Customer Reviews for

Twilight: Director's Notebook: The Story of How We Made the Movie Based on the Novel by Stephenie Meyer

Average Rating 4
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An essential, behind-the-scenes look at how the DIRECTOR envisioned and shot TWILIGHT.

A pocket-sized (5.25 x 8.25 inch) hardback book, in full color, with hundreds of photographs and illustrations (including storyboards), this book delivers exactly what it promises: a "Director's Notebook" that tells "the story of how we made the movie." Hardwicke's jour...
A pocket-sized (5.25 x 8.25 inch) hardback book, in full color, with hundreds of photographs and illustrations (including storyboards), this book delivers exactly what it promises: a "Director's Notebook" that tells "the story of how we made the movie." Hardwicke's journey on this film, as she has made clear in numerous interviews, was an adventure: shooting on location under weather conditions that included driving rain, sleet, numbing cold, or various combinations thereof, hardy Hardwicke persevered to deliver a film that far exceeded box office and studio expectations.

This book is a behind-the-scenes look at how Hardwicke envisioned the movie from start to finish: a rare glimpse at a film maker's diary, complete with Hardwicke's own sketches (she was an architect before she became a film director), handwritten notes, candid photos from the movie, conceptual artwork, storyboards (black-and-white drawings that frame a shot for the camera), and film stills.

The result is an intimate book, one in which Hardwicke's infectious enthusiasm makes you appreciate just how difficult it is to produce a movie--much less one shot on location under such challenging (an understatement) conditions.

Fans who want a nuts-and-bolts "Making of" will certainly want to buy the authorized film book, TWILIGHT: THE COMPLETE ILLUSTRATED MOVIE COMPANION. (It's excellent, thorough, and at 8.5 x 11 inches, shows off the full color photos very well.) But this little gem belongs right next to it on the bookshelf.

PS: It should be noted that Hardwicke chose not to helm NEW MOON because she felt the budget was inadequate and there wasn't sufficient time allowed to shoot what is obviously a more demanding (film-wise) movie than TWILIGHT. More's the pity. Chris Weitz is certainly up to the challenge, but I really felt Hardwicke's sensibilities made her the ideal choice to for all four Twilight films.

We don't have Hardwicke on NEW MOON, but we do have this little gem of a book, which is really her extended love letter to the TWILIGHT movie, to Stephenie Meyer, and the small army of people that were mobilized to bring it to the screen.

posted by GeorgeBeahm on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but same as the DVD extra documentary

This was a pretty cool book that had some interesting information about how the novel was turned into a movie. It answered a lot of questions about the creative choices that they made while making the movie. However, I felt cheated to spend money on this when there was ...
This was a pretty cool book that had some interesting information about how the novel was turned into a movie. It answered a lot of questions about the creative choices that they made while making the movie. However, I felt cheated to spend money on this when there was nothing in the book that isn't already in the extra documentary that's on the Twilight DVD's extra features. It had a few extra drawings and sketches, etc. but overall there wasn't much information in it that wasn't in the documentary. For that reason, I'd say that if you've seen the documentary, there isn't much of a point to buy this book unless (like me) you are a die-hard Twilight fan who simply must own everything Twilight :)

posted by AnnieAM on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    overall pretty cool book

    I hope all the other directors are so kind as Cat to make a dirwctors notebook. Was filled with all sorts of cool facts & showed just how difficult it was to create what is 'twilight'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Book title and author: Twilight by Stephenie Myers Title of review: Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    A teenaged girl, named Bella, moves to Forts Washington to live with her dad. On her first day of school she meets a mysteriously peculiar boy in her science class. He's different from most kids, but in an odd way.

    The boy is always on the edge of his seat. He and his brothers and sisters never associate or eat with other people. Their appearances are god like, and their voices are like wind chimes. Bella sees something in him, although they hardly ever talk outside of their science class. But when they do start talking more, Bella knows he is different some how.

    This book will keep you on the edge of your seat, and make you want to keep the pages turning.

    I would recommend this story to both boys and girls alike. Due to some vocabulary grades 7 and above would enjoy reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    An interesting book.

