Customer Reviews for

Twisted Roots (De Beers Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

excellent

I've been reading VC Andrews since the 8th grade (20 years now). For those who didn't know, the original VC Andrews is no longer living. Its nice to see that the 'ghost' writer choosen to continue her work has finally stepped up! The book was wonderful. I read the whol...
I've been reading VC Andrews since the 8th grade (20 years now). For those who didn't know, the original VC Andrews is no longer living. Its nice to see that the 'ghost' writer choosen to continue her work has finally stepped up! The book was wonderful. I read the whole thing in one day!

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Twisted Roots

In this book, the story is told now through Willow's daughter Hannah's point of view. It seems that Hannah believes that she is not wanted by her own family thus meeting another who feels the same way she does. So after having enough Hannah and her new friend Heyden dec...
In this book, the story is told now through Willow's daughter Hannah's point of view. It seems that Hannah believes that she is not wanted by her own family thus meeting another who feels the same way she does. So after having enough Hannah and her new friend Heyden decide to leave Palm Beach by taking along her uncle and thus heads towards a new start but then their vehicle breaks down and thus comes an unexpected decision for Hannah to make.

posted by Anonymous on July 31, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    excellent

    I've been reading VC Andrews since the 8th grade (20 years now). For those who didn't know, the original VC Andrews is no longer living. Its nice to see that the 'ghost' writer choosen to continue her work has finally stepped up! The book was wonderful. I read the whole thing in one day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Twisted Roots

    In this book, the story is told now through Willow's daughter Hannah's point of view. It seems that Hannah believes that she is not wanted by her own family thus meeting another who feels the same way she does. So after having enough Hannah and her new friend Heyden decide to leave Palm Beach by taking along her uncle and thus heads towards a new start but then their vehicle breaks down and thus comes an unexpected decision for Hannah to make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    I was a bit disappointed in this book.  Most of my disappointmen

    I was a bit disappointed in this book.  Most of my disappointment stemmed from Willow's staggering change & the rest of the disappointment was because I expected more from Heyden, Hannah & Linden running away.  They basically just stayed at a house in South Carolina most of that time & the Bessie & Rosemary plot there wasn't very interesting.  I was expecting a little more action, adventure & suspense so I was disappointed that not much happened & that after all that, Hannah only changed her mind & decided to go back home after three or four days.  Like, really?

    Hannah wasn't exactly a great character either, but she IS more realistic compared to all the other perfect, doting VC Andrew daughters.  I have a hard time finding them realistic sometimes, but Hannah really was your typical teenager so that was a bit refreshing even if she got a little annoying from time to time.

    I really did like Miguel here though.  I've always liked him but my respect for him really grew in this novel.
      He was basically the voice of reason between Willow & Hannah, the only strong one, the one that kept everything together.  It's funny to be saying that about Miguel when the psychiatrist was Willow, but that's
     the way it was unfortunately.  Another thing I didn't understand about this book is why Willow decided to stay on & raise her daughter in a city that she looked down upon & didn't even like or had any respect for.  She could have become a psychiatrist anywhere else.  I don't know why she decided to stay in Palm Beach if she hated it there so much & disliked the spoiled rich people living there.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    The pics when you open the books, with this one, just what's goi

    The pics when you open the books, with this one, just what's going on there? Yeah these books are creepy. Poor Hannah. Yeah these weird. Near the end especially. Talk about weird families. But the one from flowers in the attic is even weirder. Just..wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Great book!!!

    This book is great. I have been reading V.C. Andrews book ever since i have discovered it in my mom's room. This book is great. I liked it because i can tell what Hannah is growing through with her mother having to lose a child and then treating Hannah differently. Well i can understand what she did. But i haven't finshed the book yet but i'm almost there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    what has happened to v.c. andrews?

    i enjoyed this book very much, however i am confused as to the dates in this book. if this is the book on how willow's parents had met then why is v.c. andrew's referring to the internet in some area's of this book. as far as i know they didn't have the internet when her parent's would have been alive. i think the editors need to pay closer attention to dates and also typos!!!! overall a very good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Loved It!!!

