BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twisted

Average Rating 4
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A Trip Into the Male Teen Psyche that Isn't as Twisted as the Title Suggests

Twisted centers on Tyler, the used to be nerd, now somewhat bad boy who bloomed into a full grown, six foot hottie over the summer. With his newfound ripped physique, he may actually have a chance with the hottest girl in the school, the girl of his dreams, but his feel...
Twisted centers on Tyler, the used to be nerd, now somewhat bad boy who bloomed into a full grown, six foot hottie over the summer. With his newfound ripped physique, he may actually have a chance with the hottest girl in the school, the girl of his dreams, but his feelings have to contend with his dysfunctional family and his slowly crumbling world.

Character-wise, Tyler is fantastic. I couldn't put the book down because I was just so attached to the guy. Anderson writes from the teenage male perspective and does it so wondrously. Tyler is the epitome of teenage boy. He's moody and angry and lustful and beyond hormonal, but he's also a real character.

Tyler's funny and cares about his mom and his sister and he tries so hard to be a good guy. The things that happen to him are a bit out of his control, but that's where the book gets so good. The escalating tension builds so much throughout the story that I found myself just waiting for the explosion and Anderson does not disappoint.

Tyler's inner thoughts are vividly raw with his emotions. His past mistake (just the one really) becomes the center of his world, the single factor that drives his senior year. Anderson probes Tyler's family life so we see way past the pristine surface to a family that is falling apart bit by bit; from Tyler, a high school senior on parole, to Hannah, the freshman who wants to express herself and break free from her parents rules, to the mom who is fast becoming and alcoholic, and finally to the dad who is overworked, easily agitated, and constantly verbally abusive. Like I said, the family is twisted, but their imperfections are what make the entire story so easy to just get.

The book is stamped "THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR CHILDREN" but it isn't really all that graphic, at least in my opinion. Sure, there's talk of erections and cold showers and a scene alluding to masturbation, but Tyler is 18 years old. If people don't think that teens know, think about, or have sex, then they're fooling themselves. Tyler's world doesn't even revolve around the opposite sex. The plot focuses much more on him as a person and how much he has changed and how his family is a little twisted. This is definitely not for the younger crowd, but with the warning right there in the beginning, I don't see how/why it needs to be challenged in high schools.

Twisted is an incredibly well-written book that's easy to relate to and impossible to put down. Filled with lusty thoughts an uproarious humor, Anderson taps into the teenage male psyche in a way few female authors are able to do. Take the time to read this book, you won't regret it.

Opening line: I spent the last Friday of summer vacation spreading hot, sticky tar across the roof of George Washington High. ~ pg. 1

Favorite line (I have two): I scared myself, because once you've thought long and hard enough about doing something that is colossally stupid, you feel like you've actually done it, and then you're never quite sure what your limits are. ~ pg. 95

The guy in the mirror looked like somebody had wrapped his heart in barbed wire and pulled. He wasn't just a loser. He was lost, no-compass lost, don't-speak-the-language lost.
I have screwed up everything. ~ pg. 189

posted by Nikkayme on September 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blank

The story is about a teenaged boy whos dreams become real. Fantasies now have a chance of happening. But, pictures were taken that made his dreams become nightmares. The book is okay, nothing to bag about but could not be classified as a piece of trash. Easy read throug...
The story is about a teenaged boy whos dreams become real. Fantasies now have a chance of happening. But, pictures were taken that made his dreams become nightmares. The book is okay, nothing to bag about but could not be classified as a piece of trash. Easy read through. In my opinion the book seemed unfinished like a big chuck of the book was missing. Who knows though, maybe I did not understand the end. Liked the character growth. Tyler went from a wimpy, cowardly nerd to a strong defender. Either way, give the book a shot, you might like it.

posted by 18745882 on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Trip Into the Male Teen Psyche that Isn't as Twisted as the Title Suggests

    Twisted centers on Tyler, the used to be nerd, now somewhat bad boy who bloomed into a full grown, six foot hottie over the summer. With his newfound ripped physique, he may actually have a chance with the hottest girl in the school, the girl of his dreams, but his feelings have to contend with his dysfunctional family and his slowly crumbling world.

    Character-wise, Tyler is fantastic. I couldn't put the book down because I was just so attached to the guy. Anderson writes from the teenage male perspective and does it so wondrously. Tyler is the epitome of teenage boy. He's moody and angry and lustful and beyond hormonal, but he's also a real character.

    Tyler's funny and cares about his mom and his sister and he tries so hard to be a good guy. The things that happen to him are a bit out of his control, but that's where the book gets so good. The escalating tension builds so much throughout the story that I found myself just waiting for the explosion and Anderson does not disappoint.

    Tyler's inner thoughts are vividly raw with his emotions. His past mistake (just the one really) becomes the center of his world, the single factor that drives his senior year. Anderson probes Tyler's family life so we see way past the pristine surface to a family that is falling apart bit by bit; from Tyler, a high school senior on parole, to Hannah, the freshman who wants to express herself and break free from her parents rules, to the mom who is fast becoming and alcoholic, and finally to the dad who is overworked, easily agitated, and constantly verbally abusive. Like I said, the family is twisted, but their imperfections are what make the entire story so easy to just get.

