Customer Reviews for

Twisted (Torn Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this book/series. If you haven't read Torn by K

I really enjoyed this book/series. If you haven't read Torn by K. A. Robinson yet, make sure you so before you read this one. The characters were all believable and K.A. Robinson did a great job of "twisting" your emotions throughout these books. One minute sh...
I really enjoyed this book/series. If you haven't read Torn by K. A. Robinson yet, make sure you so before you read this one. The characters were all believable and K.A. Robinson did a great job of "twisting" your emotions throughout these books. One minute she will have you crying, the next minute you will be laughing and then you will be angry. I highly recommend these books to you and I am looking forward to learning more about Logan in the next book, and hoping to see more of the other characters in the future!

posted by SDickerson on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

At the end of Torn, Chloe¿s abusive, negligent mother shows up a

At the end of Torn, Chloe’s abusive, negligent mother shows up at her doorstep. We find out that Chloe’s aunt is battling cancer and doesn’t have much more time left. Her aunt told her sister (Chloe’s mother) that she wouldn’t see a dime of the money thatshe’s plans on ...
At the end of Torn, Chloe’s abusive, negligent mother shows up at her doorstep. We find out that Chloe’s aunt is battling cancer and doesn’t have much more time left. Her aunt told her sister (Chloe’s mother) that she wouldn’t see a dime of the money thatshe’s plans on leaving her unless she brings Chloe to her before she passes away. So the story starts off with Chloe going to her Aunt’s estate to not only see her aunt one last time but to convince her not to give her mother a penny of that money. Meanwhile, Drake leaves to start the band’s summer tour and leaves Chloe behind with her dying aunt, unpredictable mother, cousin [Danny] and his best friend/Chloe’s first [Jordan]. Yes, the Drama Llama comes out in full force during this book.

I was hoping that I would enjoy this story more since Chloe and Drake are finally together and there would be no need for cheating. However, so much drama takes place that it left my head spinning. Once the whole dying aunt thing was over, then we were dealing with a jealous ex/stalker, then Drake’s “bad-boy” ways, then Jordan throwing out the “I just want you to know that I’m an option too” card, then more of Chloe’s mother and more of Drake’s issues and around and around it went. Normally, I’m all for a little drama. After all, it’s what makes a story interesting but this was seeming more like a bad episode of Jerry Springer.

One thing I did like about this story was the interaction with the band. We seemed to get a little bit more band time than we did previously. Since, after all, Chloe goes on tour with them for a little bit. I would have liked to have seen a little bit more behind the scene’s when it came to the shows instead of the bus time but that just wasn’t in the cards for this story I guess.

Even though I had issues with the cheating in the first book and the fact that this book had drama bombs blasting all over the place, I still enjoyed the ride.

posted by Book_Sniffers_Anonymous on August 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    At the end of Torn, Chloe¿s abusive, negligent mother shows up a

    At the end of Torn, Chloe’s abusive, negligent mother shows up at her doorstep. We find out that Chloe’s aunt is battling cancer and doesn’t have much more time left. Her aunt told her sister (Chloe’s mother) that she wouldn’t see a dime of the money thatshe’s plans on leaving her unless she brings Chloe to her before she passes away. So the story starts off with Chloe going to her Aunt’s estate to not only see her aunt one last time but to convince her not to give her mother a penny of that money. Meanwhile, Drake leaves to start the band’s summer tour and leaves Chloe behind with her dying aunt, unpredictable mother, cousin [Danny] and his best friend/Chloe’s first [Jordan]. Yes, the Drama Llama comes out in full force during this book.

    I was hoping that I would enjoy this story more since Chloe and Drake are finally together and there would be no need for cheating. However, so much drama takes place that it left my head spinning. Once the whole dying aunt thing was over, then we were dealing with a jealous ex/stalker, then Drake’s “bad-boy” ways, then Jordan throwing out the “I just want you to know that I’m an option too” card, then more of Chloe’s mother and more of Drake’s issues and around and around it went. Normally, I’m all for a little drama. After all, it’s what makes a story interesting but this was seeming more like a bad episode of Jerry Springer.

    One thing I did like about this story was the interaction with the band. We seemed to get a little bit more band time than we did previously. Since, after all, Chloe goes on tour with them for a little bit. I would have liked to have seen a little bit more behind the scene’s when it came to the shows instead of the bus time but that just wasn’t in the cards for this story I guess.

    Even though I had issues with the cheating in the first book and the fact that this book had drama bombs blasting all over the place, I still enjoyed the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My mini review--I hope that once I am done recovering from Disne

    My mini review--I hope that once I am done recovering from Disney and the resulting cold, I hope to more thoroughly review this one. 
        It was great to get back into Chloe and Drake's world and romance. They still have that undeniable chemistry, but their relationship is put to the test through death, past relationships, and doubt injected at every turn. 
        This is an emotional book and it brings some new characters onto the scene, some that I liked, such as her cousin, and others that I wanted to choke. And of course, we get to deal more with Chloe's mom, who is a basket case, and has her own world of trouble that she is dragging along. 
        Chloe and Drake are separated for a chunk of this book and that allows them to grow and also make some mistakes that ultimately make them stronger, even the ones that drag them down and through the mud at first. 
        The ending took me by surprise and it was bold, but thank goodness for the epilogue that is colored with hope and redemption. 




