Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 19369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15076)

4 Star

(1949)

3 Star

(868)

2 Star

(406)

1 Star

(1070)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

175 out of 230 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!

I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I...
I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

posted by FairyDust90 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful hero...
Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful heroine who doesn't know she's beautiful, who is so clumsy that I wonder if she has a serious neurological problem (and after she puts herself in danger THREE times, all of them which can be avoided with COMMON SENSE, I'm going to bet my house that she does) 2)Neanderthal hero who runs over heroine's wishes. (Do you feel that earthquake? That's hundreds of feminists doing backflips in their graves) 3) Beautiful, pure love that has absolutely no logic to it. (Edward loves Bella because she 'smells' good, and that is an ambiguous term, and Bella just loves him because he's HOT. Yes, how very deep of you, Bella.) 4) Problems that are solved quickly and easily, with the two-dimensional villain quickly slaughtered. (Bella wouldn't have gotten nearly killed if she hadn't made such a moronic decision that made me wish the aforementioned villain take her out of the genetic pool). It's trash, it kills trees, takes away habitats from poor animals, and it kills your time.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1949 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 98
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    What is with the Craze?

    Have you been asking yourself what is the craze about Twilight, Edward Cullen, and vampires about? Well, keep reading, i hope to answer a couple of your questions.<BR/><BR/>Is this series interesting: yes, it is very hard to put down. This is a twist on the traditional vampire story.<BR/><BR/>Is it challenging: No [unless you are under the age of 10.] The characters are very shallow, the plot is not very in-depth, the vocabulary is very common, and the imagery [besides describing Edward Cullen] is lacking. <BR/><BR/>Why read: If you are looking for a challenging book to read, stop. This is not this kind of book. This is more of a fluffy, romance kind of book that is not hard to read at all.<BR/><BR/>Do I recommend: yes =] just remember when you finish, Edward is fictional.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    Twilight, from a teenage christian's veiwpoint.

    Twilight is a very dramatic but exciting and thrilling love story between a regular, 17 year old, girl named Bella, and a gorgeous, nearly 100 year old, vampire named Edward. After Bella moves to Forks, Washington, she meets this unusual boy at school. And Edward, who can read minds, finds Bella a very unusual human as well because she is the only thing on earth that he can not read. After they get to know each other she realizes what he really is, a vampire. While they are going out together they meet another vampire, a wild vampire who finds Bella very rare as well, and he hunts her down. I would recommend Twilight to those who don't mind reading about vampires. I would also suggest that if a christian wants to read this that they keep in mind that the book is not very christianlike and that Stephanie Meyers, the author, considers that vampires are very good because some don't drink human blood, but truthfully, they are all evil. So just keep in mind to ignore that part and to continue to trust the Lord, and that he will guide you away from such evil. I learned all of this from my father, a very strong Lutheran Pastor, and I hope that you will learn from this too.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pure guilty pleasure

    One night during my commute home, I heard an NPR interview with Stephenie Meyer related to the release of her book "The Host". They mentioned the "Twilight" series and how there were so many dedicated fans of the series; I couldn't help but be intrigued. I found it further intriguing that she had started writing the story for herself and not with the plan of Writing or Writing a Novel. I ordered the book the next day, much intrigued but with no particular expectations.

    The first night, I finished the first book. The next day, the story resonated with me so strongly that I went out and bought the next book in the series ("New Moon") and read that one in another late night of reading. At this point, my husband started looking at me funny because I was ignoring him, my son, our dog and the beautiful spring weather to stay inside and read and read and read these young adult novels. I don't know what he thought when I came home from work the next day -- a Friday, thank goodness -- with the third book ("Eclipse") under my arm. Certainly, the eyebrows were very very high up on the forehead.

    I read the last book over the next 24 hours (trying to draw it out, as it's months before the last book in the series will be in stores). This story completely had me under its spell. The writing is wonderful, the story is great. As a 41 year old, free thinking, full time working, independent wife and mother I _could_ have been critical of the degree of controlling behavior the boyfriend Edward comes out with in some parts of the book. I _could_ have rolled my eyes at the melodrama. But I didn't -- I went with it -- it's a story and the suspension of disbelief took almost no effort while the story bowled me over and sucked me in (no pun intended).

    I wholeheartedly recommend this book as pure, guilty pleasure reading. Thank goodness I only found out about this series now -- I would have been tortured waiting for a year between each of the first three books!!!

