Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 19314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15042)

4 Star

(1942)

3 Star

(865)

2 Star

(404)

1 Star

(1061)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

172 out of 227 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!

I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I...
I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

posted by FairyDust90 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful hero...
Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful heroine who doesn't know she's beautiful, who is so clumsy that I wonder if she has a serious neurological problem (and after she puts herself in danger THREE times, all of them which can be avoided with COMMON SENSE, I'm going to bet my house that she does) 2)Neanderthal hero who runs over heroine's wishes. (Do you feel that earthquake? That's hundreds of feminists doing backflips in their graves) 3) Beautiful, pure love that has absolutely no logic to it. (Edward loves Bella because she 'smells' good, and that is an ambiguous term, and Bella just loves him because he's HOT. Yes, how very deep of you, Bella.) 4) Problems that are solved quickly and easily, with the two-dimensional villain quickly slaughtered. (Bella wouldn't have gotten nearly killed if she hadn't made such a moronic decision that made me wish the aforementioned villain take her out of the genetic pool). It's trash, it kills trees, takes away habitats from poor animals, and it kills your time.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 865 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Why the hype?

    Everyone who could read was talking about this book. Generally, I wait until the hype is over before I read a book but since the movie was coming out - well, that changed everything. I hate watching movies then reading books. I must say, I was completely dissappointed. The hype added immenseley to my dissappointment as well so that didn't help matters. The book was predictable but honestly, so are three out of four. So that wasn't my issue. My issue was just how...mediocre...the book was. The storyline was ok the series flowed nicely but it was badly written. I know that almost everyone who is reading this wants to shoot me so I want to ask you this: If you had that very idea, couldn't you have written it? That's not to insult anyone's intelligence but a book with so much hype HAS to be AMAZING, not just good. The characters were interesting, I wanted to shoot Bella (she really got on my nerves but I think that was the general idea) and I saw Edward as an overrated, obssessive creep. The book was ok but was it worht the hype and drama?

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    undeserved fame

    the story is shallow, there are many others that are similar to it. I enjoyed reading it, though it wasn't something i would say was great, possibly good. I enjoyed the second book far more than any of the others, you see some character evoluton. And to be honest, Meyer vaguely follows Shakespears works and others. (she quoted them throught). Bella Swan is predictably shy and withdrawn, setting up a predictable, if not disatifying story. Other than the characters, the writing wasn't good. Other teenagers will disagree with me for sure, but i don't understand why it is so popular as to have fan girls asking me if my boyfriend is "my Edward." rediculous and undeserved fame.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    Okay, but...

    As an adult, I realize I'm not the part of the target audience for this type of book. I am, however, a fan of suspense/horror novels and am always intrigued by the vampire mythos. I gave this novel a try but was quite disappointed. As others have mentioned before me, I was disturbed by Bella's passivity and willingness to deny her own well-being for a boy she didn't really know. She was willing to "die" for him (literally) shortly after meeting him. Her own hopes and dreams for the future were completely obliterated once she discovered Edward, and she came to feel that without him she would not have a life worth living. This is a very unsettling message to be sending to young women who are part of the target audience for this book and who are devouring it in increasingly greater numbers. Also, for anyone who has been around teenagers lately, this book does not accurately represent how they talk, act and think. It presents a very sanitized world that doesn't include the very real pressures and conflicts that teens deal with in school, even in the Pacific northwest. I also felt that Stephanie Meyer didn't wring all of the suspense out of the plot that she could have. There was the potential for nail-biting suspense, but I didn't feel it. The most tense moments had to do with Bella finding herself in one life-or-death situation after another and Edward riding to her rescue like a white knight. After a while, this became rather predictable. What would have been more interesting and frightening would have been to explore Edward's conflict in greater detail. He is portrayed as having such noble intentions with Bella. We couldn't see much of the conflict between his more primal need to drink her blood and his heartfelt love for her as a person. This was suggested and talked about but only in the most superficial ways and never exploreed with any depth. If the reader had truly been unsure of whether he would kiss or bite her every time he got close to her, it would have made for more exciting reading. As it is, readers have the sense that he has his impulses well-controlled, and his love for Bella overrides his innate desires. On the positive side, it was a fast, easy read, and any book that gets young people excitied about reading can't be all that bad!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Not sure it sends the right message to teens

    I thought it dragged. Although teenagers might like it, i think that it sends a bad message that if a relationship doens't work out that you have to kill yourself. Teenagers are dramatic anyway and this seems to feed into that. I read the secone one Dawn and that was even slower.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ugh!

    basically the entire book is focused around edward. too much OMG IT'S EDWARD! EDWARD EDWARD EDWARD! it makes bella look like a complete wimpy girl. god it makes it look like the entire world revolves arounf edward, WHICH IT DOESNT!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Honestly?

