Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 19330 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15057)

4 Star

(1943)

3 Star

(865)

2 Star

(404)

1 Star

(1061)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

174 out of 229 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!!

I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I...
I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

posted by FairyDust90 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

116 out of 228 people found this review helpful.

Horrendous

Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful hero...
Halfway through this 500-page book, I realized that this was just the teenager's equivalent of a run-of-the-mill romance, but I kept reading slowly on, picking up important plot points. All one of them. Why is this book run-of-the-mill? 1) Impossibly beautiful heroine who doesn't know she's beautiful, who is so clumsy that I wonder if she has a serious neurological problem (and after she puts herself in danger THREE times, all of them which can be avoided with COMMON SENSE, I'm going to bet my house that she does) 2)Neanderthal hero who runs over heroine's wishes. (Do you feel that earthquake? That's hundreds of feminists doing backflips in their graves) 3) Beautiful, pure love that has absolutely no logic to it. (Edward loves Bella because she 'smells' good, and that is an ambiguous term, and Bella just loves him because he's HOT. Yes, how very deep of you, Bella.) 4) Problems that are solved quickly and easily, with the two-dimensional villain quickly slaughtered. (Bella wouldn't have gotten nearly killed if she hadn't made such a moronic decision that made me wish the aforementioned villain take her out of the genetic pool). It's trash, it kills trees, takes away habitats from poor animals, and it kills your time.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 15057 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 753
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!

    I had heard about this book from one of my sister's friends and I never thought anything of it. Then two of my closest friends started RAVING about this book so I decided to look it up. I read the first chapter online and was hooked. I quickly bought the first one and I could not put it down. You really grow to love and care for Bella, Edward, and the whole Cullen family. They each have their own personalities which you also grow to love. Twilight is exactly my type of heroine!

    174 out of 229 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I loved reading this book! It was unique and the story was fantastic.

    134 out of 195 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    i love the twilight series. it's absolutely awesome!

    107 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Once you start reading this book, all prior plans will go to ruin!!!!

    I started this novel on Friday and didn't put it down until it was over...yeah I lost some serious sleep over it! Meyer does an exceptional job drawing her readers into the world of her characters. I felt like I knew each and every one of them by the time I was finished with Twilight...and let me tell you I was really sad when it was over!!! I can definitly see a sequel in the making...please give us a sequel!!!!!

    70 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    In the end, love really does conquer all. No matter what you are.

    At first, I wasn't too sure about reading Twilight. I thought to myself as I held the book in my hand, "there's no way i'm reading this." I just figured that it was going to be about another lame vampire story with coffins by day and garlic being the end of them. By the time I read the book, I learned that the description I first thought about the book was the total opposite. What really intrigued me the most about the book was when I flipped the book to a random page where Edward is right about to kiss Bella (for those who haven't read the book, those are the two main characters) and Bella's describing Edwards beauty to the extreme all the way to the sweetness of his breath. It became so overwhelming to her how this beautiful creature was just about to kiss "her," so she almost faints! Flipping through pages is something I always do before reading a book just so I know I'm not going to be wasting my time.. So once I read that, I just had to read the book and because of all the great feedback I heard about the book. The day I actually started reading the book, I was instantly hooked! Even though I could have kept reading, I had to stop because of life's sometimes unpleasant committed obligations. During breaks at school or on my lunch at work I would read, any spare time that I had I would read. The intensity of the book, the description of Edwards's beauty, the insane stories and drama was just mind blowing. The book is such a thriller and it always, always, always left me anticipating, nervous thinking about what was going to happen next! The night I finished the book was the night I had just finished reading three chapters and the book was right at its climax. I honestly did try to put the book down to get some sleep, but there was absolutely no way I could do so. I had to keep reading I just had to! If you're not much of a reader, or are afraid of the thickness of books typically how I am, then have no fear! Twilight is the most amazing book I've ever read. I hope that Stephenie Meyer publishes six more novels. I never want this love story to end! Read this book, trust me, you will not be disappointed. I can almost bet my life on that!

    66 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    A Joy to read

    Wow. That had to be the best book I've read in a long time. The fact that fiction could be so subtly involved in a story - I didn't even know I was reading a fantasy novel until about halfway through. The characters were well written and the book invited me to become Bella through the love and pain that she endured throughout the book.

    40 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series.

    Great series.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My very favorite book!

    Oh how could I ever begin to explain how much I love Twilight? What an incredible plot! What incredible characters! Just plain out...what an incredible series! I love love LOVE Twilight and would recommend it to anyone to read!

    29 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing book for everyone!!

