Customer Reviews for

Twisted (Intertwined Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The third Aden Stone teen urban fantasy is an engaging character driven thriller

The souls that shared his head are apparently gone since his girlfriend Victoria Tepes the vampire queen brought Aden Stone back from the dead. He has doubts she did the right thing as he was already adjusted to being demised because one of his missing voices Elijah to...
The souls that shared his head are apparently gone since his girlfriend Victoria Tepes the vampire queen brought Aden Stone back from the dead. He has doubts she did the right thing as he was already adjusted to being demised because one of his missing voices Elijah told him he would be stabbed to death.

Aden fears his loss of control having spent a life in a nut house he knows what keeping the beast at bay means. As he increasingly turns feral, he slams his beloved Victoria into a wall and chokes her. His abusive aggression hurts his soul though he fights the animal urges trying to restrain it. Worse, Victoria feels guilt for changing her beloved kind Aden into this nasty individual and lets him abuse her as she believes she deserves it. Her bodyguard Riley and her loyal vampiric subjects with a few stragglers are prepared to kill Aden if he continues on the path he is taking.

The third Aden Stone teen urban fantasy (see Unraveled and Intertwined) is an engaging character driven thriller that fans of the saga will appreciate as more of the Showalter mythos surfaces. Sort of the paranormal Job, Aden struggles with what is happening as he looks back to his loner days when shrinks labeled him a schizophrenic with four bickering voices arguing inside his head; he concludes relationships are so difficult. Although the overarching theme does not move forward until a stunning late Twisted spin, Gena Showalter provides an exciting entry.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this s

Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this series.  She will not be completing book 4.  Do not waste your time or your money on another unfinished story.  The story itself is very well written, with good characters, but unfortunately it will not be c...
Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this series.  She will not be completing book 4.  Do not waste your time or your money on another unfinished story.  The story itself is very well written, with good characters, but unfortunately it will not be completed.  Invest your money and time into a story that will be finished, hopefully by an author that will not abandon the readers that follow them.  I would be wary of buying any additional books by Gena Showalter.  She may choose to abandon another project before the final book.

posted by 131695 on June 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!!

    Oh my god! This book is so good but pissed.me off at the same time! Who else hates victoria now after that whole incident with riley? And dont even get me started on riley he is just pissing me off, i just want to punch in him in the face! Even though he isnt real lol. I cried reading this book, yeah thats how crazy i am. Im so mad at Riley and Victoria and Aden that i dont even want to read or know whats going to happen in the next book! But if your not crazy and get all attatched to the characters in books like me, this is a great series to read!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A LOT of twists

    Wow not quite what I was expecting . A LOT of twists in this book!DON'T know how i'm going to make it waiting for book 4!?! Aden is changing, Victoria is changing, Mary Ann, Riley, I even feel for Tucker! I hope the next book focuse heavily on Riley & MaryAnn...I need to know what happens with them!
    UGh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I really liked this series. I even bought the books so I could r

    I really liked this series. I even bought the books so I could reread them . Then I found out she's not coming out
    with a 4th one to end it,so disappointing. I don't know if I wan't to keep reading any of her other series. She migh
    t decide not to finish those.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Loved the Intertwined series!  But wow was I disappointed with h

    Loved the Intertwined series!  But wow was I disappointed with how this series ended. =(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    When will the next book come out?

    I would give it five stars, but THE ENDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    This series was really good until the end. You get attached to

    This series was really good until the end. You get attached to the characters and the ending will make you so sad and mad. It is so awful!!! I just finished it, so maybe I am a bit bitter about it. The series is very good until the last few pages. WHY did she do that to us?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Four stars because...

    The beginning was a bit confusing to me. But other wise a fantastic addition to the series.
    P.S
    Who knows when #4 comes out?!?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Twisted

    I wasn't sure what to expect from book 3 in this series. I've been up and down with this series so far, and wasn't sure were the author might take me with this one. First off, if your expecting to this to be the last one...it's not. I thought it was going to be a trilogy for some reason, and was really worried that the storyline might be rushed because Aden still had 3 souls. I am relieved to find that there is at least one more. Second I'm curious about how this book might have changed from ARC to final copy. You see, the ARC was almost 600 pages long. And while I enjoyed it overall, at time I thought it was never going to end. I see the finished copy has just over 300. I would be curious to see it.