    This is actually more a review of the series than just the first book.<BR/><BR/>I read Twilight after it was recommended to me by basically every girl I know. I was expecting a lot more than it delivered. Honestly, the first book is alright. The writing is mediocre, but the characters and events can be intense.<BR/><BR/>However, once you get past the first book, it goes downhill from there. If the first book is good, then the second book is just okay. The third book is not good and the fourth book is drivel.<BR/><BR/>I can see why so many girls like these books. They are written for girls. But if you ever try reading them aloud, or really think about what you are reading, it becomes absolutely ridiculous. And not just because we're talking about vampires.<BR/><BR/>I would say read the first book. It's fairly good, for what it is. But I would suggest you stop there. Once I moved beyond the first book, I started to despise the character of Bella. She's about the dumbest girl I ever heard of.<BR/><BR/>But really, what girl is going to believe this review?

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    IM IN LOVE

    Okay so I READ!! LIKE EVERYTHING!! I have to say being an avid reader and enjoying all genre of books from the classics to Harry Potter I have to say that this is the best book I've read in a long time. I didn't catch on back when it was published and recently just started with the impending release of the 2nd movie, New Moon. I've heard the hype and thought I'd catch up 7 see what this was all about. Well I'm in love. I haven't seen Twilight the movie yet but I plan too and I certainly plan to see Edward & Bella to the end!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    TEAM MIKE!!

    Edward; I stalk you in your sleep
    Bella; I love you!!!!!
    Jacob; I stalk you in your sleep too
    Bella; I love you too!!!!!!
    Mike; I dont stalk you in your sleep
    Bella; youre so weird Mike

    The plot was a little boring at times, but the writing was good, if you liked this book, you should read the Host by Stephanie Meyer. That is MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Ups and downs

    Obviously Twilight is a very polar book, leaving readers loving it or hating it. The negatives that people say are mostly true- not much character development or plot and the main male character is controlling while the female character is portrayed as weak (although I like the clumsiness, probably because I'm equally as awkward). So why read? If you are in the mood to read something not challenging (at all) and would like to dabble in a harmless fantasy/sci-fi. Meyers does a decent job creating a world of paranormal that is nice to get lost in - I did read it in a day. I usually read realistic fiction so at the very least this was a break from that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremly Over Rated

    In my opinion, this book along with the rest of the series is extremly over rated. They are poorly written. I think one reason I feel this way is because of all of the 13 year old girls that are obsessed with the series just because they think the actor who plays the lead character is "hot". The good part of this series is that the story is good, but it drags on for a lond time. This book is kind of repetetive and says the same thing in a lot of different ways. The books would be better if they were in a 300 to 400 page book instead of its almost 500 page length. If it were a shorter book and got the story across in a shorter way the book would be a lot better. The characters are pretty entertaining. It is a good book for people who are running out of things to read. Overall this book is decent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Maybe I'm too old???

    Not a book I would recommend for a reader who likes to be kept "on the edge" with a book of this genre. I will try to read the others in the series, but find it easy to put down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good story...

    It was the one I most liked. It was fresh and new and the characters had a thing going on. Really felt like it was being built to something far greater. The story was a great story and all but the characters really lacked characteristics. I felt like they were basically the same person. The only thing we really know about Bella is that she's clumsy and even that is masked by the fact how she loves Edward. The only one I recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    This book has been around for a while and I've heard my fair sha

    This book has been around for a while and I've heard my fair share of criticisms, so I was semi prepared for poor writing, etc. I genuinely enjoyed the first half of the book, it was kind of cute. But when it came down to the big conflict, I found myself dumbfounded at the complete lack of creativity and the shear stupidity of the main character.  Don't even get me started on the ending.  It was so mushy and fluffy, I pretty much skimmed through it in anticipation of being DONE with this book.  I love the notion of taboo love but this book just didn't do it for me.  I came in expecting crappy writing and a decent to good story, but I got crappy writing AND a crappy story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Its ok...

    I loved it at first, but now I am do sick of it...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Im 13 is ...

    Is this book ok for 13yr olds???..??????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Just Read my Review

    To all you haters. I understand why you hate the books. You watched the movies first. I watched the first movie before reading the book. I used to hate twilight i swore to myself to never like it. But i saw the frst trlight book at a used book store for only 2.67 so i bought it. I enjoyed it. In fact i became a real huge fan. The reason why i dont like the movies. A. Kristen Stewart is a horriable actress. B. Way to much kissing. And C. They didnt get very my facts right. Like in breaking dawn part 1 her going away dress is suposed to be dark blue not tan. And in part 2 when she was suposed to be jaspers "friend" she was suposed to go to a really bad part of town and meet a total creeper and then meet him. I am team jasper though. Edward is really ugly an odd looking. Jacob well i dont like him because he is played by taylor lautner. Who by the way is a horriable actor. So anyways thats why you should give the book a chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Ever

    Everyone just SHUT UP! some people need helpful reviews to see if they want to read it so SHUT THE HELL UP! i love this book and would highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    So-So!

    This book is well written, but it is a bit too romantic for my taste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Hi

    I haven't read it,
    WAIT DON'T STOP READIND THE REVIEW YET
    but my mom showed me something on Facebook that said:

    Remove the love triangle, and the Hunger Games is about a telivized killing session.
    Remove the love triangle, and Twilight is about a girl who moves to a town where it rains a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Twilight on the writing

    The idea of this book is interesting but the writng is very poor(this coming from a seventh grader) and i found it dificult to read without wanting to throw the book across the room at the grammer so if you're like me don't pick it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 865 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 44