Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide

Average Rating 4
( 946 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(644)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Accidentally Obsessed

Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother ha...
Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother had told me that the movie sucked (after we watched it). I begged to differ. He told me that if I liked it that much then I should read the book. So eventually I got my hands on the first one I read it. I made sure that I had borrowed the second and the third before I needed them. The fourth one I had a hard time getting my hands on but I did eventually. It took me about 3 days after being done with the third one to get a hold of it and I thought I was going to die because there was this movie playing in my head that was suddenly on pause. I couldn't put any of the books down once I started reading them. Let me remind you that I am not a reader but it only took me about 10 days (with the 3 day break) to read the entire series! I would find myself staying up till the early morning hours reading! I have been finished with the saga for about a month now and I am still dreaming of Edward and Bella. I search the internet for any untouched material that I haven't read yet. I did stumble upon Midnight Sun (Edwards version of Twilight) I read it in one sitting. When it ended I hoped that Stephenie Meyer would finish writing it because I think it plays an important role in Twilight. When my mom was watching the movie I found myself explaining why Edward was having the reactions that he was having towards Bella. People think I am sick but I just cant stop thinking of what might be. I just cant believe that the story ends there. I hope that Stephenie does go on with the story from Edwards point of view. I do believe that it would be a top seller just like Twilight. People yearn for this story! I live in Washington and it makes me want to drive to Forks to meet them for myself (I know they are just characters in a book). I hope that for everyone who hasn't read these books that you do read them, and enjoy every minute you have with the characters. Enjoy!

posted by never_intended on May 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Release date: 2010?

I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST D...
I'm getting EXTREMELY mad now. First, the release date was December 30, 2008. I was getting really excited about that. But then, it was changed to December 31, 2009. I was a little mad, but I could've waited another few months. But now it's coming out on the VERY LAST DAY OF 2010?! Do you understand? That's going into 2011--What's the date going to be next? 2012? Can anyone say "2013"? What about 2014? Or is THAT too soon? (In case you are wondering, I'm being sarcastic). Whatever.

posted by CULLENboy on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 644 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Accidentally Obsessed

    Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a reader. I would start a book but never get into it so therefore never finish. I went to Blockbuster to rent the movie and got mixed reviews about it. I hoped that I wouldn't be disappointed and of course I wasn't. My brother had told me that the movie sucked (after we watched it). I begged to differ. He told me that if I liked it that much then I should read the book. So eventually I got my hands on the first one I read it. I made sure that I had borrowed the second and the third before I needed them. The fourth one I had a hard time getting my hands on but I did eventually. It took me about 3 days after being done with the third one to get a hold of it and I thought I was going to die because there was this movie playing in my head that was suddenly on pause. I couldn't put any of the books down once I started reading them. Let me remind you that I am not a reader but it only took me about 10 days (with the 3 day break) to read the entire series! I would find myself staying up till the early morning hours reading! I have been finished with the saga for about a month now and I am still dreaming of Edward and Bella. I search the internet for any untouched material that I haven't read yet. I did stumble upon Midnight Sun (Edwards version of Twilight) I read it in one sitting. When it ended I hoped that Stephenie Meyer would finish writing it because I think it plays an important role in Twilight. When my mom was watching the movie I found myself explaining why Edward was having the reactions that he was having towards Bella. People think I am sick but I just cant stop thinking of what might be. I just cant believe that the story ends there. I hope that Stephenie does go on with the story from Edwards point of view. I do believe that it would be a top seller just like Twilight. People yearn for this story! I live in Washington and it makes me want to drive to Forks to meet them for myself (I know they are just characters in a book). I hope that for everyone who hasn't read these books that you do read them, and enjoy every minute you have with the characters. Enjoy!