    The beginning of this book is ... intense. I felt like I was intruding on somebody's private life. Aden and Victoria are basically fighting to survive and to keep from killing each other. They take turns feeding off each other, but it feels like so much more than that. When they finally seem to gain control of themselves, I was intrigued to discover that they seem to have swapped personalities. Aden is the hardcore vampire while Victoria is the vulnerable human. They've switched powers too. I liked watching Aden struggle with his conflicting emotions. He's human memories keep clashing with his vampire instincts. I also really liked watching him stake his claim as the Vampire King. I also really felt sorry for him when they discover his real father. Turns out the missing dad is a real a*$hole.

    With as much going on in Aden's life, you might thing that Riley and Mary Anne might have an easy go of things. Not on your life. Mary Anne might be trying to protect everyone by running away, but she doesn't know that she has witches and fairies following her. When they try to kill her, Riley has to do something extraordinary to save her life. And it has dire consequences. I'm hoping it doesn't mean the end of Mary Anne and Riley. They can figure it out.

    This book is a never ending ride of twists, intense actions, and those emotional moments. It's not surprise that I'm also left with a giant cliff-hanger. I'm curious at who had caused the chaos, and what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Both my teen & I love this series...

    My Review:
    This book was not on my TBR list for this week, but my 16 year old teenage son has been reading this series with me and finished the book last night. He was so shattered by the book that he insisted I read it immediately so that we could discuss it. That should give you a hint of the upheaval in this book...there is a LOT of it.


    This is an amazing series and it needs to be read as a series. These are not stand-alone books in my opinion. There is too much story that continues to build upon itself. This is book #3 in a series that is supposed to end with the next book. How in the world it is going to end, I have no idea. Quite honestly, I don't think Gena knows how it is going to end at this point. Every book, she talks about how hard they are to write, but that effort is evident in the quality of the books, because they are very good!


    There are a core of four characters that flow throughout the series.
    *Aden- he was born with the souls of 4 other people living within his brain. He is 16 and throughout the series, he is trying to release those souls although they have been like his parents to him his entire life. He was raised in the foster system and spent most of his life in and out of institutions because of the souls and the prevailing thought that he is schizophrenic.


    *Victoria- vampire princess and Aden's love interest. She goes through such a huge transition throughout this book as a person and vampire.


    *Riley- wolf shifter and bodyguard for Victoria. His transition throughout this book was the most heart-breaking to me. I just hope that something changes for him in the next book. He is involved with MaryAnne.


    *MaryAnne- human that is somehow connected to Aden. They were born the same day and when they met, it set off a chain of events that set off the entire series. At the end of this novel, she is in a very bad place...at least headed there. Things are not looking well for MaryAnne...thinking positive thoughts for book #4.


    *Tucker- MaryAnne's ex-boyfriend and half-demon. He is in such a Catch 22. His story breaks my heart all the way around and I really did not like where it went in this book. Not sure that anything can change, but am still hoping for book #4.


    This book really didn't end well for any of the characters. I can deal with that, BUT OMG, the next book isn't supposed to be out until June, 2013!?!?! I am not sure that I can deal with that. I think that I am going to have to go live with Gena while she is writing to make sure that she settles everything correctly for these characters that I have grown to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Twisted gives us more twists! A must read!!!

    I wasn't sure I was going to review Twisted not because I didn't love it (I did) but when I first started on this Journey with these characters it was way before I started reviewing books and blogging. This was one of those books/series I was thinking of keeping to myself, but when I read Twisted and fell back in love with Gena's writing and these characters I knew it wouldn't be fair to keep it to myself. I had to share my thoughts and feelings with you all.

    If you haven't read book one or two Intertwined and Unraveled don't worry I'm not going to spoil anything just try not to read the synopsis above.

    Let's just start by saying the first two chapters were really strange I get it but man it was crazy! Then after those we get settled back in to the normal stuff. When I started these books I really loved Aden and I still do but, as the story has progressed I have found myself totally and completely in Love with Riley and also Mary Ann. Riley just has this sense of humor that had me giggling almost every page he was on and Mary Ann has grown into a strong character I'd love to see them have a spin off story or a novella. Aden is still the MC of this series though and he goes through some wicked changes and so does his girlfriend Victoria.

    I don't want to delve into the story much because there's too much to spoil but trust me this is a must read if you have read the other two and if you haven't get them all they're worth it! I can't wait for book 4 in this series since Twisted left us with a pretty big WTH moment!

    Twisted is available now so buy it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1