BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Companion: The Unauthorized Guide to the Series

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Lauren Ashley for TeensReadToo.com

Just like the title says, this is a companion to Stephenie Meyer's TWILIGHT series.

If you are not already a fan, then this obviously won't be for you. It's wise to have read all four books, as well, or you might find that some key points will be spoiled for y...
Just like the title says, this is a companion to Stephenie Meyer's TWILIGHT series.

If you are not already a fan, then this obviously won't be for you. It's wise to have read all four books, as well, or you might find that some key points will be spoiled for you as you read along.

However, THE TWILIGHT COMPANION is a fun, interesting read. The author is very much a fan and allows you to easily relate to her and her writing. This is not a novel that analyzes or delves into everything Twilight. It's more about relating the Twilight world to other novels and films, as well as the myths surrounding vampires and werewolves throughout the ages.

Overall, it is a fast and interesting read. Although I wasn't as interested in the quizzes included throughout the book, I highly enjoyed the history and facts.

posted by TeensReadToo on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

WASTE OF MONEY!!!

There are so many things wrong with this book!!! I bought it and about 1 hour after reading I put it down and returned it the next day. What the author thinks are "facts" are completely wrong!! She talks about mixing Edward and Bella's blood so she can become a vampire,...
There are so many things wrong with this book!!! I bought it and about 1 hour after reading I put it down and returned it the next day. What the author thinks are "facts" are completely wrong!! She talks about mixing Edward and Bella's blood so she can become a vampire, about Edward not being a virgin, and about Jacob being a werewolf, when we learn they are really shapshifters. The author talks about herself and her own experiences more than the book. She says that Edward has telepathic powers and warns Bella to run from Laurent. None of those things are true.
She should have spent more time reading the books more carefully if she was going to write a book about it.
IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME AND MONEY!! I should have just waited for the Twilight Saga book to come out.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Those of you who really paid attention to the book will quickly pick up on how bad this book is within the first two chapters.

**FYI-This author has a lot of "unauthorized" companions to a lot of other movies. Probably just doing it to try and make some money.

TRUE TWILIGHTERS STAY AWAY

posted by 893216 on January 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    Vampire history, NOT Meyer's Twilight saga, is what this misleading book is about.

    Gresh, who is on firmer ground when writing about science, is on quicksand with this exploitative book that is riddled with errors, large and small, that have been pointed out in consumer reviews online. The biggest mistake Gresh made with the book is assuming that Twilight readers are principally interested in vampires per se. ( Note to Gresh: they are NOT.) Consequently, of this book's 19 chapters, most are consumed with silly, pointless, juvenile material for tween girls: vampire quizzes, protecting your vampire, everything you need to know about vampires, a vampire test, werewolf quiz, etc. One must ask: Where is the promised coverage about the Meyer books? Did Gresh merely thumb through the four Meyer books? Seems so.

    Twilight fans, who look at the title (THE TWILIGHT COMPANION), presume the book is going to talk about the Stephen Meyer books. Largely, this book does not. In fact, the back cover copy affirms this: "With legends and lore about vampires and werewolves throughout history, insight into the series, quizzes, and heaps of fascinating facts, this companion guide will give millions of readers the information that they've been hungering for since book one!"

    Um, no. This book isn't a companion book to Meyer's books, and it doesn't give them the information they are looking for, which explains the angry reviews posted here and on Amazon, where a discussion group has rightly noted that for a book that started out with "one-star" ratings, there appeared, over the course of a few days, a sudden rash of "five-star" ratings all written in the same writing style, tone, and by purportedly young readers who just thought the book and its author were just swell! Please. Give me a break.

    So what we have here is false advertising: this is NOT a companion book. It's a book about vampire lore, with only a tangental connection to Meyer's books.

    Given the length of the Meyer books (TWILIGHT, NEW MOON, ECLIPSE, BREAKING DAWN), and given the tremendous amount of coverage about the author and the series, the readers of this book expected more--a lot more. What they got was a book that is laughably bad. One line, picked at random, says it all: "Given how much I seem to have in common with Bella's family and how my little village is so similar to Forks, it's beginning to feel odd that I'm not friends with any immortal creatures. I'd better watch my neck." Among other laughable aspects of this book, she points out the similarities in names between the fictional characters in the Twilight universe and her own relatives: Charlie, Rena (no Renee, but close enough), etc. "Of course, my name isn't Bella or Donna, or even Balladonna, it's just plain Lois."

