Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide

Average Rating 4
( 944 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(643)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Accidentally Obsessed

Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother ha...
Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother had told me that the movie sucked (after we watched it). I begged to differ. He told me that if I liked it that much then I should read the book. So eventually I got my hands on the first one I read it. I made sure that I had borrowed the second and the third before I needed them. The fourth one I had a hard time getting my hands on but I did eventually. It took me about 3 days after being done with the third one to get a hold of it and I thought I was going to die because there was this movie playing in my head that was suddenly on pause. I couldn't put any of the books down once I started reading them. Let me remind you that I am not a reader but it only took me about 10 days (with the 3 day break) to read the entire series! I would find myself staying up till the early morning hours reading! I have been finished with the saga for about a month now and I am still dreaming of Edward and Bella. I search the internet for any untouched material that I haven't read yet. I did stumble upon Midnight Sun (Edwards version of Twilight) I read it in one sitting. When it ended I hoped that Stephenie Meyer would finish writing it because I think it plays an important role in Twilight. When my mom was watching the movie I found myself explaining why Edward was having the reactions that he was having towards Bella. People think I am sick but I just cant stop thinking of what might be. I just cant believe that the story ends there. I hope that Stephenie does go on with the story from Edwards point of view. I do believe that it would be a top seller just like Twilight. People yearn for this story! I live in Washington and it makes me want to drive to Forks to meet them for myself (I know they are just characters in a book). I hope that for everyone who hasn't read these books that you do read them, and enjoy every minute you have with the characters. Enjoy!

posted by never_intended on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Release date: 2010?

I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST D...
I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST DAY OF 2010?! Do you understand? That's going into 2011--What's the date going to be next? 2012? Can anyone say "2013"? What about 2014? Or is THAT too soon? (In case you are wondering, I'm being sarcastic). Whatever.

posted by CULLENboy on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Release date: 2010?

    I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST DAY OF 2010?! Do you understand? That's going into 2011--What's the date going to be next? 2012? Can anyone say "2013"? What about 2014? Or is THAT too soon? (In case you are wondering, I'm being sarcastic). Whatever.

    25 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I dont think this will ever be released!

    Just so you all know, I wrote to the publisher asking about this book. Their reply is as follows:

    This title has been postponed.

    We do not yet have a date

    14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stephenie Meyers Cares Nothing about her Fans

    Stephanie Meyers cares nothing about her fans. This woman is totally in it for the money. She has no time to write anymore fiction because she is too busy living large and to heck with her fans. The fact that no one can actually contact her on her website is very telling as is her continued pouting over Midnight Sun. The fact that she is blaming her fans over a security lapse regarding that book is rediculous. I might add that it was totally her fault that someone got ahold of an advance copy of part of Midnight Sun and published it on the internet. Her whining regarding this matter shows how out of touch and self-centered she is. God forbid that she should accept any responsibilty for her own actions. My advise to everyone is don't hold your breath waiting for the above mentioned Guide to Twilight to be published since my guess is that until her money starts to run out, Stephenie Meyers won't be writing anything worth reading.

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Nothing you don't already know.

    I loved the Twilight Saga. I have the books, the illustrated movie guides, and the graphic novel volume 1. Also the DVDs. I am disappointed in the Twilight Guide. There wasn't really anything in there that I didn't already know, and the stuff that I didn't hardly worth it. Any fan of this series would already know most of this stuff. This book to FOREVER to be released, with numerous delays, and failed to be worth the wait. It starts off with a now 3 yr old interview with S.M. and tries to make up for quality of info with quantity. The "maps" and "illustrations" that are included remind me of Nancy Drew illustrations, I was expecting the anime-like drawings of the graphic novel, thankfully the character bio pics are like this, but are only reserved for certain characters. I would have loved to have seen at least a group pics of the other covens. The best thing in this book is the Fan Art section which is too short. If you are a younger reader, you might like this, but for the older reader, you might just want to borrow this and give it a look through. I really wanted this to be amazing. Feels like someone is cashing in on Twilight fame.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    why does an unreleased book have five star reviews?

