BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twilight of the Elites: America after Meritocracy

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Extraordinary read

This is THE wide scope, big picture conversation we must have in this country at this time!

posted by 5410403 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Are you kidding me?

Just terrible.

posted by 10079526 on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Find out how the meritocracy that holds us together has gone awry

    Hayes has written a brilliant book. He articulates our class concept of meritocracy better than any author I've read. In short, we THINK we are living under a social contract where no matter what our ethnicity, race or gender, if we work hard and do the right things, we'll advance. Right? Hayes points out how this is not true to nearly the extent it was, say, a couple of decades ago. It seems those at the top have pulled many of the ladders up after them. If you wonder why you're working so hard, and nothing ever seems to materialize from it, then this book might answer a few questions. Many authors who deconstruct what is wrong with our society in various ways are not so great at telling us how the problems they advance can be solved, or at least mitigated. Not so Hayes. His last chapter is a pretty sensible call to action from the very middle class that has been increasingly disinfranchised by a meritocracy gone awry.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Extraordinary read

    This is THE wide scope, big picture conversation we must have in this country at this time!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Great read, lots of insight

    Chris Hayes is very smart and also does a great job of analysis. If you think you know what is going on around you, you might be mistaken. Things are not as they seem. Little people are losing and will continue to lose unless something changes radically. Very upsetting for those of us who like to seem some fairness in our institutions.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Outstanding! Kudos to Chris Hayes

    If what you want is a deeper understanding of the political dynamics that are shaping American political experience that goes far beyond the usual superficial treatment given by the mainstream media, then look no further.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazingly Gifted Author

    Chris Hayes does a wonderful job articulating the ails of our now meritocratic society and what that means for each and every American. I feel that is book was honest, straightforward, and very informative. Anyone with a serious interest in understanding why the elites and decision makers in America behaved the way that they have in the past decade should read this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Great read for those truly interested in knowing. . .

    how the "do-right" Christians, extreme right, and moneyed elitist members of out society have rigged most everything economical and political.
    For his age I think Christopher Hayes has insight beyond his years. Especially evident as his research and personal experiences are spilled on his telling and educating pages. I seriously doubt he left any or very few stones unturned. I really enjoyed reading the book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed Chris's book and it was very interesting alt

    I really enjoyed Chris's book and it was very interesting although maybe a bit above me in manyof the words being used as he is sp much more highly educated than am I. Having said that some of it was a bit rough to wade through but was very good and had may good points in it.. Way to go Chris

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    A stunningly frank look at America and how "we the people&q

    A stunningly frank look at America and how "we the people" have accepted the fact that the elite somehow DESERVE to be above the law, have more political influence, and more control over our lives than we do our selves.
    A book that transcends partisanship and should be read by everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    ANONYMOUS

    Chris Hayes has done an excellent job of explaining his premise. His book is educational and informative while still managing to be interesting and entertaining.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Are you kidding me?

    Just terrible.

    2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Excellent book! Chris Hayes is brilliant!

    Excellent book! Chris Hayes is brilliant!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Twilight of the elites

    I read this book this summer. Lots of great detail about our society and what a mess we are in. Chris has thoroughly researched this topic and knows the subject well. If you watch Chris on MSNBC you already know what a thoughtful thinker he is with a sense of humor. This book is a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Five Stars for Chris Hayes

    A brilliant book by Chris Hayes. The only thing better might be hearing him read chapters on UP to the viewing audience then having his panel discuss afterwards.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Excellent book

    A "must read" for anyone who is truly concerned about our government, our society and our world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Made me mad

    This book made me upset about the state of affairs these days. I mean that in a good way Mr. Hayes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Very worthwhile read

    4 1/2 stars

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Christopher Hayes tackles a big subject and does it with concise

    Christopher Hayes tackles a big subject and does it with concise precision and a love of the English language unmatched by his fellow cable news blow-hards. Wall Street, the catholic church and even MLB all get a thorough analytic eye to prove the overall theme that meritocracy doesn't work. Hayes present each chapter/segment as he does his cable news program choosing a seemingly obscure human story before bring it all together later in the chapter to support his point. This can get tiring but with Hayes masterful ise of language and strong eye for detail the reader can help but listen to his ideas and maybe even learn something. Hayes speaks in a voice that needs to be heard despite the readers point-of-view and he present his arguments well. Looking forward to his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Twilgjit

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Essential reading for anyone who wants to know why we all distru

    Essential reading for anyone who wants to know why we all distrust Congress, Obama, or any of the pundits. It's time for "insurrection."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Fj

    Hj cjftkhkhlflfyirgb is this about twilight

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2