Customer Reviews for

Twisted Sisters

Average Rating 3
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Thought she was getting lazy, but

Fans of Jenn will recognize characters from past forays into fiction, and longtime fans will also pick up on subtle hints at Lancaster's other works, too. At first I thought this was laziness with a touch of nostalgia but now I wonder if it isn't the seeds of a new seri...
Fans of Jenn will recognize characters from past forays into fiction, and longtime fans will also pick up on subtle hints at Lancaster's other works, too. At first I thought this was laziness with a touch of nostalgia but now I wonder if it isn't the seeds of a new series. I still prefer Lancaster's nonfiction work, but her fiction is enjoyable. My only complaint is the neat ending- without giving anything away it was a smidge too "all wrapped up in a pretty bow" for me. But then, what do I know

posted by 8415599 on February 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I have read all of Ms. Lancaster's memoirs, laughing myself silly in the process. I preordered her newest work, "Twisted Sisters", and eagerly anticipated its debut. What a disappointment! I struggled through 75 pages and don't think I will continue. None of the char...
I have read all of Ms. Lancaster's memoirs, laughing myself silly in the process. I preordered her newest work, "Twisted Sisters", and eagerly anticipated its debut. What a disappointment! I struggled through 75 pages and don't think I will continue. None of the characters are sympathetic, the story line - so far - is not compelling, and, most importantly, it just isn't funny.
The author is a talented memoirist and should stick with what she excels at.

posted by 18649099 on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Disappointing

    I have read all of Ms. Lancaster's memoirs, laughing myself silly in the process. I preordered her newest work, "Twisted Sisters", and eagerly anticipated its debut. What a disappointment! I struggled through 75 pages and don't think I will continue. None of the characters are sympathetic, the story line - so far - is not compelling, and, most importantly, it just isn't funny.
    The author is a talented memoirist and should stick with what she excels at.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Disappointed......

    Twisted Sisters was a huge let down after all the self promoting. I felt she was putting anything out there to see what would stick. She is better at non fiction.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Love Jen Lancaster, but this is boring

    This book never really took off for me. I didn't like any of the characters- they were all snarky and mean. By the time anything good happened to anyone, it was over and you didn't care anymore. I loved the author's memoirs so much, but the fiction isn't going well. Huge disappointment!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Really?

    Very dissapointing. I expected more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Plot spoilets

    Another book ruined by plot spoilers. I do not understand why these ppl think they are literary gods that simply must tell every detail of a book as if every other reader is just too stupid to read it for themselves. And before some knothead says dont read them....i dont, but when you have to scroll past yards of posts to get past them, you inevitably see something that spoils the story. These plot spoilers should be banned and their over the top posts deleted.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Thought she was getting lazy, but

    Fans of Jenn will recognize characters from past forays into fiction, and longtime fans will also pick up on subtle hints at Lancaster's other works, too. At first I thought this was laziness with a touch of nostalgia but now I wonder if it isn't the seeds of a new series. I still prefer Lancaster's nonfiction work, but her fiction is enjoyable. My only complaint is the neat ending- without giving anything away it was a smidge too "all wrapped up in a pretty bow" for me. But then, what do I know

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Alaysha

    Sighs

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Scavengerhunt

    Son of sobek

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Lg

    Yr

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Reagan works as a licensed psychologist on a cable show I Need a

    Reagan works as a licensed psychologist on a cable show I Need a Push.  On this show Reagan helps participants change their behaviors or overcome obstacles.  Even with all her work success, she struggles to feel part of her family and have their respect.   When pushed to bring in better ratings by a new boss, Reagan turns to Deva, a New Age healer, who offers some different solutions to have quicker results and not fall on her face on primetime TV.    Reagan then decides to use the powers of the New Age to learn more about her family and change their views of her.




    My Review:




    Twisted Sisters is an odd book, as it has a main character that is not very likable.  Reagan has a higher mightier than thou attitude, criticizing everyone, and making HER opinions known to everyone.   It was sad how her family treated her, as I feel that family should be supportive, but I could also see how they could not always support her due to the fact that she wouldn’t let them.   She felt that life was a contest to see who would be the best, finish first, win more awards, etc. but was never happy or satisfied with her life.   Reagan’s sisters were not nice characters either.   Geri was not supportive and she stepped into Reagan’s life, causing her discomfort, at every chance she could.  Mary Mac was just into her own life too much to worry about anything Reagan was doing. 




    The twist in this book was interesting.    I wish the twist had happen sooner in the book.  It seemed to take a long time to get to the New Age part of this novel.  Some of it seemed to move slow and there were some parts I skimmed over.   Overall, I did enjoy this book and will look for more from Jen Lancaster. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Loved this book. Kind of a deviation from J. La's previous writi

    Loved this book. Kind of a deviation from J. La's previous writing, but good stuff. I hesitated to buy it, but enjoyed the return to "snarky and mean," as one reviewer put it. And, there's a happy ending!  What more could a gal ask for, other than a cherry-red adult tricycle?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Great light read. Smart and funny, I enjoyed the audiobook very

    Great light read. Smart and funny, I enjoyed the audiobook very much, which is read by Ms. Lancaster. Love her wit and sarcasm, along with her storytelling, she's my kind of woman. she also vividly describes the story settings. I'm in Chicago area too, so I can picture many of the scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book and love Deva she is so laid back and r

    Really enjoyed this book and love Deva she is so laid back and ready to help anyone! Look forward to seeing how Reagan and Boyd turn out! HINT HINT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Okay book. It wasn't as good as Ms Lancaster's previous books. I

    Okay book. It wasn't as good as Ms Lancaster's previous books. I was disappointed that I spent so much money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Ick

    I don't know what disturbed me most - the unlikable main character, the blatant Oprah ripoffs (original thoughts would have been nice), or the left field astral projection garbage. Although the twisted reference in the title was supposed to refer to the sibling relationship I believe it refers to the twisting of the authors hands as she cackled at us poor saps for paying money for such crap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    Twisted Fun

    While Jen by far excels at the memoir genre, her odes to her love of all-things "pink jacketed chick lit" are greatly enjoyable and fun reads (especially for warm spring or summer days).

    With her third fiction novel Jen brought back a familiar face from her previous novel, 'Here I Go Again', and has her join a cast of characters that will make you cringe with recognition (especially if your family is even remotely anything like Ms Bishop's) before bowling you over with her trademark wit. Jen then takes the reader on a sibling-rivalry roller coaster filled with loathing, vitriol, mis-identities and more laughs than is probably legal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Long winded and didn't go anywhere

    Didn't care about the characters, not worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Good summer read

    It was okay. I am a fan of her work and even though I was not enamored with this book, it was a decent read and entertaining. I prefer her semi-autobiographical works better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Fantastic!

    I wasn't sure about Jen's fiction after reading so many of her memoirs, but this is by far my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Good but not great

    I've read all of Lancaster's books and like many of the other reviewers tnought this was just - meh. I much prefer when she writes about her own life. It's crazier than the fiction she dreams up. Also I'd hoped the main character would come to her senses but the manner in which she did totally annoyed me. Good thing it happened at the end or I would have stopped reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2