Customer Reviews for

Twisted

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Trip Into the Male Teen Psyche that Isn't as Twisted as the Title Suggests

Twisted centers on Tyler, the used to be nerd, now somewhat bad boy who bloomed into a full grown, six foot hottie over the summer. With his newfound ripped physique, he may actually have a chance with the hottest girl in the school, the girl of his dreams, but his feel...
Twisted centers on Tyler, the used to be nerd, now somewhat bad boy who bloomed into a full grown, six foot hottie over the summer. With his newfound ripped physique, he may actually have a chance with the hottest girl in the school, the girl of his dreams, but his feelings have to contend with his dysfunctional family and his slowly crumbling world.

Character-wise, Tyler is fantastic. I couldn't put the book down because I was just so attached to the guy. Anderson writes from the teenage male perspective and does it so wondrously. Tyler is the epitome of teenage boy. He's moody and angry and lustful and beyond hormonal, but he's also a real character.

Tyler's funny and cares about his mom and his sister and he tries so hard to be a good guy. The things that happen to him are a bit out of his control, but that's where the book gets so good. The escalating tension builds so much throughout the story that I found myself just waiting for the explosion and Anderson does not disappoint.

Tyler's inner thoughts are vividly raw with his emotions. His past mistake (just the one really) becomes the center of his world, the single factor that drives his senior year. Anderson probes Tyler's family life so we see way past the pristine surface to a family that is falling apart bit by bit; from Tyler, a high school senior on parole, to Hannah, the freshman who wants to express herself and break free from her parents rules, to the mom who is fast becoming and alcoholic, and finally to the dad who is overworked, easily agitated, and constantly verbally abusive. Like I said, the family is twisted, but their imperfections are what make the entire story so easy to just get.

The book is stamped "THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR CHILDREN" but it isn't really all that graphic, at least in my opinion. Sure, there's talk of erections and cold showers and a scene alluding to masturbation, but Tyler is 18 years old. If people don't think that teens know, think about, or have sex, then they're fooling themselves. Tyler's world doesn't even revolve around the opposite sex. The plot focuses much more on him as a person and how much he has changed and how his family is a little twisted. This is definitely not for the younger crowd, but with the warning right there in the beginning, I don't see how/why it needs to be challenged in high schools.

Twisted is an incredibly well-written book that's easy to relate to and impossible to put down. Filled with lusty thoughts an uproarious humor, Anderson taps into the teenage male psyche in a way few female authors are able to do. Take the time to read this book, you won't regret it.

Opening line: I spent the last Friday of summer vacation spreading hot, sticky tar across the roof of George Washington High. ~ pg. 1

Favorite line (I have two): I scared myself, because once you've thought long and hard enough about doing something that is colossally stupid, you feel like you've actually done it, and then you're never quite sure what your limits are. ~ pg. 95

The guy in the mirror looked like somebody had wrapped his heart in barbed wire and pulled. He wasn't just a loser. He was lost, no-compass lost, don't-speak-the-language lost.
I have screwed up everything. ~ pg. 189

posted by Nikkayme on September 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blank

The story is about a teenaged boy whos dreams become real. Fantasies now have a chance of happening. But, pictures were taken that made his dreams become nightmares. The book is okay, nothing to bag about but could not be classified as a piece of trash. Easy read throug...
The story is about a teenaged boy whos dreams become real. Fantasies now have a chance of happening. But, pictures were taken that made his dreams become nightmares. The book is okay, nothing to bag about but could not be classified as a piece of trash. Easy read through. In my opinion the book seemed unfinished like a big chuck of the book was missing. Who knows though, maybe I did not understand the end. Liked the character growth. Tyler went from a wimpy, cowardly nerd to a strong defender. Either way, give the book a shot, you might like it.

posted by 18745882 on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Worth the Read!

    A very typical Laurie Halse Anderson novel, but not quite as ambiguous as Speak was.
    One of the many things I appreciated about the book was that I could see every single character in the halls of my high school. In fact, I think I know several of them. (The high school itself, however, was less believable. No dress code, for example... It's little things like that that get me. I digress.)
    None of the main characters were one-dimensional. At some point, they all showed a dark side. But at some point, they all have a chance for redemption.

