Customer Reviews for

A Twisted Ladder

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I picked the book up at my local B&N Store due to the gothic, rundown mansion on the cover. I flipped it over and read the summary, a suspense novel based in New Orleans, sounded good to me. The book sat on my shelf for about 3-4 weeks before I had a chance to pick it...
I picked the book up at my local B&N Store due to the gothic, rundown mansion on the cover. I flipped it over and read the summary, a suspense novel based in New Orleans, sounded good to me. The book sat on my shelf for about 3-4 weeks before I had a chance to pick it up and once I did everything else took second place. The plot is rich in suspense and the characters are well developed, it has the making for a great page turner. Everytime I had to set the book down I cursed under my breath that I couldn't continue to read as I was mesmerized by the story and characters. I especially liked the way that the story went from present events to past events so that the reader was able to fully understand the leading and supporting character's history. This is a great first novel by Rhodi Hawk and I am hoping that the ending has left the story line open for sequels. Definitely receives my top rating, I didn't even mind jury duty because I had a great read in my purse to keep me occupied between selection panels.

posted by Saspants on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Harriet klausner you are very rude to constantly reveal every plot point of books you, laughingly call, review. Go to a book blog or somewhere else to give away every detail of a book. Thanks to you another book that isnt worth buyong because i know whats going to happ...
Harriet klausner you are very rude to constantly reveal every plot point of books you, laughingly call, review. Go to a book blog or somewhere else to give away every detail of a book. Thanks to you another book that isnt worth buyong because i know whats going to happen.

posted by 8888649 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I picked the book up at my local B&N Store due to the gothic, rundown mansion on the cover. I flipped it over and read the summary, a suspense novel based in New Orleans, sounded good to me. The book sat on my shelf for about 3-4 weeks before I had a chance to pick it up and once I did everything else took second place. The plot is rich in suspense and the characters are well developed, it has the making for a great page turner. Everytime I had to set the book down I cursed under my breath that I couldn't continue to read as I was mesmerized by the story and characters. I especially liked the way that the story went from present events to past events so that the reader was able to fully understand the leading and supporting character's history. This is a great first novel by Rhodi Hawk and I am hoping that the ending has left the story line open for sequels. Definitely receives my top rating, I didn't even mind jury duty because I had a great read in my purse to keep me occupied between selection panels.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Introduction to Mystery

    This book is great for someone who doesn't read a lot of mystery or thrilling books. It has a little bit of everything: family mystery, romance, crazy father... who could deny this. I highly suggest this book especially if you are interested in vodoo magic and mysterious family and social happenings.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    cool book.

    i enjoyed reading this book. i'm pretty big on old south fiction and this book was a good read for me.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Boo

    Harriet klausner you are very rude to constantly reveal every plot point of books you, laughingly call, review. Go to a book blog or somewhere else to give away every detail of a book. Thanks to you another book that isnt worth buyong because i know whats going to happen.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A little too offbeat

    When I picked this book up, I thought it was going to be about a woman trying to understand her family's history and struggle with schizophrenia. I was hoping for something dark and intellectual. I wanted to read about the devastation caused by a serious psychiatric disorder. A Twisted Ladder could not have been further from what I was looking. The story was dark and even interesting in parts. It was a very quick read, but fairly poorly written. The worst part was the way schizophrenia was dealt with. This book was not about an actual mental illness. It shot off into a make believe, supernatural world that was completely unbelievable. And because the author seemed to try and mix so many genres, it didn't even make for a good sci fi novel.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific refreshing character driven thriller.

    Tulane University psychologist Dr. Madeleine LeBlanc has a personal interest in cognitive schizophrenia as her father "Daddy Blank" and her brother Marc suffered from the illness. Maddy has spent her medical career seeking the cause of the crippling disease and its prevention. Since her brother's suicide while fishing on Bayou Black, she fears the disease will prove genetic.

    Maddy is also afraid she might be schizophrenic or a schizoid psychotic when a "devil-child" visits her psychically. With help of Tulane neurologist Ethan Manderleigh, Maddy investigates her heritage especially on the family sugarcane plantation. However, instead of a better understanding of herself and her kin dating back to her nasty voodoo queen great-grandmother, she believes a childhood friend is a serial killer though she wonders if her conclusion is caused by her mental state rather than facts.

    The fun in this exciting urban psychological suspense fantasy is the blending of voodoo with modern mental health research. The story line is refreshing due to those ties that connect in the soul of Maddy. She fears she will be a chip off the old block of her schizophrenic father or her nasty century plus old voodoo queen great-grandmother; either side is a genetic loser in Maddy's mind as each lead to madness. With her only hope for survival rests in understanding her complete heritage, Maddy flashbacks to Prohibition New Orleans to comprehend Chloe's salad days. Fans will enjoy the aptly titled A TWISTED LADDER as the heroine ponders nurturing vs. naturing with her DNA and her childhood tainted in this terrific refreshing character driven thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Ok

    There is a difference between reviewing a book and giving away the plots. Harriet Klausner gives away the plots everytime. STOP ALREADY!!! You need to learn how to review without summarizing the whole freaking book! You need to stop! Who the hell is she anyway? A wanna be!!!

    Pretty good. DM

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Excellent Historical Fiction

    Looking forward to more from this author, she's quite talented and left room for a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Raven

    Awesome read from start to finish!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was choosen as a book for my book club and normally this is not the type of book I read, but I decided to read it and was happy I did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    I read A Twisted Ladder

    I thought it was kind of boring overall. i went into it thinking it was going to be a realistic book but it wasnt. it was about a lady whose dad had schizophrenia and she is trying to find out about what caused it. in lookin at his histoy and researching him she found out about brothers she has and property she never knew he had. also she got accused of murder in the process. over all i thought it was going to be a real life story but it wasnt.therefore i didnt like it.maybe i wouldhave enjoyed it more if i was expecting a fiction book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Doesnt sound good

    I havent read this book but from the reveiws it didnt sound like a good book to me at all

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2