Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Saga Collection

Average Rating 4.5
( 4564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3652)

4 Star

(403)

3 Star

(167)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(262)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

85 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

For adults also!

I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautif...
I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautiful romance novel, obviously Sci-Fi, but very well written. Now I just started Eclipse, still page turning!

posted by Gigi82 on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Good

This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The ...
This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The relationship between her and Edward is not rational or healthy, and teenage girls should not think that having a complete mental breakdown after someone leaves you is okay. Your boyfriend should not be totally controlling who you see, and what you do.
The plot did not take form until 3/4 of the way into each book, and adjectives were thoroughly abused throughout the series. It gets very tedious when Edward is described in every sentence. I don't quite understand all the hype about these books. it just goes to show you many teenage girls will obsess over anything with the word "love" in it.

posted by Natalie_Elena on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    Not Very Good

    This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The relationship between her and Edward is not rational or healthy, and teenage girls should not think that having a complete mental breakdown after someone leaves you is okay. Your boyfriend should not be totally controlling who you see, and what you do.<BR/>The plot did not take form until 3/4 of the way into each book, and adjectives were thoroughly abused throughout the series. It gets very tedious when Edward is described in every sentence. I don't quite understand all the hype about these books. it just goes to show you many teenage girls will obsess over anything with the word "love" in it.

    50 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Potter leaves Meyer in the Dust

    I unfortunately see many tweenies come in to read this series. The writing style seems fantastic, making the book a quick read, but much too repetative with descri[tice. (You can only use granite, marble and stone so many times before it becomes a bore.) My major problem? The potential Stephenie Meyer showed. Edward shows little emotion and no development whatsoever, merely acting as a glitter-filled Hallmark card. Bella plays the clueless Mary Sue, never appreciating what she has, and has a very unhealthy and unnatural obsession with Edward. (Because, you know, he cuts her breakes because he loves her!) Jacob was one of the few characters who displayed a noteable amount of improvement, and Meyer was too quick to throw in a happy, fairy-tale ending. If, for some godforsaken reason, you decide to let your daughter read this, please, please PLEASE make sure that they are at the very least 16 years old and have experienced or seen a healthy relationship, in real life. Also take caution when reading the fourth book. The grossness factor about triples and will make the average reader a bit uncomfortable. <BR/><BR/>Not to mention, it costs more to buy to boxed set in store than it does the individual hard covers. Don't waste your time OR money. Invest in real literature, not bad fanfiction you could find online for free.

    48 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Not a Fulfilling Read

    When I picked up Twilight, I was fully expecting to be under-whelmed, and while I wasn¿t completely disappointed, the book wasn¿t great either. The admittedly original plot can¿t compensate for the flat, one-dimensional characters. Isabella ¿Bella¿ Swan, the series protagonist, has little self-confidence and seems completely incapable of getting through an entire day without Edward by her side, despite his constant condescending remarks toward her concerning her clumsiness and her general ¿human-ness¿, which can¿t compare to Edward and the rest of the Cullens¿s heightened abilities and physical perfection, the result of the family being vampires. Twilight has next-to no character development, and the characters seem to regress back even further in the following book, New Moon - in which Bella spends the first half of the back wallowing in a depression brought on by Edward¿s leaving - with the exception of Jacob Black, the books¿ saving grace in the form of a boy-werewolf Bella befriends, who, though a fantastic character with his snarky remarks and boyish personality, cannot make up for the utter flatness of his fellow characters. I¿m a fifteen year old girl and fall right into the series demographic, but still fail to see the draw of series. While most girls are fawning over Edward and his vampire cohorts, I¿d take Harry Potter, with its brilliantly fleshed-out characters and page-turning plot over Twilight any day.

    17 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    Read For Fun, but Don't Expect Much

    As I read, something about the first book pulled me in. Looking back though, its hard to see what that was. Meyer's main character Bella is simple and flat, with no hobbies outside of her love, the vampire Edward. The character of Edward is stalkerish and controlling, and yet is thought of as perfect by everyone he meets, and by many young girls in real life, which astounds and disturbs me. None of the other characters of the series are much better, except for the werewolf Jacob, who is surprisingly developed. The most evil of characters make unrealistic decisions, causing all potential conflicts of the series to wrap up cleanly before they really begin. Too much detail is put into some scenes, while there is not enough for others. The writing style is often too simple with short, undescriptive sentences. And after the last book, Breaking Dawn, one is left to wonder about the author's education in Biology.<BR/><BR/>The only saving grace for the series is the history and myth that surrounds the werewolves and vampires. And despite all of the above, I did enjoy them, but mostly to see what I would change about the series to make it better. The books are more of a guilty pleasure than a true form of literature.

