Customer Reviews for

Twilight and Philosophy: Vampires, Vegetarians, and the Pursuit of Immortality

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Love at first bite... this book is amazing

Do you still feel an unquenchable thirst for blo... er ...more news about your favorite vampire clan, the Cullen family, after having read all Twilight books? Then, Twilight and Philosophy is exactly what you're looking for!
I used Twilight and Philosophy as backup for...
Do you still feel an unquenchable thirst for blo... er ...more news about your favorite vampire clan, the Cullen family, after having read all Twilight books? Then, Twilight and Philosophy is exactly what you're looking for!
I used Twilight and Philosophy as backup for my bachelor's thesis and can thus assure you:
If you are doing research on today's vampire fiction, this book is definitely essential and will provide you with new insights and strong arguments.
It is not only extremely helpful for scientific research, but incredibly entertaining and fun to read.
Twilight and Philosophy is a must-have for everybody who devoured the Twilight series, but it also holds lots of information for everybody who doesn't know what the Twilight hype is all about. You will be surprised to find out how much Bella and someone like Sarah Palin really have in common and why Edward is prince charming and control freak at the same time. Twilight and Philosophy makes you see your favorite vampires like you've never seen them before.
I totally recommend that book to everybody who sees himself as fanpire, read the Twilight series or just wants to know more about it!
Best,
Laura

posted by Laura_87 on September 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

ARE YOU KIDDING?????

I thought this would be a fun insight into the Twilight saga .... NOT!! Do not bother to get this book if you are a TEAM EDWARD or TEAM JACOB Fan!!

posted by BGurney on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love at first bite... this book is amazing

    Do you still feel an unquenchable thirst for blo... er ...more news about your favorite vampire clan, the Cullen family, after having read all Twilight books? Then, Twilight and Philosophy is exactly what you're looking for!
    I used Twilight and Philosophy as backup for my bachelor's thesis and can thus assure you:
    If you are doing research on today's vampire fiction, this book is definitely essential and will provide you with new insights and strong arguments.
    It is not only extremely helpful for scientific research, but incredibly entertaining and fun to read.
    Twilight and Philosophy is a must-have for everybody who devoured the Twilight series, but it also holds lots of information for everybody who doesn't know what the Twilight hype is all about. You will be surprised to find out how much Bella and someone like Sarah Palin really have in common and why Edward is prince charming and control freak at the same time. Twilight and Philosophy makes you see your favorite vampires like you've never seen them before.
    I totally recommend that book to everybody who sees himself as fanpire, read the Twilight series or just wants to know more about it!
    Best,
    Laura

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    ARE YOU KIDDING?????

    I thought this would be a fun insight into the Twilight saga .... NOT!!
    Do not bother to get this book if you are a TEAM EDWARD or TEAM JACOB Fan!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A new way to look at the saga!

    This book really helped you look at the Twilight Saga in a whole different light. From one extreme to the other, not really a bad thing. A real page turner. This is a must for those who want to go deeper into the series. It really helps you put things in perspective.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    Too far

    Are you kidding me?!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    funny

    do not miss out on a funny book like this!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Good read, but could have been better

    As a Twilight fan, I was very interested to read this book and what the analysis/opinions were by the contributors to the book. Overall, I really enjoyed the author topics and would have given the book four stars except that editor/author Rebecca Housel's lack of factual knowledge of the Twilight series books made her two "stories" very frustrating to read. My suggestion to her would be to actually read the books and to others who are thinking about reading the book - I highly recommend it except for Housel's two stories.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Interesting

    Some views are quite "out there". The comparison between Bella and Sarah Palin is a stretch. However, the insight is enlightening and entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    IM TEAM EDWARD!!!

    He is such a good person. Who cares if he is a vamp? He has a good heart. And he has saved Bella many times. And on top of all that, he's good looking! So im definetly team edward. ~ pokemon girl : p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Jacob

    Jacob is better for bella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    I just like the cover i did not buy it

    I luv to read the twilight books and look at twilight photos it just like me and divergent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    There's more to it.

    There is so much to it that they didn't get it all. They are ridiculus. They have a very poor point of view. They need to really revise that book before they gave it out. They should have had Stephanie Meyer and expert Twi-hards to make this book. I've read better books. They need to re-make the book and that's that. It's awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    This book was very difficult to read - not due to the writing st

    This book was very difficult to read - not due to the writing style, but the reasoning. Many of their arguments were made in convoluted, over-complicated ways when they could have been stated simply and succinctly. There was also a fair bit of repetition between chapters. I was left with the impression that the authors were trying to stretch a short essay into a full book so as to make some money. If you really want to read this book, try to locate a lend-able copy. Don't spend your own dollars on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Ahhh

    Its a little hard to get past all tthe words but if u like reading explaining books this is for u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    The book is a great way to read more about Twilight and delve de

    The book is a great way to read more about Twilight and delve deeper into your favorite characters like Jacob, Bella, and Edward. Whether you're a general Twi-hard, Team Edward or Team Jacob, there's something for everyone. Great companion for the movies! Like other books in the series, there's only a certain number of chapters and the different expert contributors add interesting perspectives on this pop culture phenomenon. Worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Missing a lot

    Great book i luv it and u will luv like i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2