Customer Reviews for

Twisted Lands: Shadow Town

Average Rating 3.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly wow!

Great game! And only $0.99! If you love "The Lost City" and "Grisly Manor," you'll love this.

posted by 236337 on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money

If i could give it no stars i would. It never installs. And going to the developer is a waste of time. They make you fill out the request for support multiple times but never help you. I filled it out twice in 5 minutes and when it wanted me to do it a third time, i gav...
If i could give it no stars i would. It never installs. And going to the developer is a waste of time. They make you fill out the request for support multiple times but never help you. I filled it out twice in 5 minutes and when it wanted me to do it a third time, i gave up.

posted by 729400 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great for .99

    Enjoyed this. I agree with one reviewer, nice to have a bit of help and skip on the puzzles. that round puzzle with animal, veg, machine, insect items. Never could figure out how to get all alligned, then i noticed it had gone to skip when blue bar filled. I totally appreciated or i might never had made it to bed.

    Like many have also said, similar in searching a land as lost city and grizzly manor. Kinda liked the picture searches this game had. Helps to have a very clean touch screen on a few items.

    The theme at the end is a bit crazy, not for everyone. A bit gruesome for younger players. This is definitely aimed at adults.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great game!

    Very intersting game and storyline. The only thing that sucked (and prevented a 5 star review) was it kept turning black and just freezing at what i assume were the story visuals between episodes, so I didn't get to watch those. Overall, though, definitely recommended!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Well Done! But could be better

    As a HUGE fan of the Myst and Riven games of years past, this is the best game I played recently. Loved all 3 Tesla's Electric Mist and Stalker Room Escape episodes and Grisly Manor(which took a whole 25 minutes to complete), but this beats them all.
    I did not rate it 5 stars because I did not like the "I-Spy" 'puzzles' - I spend enough time doing them with the kids. I prefer real puzzles - like the box in the bedroom or the Zodiac tiles or the altar puzzle (think 7th Guest, if you remeber that one!).
    Great play throughout, but felt rushed at the end looking for the fuses - kind of like they got tired of thinking where to hide them or, maybe, they were afraid people may have become frustrated and decided to go easy.
    Story and plot were intriguing, but the ending left me wondering what REALLY happened.
    In any event - was a terrifically wonderful time the past three days - had to spend some time at work - and I look forward to more!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great game, needs a sequel to justify shaky ending.

    This is the first Alawar game I have purchased and I got completely sucked into it! The hidden objects were fun, the puzzles were challenging but didn't keep me up at night, the world was haunting and beautiful, and it had an interesting and mysterious storyline. Also pinch zoom was the best I have seen and worked great. For the most part this game compared with games from other developers that cost as much as $4.99, so I feel I got my money's worth. That being said, after several hours of play time I felt the ending was very dissapointing and did not live up to the game. I am a grown adult so I did not find it overly violent as others have complained. I played this with my 8 &12 yr old daughters and they didn't find the ending violent either, just very dissapointing. So much build up to have such little resolution. Hopefully the will make a part 2 that explains more and lets us catch up with the main character again. Four stars b/c of the ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Very well done. Good finish as well.

    I have played several hidden object games, mainly the Mystery Case Files series for the pc. I really enjoyed this game and the surprise ending. Hope to find more on the Nook store soon. Tired of wading through the preschool games.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Anonymous

    Wow! What a horrible and shocking ending. C'mon, the developers and writers could have given the dude a different existence after all that! That said, I enjoyed it. Took me two evenings, after everyone was put to bed. Glad i bought this. Only one minor complaint --- near the end the stairwell leading to the shuttle is hard to get to. For some reason the software seems to stick on that area. Otherwise, I rec. this. It was fast and enjoyable.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    For those having trouble loading (or probably just the idiot ano

    For those having trouble loading (or probably just the idiot anonymous 1) stop trying to load it on your "tweaked" tabs. Loaded and happily played for a week struggling through every puzzle. Stop asking for help and use your brain, and you puds that say it was a waste of $$ should have used that WHOLE 99 CENTS!!!!?? on the downpayment for some motivation (or more likely a tutor) on how to do things, everything, the right way and put some effort into it and stop looking for shortcuts or mommy to bail out your lazy a$$e$.  Those who claim it was "too easy" are either liars attempting to flaunt nonexistent intelligence, or should be coding BETTER APPS THAN THIS if you are capable, though I will put my money on YOU'RE NOT. To the creators of this game,,,,,,,,,,WELL DONE, and please don't get discouraged by the subhumans (some of which apparently modeled for your game) and continue. Would have happily paid much more for it. Waiting for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    recommend

    Truly great graphics and good story. Alawar has become my favorite games publisher. Keep them coming, Alawar. You've got a loyal customer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Super addictive

    I loved this game. A little spooky, requires some brain power, and nice graphics. It took me about 4 hours to finish. I immediately looked for and bought another game by the maker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Good game!

    Enjoyed a lot!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    Challenging Game

    I didn't find this game easy. Without the frequent help screens, I doubt that I could have completed it on my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    great

    a lot of fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    Have been enjoying the game until I came to the monument where you have to push the buttons in a certain sequence. Having lots of trouble figuring it out! Help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Got it!

    Well I used a magnifying glass and solved monument puzzle. Should NOT have to do that...make the zoom better on this game!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun

    Unique game to play, keeps you wanting to complete it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Graphics are not too bad...

    Fun game, easy to beat, and if you get "stuck" the game will help you out. Did take a long time to load.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Loved it and cheap too!

    Great mystery game! Hope there is a part 2 coming out soon (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Fun!

    I was hesitant at first due to all the comments talking about a gory ending but i found it to be just fine. Similar to grissly manor. Only flaw us too short, well worth .99. It did take awhile to load on my nook tablet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    good game

    a bit long but very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Good game

    This was a pretty good game. Enjoyed playing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2