Customer Reviews for

The Twilight Saga Collection

Average Rating 4.5
( 4564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3652)

4 Star

(403)

3 Star

(167)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(262)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

85 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

For adults also!

I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautif...
I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautiful romance novel, obviously Sci-Fi, but very well written. Now I just started Eclipse, still page turning!

posted by Gigi82 on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

Not Very Good

This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The ...
This series was suggested to me by a friend. I read the first book in about a day and decided to finish the series. They were okay, but not the best thing I had read by far. The main characters are flat and boring. Bella is needy and very dependent on other people. The relationship between her and Edward is not rational or healthy, and teenage girls should not think that having a complete mental breakdown after someone leaves you is okay. Your boyfriend should not be totally controlling who you see, and what you do.
The plot did not take form until 3/4 of the way into each book, and adjectives were thoroughly abused throughout the series. It gets very tedious when Edward is described in every sentence. I don't quite understand all the hype about these books. it just goes to show you many teenage girls will obsess over anything with the word "love" in it.

posted by Natalie_Elena on March 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    For adults also!

    I am 25 years old, a few friends of mine (ages between 25-30) recommended Twilight. The fact that it is a young adult novel made me over look it. I was finally convinced and absolutely loved it. I read Twilight and New Moon in 4 nights. Thats 1200 pages! It is a beautiful romance novel, obviously Sci-Fi, but very well written. Now I just started Eclipse, still page turning!

    85 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    UGhhhhhhhhhhh

    I liked this book but twilight is so overated i personnaly side with jacob and i dont think edward is cute so read this book if u want

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gee thanks!!!!!!

    Let me start by saying something that I normally reserve for my 10-year-old son who has already seen a movie that we are about to watch, don't tell us what happens, don't even hint. Anticipation makes a thing all the more sweet. I have not read the entire series yet and would like to find out what happens that way. While I am the mother of three children, I not only encourage my children to read these books, I have become completely addicted.
    For those critics that do not like Stephanie Meyer's writting style, it is a style unto her own. Besides that, if you don't like it, don'g read it. While I can not speak for the author, I would say read the books for the adventure, the pleasure. Don't try to see double meanings behind everything. Try reading what is there, not what you think is between the lines. But leave the dissection and analysis for the English-lit people, just enjoy the books for the books. If you want to read something between the lines, try watching politics, that should keep you trying to decipher the hiddeen meaning for a very long time.
    Although I am a HUGE fan of Bram Stoker and Anne Rice, it is nice to see a different spin on the 'vampire condition'. Thank you. Please keep writing, I can not wait to read more.
    I do agree with one reviewer in that the movie lacks the splendor of the book, but to do the book justice it would have to be a mini-series, one by the way I would immediately run out and by. For those of us that have read the book and find the movie lacking, let the others have their theatrical version while those of us who know better can sit back and understand where a certain referrence comes from or leads to.
    For those that don't agree with the casting choice for Rosalie, remember while she is supposed to be beautiful and alluring, she sets herself as an antagonist to the main characters, not just Bella but also to Edward. In the book we get the background narrative, in the movie they have to work this out visually. While the actress that plays Rosalie is beautiful, they have to visually show her as less dazzling because of her reluctance to accept Edward and Bella, so they lessen her dazzle factor just a little. Everyone else in the group is still shown with dazzle factor intact, but everyone else in the group is not only accepting but delighted for the union.
    These books are not just for the young, but also the young at heart. Anyone who still hopes that there might be something out there with a little mystery, a little of the unexplained.
    To Stephanie Meyer, please don't stop. Please keep writing. In your words, per Billy Black, 'we will be watching you.'

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    Light and easy; and addictive.

    I really enjoyed reading all four books. It's light and easy to read. If you're looking for a book with real substance, this is probably not it. But, no lie, I was completely addicted because each book was left with a cliffhanger and you just HAVE to read the next one. I read some reviews where people are unhappy because there's a fairy tale ending. Don't we have enough misery in real life?

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    Couldn't put it down, and had Twilight finished in 9 hours.

    I just finished the first book in the series, Twilight, and I am thrilled. I knew I wanted to see the movie, because I really love Kristen Stewart and am a huge fan of Katherine Hardwicke (Thirteen, Lords of Dogtown). Concerning the book, however, I was a hard sell. So many of my friends and even family members told me to read the whole series, but I considered my time reading teen fantasy (Silver, Blood and Chocolate) to be over. By the time I hit 14 (I'm 23 now) I was past that stage and on to John Irving and Kurt Vonnegut. But, as I read a friend's gushing review of Twilight on her blog, I considered the fact that I really hate it when I make a recommendation to someone, knowing they'll enjoy it, and they completely blow me off. I realized that I was being a hypocrite and broke down. I bought the book, and after putting the kids to bed, started a thrilling journey that ended way too quickly for my taste. I was immediately both fascinated and enthralled with Edward, and due to having seen the movie trailers and picturing him as Chris Patterson, totally lusting after a fictional character! I'm still not sold on Bella's whole low self-esteem, why do you love me schtick, and I kind of feel like her character could have been written better, or at least smarter. The dialogue was sometimes (forgive me, diehard fans) painfully syrupy and simple-minded. BUT, and it's a big one, this book was so completely enjoyable in every other way that I could completely forgive those missteps. That's truly saying a lot, coming from me, because I am usually so critical of writing that's, for lack of a better word, sub-par. Here's hoping the next three books are as enjoyable as the first. Also, I'll just throw in that I really hope Edward and Bella live happily ever after. Really.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't pry my hands off them... needed more action, yet neat love story

    This series has me wanting for more, yet I know there has to be an end to everything to make it good- Something needs to be left to the imagination. But, as far as Meyer's Twilight Saga goes there overall read was great and almost at the top but not quite there for me. There was just something missing. Oh, but there were some excellent scenes that took my breath away.<BR/><BR/>Note that this book is a fantastic read for not only teens but adults alike. I'm 26 and I love the series, although I may not reread it.<BR/><BR/>Can't wait for the movie to come out on the 21st of Nov. I will buy the movie when that comes out too. :)

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    Amazing!

