in detail, so he was always a blurry figure in my mind.
    In the end, I didn't enjoy this book. It might be my taste that's talking, or maybe I'm too critical. Read it if you want, but I would just pick it up at the library.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    A culmination of weak writing skills, bad characters, and sub-plot

    The book Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer, could be considered by some to be an interesting read. Unfortunately, the book has a weak, almost non-existent plot and sub-par characters that don't have enough depth to feel real. There is a variety of vocabulary present in this book, though some of the bigger words seem to be pointless, and some are even used incorrectly within the context of the sentence. The main character, Bella, is said to be a new girl in town, yet immediately has random boys trying to hook up with her. This book is extremely unrealistic, and many of the main points are confusing. Overall, i would not recommend this book to anyone except for a good laugh at the ridiculousness.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Unforgettable

    in a bad way. 80 percent of the readers read it cause they THINk edwards hot or because it so popular. It lacks in writing skills and character. IT is predictable and boring

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Unremarkable Fad

    I honestly thought that a series as popular as the Twilight books have become would be a good read, or at least a descent one. Sadly, Meyer let me down. The plot is questionable, at best. Its carried through slowly with unneccissary side-trips that do nothing for character development, nor story development. Bella and Edward are two-demensional at best and, to be honest, rather creepy. While I can understand the appeal of true love and vampires, this series is not the way to go. Bella and Edward experience something more akin to obsession, not love, and Meyer's idea of vamprism is laughable at best. The most redeeming factors of the series are Jacob, Alice, and Jasper. Furthermore, Meyer can't write. She sentence structure is poor, her grammar makes me cringe, and her overall style is all over the board, going from lose to formal in the span of a paragraph. I'd suggest reading Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles or JR Ward's Blood Dagger Brotherhood. Or, hell, even the Chronicles of Vladimir Tod. If you're seriously interested in the books, check out markreadstwilight first: http://markreadstwilight.buzznet.com/user/journal/

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why all the hullabaloo?

    I have read the Twilght Saga and I cannot figure out why it exploded the way it did. I know that people love vampires, but the characters in this book shouldn't really be classified as vampires. The author took all the great lore of vampires and ruined it. She would have been better off creating these characters and making up a creature name for them rather than calling them vampires and conjuring up the idea of vampires that we've known forever.

    The characters are extremely boring and one dimensional. The only slightly interesting character is Jacob and Meyer makes it obvious that readers are not to identify with him. This is Edward's story and no one else. Bella is the worst possible example of a heroine. She has no back bone, she acts and reacts in a stupid manner (to basically everything), and worst of all it appears that Bella is the fictional representation of Meyer herself. She is supposedly so plain and boring, yet many characters fall in love (lust?) with her within the first few chapters of the book.

    The part about this series that annoyed me the most is the author's lack of delivery. She creates suspense and you hope that something really big is about to happen and then before you know it, all is right again and there was actually no conflict at all. The story needed more edge, more creativity and less angst.

    A similar series is the Mercy Thompson series, but at least Patricia Briggs delivers some conflict.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    There's better.

    I think that this saga is enjoyable, to a point. By the time i got to the 4th book, i knew what was going to happen, + the way that all my peers see this book as true, and act as if they'll fall in love with one of the characters to me is sickening. Stephenie is a very talented writer, but i think most of the people who are obsessed with this saga aren't aware of that, + are all hyped about the glame, and looks of the people playing the characters, and the movies more than the actual books. I just feel that the books would be better, if there was never a movie. + this book made me hope that when i'm older i become a better, and stronger woman and person than Bella. ALSO. That this book isn't as great as i hope it would be, i've certainly read better books. I was very disappointed after i finished this saga. But i this will not take away from the fact that Stephenie is a talented writer.
    p.s. Sorry about the jumble of ideas in this review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21