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Deeply Saddened by Stephanie Meyer's choice

    I enjoy and loved reading the Twilight saga. I am truly saddened at the fact that Stephanie has decided to put her newest book on hold. I have read the partial draft of Midniht Sun that she posted, and was moved and enjoying the story. She has an amazing talent for pulling you into the books and getting you to feel the emotions of the characters that she is focusing on. She was doing that again in Midnight Sun. I only hope that she can find it in herself to go back to her book and finish writing it. I look forward to being able to read it published cover to cover.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Please write more

    It was awesome I am a 60 year old lady and just could not get enough. You must write about what happens to their daughter and Jake. Plus we must hear more about Bella and Edward. I loved the series.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Agree with Deeply Saddened

    I have enjoyed this series immensely. I am glad that I was recommended the series after all four books came out because I think I would have had an incredibly hard time waiting for the next book if I had started reading them in 2005. I spent every free minute I had engulfed in the story for two weeks. It ended beautifully. However, it ended. :(
    I only had one day after finishing the series and then I had to go back a start reading again. When my friend told me that there may possibly be the series from Edward's point of view I was so excited. I have read the chapters she has posted on her website and and completely involved. There is so much story behind Edward's point of view that I am troubled to hear that she may not finish them. I hope she reconsiders soon as I am gobbling up any and all I can find on this series. I can honestly say I have never read anything that tugs at my emotions the way this series does. A must read for young and old!!!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta read the Twilight Saga!- BUT WHY IS THIS BOOK COMING OUT IN 2009?!?!!?!

    These are the best books I have ever read. And I have read a lot of books. I actually read this to go with the flow and find a good book. But, New Moon (Book 2) was only 4 stars becuase (sorry to break it to you) it was extremly boring. Edward left Bella thinking that he is going to kill her eventually, and the worst part is, IT'S ON PAGE 50!!! Then stupid Jacob black brought the Vultri into the story. I have read twilight 3 times, New Moon 1 time ( extremely boring) Eclipse 2 times, and Breaking dawn 2. It is so hard to read other books when you can't stop focasing on Twilight. It is almost too good.<BR/><BR/> Here's the thing with this book: WHAT THE HECK?!?!?!?!<BR/>why make it come out about a year from now? twilight is one of the "fads" now. This book will NOT sell in 2009. I can almost garentee it. It should come out Decemer 30th THIS year. Stephenie Meyer would make a TON of money this year- Breaking Dawn, movie, and this. It's like a set-up for losing money, am I right?

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Waiting, and Waiting, and Waiting!

    I know I sound like a Twerd, but all of us die-hard Twilight fans are worried that this book will never come out. If I am correct, it was origionally supposed to be published December 30, 2008. Now it isn't even going to be out until December 31, 2010! Hopefully the Twilight buzz won't be over by then!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    LOVE THE SAGA COLLECTION

    I LOVED THE COLLECTION. I LOVED THE DRAMA AND EXPENSE, BUT I ESPECIALLY FELL IN LOVE WITH BELLA AND EDWARD AND THEIR LOVE FOR EACH OTHER. I WISH STEPHENIE MEYER WOULD HAVE CONSIDERD TO CONTINUE THE STORY. I AM SORRY IT ENDED. I WOULD NORMAL NOT AGREE TO CONTINUE ON WITH A STORY THAT ALREADY HAS 4 BOOKS, BUT IT WAS REALLY THAT GOOD. I THINK THE MOVIE WAS OKAY, BUT SOMEHOW BELLA'S SENSE OF HUMOR WAS NOT IN THE MOVIE AS IT WAS IN THE BOOKS.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE THE SERIES!! But ONE MORE YEAR??

