Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide

Average Rating 4
( 946 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(644)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Accidentally Obsessed

Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother ha...
Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother had told me that the movie sucked (after we watched it). I begged to differ. He told me that if I liked it that much then I should read the book. So eventually I got my hands on the first one I read it. I made sure that I had borrowed the second and the third before I needed them. The fourth one I had a hard time getting my hands on but I did eventually. It took me about 3 days after being done with the third one to get a hold of it and I thought I was going to die because there was this movie playing in my head that was suddenly on pause. I couldn't put any of the books down once I started reading them. Let me remind you that I am not a reader but it only took me about 10 days (with the 3 day break) to read the entire series! I would find myself staying up till the early morning hours reading! I have been finished with the saga for about a month now and I am still dreaming of Edward and Bella. I search the internet for any untouched material that I haven't read yet. I did stumble upon Midnight Sun (Edwards version of Twilight) I read it in one sitting. When it ended I hoped that Stephenie Meyer would finish writing it because I think it plays an important role in Twilight. When my mom was watching the movie I found myself explaining why Edward was having the reactions that he was having towards Bella. People think I am sick but I just cant stop thinking of what might be. I just cant believe that the story ends there. I hope that Stephenie does go on with the story from Edwards point of view. I do believe that it would be a top seller just like Twilight. People yearn for this story! I live in Washington and it makes me want to drive to Forks to meet them for myself (I know they are just characters in a book). I hope that for everyone who hasn't read these books that you do read them, and enjoy every minute you have with the characters. Enjoy!

posted by never_intended on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Release date: 2010?

I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST D...
I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST DAY OF 2010?! Do you understand? That's going into 2011--What's the date going to be next? 2012? Can anyone say "2013"? What about 2014? Or is THAT too soon? (In case you are wondering, I'm being sarcastic). Whatever.

posted by CULLENboy on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 946 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Accidentally Obsessed

    Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother had told me that the movie sucked (after we watched it). I begged to differ. He told me that if I liked it that much then I should read the book. So eventually I got my hands on the first one I read it. I made sure that I had borrowed the second and the third before I needed them. The fourth one I had a hard time getting my hands on but I did eventually. It took me about 3 days after being done with the third one to get a hold of it and I thought I was going to die because there was this movie playing in my head that was suddenly on pause. I couldn't put any of the books down once I started reading them. Let me remind you that I am not a reader but it only took me about 10 days (with the 3 day break) to read the entire series! I would find myself staying up till the early morning hours reading! I have been finished with the saga for about a month now and I am still dreaming of Edward and Bella. I search the internet for any untouched material that I haven't read yet. I did stumble upon Midnight Sun (Edwards version of Twilight) I read it in one sitting. When it ended I hoped that Stephenie Meyer would finish writing it because I think it plays an important role in Twilight. When my mom was watching the movie I found myself explaining why Edward was having the reactions that he was having towards Bella. People think I am sick but I just cant stop thinking of what might be. I just cant believe that the story ends there. I hope that Stephenie does go on with the story from Edwards point of view. I do believe that it would be a top seller just like Twilight. People yearn for this story! I live in Washington and it makes me want to drive to Forks to meet them for myself (I know they are just characters in a book). I hope that for everyone who hasn't read these books that you do read them, and enjoy every minute you have with the characters. Enjoy!

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Release date: 2010?

    I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST DAY OF 2010?! Do you understand? That's going into 2011--What's the date going to be next? 2012? Can anyone say "2013"? What about 2014? Or is THAT too soon? (In case you are wondering, I'm being sarcastic). Whatever.

    25 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Deeply Saddened by Stephanie Meyer's choice

    I enjoy and loved reading the Twilight saga. I am truly saddened at the fact that Stephanie has decided to put her newest book on hold. I have read the partial draft of Midniht Sun that she posted, and was moved and enjoying the story. She has an amazing talent for pulling you into the books and getting you to feel the emotions of the characters that she is focusing on. She was doing that again in Midnight Sun. I only hope that she can find it in herself to go back to her book and finish writing it. I look forward to being able to read it published cover to cover.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I dont think this will ever be released!

    Just so you all know, I wrote to the publisher asking about this book. Their reply is as follows:

    This title has been postponed.

    We do not yet have a date

    14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Another year to wait???

    This was supposed to be out last year, then they pushed it to Sept of this year, then Dec 31, 2009. Now we have to wait another year? This is getting rediculous. What is the holdup? We've waited two years for this book. I sure hope it's worth the wait and the hype.

