BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twilight: Director's Notebook: The Story of How We Made the Movie Based on the Novel by Stephenie Meyer

Average Rating 4
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An essential, behind-the-scenes look at how the DIRECTOR envisioned and shot TWILIGHT.

A pocket-sized (5.25 x 8.25 inch) hardback book, in full color, with hundreds of photographs and illustrations (including storyboards), this book delivers exactly what it promises: a "Director's Notebook" that tells "the story of how we made the movie." Hardwicke's jour...
A pocket-sized (5.25 x 8.25 inch) hardback book, in full color, with hundreds of photographs and illustrations (including storyboards), this book delivers exactly what it promises: a "Director's Notebook" that tells "the story of how we made the movie." Hardwicke's journey on this film, as she has made clear in numerous interviews, was an adventure: shooting on location under weather conditions that included driving rain, sleet, numbing cold, or various combinations thereof, hardy Hardwicke persevered to deliver a film that far exceeded box office and studio expectations.

This book is a behind-the-scenes look at how Hardwicke envisioned the movie from start to finish: a rare glimpse at a film maker's diary, complete with Hardwicke's own sketches (she was an architect before she became a film director), handwritten notes, candid photos from the movie, conceptual artwork, storyboards (black-and-white drawings that frame a shot for the camera), and film stills.

The result is an intimate book, one in which Hardwicke's infectious enthusiasm makes you appreciate just how difficult it is to produce a movie--much less one shot on location under such challenging (an understatement) conditions.

Fans who want a nuts-and-bolts "Making of" will certainly want to buy the authorized film book, TWILIGHT: THE COMPLETE ILLUSTRATED MOVIE COMPANION. (It's excellent, thorough, and at 8.5 x 11 inches, shows off the full color photos very well.) But this little gem belongs right next to it on the bookshelf.

PS: It should be noted that Hardwicke chose not to helm NEW MOON because she felt the budget was inadequate and there wasn't sufficient time allowed to shoot what is obviously a more demanding (film-wise) movie than TWILIGHT. More's the pity. Chris Weitz is certainly up to the challenge, but I really felt Hardwicke's sensibilities made her the ideal choice to for all four Twilight films.

We don't have Hardwicke on NEW MOON, but we do have this little gem of a book, which is really her extended love letter to the TWILIGHT movie, to Stephenie Meyer, and the small army of people that were mobilized to bring it to the screen.

posted by GeorgeBeahm on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but same as the DVD extra documentary

This was a pretty cool book that had some interesting information about how the novel was turned into a movie. It answered a lot of questions about the creative choices that they made while making the movie. However, I felt cheated to spend money on this when there was ...
This was a pretty cool book that had some interesting information about how the novel was turned into a movie. It answered a lot of questions about the creative choices that they made while making the movie. However, I felt cheated to spend money on this when there was nothing in the book that isn't already in the extra documentary that's on the Twilight DVD's extra features. It had a few extra drawings and sketches, etc. but overall there wasn't much information in it that wasn't in the documentary. For that reason, I'd say that if you've seen the documentary, there isn't much of a point to buy this book unless (like me) you are a die-hard Twilight fan who simply must own everything Twilight :)

posted by AnnieAM on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An essential, behind-the-scenes look at how the DIRECTOR envisioned and shot TWILIGHT.

    A pocket-sized (5.25 x 8.25 inch) hardback book, in full color, with hundreds of photographs and illustrations (including storyboards), this book delivers exactly what it promises: a "Director's Notebook" that tells "the story of how we made the movie." Hardwicke's journey on this film, as she has made clear in numerous interviews, was an adventure: shooting on location under weather conditions that included driving rain, sleet, numbing cold, or various combinations thereof, hardy Hardwicke persevered to deliver a film that far exceeded box office and studio expectations.

    This book is a behind-the-scenes look at how Hardwicke envisioned the movie from start to finish: a rare glimpse at a film maker's diary, complete with Hardwicke's own sketches (she was an architect before she became a film director), handwritten notes, candid photos from the movie, conceptual artwork, storyboards (black-and-white drawings that frame a shot for the camera), and film stills.

    The result is an intimate book, one in which Hardwicke's infectious enthusiasm makes you appreciate just how difficult it is to produce a movie--much less one shot on location under such challenging (an understatement) conditions.

    Fans who want a nuts-and-bolts "Making of" will certainly want to buy the authorized film book, TWILIGHT: THE COMPLETE ILLUSTRATED MOVIE COMPANION. (It's excellent, thorough, and at 8.5 x 11 inches, shows off the full color photos very well.) But this little gem belongs right next to it on the bookshelf.

    PS: It should be noted that Hardwicke chose not to helm NEW MOON because she felt the budget was inadequate and there wasn't sufficient time allowed to shoot what is obviously a more demanding (film-wise) movie than TWILIGHT. More's the pity. Chris Weitz is certainly up to the challenge, but I really felt Hardwicke's sensibilities made her the ideal choice to for all four Twilight films.