    BUT it is a really fantastic coming-of-age story. It doesn't wrap everything up in a nice little box, just like in real life. It deals with the rumor mill, abuse, the dangers of alcohol, juvenile delinquency, and dysfunctional families in a very honest and believable way. I read the whole thing in one setting.

    (For fans of John Green, Jay Asher, and other LHA books)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Awesome

    I loved this book. While there are some moments that are a little mature for some ages, I think the author did an amazing job of describing high school in a nutshell, and the confusing times many students will face in the transition into thier last years at school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Good but not great.

    I read one of her older books "speak" and i thought that the plots were a little too similar for me, but still it was a pretty good book. Would i recomend it? Probably because it definately wasn't a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    So good

    A really good book about growing up

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Real

    Twisted is a book about a boy learning to become a man... He has some situations along the way: He spray paints the school because he thinks that it will make him a somebody. He becomes known as the "dangerous" boy. The most beautiful girl (Bethany) goes after him. Her older brother (bully but smaller than Tyler) tries to stand up to Tyler but can't do it just right. Tyler goes to a party, and Bethany gets drunk. She tries to have sex with Tyler by he doesn't. The next day, there are pictures of her naked all over the internet. Tyler gets blamed. Twisted was an awesome book. The whole story was Real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    :)

    I liked this book. Sometimes I was annoyed with Tyler but then sometimes I rooted for him and felt sorry for him. Tyler vandalizes his high school and becomes a legend. Once a nerd with nothing going on, a summer of hard works gives him a buff body and new confidence. Soon his enemy's(Chip) twin sister Bethany is hitting on him and paying attention to him. Bethany has been his dream girl since middle school and at a party he turns her down when she's drunk cuz he doesn't want to take advantage of her. Something happens at the same party,someone takes bad pictures of Bethany while she's drunk and people start to blame Tyler. His life becomes hell and life at home becomes unbearable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    awesome

    i read this book and was amazed! it is a very good book and full of different emotions that keep the story flowing! i loved it and would reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Don't get it Twisted

    Courtney Morrow <BR/>Ms. Rogal <BR/>Strategic Reading <BR/>17 November 2008 <BR/> Twisted <BR/> By: Laurie Halse Anderson <BR/> ¿Hey, get a load of this!¿ (Toothless, Chapter 1) Laurie Halse Anderson¿s purpose in writing Twisted is that she has heard multiple stories from teenage boys who are faced with pressure. This inspired Laurie to write something new and different. The audience she intended this book for comes from teenagers who are in high school, and are facing the same problems or can relate to these situations. She chooses this group as her audience so they can relate to the situation and also learning from the situation. <BR/> The narrator who is telling this story is Tyler Miller. Tyler feels like people are talking about him, and only think he is a horrible kid for the incident he did last year. It is important that Tyler tells the story because the main events that happen are happening to him. Laurie has interpreted her characters very well. She has all of the students, teachers and the principal perfect in description and their characteristics. Laurie also interpreted the time period and the story line very well. Laurie really engaged you in the writing and made you feel like you were sitting on the sidelines along with him. <BR/> I think the character that I could relate to the most would have to be Tyler. I can relate to Tyler because we go through some of the same types of situations. Examples of situations are gossip, teen parties and parents. I think that Laurie Halse Anderson was very successful in writing her book Twisted. Laurie¿s purpose of writing Twisted is so people could relate to the same issue and learn from it. Twisted helped me learn about the effects of gossip and believing in yourself. An example from the book is when the whole student body is talking about Tyler and what happened at the party. Twisted reminds me a lot of the TV show Gossip Girl. In Gossip Girl they are always talking about each other and starting stories that are mostly faulty. <BR/> The significance of Twisted¿s title is Tyler goes through ordeals that give him a negative reputation. Further in the book Tyler get accused of more crimes. Tyler¿s school life, family life and life in general have become twisted. I would recommend this book to high school students, because they can relate to mostly everything Tyler goes through. <BR/> My final conclusions about the end of the book were a little disappointing. I always like books to end in a sappy love story, but I¿m glad Tyler got his family back and his life back. I loved reading Twisted. Once I got into the book I couldn¿t find myself putting it down and finished it in two days. I like the ending, but I again like sappy love story endings. I would give Twisted four stars. I really liked this book. I could relate to basically everything and it engaged my attention making me not wanting to put it down. So if Twisted isn¿t in your ¿to be read¿ pile, please don¿t wait move it to the top.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    This young adult novel Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson is a hig