    I loved this book. I have read all the V.C. Andrews series. I can't wait for the next one. I can't get into any other stories like these ones. They are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    into the woods

    who is grace in new book.juimped from willow to hannah who is grace im confused

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    Totally Awesome!

    I could not put this book down! It would have usually taken me a month or so to read a 400pg book but this took me a week! Kept me up a lot of nights jsut wantngi to see what happened next. It was also very good cuz u can relate to it. Well, at least I could. I am a fan of VC Andrews books and I just loved this 1. I would strongly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    AWESOME!!!!

    This book was great. I have ready every book but one by you. They are just out of this world. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I can't wait that long but keep it up. Thank You!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Not as good as the original VC Andrews' book

    I was fairly disappointed in the overall storyline. Pages are missing, books series are getting shorter, typical and predictable storyline (pretty girl - intelligent yet naive, etc), etc. Whatever happen to the 5 book series such as the Casteel series? I would PROBABLY not buy anymore VC Andrews' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    It was ok

    I didn't like this one as much as the one's that came before it simply because Willow had changed so much, but I guess that was from the trama inflicted by the divorce and her brother. It was a good book, and I am looking forward to reading the next two. I thought the addition of the farm family made the story interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    Loyal VC Fan

    I have read almost all of the VC Andrew books. Roots began with much excitement but had me angry towards the middle of the book. There were many unresolved issues that left me hanging. I truly hated the "farm family" in the book. They had nothing to do with anything. However the worst part was when Hannah's boyfriend just left her hanging. As in the previous review I recommend checking this one out from the library if you feel that you simply must read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Great Book . . .

    I enjoyed this book a lot. Willow did seem like an entire different person in this book, though. Not my favorite V.C. Andrews book, but still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Surprising!

    Overall this book was good and it had an interesting plot. I say surprising and would only give it a four because I did not like the change in Willow. Hannah was okay but I just didn't buy that Willow would raise her to be the way she was. Their were also so many twists and turns in this book that I truly didn't expect. Despite all this it truly was interesting and I found it to be a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Another Thrill Ride!

    V.C. Andrews knows how to keep readers coming back for more. There are even more twists and turns in this book that will keep you glued to your seat to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    What the heck is everyone talking about??

    I personally enjoyed this book and all the other VC Andrews books before it! Yes the plot in each series is some what copied! But the have their own twists! And for some reason I kinda get a kick outta all the incest that goes on, never before have I read books with that sorta theme. It's rather comical in a morbid dark sorta way! And For the record I am a self respecting 16 year old and I still call my mother MOMMY! So there! Rok on Andrew Niederman...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Missing chunk of book

    i don't have a page 139 the book reads up to 138 and then jumps to 150 then proceeds to repeat it's self; so far i am disappointed with Willow and Hannah; you'd think that there could have been another Willow book and not jump into Hannah but the whole book is crazy; you'd think willow would have been a loving mother after all she's been thru; and hannah would have more sense then to run off with heyden; then again in almost every sereis the girl runs off with a guy; i'm going to see if i can return the book b/c of the missing pages and wrong page numbers; but whoever wrote the comment about the missing pages it's worse for my book and see if you can return it; is anyone looking forward to Grace's story??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    V.C. Andrews Fan

    O.K....I have been an avid reader of V.C. Andrews books for 12 years. I have read every V.C. Andrews book and own them all.But, this one (I agree with other reviewers) was disappointing. I was really angry with Willow. I don't see how her character would have evolved into such an unbalanced and selfish mother...and for that matter how she could raise such a selfish and annoying daughter. I would like to know more about Willow, definitely not about Hannah, but before they jump into the story about Grace.This new writter should read some original V.C. Andrews material and then start over again. But, being that I am such a die-hard fan, I will probably check out the next book. I just hope I'm not so disappointed, or may have to find a new author to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    VC Andrews long time readed

    I thought the book was ok. But alot was left unfinished. I wonder what happened with the boyfriend(besides what her wrote about to Hannah), and the farm family. They should have either left them out or have told more about them. The farm family should just have it's own series, instead of adding them the the story. I didn't really like how they made Willow seem so sad and that she wasn't such a good mother, it was disapointing. Also

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2