    This book caught me from the beginning...The character of Bella was very easy to imagine and her flaws made her seem more realistic and made it easier for a lot of people to be able to identify with her. The mystery surrounding Edward Cullen and his family pulls the reader in, making them want to find out more. I have guy friends that love the books too, so it's not just for girls, or even just teenage girls! It really is an amazing book!

    25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    EDWARD=LOVE

    This was the most amazing book i've ever read to say the least. Edward and Bella leave you wanting more and more and the chemistry and romance and excitement between them totally get you hooked. Throughout reading this, there was so much thrill, love, and very intense situations that'll leave you smiling or even fuming with anger. Edward is so complex and the way Ms Meyer describes him leaves you wishing you knew someone like Edward and constinetly wanting to read more to see what he does next. The end will defintetly shock you and you'll never see it coming. I love this book and I cannot wait to read the next three. Also, once you've read Twilight you have to go see the movie because it was pretty much as great as the book. TWILIGHT IS A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!

    23 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Caution!!!

    This is a caution to everyone that have obligations (ie children to care for, a house to clean) this book will prevent you from wanting to do anything but read!! This book is excelent. I could't put it down. The characters a wonderful. The way that Stephanie Meyer describes the closeness of Bella and Edward makes you need to take a break! It's very age appropriate for young adult. However, I'm 28 with a husband, 2 kids and now reading New Moon. You need to this book!!!

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put this book down

    Beautiful characters. A coming of age story. A forbidden romance. Will spark the imagination of every heart.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    i love this book i have read it like ten times

    i dream about this book when you first meet edward its when the book starts getting good. nothing gets better than this book right here. i shared this book with my friends tell stories to every one who hasnt read it yet. any one that loves reading about vampiers, love, and mysteries should so read this book. this book is like my life!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    Magnetic and Captivating

    I read many books, I can't copmprehend the effect Twilight has on me. I've read the book three times so far, it's like a magnet calling me to read it over and over without ever getting dull, and the pain the story leaves in my heart, I don't understand it, maybe as humans we crave to read about impossible or forbidden love stories; Ah..and the movie..I've also watched few times and going again to see it this weekend "hehe".<BR/>Stephenie Meyer..your book is Captivating..Magical..Magnetic..Pure..it is <BR/>really Indescribable, thank you for writing it.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Book Ever

    After I saw the Twilight movie I read the book. It is like 300 times better than the movie (even though the movie is great too) Twilight is the best book I have ever read..

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    TWILIGHT ROCKS!!!

    The story of a girl who moves to the small town of Forks lives with her dad in his 2 bedroom, 1 bath house. On the first day of school she becomes an easy disraction to a vampire Edward and he becomes a easy distraction to her also. Bella tells the love story between her and her new boyfriend and vampire Edward. Edward has every will to protect young Bella as he never ages! It becomes a great challenge for him when Bella is tracked and he has to lead him off her trail and save her from the many fates of her! This book is a GREAT BOOK! I about cried through there emotional parts! I csn't go a day without reading the next book! I'm gonna cry when the series ends! ALL AND ALL AWSOME BOOK! YOU ROCK STEPHANIE MYERS! AND DON'T LISEN TO THE PERSON WHO SAID THAT BELLA NEEDS A GOOD IMAGE AND THAT YOU NEED TO TAKE A WRITING COARSE! YOU HAVE A DIGREE IN LITURE AND ARE A NEW YORK TIME #1 BEST SELLER!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    AMAZING!!!

    This was hands down the BEST book that I have ever read, in my entire life!!!!!!! I STRONGLY advise you to read it, you will fall in love automatically. Plus it has EDWARD CULLEN in it, that should be enough right there to get you to read it. But after you do get it, please dont stop! You have to read the whole series, then watch the movies!!! Well movie for right now lol, but they're making all of them into movies. But the movie is just as good as the book!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephenie set the bait, cast the line, and you get hooked...

    Not just meant for us teenagers, this book will have everyone rethinking the vampire physique. Set aside your prior conceptions and see the book for what it is, a wonderful, thrilling, and exciting story. Follow the romance, drama, and dangers of an average teenage girl. She just gets 'caught in the wrong place at the wrong time'. It's a book to read and one you will regret missing.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    MUST HAVE

    If you are one of those people who read so they can dose of, this book isn't for you. This is one of the few books i've read that kept me up late at night.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK! Along the lines I live MYSTIC by R.E Great interes

    GREAT BOOK! Along the lines I live MYSTIC by R.E
    Great interesting book. Def Recommend, you can use it forever!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 15057 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 753