    Readers had better watch their necks. Bitten by this bad book will doubtless produce some kind of virulent infection, which can only be cleansed by reading a book that doesn't talk down to readers, who are advised to give this book a wide berth and wait for Meyer's own THE TWILIGHT SAGA: THE OFFICIAL GUIDE, which will be what fans expect and deserve, instead of Gresh's misleading book.

    PARTIAL CONTENTS (which show how little of the book is devoted to the Twilight series)

    1. I Beg you: Please Suck My Blood
    2. Sexy Vampires
    3. What to Expect When You Fall in Love with a Vampire
    4. Bella's Awakening: What Really Happens When You Turn into a Vampire
    5. Vampire Quiz!
    6. Good Vampires and Bad Vampires
    7. Sexy Werewolves
    8. What

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    Don't Buy It!

    A waste of time and money. A disgrace that it is associated with the Twilight saga. I was never insulted by a book before but this one did it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    DID YOU EVEN READ TWILIGHT?????????????????????????????????????????

    This so called "companion" is absolutely horrible. There are so many wrong things in it I refused to buy it after reading it. Bella doesn't want Edward to "suck her blood" she wants him to bite her. sucking her blood would kill bella. i wouldn't have given it any stars whatsoever except that i needed to give at least one. this unauthorized book shouldn't even have been published. i'm waiting for the real guide to come out, the OFFICIAL one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    Don't Bother! Demand a refund!

    Wow, what a disappointment compared to Stephenie's books. Shouldn't even be allowed to call itself the "Twilight Companion." <BR/>Seems a lot more like "Twilight wanna be." Honestly, no one cares that your uncle's name is Charlie too or that you have an Aunt similar to Bella or whatever your dumb book said (It didn't hold my attention long enough to absorb the details). <BR/>If I were Stephenie, I'd be pissed that this book is associated with Twilight in any way! How is this person somehow selling books to begin with?? SERIOUSLY!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    I returned it

    This is a total rip off, one that can be pushed as a Twilight got-to-have but is actually not worth your time or dime. I even returned it after flipping through a couple of pages. No one else seems to like it either!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    Terrible

    I got this book as a gift from a well intentioned friend who knows how much I love the Twilight series. Fortunately she thought to leave the receipt inside the book before she wrapped it. This book has very little to do with the series and it seems as though the author does not understand the characters at all. The quizzes that she included in this book were reminiscent of the moronic love quizzes from Cosmo and she would have done better to just write a quiz based on actual knowledge of the book. DO NOT buy this book, if you are a fan you will be incredibly disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lauren Ashley for TeensReadToo.com

    Just like the title says, this is a companion to Stephenie Meyer's TWILIGHT series. <BR/><BR/>If you are not already a fan, then this obviously won't be for you. It's wise to have read all four books, as well, or you might find that some key points will be spoiled for you as you read along. <BR/><BR/>However, THE TWILIGHT COMPANION is a fun, interesting read. The author is very much a fan and allows you to easily relate to her and her writing. This is not a novel that analyzes or delves into everything Twilight. It's more about relating the Twilight world to other novels and films, as well as the myths surrounding vampires and werewolves throughout the ages. <BR/><BR/>Overall, it is a fast and interesting read. Although I wasn't as interested in the quizzes included throughout the book, I highly enjoyed the history and facts.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    DONNOT BUY THIS!!!