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    Just backstory - and I paid $13?

    The only part of this book that we DIDN'T know after reading the Twilight series is everyone's (and I mean EVERYONE whose name was ever mentioned in the series, practically) backstory. The regular history of vamps/wolves, their abilities, etc., that make up this book are all pretty much explained in the series and the illustrations are generally unneeded and kind of silly, except where the actual characters are depicted. I was so excited for this book, since I loved the series, but just like the Bree Tanner book, any Twilight extras seem to be a total wastage of money! It's like the author's just trying to milk this for all it's worth! I regret buying this book, since there wasn't much I learned from it worth knowing. Just borrow this book, don't buy it, you won't read it twice.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephenie Meyers Cares Nothing about her Fans

    Stephanie Meyers cares nothing about her fans. This woman is totally in it for the money. She has no time to write anymore fiction because she is too busy living large and to heck with her fans. The fact that no one can actually contact her on her website is very telling as is her continued pouting over Midnight Sun. The fact that she is blaming her fans over a security lapse regarding that book is rediculous. I might add that it was totally her fault that someone got ahold of an advance copy of part of Midnight Sun and published it on the internet. Her whining regarding this matter shows how out of touch and self-centered she is. God forbid that she should accept any responsibilty for her own actions. My advise to everyone is don't hold your breath waiting for the above mentioned Guide to Twilight to be published since my guess is that until her money starts to run out, Stephenie Meyers won't be writing anything worth reading.

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Nothing you don't already know.

    I loved the Twilight Saga. I have the books, the illustrated movie guides, and the graphic novel volume 1. Also the DVDs. I am disappointed in the Twilight Guide. There wasn't really anything in there that I didn't already know, and the stuff that I didn't hardly worth it. Any fan of this series would already know most of this stuff. This book to FOREVER to be released, with numerous delays, and failed to be worth the wait. It starts off with a now 3 yr old interview with S.M. and tries to make up for quality of info with quantity. The "maps" and "illustrations" that are included remind me of Nancy Drew illustrations, I was expecting the anime-like drawings of the graphic novel, thankfully the character bio pics are like this, but are only reserved for certain characters. I would have loved to have seen at least a group pics of the other covens. The best thing in this book is the Fan Art section which is too short. If you are a younger reader, you might like this, but for the older reader, you might just want to borrow this and give it a look through. I really wanted this to be amazing. Feels like someone is cashing in on Twilight fame.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Agree with Deeply Saddened

    I have enjoyed this series immensely. I am glad that I was recommended the series after all four books came out because I think I would have had an incredibly hard time waiting for the next book if I had started reading them in 2005. I spent every free minute I had engulfed in the story for two weeks. It ended beautifully. However, it ended. :(
    I only had one day after finishing the series and then I had to go back a start reading again. When my friend told me that there may possibly be the series from Edward's point of view I was so excited. I have read the chapters she has posted on her website and and completely involved. There is so much story behind Edward's point of view that I am troubled to hear that she may not finish them. I hope she reconsiders soon as I am gobbling up any and all I can find on this series. I can honestly say I have never read anything that tugs at my emotions the way this series does. A must read for young and old!!!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Please write more

    It was awesome I am a 60 year old lady and just could not get enough. You must write about what happens to their daughter and Jake. Plus we must hear more about Bella and Edward. I loved the series.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta read the Twilight Saga!- BUT WHY IS THIS BOOK COMING OUT IN 2009?!?!!?!

    These are the best books I have ever read. And I have read a lot of books. I actually read this to go with the flow and find a good book. But, New Moon (Book 2) was only 4 stars becuase (sorry to break it to you) it was extremly boring. Edward left Bella thinking that he is going to kill her eventually, and the worst part is, IT'S ON PAGE 50!!! Then stupid Jacob black brought the Vultri into the story. I have read twilight 3 times, New Moon 1 time ( extremely boring) Eclipse 2 times, and Breaking dawn 2. It is so hard to read other books when you can't stop focasing on Twilight. It is almost too good.<BR/><BR/> Here's the thing with this book: WHAT THE HECK?!?!?!?!<BR/>why make it come out about a year from now? twilight is one of the "fads" now. This book will NOT sell in 2009. I can almost garentee it. It should come out Decemer 30th THIS year. Stephenie Meyer would make a TON of money this year- Breaking Dawn, movie, and this. It's like a set-up for losing money, am I right?