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TOTAL ESCAPISM

    TOTAL ESCAPISM THAT'S IT...IF THAT'S WHAT YOUR INTO...

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly A Let Down

    At the first this series was one of my top books, but I realized it really isn't that good. It has a basic storyline and simple characters. I think it really only became the top buzz of books because a couple popular people who only read a few simple books read it and all of a sudden it was the greatest thing ever just because they liked it. Of course being like the top selling book at the time for teen readers, everyone went out and bought it, to blinded by the buzz to realize the true emotional give of the story. If you really sat down and had read a couple of really good books you would realize the sad truth, it's not that good. For the sensible people who truly realized this, the story was just a big let down. Of course considering how many people read this story, as the movies come out, everyone will be headed to theaters to see how the stories are compared. It's just sad that such a great amount of money and time will be spent on something that I truly believe just isn't worth it. I ask the many readers to sit down and think about the truth of this story - are you truly in love with the story, or is it just the new greatest thing that will be soon forgoten and it was just cool for a while.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Wow.

    I know that I might get flamed for saying this but Stephenie Meyer cannot write her way out of a paper bag; if she could, the heroine of the series, Bella Swan, would not be such a transparent attempt of the author playing out her own fantasies. Meyer is clearly more committed to the happiness of the character (and by extension, herself) versus the integrity of the story. This is shown time and time again during Bella's "crises". Not once in any of these books does the main character have to suffer the actual consequences of her actions. Yes, there are short term consequences but nothing permeates her life in a irrevocably negative way.


    These books are a great read for young adult girls who want to further delude themselves into believing that the perfect man exists somewhere out there, waiting to accept and worship every fiber of her being (none of which have a negative trait). Also great for the self-indulgent adult that clings to the idea that a perfect love is sustainable without considerable effort and compromise.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Disappointed

    I love this series. However, some of the words are changed from the original books. There are even a couple of sentences missing in Breaking Dawn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    Not The Best

    It's an interesting take on the Vampire Romance but the skills of the writer are lacking. The Characters are very "Mary-Sue" and the plot is overused. I liked the idea but the construction made me debate it too much. Unless you are a Die-hard Twilight fan, I wouldn't suggest it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truly, honestly, I am in the middle about Twilight.

    I. Don't. Know. Half of me absolutely loathes this dispicable writing by Meyer that has drawn in thousands and millions of tweeny girls to this books series which is totally predictable and boring.

    Yet, part of me does say some of the charecters were facinating and the series had some plot.

    It all started out with girls saying "Oh Edward is so dreamy!" and all that crap. I rolled my eyes with no particular want to read something that everyone was into. So, it wasn't me who wanted to read it. Dear old Mom bought me Twilight and told me to at least consider reading it. A few paragraphs into I stopped reading, it bored me already.

    Then when I heard it was going to be a movie I thought, "Hey, maybe I should give it another try." and I started to read it. I almost had to make myself finish it, it was sooooo predictable and long. I wondered how anyone could possibly get through it. Then I went on to reading New Moon, and fell in love with Jacob (oye.). When I got to Eclipse, I was actually starting to become a slight fangirl. Then I got to Breaking Dawn (at this point I was excited out of my mind) and tore through that.

    Boy was I disapointed.

    At the begining of Breaking Dawn I thought that Stephenie Meyer was a frickin' genious. But then of course she had to ruin it all by the baby thing. Getting Bella pregnant at 19??? What was she thinking? She did that to fufill the destiny that most girls have planned in their mind: Find a hot guy, fall in love, marry, have offspring. But really it just turned out sloppy and too expected. Then she foils Jacob's image by making him fall in love with the baby! I felt cheated!