    I love the series. I have reread it a dozen times and i am ready to reread it again. Its addicting to say the least. It has action, romance and everything mixed in with it. I will say that new moon kinda ticked me off... i mean i see the reasoning behind edwards decision (wont go into specifics just in case you havent read the book yet.) but at the same time i dont understand it. (i have a see both sides kinda mind). So i dont particularly like that one.... my all time favorite one is breaking dawn, without a doubt. I will spend probably forever loving the book series (movies not so much). Im Waiting for the official guide to come out and i will continue to wait very very impatiently. Why the heck can it not just come out when it says its going to. are they trying to drive all the fans absolutly insane?? Im also waiting for edwards version of the novel (and hopefully his version of all of them... that would be cool) but waiting for a book, i ordered almost a year ago.... is ANNOYING and IRRATING..... ok putting that all aside, if you have not read the twilight saga, i seriously suggest you do. Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, Breaking Dawn... In that order. Enjoy.... Peace,

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    :(

    I am beyond upset that this isn't coming out until September!! I thought it was coming out like December 30; so I pre-ordered and everything, then all of a sudden I thought I was seeing things but nope.... I just don't know if I can wait :( I'm heartbroken.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    WOW

    it is for all ages!! it will capture you in the first couple pages. i had heard of if from friends and they said i should read it and i didn't. then finaly i read it! i got O.C.D right away!! (obsesive CULLEN disorder) i read all the books in about a month. you can read them over and over and they will still have all the emotion, unforgettable characters, and still all the suspence! read them and you will not regret it!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight Saga

    Wow. These books are amazing, To tell the truth I have never read anything like this before and I would suggest it to these ages 10-27. It is really good.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    the book

    why is this book taking FOREVER to come out. been waiting for a 1 year for it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is very cool i cant wait till 9/30/09

    this is really cool im defintley going to preorder this but im still upset that i have to wait for it to come out on 9/30/09

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Patience

    Well I can wait until September. I will try to be patient but I will wait! I really hope that Stephanie finishes Midnight Sun. The whole time I was reading Twilight I kept wondering what was going on in Edwards head. Seriously if you haven't read the series yet, read it, then pass it on! It will become your obsession, you have to keep reading to find out what happens next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    I don't think there is a lawsuit, but hope this helps

    I checked her website last night to check and see if there was information about the release date being changed and there wasn't anything, however, there was a post saying that as far as she knows
    she ISN'T being sued.I pre-ordered my book back in May so I was really irritated when I heard that the release date had been pushed back so long so, I just got off the phone with someone at the B&N customer service number and she said that it might be that they might be releasing the book twice? I also asked her why if the book was being released Dec. 2010 my expected ship date was STILL Sept. 2009 and she said that as long as I didn't receive notification or an email that my order should ship in Sept.
    Hope that helped, but if you guys have any questions I would call the B&N customer service number.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    Why? Why? Why?

    Why are there continuing delays?? I am a huge Twilight fan, and this book was supposed to come out on December 30th...what gives? Why do so many people have this same question, but no one seems to have an answer?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    The MUST HAVE for Twihard Twerds!

    If you are a Twilight fan, this book MUST be part of the collection! It provides so much detail, history, and back story to the characters that you will re-read the series with new eyes and more understanding of all the nuances. I have read the series 5 times, and the 5th time was the best by far because of all the things I learned reading this beforehand. If you are into character development, this book is for you! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wonderful back story

    I loved this! It tells the story behind everyone! Im not big on the graphics... a bit to anime, but awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Thats right TWILIGHT is AMAZING ok yay

    Omg this is amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Darcus @ Starcrossed

    I am a huge Twilight fan. I've loved it from the very beginning and I'm still crazy over it. So I was excited when I learned this book was being done. I pre-ordered it as soon as it was available, but my husband and I moved to Ohio and my mother ended up getting the package. She kept forgetting to send it to me, and when we moved back...she lost it. So after a few months, I finally got to read it. I was not disappointed.

    This book was amazing, beautiful words, and illustrations fit for them. The Twilight Saga: The Official Illustrated Guide is a very in depth view at the characters and backstory. An illustrated journey into the world of Twilight. It makes me almost desperate to re-read the series.

    There's so much information that we, as readers, would never have known about the characters, events, and mysteries in the world of Stephenie Myer and her books.

    I only had one complaint about this book. At times it seemed very repetitive, but honestly, with a book like this, there's no way it can't be repetitive at some point, with all the characters and their stories weaving together in so many different ways.
    This is a must-read for fans of The Twilight Saga.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 644 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33