Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Saga Collection

Average Rating 4.5
( 4573 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3657)

4 Star

(406)

3 Star

(167)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(263)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

85 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

For adults also!

I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautif...
I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautiful romance novel, obviously Sci-Fi, but very well written. Now I just started Eclipse, still page turning!

posted by Gigi82 on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Good

This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The ...
This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The relationship between her and Edward is not rational or healthy, and teenage girls should not think that having a complete mental breakdown after someone leaves you is okay. Your boyfriend should not be totally controlling who you see, and what you do.
The plot did not take form until 3/4 of the way into each book, and adjectives were thoroughly abused throughout the series. It gets very tedious when Edward is described in every sentence. I don't quite understand all the hype about these books. it just goes to show you many teenage girls will obsess over anything with the word "love" in it.

posted by Natalie_Elena on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A horrid excuse for teen literature.

    I would type in all caps to convey my fury aimed at the crowd of nitwits who consider this a nice piece of work, but even I can't stand people who write in caps lock for everything.

    This book is makeshift toilet paper for when I go camping.

    The writing itself is far below what is considered to be teenage level reading. Also, I'm not sure if anyone else has noticed thus far, but the word 'chagrin' pops up innumerably throughout the series.

    12 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To be honest, it sucks

    About a year ago, my whole sixth grade class became obsessed with the Twilight series. One girl girl in my class (I'm sure you have one too) was in love with the series and Edward. After I read all the available books, I came to the conclusion that they were okay. Boring, but okay. When Breaking Dawn came out, I was pretty excited and I borrowed it from a friend. A few chapters in, I was completeley disapointed. This book was so dull. It's obvious that Stephanie Meyer is an Edward fangirl herself because he is a complete Mary-Sue. For anyone who doesn't know what a Mary-Sue is, they're book characters who are completely perfect. Breaking Dawn was also predictable, everything turned out the way I expected it to. Even the previously mentioned Twilight fangirl was disapointed. The thing that annoys me the most about Bella is that she never takes care of her own problems, someone else always solves them for her. The main thing that ruined this series completely, was the Twilight movie. Kristen Stewart and Rob Pattinson are horrible actors. That's all I'm going to say although I could complain for hours. The good news is, our class, now seventh grade has discovered some new better book series'. Namely the Mortal Instruments series. Even our class Edward obsessed girl is getting over her obsession in favor of this series. So, let me conclude by telling you Twilight fans to read the following books; City of Bones, The Hunger Games, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The True Meaning of Smekday, and City of Ember. You will be amazed by what else is out there.

    10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this series is crappy

    this series is crappiely wrighten if your going to read a paranormal romance series git one that talks more then about edwards looks and jacobs hunky body read the house of night series i am a boy and love romances and love vampires i love the house of night series it actualey talks about the caracters and it takes you into a diffrent world

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made in literature history!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    I'd give it 0 stars if I could

    If there is anything apart from this book series that was more damaging to the self-esteem of young women, I don't know what is. The endangering of women is taken as being okay since "I love him", which of course is a common excuse for why battered women remain with abusive spouses and boyfriends. I found the amount of stupidity in the supposedly intelligent Belle to be the most unbelievable part of this book - hey, if that cute guy, and his family are all saying "get away, you'll get hurt or killed", you'd think she'd listen (if she were actually intelligent). But no, she has to love him and not consider the consequences of her actions. But let's just turn up the heat and add some more danger with a werewolf. I'm continuously astounded that anyone would take the time to read this drivel. To be honest I was so disgusted after the first book that I had to stop there. But based on the movies, it doesn't get any better....sad to say the least.

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Your Average Vampire Story

    I am a teenage girl, which is supposed to mean I worship all things Twilight. Unfortunately, I find Twilight to be a disappointment because, honestly, it could be any vampire story in Twilight's place. Stephanie Meyer is much too in love with her own characters, the slightly dim-witted Bella and the sexy/creepy (depending on your POV) Edward Cullen. Her writing style is really just not good enough for all the hype the books have recieved. The first book is worth reading; the story is a little predictable but not bad. After that don't waste your time. The last book is one, long anticlimax. Not a fan - wanted to be, but I'm just not..

    7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book series is the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    Overrated

    The Twilight Saga was a huge disapointment. Reading Twilight, I enjoyed the book in the way that it was something vaguely interesting to read but I would soon forget about and not think anything of it. The only thing that makes it memorable now is the hype over it. Upon reading New Moon and the last two, the longer I continued the less I liked the series. First of all the writing style is amateur and nowhere near that of truely great literature as it's made out to seem. The character of Bella Swan is such a Mary-Sue, a character with no apparent flaws and no strength or independence of her own. She also bares an obvious resemblence and likeness to the author herself, showing little creativity in her characters. The story is basically about how important it is to throw away your life for a guy.

    Stephenie Meyers spends most of the books talking about how beautiful Edward is, using a ridiculous amount of adjectives to describe the romantic fluff. The adventure aspect was also a huge letdown. The end of each book always builds up to a big showdown, and each time you spend 20 pages reading about them standing there talking, and then everything ends happily ever after. It's so anti-climactic. Twilight would have been an alright book on it's own, but I think the others, especially Breaking Dawn are not worth reading as the series just goes downhill with each book. The storyline is obviously appealing to other teenage girls like myself but when you dig deeper at the plot and the writing, there is nothing that spectacular there. Twilight is an overrated, over-hyped series, end of story.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Blahblahblahhh

    Okay. So, this is a New York Bestseller . . . so what?!! I've read the whole series. The first three books inspired me to read more fictional books (and to be a bookworm) as I kept on waiting for the fourth book to be released. And when it did, I was very disappointed. I will never ever ever reread this saga! Bella is really simple and she's a spoiled-brat. Edward is so amazing, like, ooohhhh, he sparkles! What the--! Desperate ugly girls LOOVEEE Edward so much and they're like . . totally obsessed with him! Trust me, I've seen A LOT of them at school. And most of the Edward fans are FAATTTTT and uglyy and desperate girls who can't get dates, ftw. Stephenie Meyer makes me keep wondering how she graduated with an English literature. This saga too much overrated. She writes poorly. This series wasted about 45% of my reading time when I was reading the saga: there are too much unnecessary details in the books.<BR/><BR/>I agree with this 100%~<BR/><BR/>As I read, something about the first book pulled me in. Looking back though, its hard to see what that was. Meyer's main character Bella is simple and flat, with no hobbies outside of her love, the vampire Edward. The character of Edward is stalkerish and controlling, and yet is thought of as perfect by everyone he meets, and by many young girls in real life, which astounds and disturbs me. None of the other characters of the series are much better, except for the werewolf Jacob, who is surprisingly developed. The most evil of characters make unrealistic decisions, causing all potential conflicts of the series to wrap up cleanly before they really begin. Too much detail is put into some scenes, while there is not enough for others. The writing style is often too simple with short, undescriptive sentences. And after the last book, Breaking Dawn, one is left to wonder about the author's education in Biology.<BR/><BR/>The only saving grace for the series is the history and myth that surrounds the werewolves and vampires. And despite all of the above, I did enjoy them, but mostly to see what I would change about the series to make it better. The books are more of a guilty pleasure than a true form of literature.

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this series of books stink!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! buy harry potter instead or star wars instead of this book series which is a waste of time and money

    this is the worst book series ever made from begining to end its annoying dumb unintelligent pathetic and lame!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the worst book series ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    the worst book series ever made in book history!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the worst book series ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 263 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14