    We don't have Hardwicke on NEW MOON, but we do have this little gem of a book, which is really her extended love letter to the TWILIGHT movie, to Stephenie Meyer, and the small army of people that were mobilized to bring it to the screen.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I have never read a book in two days until now!

    I am over 30, work full time and am the mother of 2 young children. The only books I read is "If you Give a Mouse a Cookie" etc. My husband bought me Twilight and I laughed at him when I saw how may pages were in the book. I don't have time alone to read the mail much less a large book. I started in and never put it down. I became obsessed and in love with all the characters. I could not sleep at night because I wanted to read it so badly, I am sure I have black circled eyes like Bella. I have never experienced this much passion about a book. I told my husband that I felt like a teenager obsessed about a boyfriend or something silly. As soon as I finished Twilight, I bought the second one and read over 100 pages when I meant to only read the introduction. I never want it to end! A writer that could produce this result is simply amazing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So cool!

    Definitly a cool book. It is her notebook from filming the movie. It is fun to see all the sketches and pictures and everything that went into making the movie. I would recommend to any Twilight fan!! I wish she was directing New Moon!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome behind the scenes look :D

    I loved it:D i bought it today and it had so much info on behind the scenes stuff and how stuff was chosen or taken out :) i found it very interesting and loved how they were so creative behind scenes and on stunts while they were on a short budget:D

    strongly agree that people buy it :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exellent......and full of suprises

    I loved it.......it's full of great features from the movie and gives a lot of insight into behind the scenes that are suprising and halarious...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting

    I did not like the movie of Twilight very much, but I loved this book. This is Catherine Hardwicke's journal of how she made the movie. It tells you about the special effects in the movie, how they designed the costumes, and more. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE IT!!!

    IF YOU LOVE THE TWILIGHT SAGA AND YOU LOVE THE MOVIE THEN THIS IS THE BOOK!! IT TELLS HOW CATHERINE FILMED THE MOVE. HOW SHE PICKED THE CAST. THE PLACES SHE PICKED TO FILM. AND THE LOVE FOR THE BOOKS. I LOVE THE TWILIGHT SAGA AND WHEN I GOT THIS BOOK I WAS HYPED. I FOUND OUT HOW SHE IMGAED THE MOVIE AND HOW SHE STARTED IT TO LIVE. IF YOU LOVE THE TWILIGHT SAGA AND MOVIE U HAVE TO GET THIS BOOK!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Twilight

    I have loved the Twilight series, and I am sure that this book, describing Catherine Hardwicke's work put into the movie, will be a greatly satisfying read. I can't wait until it is officially published, so that I may read it myself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So excited!!

    I am so excited for this! I am one of those crazy Twilight fanatics who gets a kick out of this stuff and now, with this book, I can become even closer to the story!! Every true Twilight fan should have this!!

    Also the release dates for the next two movies have come out! Look it up!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I bet this would be awesome

    I hope this is so good. Plus Because it is a big movie so nost people would buy it. The pics are so cool!
    I am going to go buy it when it comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I bought this book for my 15 yr old daughter and she loves the book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    Fair Warning....

    I love this book; I read it in like a day, and it's perfect for people who want to know more about how a movie gets made- all of the aspects and hard work that goes into making a film but I must tell you that it is a tiny book. It could fit into a lunch box. I was not entirely pleased with that, but its just a small problem for me (no pun intended) It's an interesting read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Go for it

    If you love twilight the movie I would deffinately buy this book it is great for learning about how the movie was made and what all whent into the making of the movie and the developement of all the characters clothes and everything

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Director's Guide

    I consider this book inspirational, as someone interested in photography and the arts. I'd recommend it to Twilight fans, especially if you have a passion for film!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    not necessary at all, but just for fun

    okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ AND RE-READ AND RE-READ!!!!

    This book was amazing because it not only showed what it would be like to be on the set but it also told you cool little facts like that kristen was a minor so she couldnt film that much which means she probably wouldve been in more shots if she had been a year older. This book is definitly for die-hard Twilight fans like me and anyone thats interested in the movie making process, directing, or any movie jobs. Its so good that you dont need to be a twilight fan to read it but it might be helpful to see the movie before reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting peek into a directors style

    Filmmaking is more what drew me to the book than all the Twilight craziness and I wasn't disappointed. I always find it interesting to see into the creative collaborations that bring a film together, and since the book is a good compilation of how people and situations fell into place, as opposed to a director taking all the credit, it was a good read. I'd recommend it for Twilight fans who want to see how the book was brought to life as well as people interested in the process of making a film since it touches on several different aspects of the process. It's not a how-to guide, but a nice and informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    :)

    i love reading about what happens behind the scenes on movie sets. I find it so interesting. This book is the best. the pictures are awesome and soooooo cool. All the different stunts and the behind the scenes stuff if you liked the movie you will LOVE this, no joke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Awesome!

    AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My daughter's gym teacher "stole" it for a month ;)

    this book made it's rounds. Very entertaining & nice to see a glimpse from the director's point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8