BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twins

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    are you KIDDING me?!

    i can't believe this thing is called a book. it doesn't even deserve to be published. there is no plot whatsoever. cooney tries to make drama in dialogue, but there's no drama AT ALL. there is no DIALOGUE! these kids are supposed to be seventeen, and they talk like their reading lines off their palms. they're also very stupid, and mary lee is supposed to be this amazing heroine, in other words the protagonist, but both she AND jon pear (what kind of name is that?) are antagonists, or come across as them. these parents make things worse multiple times. there is no literature involved, because cooney basically takes stupid things and drags them around like big things. no character development, plot, or meaning is put in this book, which i find disgrace to literature. there is no big secret, it's laying right out in the pages! and please, do twins really act so stupid? i'm friends with twins, and they act like they would even if they were ten years apart! ew! this stuff belongs in the gutter, i'm sorry, but it's true!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    I was Stunned

    This book, frankly, doesn't even deserve half of a star. Whatever lesson it tried to teach was lost halfway through. An absolutely awful ending. Unrealistic pretenses for a book that I think was supposed to be realistic. The parents handled a bad situation and made it worse, lets see, about ten times. I expected more, even though I never had high expectations, this just blew my mind out of the water, I mean come on this is the worst book ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    TERRIBLE

    This book is the worst book I have ever read. I kept reading it thinking something good was gonna happen until I eventually finished the book. The back really makes yout think differently but when you read it, its nothing of what u expected. the think i dont understand is how they 'supposedly' feel the same things and all of that but the nice twin never knew the bad twin hated her. AND, since they went EVERYWHERE together, the good twin was bound to find out about the bad twins boyfriend. Dont read this book. its terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    LOOKS SO ASOME BY THE CAVER

    READ IT ITS ASOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    ?

    Is it scary?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Um?

    Never read it but from the comments, i probably shouldnt read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Eh...

    I read this book when I was in 7th grade and now I'm 22. I chose to read it again because the story vaguely stuck with me and I remember it being really good. Now that I've finished, its very poorly written and the story is very fast and choppy. So to a middle schooler, this is an intense and interesting book but to an older reader, its pretty bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't like it!

    I didn't really care too much for this book. It was too fast paced and some things were just too unbelievable. Also it was weird the the evil boyfriend of Madrigal liked to eat people's tears. Look I'm so evil cuz I eat tears HA LOL! Seventeen year old Mary Lee has always had her identical twin sister Madrigal in her life to make her complete and feel whole. Her parents decide one day that separate space would be a good thing for the girls so they send Mary Lee a couple thousand miles away to a boarding school where she never fits in. Then her sister comes for a visit and they switch clothes right before they go meet everyone by the slopes for skiing. They switch clothes cuz Madrigal tells Mary Lee it would be funny to trick everyone. But then there is a terrible accident and Madrigal dies. Because Mary Lee is in her clothes ever thinks it was her Mary Lee that died. Now everyone thinks she is Madrigal and that she was the one to actually die. When she returns home she meets Madrigals crazy evil boyfriends Jon Pear and learns a different side of her twin she never knew or thought possible. Now the whole school hates and is afraid of her. Like I said there are a lot of things in this book that are really hard to believe and the tear thing kinda cracked me up lol! Read it for yourself and get a good laugh if you're bored(that's the only time I would recomend this book)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    Double Trouble!!!!!!

    Twins by Caroline B. Cooney is a fictional novel. Twins is a suspenseful, drama filled novel. it keeps you wondering what will happen next in the twins, Mary Lee and Madrigal lives when the lose one another. In a modern day home, a large high school, and a beautiful boarding school is where Mary Lee and Madrigal take their journeys. Losing Madrigal in a terrible ski accident was the turning point of Mary Lee's life. Wearing her sisters clothes and switching lives with her twin was another. Now Mary Lee is faced with living her sister's life which she thought was perfect but ended up being a the worst days of her life.
    Being pretty, smart, and outgoing was hard for Mary Lee when forced to live in the sister's shoes. Mary Lee was none of those even if an identical twin. She pulls it off anyway by wearing her dead twins clothes, shoes, and even having her hair done perfectly. Mary Lee listens to her sister's cold blooded boyfriend as he thinks she is Madrigal (Mary Lee's sister). She remembers the good times she had with her friends and not Madrigal which makes her forget about her sister's death and worried about how to get out of her sticky situations.
    Caroline B. Cooney gives a great voice that makes you feel like you're in the book with the characters. She makes you use your senses. Such as your sense of touch and feel when she goes places and has problem in her journeys. This type of voice helps you understand the problems the character faces along with keeping you on the edge off your seat. People who love to find mystery, drama, love, and suspense in a novel, this is for you. You learn about the characters love and problems while being occupied with mystery and suspense and problem solving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!!!!!