    This young adult novel Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson is a highly entertaining novel about an average boy in an average town attending the average high school, George Washington High. You might think something so “average” can’t be so entertaining, but, this story does take a few interesting twists along the way. It is not in a serious though it is one of the many top sellers written by Laurie Halse Anderson. The story was unique from the start about this average character and did a good job on capturing the teenage boy’s true inner thoughts and conflicts.
    The story starts out with our main character doing community service because of a “Foul Deed”. Tyler Miller decided he would pull a prank to be recognized as something else rather than nerd boy. That was accomplished when he was caught and became the bad boy who vandalized the school with spray paint. Being on parole he is on a tight leash going into the new year at high school. Things started to look better when queen bee Bethany Milbury actually took an interest in Tyler. But things get even more interesting when Tyler’s greatest enemy Bethany’s brother decides to retaliate against the relationship. Several things go down from there to make Tyler’s new life miserable. The psyche of the average teenager is truly captured in Tyler’s response to these trials and thoughts that are detailed amazingly in Laurie Halse Anderson’s writing that will impress in young reader.
    I enjoyed the book. It was fun to read and did a great job with the detail work of Tyler’s inner thoughts. Laurie Halse Anderson has a very good writing style, one that I enjoyed. She really brought out the emotion of Tyler in a understandable and sometimes comical way.
    I didn’t have any dislikes. It was an entertaining read. It was an overall good book. It was definitely worth reading and I would recommend it to any young adult reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Pretty Good

    Not the best book ive read, but i liked it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Really good!

    Its not my favorite book but it was good, really funny, Tyler was a really big pervert though ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Good

    This was a good book, classic tale told differently,, had some loose ends tho good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    great!

    definitly kept my attention! good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended - please check out its worth the money!!!

    Michael Kelly
    04/29/2011
    Period 1
    Review on "Twisted
    This new novel, "Twisted" there is a boy named Tyler Miller. Tyler Miller is an upper-middle-class public school student. This school can get a little crazy because it is ruled by an iron fisted society. In the beginning of the book, before Tyler can even get to the first day of school he is already in trouble! During the summer, before his senior year of middle school started, he was finishing up his community service hours. These were not normal community service hours; they were imposed as a punishment! The judge gave Tyler a full summer worth of community service, because of his, "Foul Deed" which involved spray painting the school!
    Tyler did not want to go back to school, because he thought that people were going to make fun of him or even pick on him for doing what he had done! In the book it actually says that he would have rather done more manual labor than spend his time in school (or should I say prison)! In the story it shows evidence that he liked doing manual labor, because of a few different reasons! One reason was that he would not have to participate in school! Another reason is so he could impress a girl named Bethany! He was basically in love with her in the beginning through the middle and until their fight!
    The judge did however make him go to school as planned! Even though he may seem dumb he was enrolled in three A.P. classes and a calculus math class! With all the drama of getting in trouble with the police he decides that he is going to stop doing well in all his classes! Tyler's father is always in a bad mood this book! His father runs a very tight shift and does not have room for flaw! Tyler's father is now working with Bethany's father which would create tension for Tyler, because if he does anything wrong his father might be out of a job! Although Tyler was warned that if he did anything bad he would, "Not see the day of light ever again"! He decided that he was going to drop down to the bottom of the floor and bring his grades along with him! (Not a good idea!) when his father learns about his grades he gets very angry! Only to find himself exploding with rage the next day!
    The next day at school Tyler was accused of posting photos of Bethany while drunk and naked! This is not only serious, but they found the pictures on the internet! This is just the beginning of what seems to be the end of Tyler Millers world!
    I really enjoyed this book, because I believe that books don't pick up until the middle and for some readers that's hard! This book caught me and took me until the end, which was great! My overall rating of this book would be a 4 star book, because I believed that it showed great personality and it also showed great detail! I would purchase this book for people who go to high school, because I believe they can relate to the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    Life is a Game of Twister