    I know people might say they dont like vampire books, but really. They are really not that bad. Edward is probaly the best guy a girl could ever ask for also the funny but intimidating Emmet. The plot is great, with some action and some romance. I loved all four books, i have re-read them a few times. A must read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Writing vs. Reading

    Okay, so the writing, and even the editing were not great; so what, the story and characters are captivating, memorable, and the story line keeps you begging for more. Isn't that what a book should do? I can live with mediocre prose with a story like this one.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good, not amazing.

    dont get me wrong- i am just like most of the rest of the world- i love twilight. i went to the midnight premiere and read all of the books and am a fan of stephenie's. but, i must say these books arent the best things out there. i feel that stephenie meyer is a very repetitive writer and also very predictable. i love the books, but they arent terrific.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    Simon Micheals

    This collection of books, is very well written. The charactors are very easy to like and the story line is new. This collection is about a teenage girl and the fight to be with the boy of her dreams. I know it sounds like every love story you've ever read. And in some ways it is, but it's so much more. This book was written for teens and pre-teens so if your 45 and didn't like it well read something on your level. This book is not like other vam. books it doesn't have blood and gore. so if thats what your into then do not read these books. But if your between the ages of 12-23 then this may be the right type of books for you. But to all, if you would like to read a love story with a twist then please give this collection a try.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I love these books

    i really loved these books that i bought them all and loaned them out to my best friend she then bought them and we have gotten over tweleve pwople each to read them and all have said the same thing that they loved them. We are still recomending them to other people and we got are school library to buy them.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    My perspective of Twilight

    Twilight is a very different book. Honestly, you will either love it or hate it. If youre looking for romance, i believe its mainly in the first book. I agree that edward and bellas relationship is a little irrational because stephanie meyer doesnt really give the characters a chance to fall in love. It simply starts out as them seeing each other and theyre randomly in love. I just didnt understand why they had such a deep relationship. For those who are looking for a thriller and sci fi kind of book, this isnt packed with too much of that. Truly, this book is a romance, using the supernatural aspect as a twist. Personally i believe it is an easy read, and the predictability of the characters makes you feel like you know them so well. My final word is to try it, you might just get hooked. I did. There is a reason why its famous around the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great Books but...

    I decided to try the books after watching the movies which are garbage! Movies usually aren't as good as the books. I regret watching the movies before reading the books. I couldn't put the books down. I finished them all in under a month. I pondered the book for a few weeks before writing a review and I just feel empty. The last book was great. The ending...well I just feel like there was a lot to be desired. I feel like I need a little more closure. Almost like there should be another book. I don't like feeling like the story was unfinished but that is how I feel. So great book but not a great ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK

    The stories themselves are very original but, the editing however is pretty bad. These stories are very thrilling, catchy, and very wanted to read. And of course, who wouldn't want to read about a hot vampire?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read!

    The movie is just alright, don't go by it at all. Read the books! The characters are unforgettable and despite the mythical creatures, it is rather realilistic.
    I don't like reading other vampire books.
    I was never super in-to mythical creature fantasy books.
    I am big on the romantic stories with a twist.
    I loved the series.

    -My recommended books are the first in their series. I love these and hopefully you will too!
    (P.S. They are both about faeries.)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    twilight saga

    All of the twilight books were great in there own way:

    Twilight:Bella meets Edward they fall in love

    New Moon:Edward leaves Bella Jacob is a werewolf

    Eclipse:They finally find Victoria

    Breaking Dawn:Edward and Bella marry and have a child

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    what a page turner...!

    I was captured from the very beginning... I could not put it down and read the entire saga in 6 days. Twilight and Eclipse were my favorite, however, the entire saga is a wonderful read... for any gender, any age.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    A thrilling romance

    The Twilight saga is a wonderfull universe that takes the reader on a jurney through mythical carracters and a great story of two individuals that love, hate and have fun.

    It is a thrilling book whis has the reader hooked from the first chapter to en end of book four.

    The love quarells are real to some degree and so are the frustrations of friendship and love mixed.

    I personally went through all books within 3 weeks it was impossible to put them down when you first got started. I deffinately am going to reread it again after a periode.

    :-))

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read for summer

    I was hesitant to read this series, i am an adult, this is young adult reading. I had heard good things so i gave in and bought a mass market paperback of twilight. i read the first book in only 2 days. so i bought the hardcover set, i dont regret it. the story is good, the writer has a great writting style that draws you in and you find it hard to put down the books. this would be an excellent summer read. and I like that my older kids will be reading them after I'm done, so it was worth it to spend a little exta on the set.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Edward and Bella really turns up the heat!

    Sexy, thrilling, unforgettable. Edward and Bella have so much chemistry I'm surprised the pages didn't burn!

    Twilight remains my favorite in the series. I think it is so well written and really conveys to the readers all the emotions they all go through especially Edward and Bella. Sometimes I wonder how this book could have been geared towards teens. It is smokin'!

    New Moon was edgy and I really liked how Jacob's story was expanded. However as the story progressed in Eclipse, I felt that some parts were long winded. Raading Breaking Down was such a relief because finally the story will conclude. A lot of Twilight's brilliance shone through this book but sadly did not reach my expectations.

    All in all, a good series and I would still recommend to anyone who loves a good romantic story!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21