    I thought that it was interesting to see how things were done and how they intended on doing things. I really enjoyed it. I wish that she elaborated more on certain things, but other then that It was worth reading if youre a fan of the Twilight movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good book,but NOT part of the series

    this is a very interesting book,i like how it was based on what directors go through making a movie.it takes you sorta like a tour of the movie,but on some parts i wish it more detailed.it has humor-which i like in books
    overall a good read if you wanna know some fun facts about directors,and good movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    My daughter wanted this

    She loves it. I think this is absolutely perfect for a teen Twilight fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Great for any fan of the movie

    If you liked the movie Twilight, this is a great addition to your collection. The way this is written really lets you understand how Catherine Hardwicke works and a lot about how the film was made, from the initial inspiration and visiting Forks, to the costuming, casting, and tricks with filming. It's really fun and colorful. Quick "read," written more like a magazine. Worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting to see/know

    It's a nice read if you want some behind the scenes info on the movie. It has facts and brief looks at characters, wardrobe, and scenes. Also gives insight into what inspirations helped the director with the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A good sneak peak

    It was interesting on how they made the book come to life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good for fans of the movie

    I liked this really well. It gave me an inside look to the movie and was able to really see what it took to make the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    An Interesting Twist

    This was a nice read. The director's point of view was very illuminating. I'd recommend it for those fans who go gaga over everything Twilight. If you are looking for more of an academic read, then this is not for you. It's a fun book for pleasure reading with interesting movie facts. Nothing more--nothing less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    so many great pictures!

    this book is fun. it has many great pics with explanations of what is happening during filming. gives the reader the "behind the scenes" feeling. a must for any twilight buff. only negative, book is smaller size than i expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Directors Notebook

    This is a really good book if you want to know what happens behind the scenes for the making of Twilight. You get an inside look of all the magic used to create certain scenes. A lot of words are used but that's the only way you'll find out how it was made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Neat Book with great pics!

    This is a neat book with some great pics but I would of like some more specifics on the location of the where the pictures were taken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Insightful

    I have a daughter who is into photography and we enjoyed looking at how they got the shots and what was involved in getting a good shot. It was very interesting esp. how they overcame problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition for any Twilight Saga fan

    Catherine Hardewick's story of how she brought the much loved characters of Twilight to life is a must for any Twilight fan. The book gives the reader great insight to what went on in the production of the highly anticipated and successful movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Even though it is short on pages, I still enjoyed it. I especially liked how Catherine Hardwicke included background on both the music, and the score behind the movie. It shows you that even with a LOW BUDGET film on a film she still got the major ideas across the screen and how it was accomplished. Another part of the book that I liked was the story boards that were planned out to see if they would work for the film. Even at times I found that her writing was hard to read, I think it adds a more personal touch to the book rather than, everything written in type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Fun and Interesting

    The details on the movie and its production was amusing to read if you like to know extra facts and occasionally have a laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Book

    Hardwicke's book gives great insight into the making of a movie. I found it a fascinating book with information on costume design, location shoots, decisions about casting, and interesting changes made from Stephenie Meyer's book. I enjoyed reading the Twilight series, but even if I hadn't read the books, the director's book was a good read. However, for those interested in the actors only, this is not the book for you; it is more creative in scope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I DON'T MIND HAVING IT

    Hardwicke's journal was an interesting read. It's a great book for young aspiring film- makers. It's a good behind the scenes look on paper with pictures and captions. Nothing best-seller worthy, just a cool book for young adults to have as a reference. I'm a huge fan of the series so I pretty much just have this book to complete my collection. I like to it on my coffee table for guests to skim through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Pretty Good

    As a huge fan of the series for 3 years now, I of course was super excited about the movie and though it had it's flaws I thought it was a very good adaptation of my favorite book. Not perfect, but what is? Anyways since I loved the movie, when I saw this book was coming out I decided I'd have to pick it up. It has a lot of awesome detail from Catherine Hardwicke about the making of the movie and pretty much everything. Even if you didn't like the movie that much this book totally shows you just how much work and thought went into the making of this movie. I really enjoyed seeing everything that was in the pages of this book and it made me really respect and like Catherine as a person, a director, an architect, a designer, and a fellow Twilight fan. She is one spunky and passionate woman and her personality really made this book all the more interesting to read. I recommend this to any fan of both the books and the movie. Plus anyone who is interested in behind the scenes stuff. You'll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4