    Bottom Line: Good second book with characters I love going through some tough times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I requested this title from NetGalley a couple months ago,

    When I requested this title from NetGalley a couple months ago, I didn't realize a) that it was part of a series or b) that I had read the first book in the series earlier this year and found myself completely underwhelmed by it. Despite my feelings for the first book, I decided to suck it up and read this one to see if some of the issues I had with the first book (namely immaturity and unoriginality) had been resolved. I am very, very glad I did.  The author's writing improved vastly between the two books - and this one didn't have the typos and grammatical errors the first one did. Ok, now that I got that off my chest, I'll stop talking about Torn and start talking about Twisted. =)

    "There are moments in your life that stand out above all the rest – moments of pure bliss, pure anger, or pure sorrow. Moments that take your breath away."

    I found myself completely wrapped up in Chloe and Drake's story this time. Neither of them are perfect, but in spite of their problems and pasts (or maybe because of them), they work oh-so-very well together. Chloe matured and turned into a character I could actually like. I might not have liked some of the choices she made (mostly the lack of communication), but I could relate to her more easily than I did before. Drake's flaws made him more attractive to me in this book. I'm not sure what that says about me. But, through the jealousy and the addiction, his love for Chloe was obvious. Sure, he made some terrible choices, but it could have been worse. (Thank you for not being a cheater. That would have made me sick.)

    "It still seemed surreal to me even after three months of being together that she was finally mine. I knew I didn't deserve someone like her, but I sure as hell wasn't giving her up. I was too damn selfish for that. I wasn't sure what I had done in life to find someone like Chloe, but I wasn't about to start asking questions; I just thanked my lucky stars."

    These two had been through so much in the past, both together and separately, and unfortunately life wasn't quite done throwing curveballs at them. Between Chloe's aunt's sickness, her mother's abuse, her cousin's grief and her former boyfriendish person's jealousy and Drake's band going on tour, his addiction and jealousy, and crazy stalker chick Kadi, these two are in for a whole heck of a lot of drama. Since the book is written from both Chloe and Drake's perspectives, the reader is there for all of it  – good, bad and in-between. I felt like their voices were both very clear in this book. I love when books are written in dual POV, as long as it's done well. I like getting inside both characters' heads and truly knowing what they think, instead of their actions being up to the interpretation of another character.

    I would be remiss if I were to write a review about this book and not mention the secondary characters. This book would have gone in a far different direction, I believe, if it hadn't been for them. I won't say they interfered, necessarily, but they were there for Drake and Chloe when they needed them. Our beloved main characters just needed a little bit of hand-holding and support at times. I loved Chloe's cousin Danny. I wish maybe there had been more focus on him in this novel than Jordan. What I will say about Jordan was that he was a good friend to Chloe... most of the time. I sympathized with his unrequited feelings for her, but they just didn't work together as anything but friends in my opinion. Drake's bandmates were great. I would love to see a spinoff series featuring some of the secondary characters I grew attached to during this book.

    All in all, I enjoyed this. Were there things I wish had been approached differently? Absolutely. But, I'm not a writer. =) I'm glad I gave it a chance. The author's writing style was honest and easy-to-read. Her characters were (mostly) likable and definitely relatable. I feel like I could have been friends with these people when I went to WVU. I laughed, I cringed, I got angry at the lack of communication, and I even got a little misty-eyed. But, overall, I was left with a smile on my face.

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. All quotes come from the review copy and may differ from the final version. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I loved the first book, and was really excited to read this one

    I loved the first book, and was really excited to read this one too, but I was kind of disappointed. The whole love triangle thing in this book was just annoying and the end felt really rushed. I'm still glad I read it, because I loved Drake and Chloe's story :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Picking up almost instantly after Torn, Robinson again throws us

    Picking up almost instantly after Torn, Robinson again throws us into the very confused life of Chloe.  While she and Drake are working on their ‘relationship’, she needs to leave town for a family emergency.  Again, I was hoping to see more of the background that would give viable reasons for the conflict between Chloe and her mother; and only a little piece of that came forward.  Additionally, Chloe is again in another ‘love triangle’ which gets a little old as she was obsessing over Drake in the first book. 




    This book felt rushed, there was not a great deal of development with the newly introduced characters, and the only truly ‘adult’ person was an aunt who often ran interference between Chloe and her mother’s drama.  Robinson seemed to have taken a step back in time with this book: both characters and language are far younger and more immature, although their situations are often those of far older people.  




    Drake is whisked off on tour, only to resume his “bad boy” ways, forgetting Chloe and his feelings for her and then dulling that pain with drug use.  At this point, I wanted to put the book down and walk away.  There were far too many crisis points for characters and the relationships, and no real resolutions.  I had hoped that my affinity for the characters, and their emotional development would have me more engaged, alas these multiple roadblocks of distance, conflicts, drugs and death all had me hoping for some sort of actual resolution or real emotion that I could tap into. 




    Again: Chloe is less than empathetic, and frankly none of the characters were very likable or real to me, and still I read on in the hopes that one would stand out.  Unfortunately, none did, and this story was more twisted and fractured for me than torn.  There are people who want something to entertain, that moves forward quickly without great emotional involvement and they will love this book.  Sadly, it was marginally worse for me than Torn, although I will not be reading more of the series, it wasn’t a hopeless book.  Beta readers and a good editor could have moved this from passable to good, removing a love triangle and cutting back on the devastating dramas that happen would have gone a long way. 




    I received an eBook copy from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Good book.

    I think this book was good but I cant say it was great. I liked the first book better I must say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1