    Caveat: my husband often picks up the books he sees me show extraordinary interest in....this go round, I told him not to bother. I'm not going to make generalizations applying to all men out there, but...probably this is too "romantical" for the average guy.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My fave of the saga!

    Twilight was my favorite out of the Twilight saga series. I usually don't read books like these especially about vampires, which was this was my 1st vampire book to read. The guy is dreamy and the girl is a plain girl everyone wishes to be. It's an easy read that's entertaining and leaving you looking for an Edward Cullen!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    This is such a good book im not one of those ppl who is obsesed...but it was soo good...just how bella feels and acts towerd edword is cool and how he is around her is so cute. but any way i def. recomend this book to anyone who loves to read like me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

    Isabella Swan, the protagonist of Stephenie Meyer¿s Twilight, is a pale and plain Arizonian teenager. Bella decides to move to Forks, Washington to live with her father, Charlie, to allow her mother to travel with her new husband. Forks is a small town in which Bella meets the mysterious and beautiful Cullen family. One member of the Cullen family, Edward, sparks her interest from the very beginning. On the first day of Bella¿s biology class, she is seated next to Edward Cullen. At first Edward only glares at her in fury and then doesn¿t show up for class for several weeks. Bella spends hours on end scrutinizing every detail in order to understand why Edward acted the way he did before they had even met. Little did Bella know, Edward had only acted so callous in order to keep from killing her. Throughout the novel, Bella begins to understand that Edward and the rest of the Cullen family are vampires and thirst for her blood. Bella is never nearly as frightened of the ¿vegetarian¿ vampire family as Edward thinks she should be. After several attempts at trying to avoid friendship, Bella and Edward both have to face the truth. They are madly in love with each other. One evening, Bella is watching the Cullens play baseball in a forest clearing when they encounter a less benign Vampire clan. The Cullens and Bella spend the greater part of the novel avoiding James, a tracker Vampire who wants to drink Bella¿s blood. In James and Bella¿s final meeting, Edward and the rest of the Cullens intercede. Bella has made up her mind. She wishes to spend the rest of her existence with Edward Cullen. <BR/> Meyer writes with an exciting sense of suspense that is difficult to step away from. The unrealistic quality of Meyer¿s novel makes it appealing to most teenage girls. Although the writing is a little rough in places, the story is imaginative and romantic. The physical descriptions of Edward become excessive in their detail. The phrase ¿devastatingly, inhumanly beautiful¿ is used with different phrasing repeatedly throughout the novel. Although Edward is in a sense a fantasy, Meyer makes his Greek god-like good looks difficult to imagine. However, the description of emotion in this novel is well developed. Although Bella¿s initial feelings are usually intense, they make the story exciting. Facial expressions are of abundance, making situations and character reactions easier to understand. Meyer describes Bella¿s habits well, such as: trouble sleeping, nightmares, and daydreaming. <BR/> The story is exciting in the very least. There is not one particular climax. The romantic aspect of the novel runs parallel to the adventure aspect. Every event and character action intertwines with the rest. Once a problem or mishap is resolved, a new one always arises. Even though Edward always has a backup plan on how to keep Bella safe, she is always in danger¿s way. Bella¿s numerous run-ins with harm keep the pace fast and the novel exciting.<BR/> Although Meyer¿s writing is sometimes short of excellent, the story is a page turner. The story is easy to follow despite the numerous character descriptions. Interruptions often occur while Meyer describes Edward or any other member of the Cullen family¿s unrealistic physical traits. This book would be suitable for most teenage girls.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    This is no literary masterpiece, but it is entertaining

    Overall this is a good book. The story oscillates between being utterly predictable, and then imaginative. I really liked the way in which the villain of this book was introduced into the story. What I did not like was her redundancy of certain words and phrases (crooked smile, glare, etc.).<BR/><BR/>Just like my headline says, this will not go down in history as a literary masterpiece, however it is a good, fun read.<BR/><BR/>Side Note:<BR/>I am most impressed that this came from a Mom of three, with no writing experience. Good for her!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not the greatest thing in the world

    i did enjoy this book i loved the love story of bella and edward and how cut they were togahter my favoirte part would probally be when Carlisle told his story of how he became a vampire it was so intersting in it was beleivable not the best vampire book at there but it was a good read

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Not All It's Cracked Up to be.