    The book is stamped "THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR CHILDREN" but it isn't really all that graphic, at least in my opinion. Sure, there's talk of erections and cold showers and a scene alluding to masturbation, but Tyler is 18 years old. If people don't think that teens know, think about, or have sex, then they're fooling themselves. Tyler's world doesn't even revolve around the opposite sex. The plot focuses much more on him as a person and how much he has changed and how his family is a little twisted. This is definitely not for the younger crowd, but with the warning right there in the beginning, I don't see how/why it needs to be challenged in high schools.

    Twisted is an incredibly well-written book that's easy to relate to and impossible to put down. Filled with lusty thoughts an uproarious humor, Anderson taps into the teenage male psyche in a way few female authors are able to do. Take the time to read this book, you won't regret it.

    Opening line: I spent the last Friday of summer vacation spreading hot, sticky tar across the roof of George Washington High. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line (I have two): I scared myself, because once you've thought long and hard enough about doing something that is colossally stupid, you feel like you've actually done it, and then you're never quite sure what your limits are. ~ pg. 95

    The guy in the mirror looked like somebody had wrapped his heart in barbed wire and pulled. He wasn't just a loser. He was lost, no-compass lost, don't-speak-the-language lost.
    I have screwed up everything. ~ pg. 189

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book!

    When I started this book, I found myself laughing out loud from start to finish! Laurie Halse Anderson created the typical-teenage-boy character with precision, and made sure to add lots of hilarious comments with every twist and turn. To whoever is thinking about reading Twisted: I promise you you'll be holding your breath in every intense part, and rooting for Tyler the whole way through. There are so many Teen Angst Soap Operas out there that only bore the reader to death. Twisted is now my favorite book because it is a refreshing (and definitely NOT boring) book that deals with love and hate.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    The book itself is really Twisted

    Twisted is mainly about a High School senior named Tyler Miller who used to be the type of guy who was non-noticeable around his school. The plot of the story quickly changes when Tyler does a foul deed and spray paints graffiti onto school property and gets a bad reputation for it. While tyler works his butt off at his outdoor work during summer he transforms into (The Amazing Hulk) and gets ripped, now attracting his love life Bethany Milbury. As Tyler transforms throughout the story, he soon notices that he wishes he could be invisible once again for the many problems he's had. Bethany Milbury (Tyler's secret crush) soon ruins Tyler's reputation after he wouldn't sleep with her and she post's compromising pictures of herself on the internet and therefore Tyler gets blamed. As a result of Tyler's problems he has to deal with the police, a very bad tempered father, and a very angry principal who is still mad at Tyler for spray painting on school property. Throughout the story, Tyler plays a game called Trophet. He gets stuck on certain levels of the game whenever there's a problem in his life. In the end of the book Tyler solves all his problems and therefore completes the game.
    In the first few pages of the book, there's a sign that says "NOTE: THIS IS NOT A BOOK FOR CHILDREN." The type of people I believe should read this novel are young adults and above. This novel includes bad words and other sorts of bad things. Although this novel was aimed at adults, I did get a special lesson from it, which is that I thought at first that the sign was only joking because many reviewers mentioned it was humorous. But after I started reading it, I soon realized that there was foul language. All in all, the book itself was pretty good besides the foul language and other stuff.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a twisted story

    Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson was a superb fictional novel. Twisted grabbed my attention because of the way the author used dialogue. It made me laugh, fell bad and many more moods. The chapters didn't drag on so the novel was enjoyable and not painful to read. Twisted takes place in present day Illinois. Tyler Miller, the unseen nerdy kid turns into the bad boy rebel after spray painting a statue in his school. He got probation and had to do school work over summer so he bulked up, and became the senior stud. Chip Milbury doesn't care if he bulked up but Tyler is in love with Bethany, Chip's sister. Chip just thinks Tyler is an all out loser.
    Tyler doesn't let Chip or the cops scare him so he still goes after Bethany no matter what happens. Tyler tries to cope with what he's dealing with by trying to blend in and act as if nothing happened with junior prank. He also ditches class to get away from the learning and all the teachers but he still gets in trouble by getting caught so that doesn't help him at all.
    Laurie Anderson's dialogue is used frequently in Twisted. She uses Tyler as the narrator and his thoughts are used and the way an average high school student would talk; slang and cursing and improper speaking makes you believe that Tyler is writing it. Twisted is mainly about a nerdy kid's life getting messed up, inside and out. If someone likes romance, but action and comedy, Twisted can satisfy the pickiest of all readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Worth the Read!

    A very typical Laurie Halse Anderson novel, but not quite as ambiguous as Speak was.
    One of the many things I appreciated about the book was that I could see every single character in the halls of my high school. In fact, I think I know several of them. (The high school itself, however, was less believable. No dress code, for example... It's little things like that that get me. I digress.)
    None of the main characters were one-dimensional. At some point, they all showed a dark side. But at some point, they all have a chance for redemption.