    This was the first Caroline B. cooney book i read and after reading it i had to read more of her books.<BR/>Caroline B. Cooney inspired me to be an author. I read this book in 7Th grade and i can't stop reading. I actually enjoy reading! When i was younger i got bad grades and now i'm i started my first year of high school and i'm doing great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A great book!

    Omg! This is the best book to read if you lik a thriller. I read this book way back when I was in fifth grade and then the school library took it off the rack. I was so diappointed. Now I'm in 9th grade and I ordered this book off Barnes and Noble. I love this book and can't wait to read it again. I have read over 2,000 books in my life and own 300 and I can finally add this one to my collection!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Not What I Expected

    This book was way to morbid for a preppy girl like me to read, esp. the ending. If you're into mysteries and strange books that seem to go in different directions, then you might want to read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Interesting.........

    Hmmm... Like I said... interesting. I felt so sad for Mary Lee. I could just feel her pain. Madrigal was so mean to her! So was mister 'Jon Pear'. I thought this book was alright. It was a short read to occupy my time. But I think that Caroline has written better things, or so I hear. I'm not sure if I would recommend this to anyone but, if you want to read it, go for it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    forget what the other people said... this book was GREAT.

    duuuuude this book was HECKA bomb! i dont know what the other people were talking about but i LOVED it! alrighty then..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    horrible book

    i picked up this book because i liked cooney's books, and though this one would be good. it couldnt be worse. i can not relate to any of these people. i dont think any of them are realistic. if they are so gullible, blind, and dim, and they are like people today--then its a sad world we live in. and REALLY. this thing about no one telling their parents about madrigal and j.p.'s little 'hobby'--PLEASE. spare me. and there is nothing in these peoples language to hint that they are UNDER SIXTY YEARS OLD! the only people who talk like that are poets from the 1800s. the plot was awful. and while most books have a lesson, all i got was 'be nice and forgiving'. you know, sometimes mary lee is a horrible role model because she looks in the light, whether or not what she sees is true. i found mary lee kind of ditsy. i like cooney's books, she is a wonderful author. but this book would tell you otherwise. do not buy this book if you value time, money, and good books. it was a waste of my money and my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Twins

    I love how realistic this book is!!! God, you would think that the twins were one person until their secrets were revealed. Well ya gotta read it to know what the secret was!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    This is a must-read!

    This is one of my favorite books and the book that got me started on reading Caroline B. Cooney's other outstanding books.I know other people who have read this book and they all said that this was an awesome book!See for youself and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Awesome!

    WOW! what a great book! I myself am a twin ......this book is now one of my favorites...it seems so lifelike and everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    Amazing!

    Twins is an interesting mix up story that you¿ll never forget. You would think they are exactly alike, but no they are very, very different. It all starts with one of the twins being sent away to the all girl boarding school by her parents. They think it is the right thing to do and so does Madrigal, Mary Lee¿s twin. When she arrives to the boarding school she does not know anybody except the 3 girls who lives in her dorm room. But as the year goes on she becomes less and less popular. She tries to keep in touch with her sister by their soul voice that keeps them connected but she didn¿t. So when winter came she invited her sister to the skiing trip with her. Madrigal accepted. All the people at her school loved madrigal and Mary Lee was by herself. So madrigal came up with a clever idea, to switch places. So they switched their clothes and when they went back and joined the crowd, everyone hung around Mary Lee because they thought that she was Madrigal. Well Madrigal now hung out by herself, until a very terrible thing happened. While they were riding the chair lift Madrigal fell off and when she hit the ground she died. Well the problem is everyone thought it was Mary Lee. So that¿s where the story begins! Mary Lee goes home in place of Madrigal. When she gets to her school no one likes her. Mary Lee thinks how in the world can they not like me? But it¿s all because of her boyfriend. She finds out what their hobby is and the horror behind it. This is a great book if you love mix-ups and drama. You will be hooked to the book when you read the first page. You will also learn a valuable lesson from this book and realize most people like you for who you are not for what you look like. I loved this book because it isn¿t your traditional reading material. Caroline Cooney the author of this book is brilliant. She comes up with the most creative story lines. And when you read one of her books you will want to read all of them! But out of all the books she wrote I think this one is the best so far! If you read this book you will like it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    GREAT BOOK!!!!! : )

    This Is A Great Book, I would Reccomend This Book To N E 1 !!! If U R A Book Lover Like Me, READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3