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Waiting, and Waiting, and Waiting!

    I know I sound like a Twerd, but all of us die-hard Twilight fans are worried that this book will never come out. If I am correct, it was origionally supposed to be published December 30, 2008. Now it isn't even going to be out until December 31, 2010! Hopefully the Twilight buzz won't be over by then!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    why does an unreleased book have five star reviews?

    How typical of the Twilight fanbase, who blindly read anything with Stephenie Meyer's name splashed on the cover, to give this book five stars when it has not been released. It doesn't even have a release date. Breaking Dawn was one of the most hilarious, poorly written, grammatically incoherent books I've ever read. And Stephenie Meyer's smug attitude and pity fits over her "human rights" being violated when Midnight Sun leaked was obnoxious. I am seriously disappointed so many "fans" are applauding her in her tantrums. This book is not even out! The fact that you even need a book to explain this "saga" is comical.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    LOVE THE SAGA COLLECTION

    I LOVED THE COLLECTION. I LOVED THE DRAMA AND EXPENSE, BUT I ESPECIALLY FELL IN LOVE WITH BELLA AND EDWARD AND THEIR LOVE FOR EACH OTHER. I WISH STEPHENIE MEYER WOULD HAVE CONSIDERD TO CONTINUE THE STORY. I AM SORRY IT ENDED. I WOULD NORMAL NOT AGREE TO CONTINUE ON WITH A STORY THAT ALREADY HAS 4 BOOKS, BUT IT WAS REALLY THAT GOOD. I THINK THE MOVIE WAS OKAY, BUT SOMEHOW BELLA'S SENSE OF HUMOR WAS NOT IN THE MOVIE AS IT WAS IN THE BOOKS.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    When is it coming out

    When i ordered it in 2008 it said it was coming out around christmas of that year, now it is October 31, 2009 and it still isnt published. I know it got pushed back but why would it possibly take that long. Cant wait till it comes out and hopefully its before the date on the site, december 31, 2010, thats crazy.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE THE SERIES!! But ONE MORE YEAR??

    I love the series. I have reread it a dozen times and i am ready to reread it again. Its addicting to say the least. It has action, romance and everything mixed in with it. I will say that new moon kinda ticked me off... i mean i see the reasoning behind edwards decision (wont go into specifics just in case you havent read the book yet.) but at the same time i dont understand it. (i have a see both sides kinda mind). So i dont particularly like that one.... my all time favorite one is breaking dawn, without a doubt. I will spend probably forever loving the book series (movies not so much). Im Waiting for the official guide to come out and i will continue to wait very very impatiently. Why the heck can it not just come out when it says its going to. are they trying to drive all the fans absolutly insane?? Im also waiting for edwards version of the novel (and hopefully his version of all of them... that would be cool) but waiting for a book, i ordered almost a year ago.... is ANNOYING and IRRATING..... ok putting that all aside, if you have not read the twilight saga, i seriously suggest you do. Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, Breaking Dawn... In that order. Enjoy.... Peace,

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT?!?

    Yeah that is really sad when they keep pushing it back. last time i checked it was coming out in October of 2009. I thought they were joking when i first saw that it's coming out on New Years Eve of 2010. Yikes. Talk about a long wait. And this stinks because i was so pumped up for it too. :(

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WHY DOES IT KEEP CHANGING?!

    I have waited forever for this guide to come out and by the time it DOES come out it will be the last day of 2010?! Wait, I shouldn't say that so soon. It may end up coming out 10 years from now and we'll all still be waiting. I was excited for this book, but now I'm completely done getting all hyped up. It's not worth it when they keep pushing back the release date by years. That's right, years. Not months. Ugh. Whenever this book comes out I will buy it & be happy, but upset they made us wait this long for a GUIDE.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    :(

    I am beyond upset that this isn't coming out until September!! I thought it was coming out like December 30; so I pre-ordered and everything, then all of a sudden I thought I was seeing things but nope.... I just don't know if I can wait :( I'm heartbroken.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    WOW

    it is for all ages!! it will capture you in the first couple pages. i had heard of if from friends and they said i should read it and i didn't. then finaly i read it! i got O.C.D right away!! (obsesive CULLEN disorder) i read all the books in about a month. you can read them over and over and they will still have all the emotion, unforgettable characters, and still all the suspence! read them and you will not regret it!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 946 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48