    BUT it is a really fantastic coming-of-age story. It doesn't wrap everything up in a nice little box, just like in real life. It deals with the rumor mill, abuse, the dangers of alcohol, juvenile delinquency, and dysfunctional families in a very honest and believable way. I read the whole thing in one setting.

    (For fans of John Green, Jay Asher, and other LHA books)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ

    THIS BOOK FOR ME WAS A PAGE TURNER. laurie anderson really knows how to write books,even from a boys perspective. it funny at parts but really it felt real and dats wat i luv the most. so read this book itz awsome.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    freaking amazing

    i love laurie halse anderson..shes my favorite. her books rock my socks off...twisted is amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Awesome

    I loved this book. While there are some moments that are a little mature for some ages, I think the author did an amazing job of describing high school in a nutshell, and the confusing times many students will face in the transition into thier last years at school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm in love with this author's works, and I think she did a phen

    I'm in love with this author's works, and I think she did a phenomenal job on this book. Even rereading this as an adult now I find that I still have affection for the characters. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Disappointed

    Ending sucked was good up untill about halfway thru then went down hill. I wouldnt waste my time on it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Blank

    The story is about a teenaged boy whos dreams become real. Fantasies now have a chance of happening. But, pictures were taken that made his dreams become nightmares. The book is okay, nothing to bag about but could not be classified as a piece of trash. Easy read through. In my opinion the book seemed unfinished like a big chuck of the book was missing. Who knows though, maybe I did not understand the end. Liked the character growth. Tyler went from a wimpy, cowardly nerd to a strong defender. Either way, give the book a shot, you might like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good but not great.

    I read one of her older books "speak" and i thought that the plots were a little too similar for me, but still it was a pretty good book. Would i recomend it? Probably because it definately wasn't a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    So good

    A really good book about growing up

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sophisticated

    http://scholarberry.blogspot.com/

    Tyler Miller was just the ordinary teenager. He even faded into the background more than most people. Then he sprayed a bunch of thoughts that's been stuck in his mind for a while on the school. Graffiti.

    So of course he has to pay for it. Hence; community service. He lost his car + meeting a probation officer. No jail, though. No jail. So wasn't that sort of good?

    If back then he was a wimp or one of the Norms, because of the landscaping company he did his service on, he's the Champ now. He's ripped and he attracted the Queen of his high school, Bethany Milbury. (Tyler's secret crush)

    Bethany, though, unfortunately, is his father's boss daughter. Who is, to say, the sister of Tyler's nemesis, Chip Milbury.

    Yoda, his best friend, is hot for his sister; Hannah.

    With only Hannah and Yoda at his side, can he get Bethany by his side without crushing Chip?

    How about just simply not getting grounded for hitting your, er, boss' son for being provoked?

    A turn at Tyler's life completely swerved him out of the safe lane. But there's no turning back, cause the harm was done.

    Another problem is that his dad never really listen. Typical. What about locking himself up with his computer--workaholic? Typical. Not trusting his own son at all? Sorta typical. All combined? Lord of Darkness. Ha.


    Twisted is simple and full of emotions. Laurie Halse Anderson had also written Speak, Catalyst and Prom.

    http://scholarberry.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Real

    Twisted is a book about a boy learning to become a man... He has some situations along the way: He spray paints the school because he thinks that it will make him a somebody. He becomes known as the "dangerous" boy. The most beautiful girl (Bethany) goes after him. Her older brother (bully but smaller than Tyler) tries to stand up to Tyler but can't do it just right. Tyler goes to a party, and Bethany gets drunk. She tries to have sex with Tyler by he doesn't. The next day, there are pictures of her naked all over the internet. Tyler gets blamed. Twisted was an awesome book. The whole story was Real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    :)

    I liked this book. Sometimes I was annoyed with Tyler but then sometimes I rooted for him and felt sorry for him. Tyler vandalizes his high school and becomes a legend. Once a nerd with nothing going on, a summer of hard works gives him a buff body and new confidence. Soon his enemy's(Chip) twin sister Bethany is hitting on him and paying attention to him. Bethany has been his dream girl since middle school and at a party he turns her down when she's drunk cuz he doesn't want to take advantage of her. Something happens at the same party,someone takes bad pictures of Bethany while she's drunk and people start to blame Tyler. His life becomes hell and life at home becomes unbearable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read!

    Twisted is a must for teens and adults. This book really puts itself aside from other books, Its not the 'ol theres a problem and solution but more like your following a boy through high school. He faces many problems that tears his youth apart. If problems with girls and bullies werent enough. a definet for any young adult reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    awesome

    i read this book and was amazed! it is a very good book and full of different emotions that keep the story flowing! i loved it and would reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Niiiicee

    I didn't know this book was made only for young boys. I enjoyed it anwaysss!! It made me laugh, and think about what many boys might go through. Awesome book. And all my friends think so too! a really good read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the best book ever

    it was very thrilling i would recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15