    *Sigh...* but I suppose if you want to disapear for a while, and don't mind reading a un-challenging book, read on. But don't expect it to be as grand as every teen girl says.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Danielle Steele with Fangs, not much else

    Overall, quite predictable, and poorly written action. The emotional impact of the well written protagonist from the first novel fades over the next few books, and the attempts to show vampires from the 1st person fall way short. I had high hopes after finishing the first book, but the series lags on and actually gets repetitive with the plot twists. Borrow a copy, or buy at a garage sale - but do not pay retail prices, as it is not worth it. Every time this series moves away from the romance novel tropes, it falls down hard...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight Thoughts

    I thought this was a good enough series for young adults. It is a straightforward undead type romance with very little in the way of character or plot development for me to recommend it very highly except as a fast, light read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed Feelings

    I enjoyed the first three books, but the final installment destroyed most of my liking for the series. I devoured the first three, caught up in the story, but because the fourth book was so awful, I went back and looked at those first three with a more critical eye- after all, the author said the seeds for book four were in the first three all along. I found that the writing was fairly amateur, with a lack of character development, a lack of development in the relationships between character, more romance than plot, and repeated uses of phrases and stylistic devices. The story can still be fun, if only in the first three volumes, and the romance is sure to thrill any young girl who believes in love at first sight and a perfect partner. If you go in not expecting much, you shall certainly not be disappointed.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Good sereis bad price

    Well it is cheaper to by them seperate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Way more hyped than it deserves to be.

    This entire series is neither as fantastic as all of fandom makes it out to be, but it is not nearly as awful as it could be. To her credit, Meyer can at least write consistently and with proper grammar (something I wish I could credit to the authors of the House of Night series, which you should also not bother reading). This book tells a story that isn't particularly special or groundbreakingly new. The main character is a two dimensional individual who I feel never really gets developed beyond being awkward and clumsy (and who isn't when they're in a new town and know absolutely no one and have a beautiful and mysterious vampire always glaring at us?). In other words, her shoes are easy for girls who are reading to fill - which is why I feel the series itself is so attractive to girls - because they can just insert themselves into Bella's life and be the one who Edward loves.
    Furthermore, this story is cliched in its development of the romance. Of course Bella must stand out to Edward, who can read everyone's mind - except for Bella. And Bella of course, is instantly drawn to Edward, who has no flaws whatsoever, another two dimensional character for all the readers to fawn over.
    This series tells a story that is nothing to go crazy for. It lacks character development as well as the development of Edward and Bella's relationship - I would say Bella's relationship with Alice is probably more explained than with Edward.
    All in all, this is a mediocre story that does just that - it tells a story but without explaining very much in terms of its characters and without surprising the reader with anything new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Mostly Hype

    I purchased these books begrudgingly due to a low availability at my local library. But after reading all of the books I found myself a bit uneasy. The attraction between Bella and Edward is solely superficial and their relationship doesn't actually develop beyond lust.
    The final book seemed rushed and didn't neatly end the saga, but did not beg for a continuation. It was almost as if the writer had become disconnected from her characters a long time ago and wanted to be rid of them.
    The series is mostly enjoyed by teenage girls who enjoy glitter but shouldn't really be read by anyone under the emotional age of thirty.
    Fans of this series might also enjoy the "Undead and..." series; people who did not enjoy the Twilight Saga might be vampire enthusiasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    h g wells & bram stoker leave meyer in the dust

    meyer is only in it for the money not the fans and meyer is one of the worst authors on earth she gets vampires all wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    star wars leaves meyer in the dust

    this is not the best book series ever made i do not even understand the hype behind both the books and movies it justs another love story dumbed down for moms and teen girls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    FanFic

    I have to admit I have read the series and more than once. The opinion I formed the first time I read the first book of the series still holds. It is decent quality fanfic and nothing more. Bella and Edward are cardboard characters. Belle is so subservient it is nauseating and Edward's perfection, if possible, is even more nauseating. The only character that is even remotely close to real is Jacob. At least he seems to develop as the books progress, though I must admit he becomes a total idiot in the last book. So why do I re-read the series? It makes a nice wallow when I just don't want to think. If you really want to read vampire novels I cannot recommend any more highly than the original Dracula by Bram Stoker and The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. They are both wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Erm......

    There are 5 books........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4