    I saw this in the store and of course being the blonde I am bought it thinking it would be something like the Twilight Saga Guide . . . SOOO NOT! I read this thing and was amazed at how wrong her facts about the book were I mean I have friends who have never read the series and I got them too read this and most of them were like "wait Edward is telapathic. . .? I thought he only read minds?" and "wait why on earth would she need Bella's and Edward's blood to become a vampire? doesn't the vampire have to bite you??? this is all wrong!" So I mean how sad is it that even non-Twilight fans can tell there is something wrong with the book?
    Anyway just don't get the book if you think you won't like it. Wait for the real Twilight Saga Guide to come out . . . if it ever comes out! lol
    okay bye ^_^

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Skip this one unless ur 15 or &lt;

    I read the reviews and STILL purchased the book- only for my quest of wanting MORE Twilight. I should have listened to the reviews. As a "Mom of Twilight" this book is better suited for a teen and even then, I'm not too sure many young teens would enjoy it. Please listen to the reviews and pass this one by. Just re-read Twilight AGAIN instead of buying this book. The author is just trying to cash in and ride the coat tails of Stephenie Meyer. Whats worse, this author has very little talent for writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    Not truly about Twilight

    I bought this book thinking it was going to be an in depth look at Twilight and its characters. However, the book focused on comparing it to other Vampires and Vampire stories of the past. If I wanted to read about Bella Lugosy and Nosferatu I would have bought those books.This book was was not at all what i expected. I was only able to get halfway through before I was bored to death. The only redeeming quality was the quizzes in the back. Other than that I would not reccommend wasting your money on this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    The Twilight Book Series is Better

    This book is okay however reading the series of books twilight, new moon, eclipse has got more information and is a better read than the companion book. I think the companion book is just to give information and a background of the characters and story line. Read the book series first than buy this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Waste of money and time

    I bought this book as a gift for my sister-in-law, a huge Twilight fan & collector, I read the first two pages and took it back, it was completely pointless and rather boring

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    Unhappy with this Purchase

    I was very dissatisfied with this purchase. "The Twilight Companion" is a book I would assume would at least relate to Twilight, but it's the authors OPINIONS and VIEWS. It really has nothing to do with the movie or the characters. In my opinion, this was a useless book filled with useless information.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    SAD THIS WAS PUBLISHED!

    This book was a disgrace to the Twilight saga. How can they publish this? I don't know how they can put this book on the shelves of bookstores! This author needs to go get some writing lessons, because this so called companion is not meeting my standards, and doubt there meeting yours. And what was up with the quizzes, they are so prejudiced. Not at all related to the series. They actually ask you if you have fur, or if your friends are werewolves! They even ask you if you would perfer blood on your bed sheets! what kind of quiz is this, like i said so prejudiced. This was a total waste of my time and money. If i were you i would suggest you not to but this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    HORRIBLE

    This companiom was absolutely horrid!!please save yourselves the money and do NOT get this!!! it was so not worth my money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    This book is REALLY fun

    "I've read some of the other books by Lois Gresh, and they're all fun.  This book is REALLY fun.  Lois obviously knows everything about vampires and has read the Twilight books many times herself.  I love her books.  She's very creative and always makes me laugh.  She is so clearly into Twilight, too."

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    This is a the Best Series

    I am just finishing up the last book and i can barely put it down! I love this book/series so much. If you are older than 11 or 12 I think you should be able to read this without a problem on words. So go to a store or library, pick up these books and read!

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK THIS IS NOT REALLY GOOD TO READ BUT NOT THAT REALLY SO BAD..

    well, for me it's kinda ok just to past time when i dont have new novel to read..it did tell me something more about the past vampire such as Dracula and got download that old 1932 film.and how Lois connected herself in Stephenie Meyer's Novel i think she's really a twilight fan.... but this companion doesn't tell so much about the twilight saga of Stephenie Meyer's. the author gets the story of old novel to compared to the Cullen of Twilight..it was fine not really great to read but not really bad just like what the other reviewers said. but if this book is less than the price appear above well it actualy nice to read just for curiousity.it'll give something on your thoughts to think of :D

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    major disappointment

    I had waited several weeks to get this book, through the local library before I ever read any of the reviews. I wish I had, otherwise I would not have wasted my time. This book is a major disappointment and does not begin to give credit or depth to the twilight series. It does not provide any new insight into the series and the writing is extremely immature, even for a teenage audience. Even young readers still have and need to have higher expectations then this monstrosity for our reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    this book was not what i thopught it would be. the author is riding on Stephanie Myers' coat tail. I think she just wrote it to make money off Twilight.

    any teen age girl will buy this book ,thinking it has more to do with Twilight. I thought the book was a rip off

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8