Customer Reviews for

Twitterature: The World's Greatest Books in Twenty Tweets or Less

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good tongue-in-cheek diversion

    I follow AcimanandRensin on Twitter so I knew I had to get "Twitterature" when it arrived in book format. This is a great diversion, quite funny, but if you're expecting the tweets to help your studies fuggheddaboutit. The books are all condensed in such a way to provide both the storyline and a little commentary - in 20 tweets of less (usually less); if you haven't read any of the books Aciman and Rensin condensed you'll be in for a tough time of it because it won't make any sense (the only book in the collection I hadn't read didn't seem terribly funny tweeted, as opposed to "Hamlet" tweeted....which is hilarious).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    Useless Parody

    The authors could read the original texts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    A fun read with a really good interpretation of the classics

    I opened this book to the tweets on Anna Karenina. From that one story, I was hooked. It was a great representation of the classic in a fun and modern way. Some people might not approve of the way in which the classics are "re-interpreted"; however, true classics lovers with a modern sense of humor will greatly enjoy this book. Perfect, short chunks that are easy and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    It's twittastic!

    I purchased this book as an impulse gift for my 19 year old son. And then spent an hour reading it, and laughing. My son loved the gift---and it got the coveted thumbs-up in his dorm room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Hilarious

    Some of the books it feels like the author(s) haven't actually read (and some I haven't ready so I can't tell), but for most of the entries the satire is spot on and brilliant. Quite worth the meagre cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    The Slaughter of Classical Literature

    This is the beginning of the degradation of not only the most important, and influential pieces of history: but a parody on itself as the degradation of modern mankind.

    Twitterature: Cliffnotes too long for ya?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Twitterature lays out the classics 140 characters at a time.

    Have you ever used Cliff Notes to review for a test? Well, Twitterature, by Alexander Aciman and Emmett Rensin, is the Cliff Notes of the Tweeting world, though I do not advise you to use the book to help you study for a test. It is an irreverent look at great works of literature from the point of view of the protagonists. The twist is that the protagonists have a Twitter account.

    That's right. The protagonist tweets the whole book in 140-character tweets using no more than twenty tweets total. Don't worry. A glossary is included in the back of the book for the Twitter uninitiated members among us. This is very useful for those who are still wondering about the value of tweeting in the first place.

    Tweet from (me) @writerobrien:

    Twitterature lays out the classics one tweet at a time answering the question, "What was Hamlet trying to say?" in a manner filled with wit and humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An irreverent-and funny!-look at literature via Twitter

    Last night I decided to do a little reading before going to bed. First I read Moby Dick, then I enjoyed a re-reading of Jane Eyre, and I finished by tackling all seven books in the Harry Potter series. Yes, I speed read, but even with that skill there's no way I could read all those books in one night. No, I didn't use Cliffs Notes. So how did I read all those books? I spent some time with the new book Twitterature.

    The brainchild of two college students, Twitterature combines the simplicity of 140-character "tweets" used within the world of Twitter, with well-known works of literature. No doubt some of the long-dead authors of the classics included in this book (The Iliad, The Old Man and the Sea, The Metamorphosis) are turning over in their graves while at the same time, some serious aficionados of these volumes might very well roll their eyes. However, the rest of us will giggle with laughter.

    The authors do a very good job of summarizing every book, zeroing in on the key themes in each. In addition, they inject quite a bit of humor into the stories.

    From The Picture of Dorian Gray: "My wish came true! The portrait bears the grimace of my malice. Must hide it in my attic. Fantastic! Who said that art was useless?"

    From Romeo and Juliet: "Her nurse asketh if I want to marry Juliet. She is the sun but this is waaay too fast. Am I being punk'd? Where's Ashton?"

    From The Old Man and the Sea: "It is pulling hard. The coast is far away. May be home late." Next entry: "Still being pulled." Next entry: "Still being pulled."

    While I wouldn't recommend this book to prepare for a college test on any book summarized within its pages, Twitterature is none-the-less an hysterical look at over 80 books, from classics to modern, popular tomes such as The Da Vinci Code. For those not well versed in Twitter terms, there is a glossary in the back with common expressions. Parents of young Twitter fans take note: Twitterature contains a fair amount of "colorful" language and may not be appropriate for children/pre-teens.

    Quill says: An irreverent look at both classic and popular literature through the world of Twitter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1