Customer Reviews for

Two Crosses (Secrets of the Cross Trilogy)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Elizabeth Musser in TWO CROSSES AND TWO TESTAMENTS takes a histo

    Elizabeth Musser in TWO CROSSES AND TWO TESTAMENTS takes a historical event - the Algerian war for independence - of which many Americans have very little knowledge - and weaves around that conflict a very interesting story featuring many intriguing characters. The reader is gripped by tragic events as well as by an interesting romance which develops between two of the main characters. The complexity of personal relationships as well as the rapidly changing political events make these novels difficult to lay down. I can't wait for the third book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    I've now read this book twice. The first time was several years

    I've now read this book twice. The first time was several years ago. I
    was ashamed to admit that reading this was one of my first exposures to
    the Algerian wars. One reason I love Elizabeth musser is for her
    historical fiction told so delightfully through lovable and detestable
    characters. I loved it even more the second time I read it knowing I
    would be able to complete the series now that the third will finally be
    printed in English in September. I would definitely recommend it!! It is
    a mix of a love story and the many harsh realities of war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Frustrating

    Left hanging in the end. Didn't like all the jumping around of times, people, and places without explaining how we got there. Loved the main female lead, but disliked the guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    A good read, but a little longer than it needed to be.

    I anxiously pressed forward through the book, wanted to know what happened to each of the many characters. However, toward the end it became somewhat lengthy. It was worth reading, and I'll read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Excellent book

    Great story. Well written. Would highlt recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth Musser in her new book, ┬┐Two Crosses book coverTwo Cro

    Elizabeth Musser in her new book, “Two Crosses book coverTwo Crosses” Book One in the Secrets of the Cross Trilogy published by David C Cook brings us into the life of Gabriella Madison.

    From the back cover: The glimmering Huguenot cross she so innocently wears leads her deep into the shadows.

    When Gabriella Madison arrives in the French village of Castelnau in 1961 to continue her university studies, she doesn’t anticipate being drawn into the secretive world behind the Algerian war for independence from France. And the further she delves into the war efforts, the more her faith is challenged.

    The people who surround her bring a whirlwind of transforming forces—a wise nun who knows more about the war and Gabriela’s past than she’s saying, a lost little girl carrying secret information, and a debonair man with unknown loyalties who pursues Gabriella. When she discovers a long-hidden family, it leads to questions about trust, faith in action, and the power of forgiveness to move beyond the pain of the past.
    I like history and since I was six at the time of the events in this book I had no idea of what was going on back then. Thanks to Elizabeth Musser now I do. The Algerian war of independence began in November 1954 and ended officially on July 3 1962, when France’s President Charles de Gaulle formally renounced his nation’s sovereignty over Algeria and proclaimed its independence. When Gabriella arrives in Castelnau it is September, 1961 so there is still quite a bit of revolution to go. Gabriella is drawn into what is going on and in doing so learns secrets about her own family history. ”Two Crosses” is filled with danger, suspense, thrills and romance. Ms. Musser knows a thing or two about France as she and her husband are missionaries there. If you want to read a rousing yarn that contains a good dose of action and memorable characters that you really care about then “Two Crosses” is the story for you. If you are looking for history you will find it here. If you are looking for a really good romance you will find it here. I liked this book and am really looking forward to the second book in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Two Crosses

    Amazing! BY FAR one of the best books I have ever read! I can't wait to read the rest of this series! Definitely one of my top favorite books! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    pretty Good book

    this book was pretty fascinating, it kept me in suspense. there is lots of twists in it. If u like underground cover ups this book is for u!.I think the author did a good job .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    As a missionaries daughter Gabriella Madison feels out of place

    As a missionaries daughter Gabriella Madison feels out of place in France of 1961. She is taken into the underground world of the Algerian War, and the further in she is pulled the more she questions her faith.

    The characters are well developed and they could be real people on the street. I enjoyed the storyline but in certain parts there was alot of descriptions which sometimes make it a little confusing at times. But all in all I would definitely recommend this book. I also intend to read the next ones in the series.

    Thank you Net Galley and David C. Cook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    In 1961, Gabriella Madison moves to the small village of Casteln

    In 1961, Gabriella Madison moves to the small village of Castelnau in France to attend classes in an exchange program. When one of her professors, David Hoffmann, asks her out, she unknowingly steps into a world of secrets and falls in love. Across the sea, terrorist groups tear Algeria apart with their fight for freedom from France. Gabriella’s professor works secretly to bring children from Algeria to the orphanage and uses the Huguenot cross as a symbol of his group. Things get dicey when the bad guys discover Gabriella and David saves a child during a riot, while Gabriella begins working for the orphanage.

    This is such an intriguing story. Musser paints beautiful pictures of France, including French phrases to add depth to the story. Musser’s characters are so realistic that they feel like old friends, as they attempt to deal with memories and grow in their relationship with the Lord. The background of the Algerian war for independence added interest since this was not part of familiar history for me. You will not want to put this one down. I would recommend it to anyone enjoying history, romance, and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Lagniappe! A little bit more thrown in for free - a term I learn

    Lagniappe! A little bit more thrown in for free - a term I learned while in school in New Orleans and that came to mind as I read these books. Taking time to read books is a luxury anymore - and when I do, I want the time to be well spent. The first two books of the Secrets of the Cross trilogy by Elizabeth Musser that I read over the past few days was definitely time I treasured. The stories unfolded with romance, adventure, intrigue, joys and sorrows, and enough twists and turns in the plot line to keep me grabbing the books for a few more vignettes whenever I had a few minutes to spare. The stories taught me history - enveloped me in a war in my lifetime that I only vaguely know even took place - and included art, poetry, literature, travel, insight into other cultures, philosophy, faith ... and yet these were intertwined in the lives of characters that seem like old friends now and that I hope will walk with me for days to come as I learned much from them. I found the links between World War II and the Algerian War fascinating - It was amazing to me to realize people lived through both of these in France. I've always thought of World War II as almost ancient history even though my dad was in France, Germany and Japan during the war. It all just seems so far removed from my life of ease in the U.S., never worrying about a knock on the door in the middle of the night, and yet as I read of the horrors of the wars, it reminded me of the news reports I hear almost daily from the Middle East and Africa. I'm eagerly awaiting the third book to be released in September as it will deal even more with the Muslim-Christian interaction that is becoming more and more at the center of so many conflicts. So if you want a little more from a book, one that will engage you both intellectually, emotionally and deep in your soul, give The Two Crosses and The Two Testaments a try. P.S. Don't read the back cover of The Two Testaments before you read the first book - it gives away part of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A woman and young girl bonded not only by war but by a Huguenot

    A woman and young girl bonded not only by war but by a Huguenot cross they both share. This novel took me by surprise; I expected it to be rather boring and focused on the Algerian war. I was delighted to see this historical fiction novel also had romantic and suspenseful aspects to it. I thoroughly enjoyed it, although it was rather long and left me hanging in the end. I look forward to reading the sequel “Two Testaments”.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1