    The book Twisted can relate to all of us at some point of time throughout the story. Tyler is the main character in the book, many of us can relate to him in his situation as being an outcast. I found this to be a book in which I couldn't put down very easily. The chapters are short which I like in a book. There wasn't ever a point that wasn't too intriguing. I thought that Tyler had many challenges that many of us go through and it was nice to be able to relate to someone. Twisted is not one of those books that just glances at different subjects, but it goes into detail and can really paint an image in your head of each situation described. Many can also relate to Tyler or even his younger sister Leah when they are both trying out a new look. We often try to be someone new and Twisted relates in a way in which we have all seen or lived.
    Crushes are also something that we all have; Tyler gets the chance of a lifetime with the popular girl in school. Once he isn't seen as the wimpy invisible kid anymore Bethany seems to show strong interest in him and even ends up inviting him to a party. The book explains a guy's basic thought process when they are head-over-heels for a girl that is out of their league. Leah faces the pain of being a freshman and the feelings of needing to be accepted. She changes her image and follows all the trends that many of us now look back and laugh about. They book also has the family life of what we see often. The Dad in which business takes over his life and seems to blind him from the things around him that truly matter. A Mother who tries hard but cant always succeed with just a small out of home business, finding her other job in life to make up for her husbands hurtful actions and words. Emotions are a huge part of this book. From the thoughts of Happiness, Joy, Excitement, and Love. To the feelings of Dread, Anger and Suicide. Sometimes life seems to be too much and like it may never get any better. Tyler goes through almost all of these as he is now hated by many or just stared at because of his new look.
    If there is one thing that this book does well at describing, it would be depicting the ups and downs of life, the feelings that go along with good and bad situations and the trials in which many of us face. Life is a roller coaster and it's always going to have it's the bumpy parts, but it's the way we go about the lows and interpret the things which are placed before us.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    its was great

    I go to the beach every summer and I love to read book while I'm there and i decided to read twisted. I thought it was very rebellious and funny...I like that. My favorite part is when he tells his dad that he is going to clean up his mess! I think all teens will like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    An honest, surprisingly real book for guys

    This book really was amazing. I am not a fast reader but I read this book in about two or three days. Anderson's characters are not heroes or villains, they simply are- which is exactly what gives this book it's appeal. Each character could be a friend or family member. Anderson touches upon the dark world of highschool, the confusion of family, and so many other true-to-life situations. Anyone who was, is in, or is going to be in highschool (or has a family) NEEDS to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Addicting

    At first I thought this would be some male Cinderella story, but about halfway through the book, it was clear that wasn't going to happen. The narrator was raw and honest, while the author faced some very real things teen face. The characters were so perfectly flawed and real. I read it in about a day, since it was gripping. I was not perfectly satisfied with the ending, but that might just be because I'm greedy that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AmAzInG!

    This book like most i pick up started off a lil slow but i really got into it. It was well written and i'd read it again and again. You find yourself rooting for the man charater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    4 out of 5... why it lacked perfection......

    "Speak" was the previous book I read by Anderson and it didn't match up to "Twisted". Being a woman, it surprised me to see how well Anderson could write about becoming a man, and I give her a great amount of credit for that. The first half of the book was tremendous and the twists of comedy added a spark to it. From the late night parties and the rumors, Tyler Miller is now faced with a demanding question that will make his future. Will he make the transition from a boy to a man and find his place in the world? Anderson does a phenomonal job of applying the strange happenings in Tyler's life, having him make critical decisions that will decide his fate, but as we near the end of the book, the author leaves the reader hanging. All of Tyler's father's outbursts throughout the book were silenced when we reached the climax and he became a calmer person. After Tyler's plot to commit suicide fails, where will he end up in the next year or two. As for the rest of his family and the other main characters in the book, you don't know what happens to them either. The Milbury's prescence in the book plays a filling role, but we can't conclude what happens to Bethany, who suffered from so many altercations after her and Tyler were 'together' during the book. These are the reasons why I think this book lacked perfection. Nevertheless, the book was oustanding and well-written, especially from a female's point of view. If there were ever to be a sequel to "Twisted", I'm sure she would have answered the audience's many questions pertaining to the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5