    Maybe I just expect too much from books. All my friends -and practically everyone one in my entire school, including guys- LOVE this series. I have, as of now, only read Twilight. What, pray tell, is so amazing about this book? Ok, it was an enjoyable read. It has a cool storyline and a hot vampire. Actually several hot vampires. But if you are looking for a vampire book as dark and creepy as Twilight's cover, well... read Twilight anyway. Ok, I know I've probably totally confused whoever is reading this. I recommend this book, but some things just don't live up to the hype. I know I've made some Twilight fans mad, but this is just my personal review. I may read New Moon if I get to it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    My least favorite twilight novel

    I love the twilight saga but the first one is my least favorite. It gas way too much about Bella trying to figure out what creature Edward is. Even the exciting scene in the ballet room ehen bella is bitten by james is a bit short only less than ten pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Good, but could be better

    I like the other books better. I would recomend reading the book before you see the movie. (The book is better than the movie).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Twilight

    This book was good, but I thought it was a tad slow at the beginning, as there ws no action. Once Bella and Edward met, things really got going, and the book became enjoyable. All in all, I thought it was a pretty good book, and I would definitely recommend it, because the rest of the books in the series (Eclipse, New Moon, Breaking Dawn) are even better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Pretty good

    I saw all of the movies and I picked this book up a long time ago but I got quickly bored at the first chapter (I was only like 10 then and now I'm 12 years old) I decided to read it again after two years and I have to say it was actually pretty good. It was a page turner and definetly worth my money. You quickly grow fond of Edward and the Cullens and its easy to imagine yourself as Bella. It was a little spoiled for me cause I saw the movie even though they are both entirely different. I cant wait to read New Moon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No headline

    I really do likethese books i dont c why people hve to judge them so harsly :/ i understand tht some people have opinios about this book and i am 100 % ok with tht but if u were the writer of this book and pplnwere trashing something tht u worked ur butt off to make how would u feel ??.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    To lauren from katy

    Hey

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    I recommend it!

    At first I was skeptical of reading Twilight because I saw the movie first, which I had no taste for at all because of the terrible acting and it unpractical story line. But I finally decided to read the book, because the book is always better than the movie, right?

    In this case, the book was definitely better than the movie, but Twilight does not deserve the hype it caused soon after it was published. I enjoyed the book because, as a teenage girl, I desire the connection that Edward and Bella have together. I also enjoyed the book because I sensed as if I were right there with Bella every step of the way due to Stephenie Meyer's detail. Charlie and Ranee, Bella's parents, seem like very realistic parents and the they have the typical relationship with a teenage daughter.

    However, I didn't like the fact that the book dragged on for almost 400 pages until the action really started to occur. I also didn't like the fact that it took the two just one week to fall in love with each other. I understand that Edward is a vampire and has certain attributes that quickly win Bella over, but I just find it so unrealistic that the book started to become less appealing to me.

    Overall, I did enjoy reading the book but I would only recommend it to other female teens my age. I don't think I would take the time to read the sequels to Twilight because I honestly don't wonder what's going to happen next between Bella and her vampire, but I don't regret taking the time to read Twilight. The book doesn't dig much deeper than just a romance novel but I did end up enjoying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Wondeful Book !!

    Wow this book is like amazing. Twilight has got many people reading the whole series. It's very interesting that the characters from twilight,Bella and Edward are so different because Bella is just a normal teenage girl and Edward who has super powers.But yea I sure would love to recommend this book to a friend. That's because this story has major conflicts that Bella trys to figure out like, whats wrong with Edward in the begining and what Edward is and more. Other people may think book is stupid because it not true but for me i think this book is truly wonderful and I am sure a lot of other people love it too. The author of this book is very great the way she make up these things. So I would like to read all the book by this author. She had wrote a series so yea i like to finish, eading the whole series that she had wrote ad learn more about this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read!

    I have seen the movies and decided to read the books. Am glad I have, I enjoyed the Twilight book. Looking forward to starting New Moon, which is my favorite movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Twilight

    A romantic, but not very probable, delight. Vampires are so cool in this book - loved the vegetarian idea!!! Definitely a teenager's romance novel, but it made me feel as if I wanted to find romance again. Will reread it a few times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't put it down

    The book was an easy read, engaging. I read the book in a few days time as I found it was interesting. I literally couldn't put it down. After I finished this one, I went on to the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1949 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 98