    How typical of the Twilight fanbase, who blindly read anything with Stephenie Meyer's name splashed on the cover, to give this book five stars when it has not been released. It doesn't even have a release date. Breaking Dawn was one of the most hilarious, poorly written, grammatically incoherent books I've ever read. And Stephenie Meyer's smug attitude and pity fits over her "human rights" being violated when Midnight Sun leaked was obnoxious. I am seriously disappointed so many "fans" are applauding her in her tantrums. This book is not even out! The fact that you even need a book to explain this "saga" is comical.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WHAT?!?

    Yeah that is really sad when they keep pushing it back. last time i checked it was coming out in October of 2009. I thought they were joking when i first saw that it's coming out on New Years Eve of 2010. Yikes. Talk about a long wait. And this stinks because i was so pumped up for it too. :(

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WHY DOES IT KEEP CHANGING?!

    I have waited forever for this guide to come out and by the time it DOES come out it will be the last day of 2010?! Wait, I shouldn't say that so soon. It may end up coming out 10 years from now and we'll all still be waiting. I was excited for this book, but now I'm completely done getting all hyped up. It's not worth it when they keep pushing back the release date by years. That's right, years. Not months. Ugh. Whenever this book comes out I will buy it & be happy, but upset they made us wait this long for a GUIDE.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    twilight sucks

    id give them negative if i could

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously?!

    I was reading the reviews for this 'official guide" and i had to step away from the computer because i was laughing so hard from complete shock. some one wrote "would you like crappy twilight books all in a row or quality ones a couple years apart" um. . . the books are all crappy and the did come out years apart. Yes i have read them, so dont be all "you dont know what you are talking about you havent read them" Cuz I have read them and I feel like part of my brain died in those 2 days.Twilight is an ok series but it truly is not the best thing every written. please read other books that are not related to this saga to understand what i mean. I can see the appeal behind this series because i was drawn to it for a little while too but i promise there are better series out there. Stephenie isnt a genious. half of the stuff she wrote about is ripped off of other novels and the writting is just not that great either. plus edward is a creeper who is not the kind of guy girls should want as a boyfriend. you do know it is ok to have a life and friends other than your boyfriends family right?

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    Not another year

    I am not waiting for another year for this book to come out. I have been waiting for almost 2 years for this book. I hope that they put it out this year then having it put out next year. Are they waiting for all the movies to be done to put out the book. I rather spend my money on other books then wait until they decide to put this book out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why?

    i have been waiting for this book to come out since breaking dawn. they keep pushing the release date back and it is getting on my nerves. please just stick with a date.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    UNREAL!!!

    I can't believe the release date has been pushed back again, this time to the end of 2010! By the time it actually does get released noone will want to read it anymore! (If it ever actually does get released!)
    This is very, very dissapointing news!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm really starting to get pissed off!!

    Okay. I love Stephenie Meyer BOOKS much as the next girl but I'm getting really pissed off this book was supposed to come out December 30,08 but look its now the end of June 09! And if it's not obvious I don't like to weight!!! And I'm starting to get over twilight !(I know shocking)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Yall stupid

    Yall stupid posting hater comments just shut up

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Note to publisher!

    Please hurry up and take advantage of the momentum behind Twilight and release this book before fans give up on it! I preordered in February and am close to canceling if I really have to wait almost 2 years.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW i cant believe this

    thats so dumb, I was waiting FOREVER for this book to come out, and now its comming out ANOTHER YEAR from now?!?!?!?! Stephanie sure is lazy or something, she's letting down alot of people.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    uhhhhh!!!

    I don't want to wait till 12/31/2010!!! thats sooo stupid! I'm not going to be into the Twilight saga by then!! what the heck?! Why can't they just bring it out already, it was suppost to come out in 12/30/2008, right?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    can't review because barnes & noble hasn't sent us the book yet.

    can't review because the book hasn't been sent to us yet.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GOD GET OVER YOURSELF STEPHANIE MEYER

    THIS LADY IS TRYING HER HARDEST TO STAY IN THE SPOTLIGHT......AND THESE CRAZED FANS ARE BLIND TO IT.....STUPID BOOK, STUPID AUTHOR, STUPID VAMPIRES!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Do I want this anymore?

    I just realize this book will be released in about a week. The sad thing is that I'm no longer interested. :(

    I truly did love the Twilight Sage, but I have now moved on to new books. This book simply took too long to be released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6