BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Two Days after the Wedding (Ladies of Covington Series #6)

Average Rating 5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommend.

    The Covington Series books are wonderfully written especially for older well seasoned women. Joan Medlicott's Covington Series has made me want to read more of her books. Really like her style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Why Do I Keep Reading These Books??

    .....because I'm caught up in the lives of these women and their life in Covington!!! I don't think the writing style is particularly great and each book repeats much of what went on in the book before, but I have grown fond of the characters in the book and I care what happens to them so I continue to buy these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great slice of life for women who have raised their children and now have grandchildren. Goes to show you are always a mother, biological or adoptive.

    The mind keeps maturing even when the body isn't what it used to be. The sweetness of new relationships in older couples is delightful. Also, the restrictions of the young no longer seem that important. Relationships can be whatever suits the particular couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Most excellent!

    This newest book in the Covington series is not only about Hannah Parrish, who, at the age of 75, is going forward with her wedding to George Maxwell (better known as Max), but also about the friendship between three exceptional women who share each other¿s lives. Although Amelia, Grace, and Hannah have lived quietly together in their farmhouse in Covington for several years, they are about to experience life changes that will be vastly different from any they could have expected. We struggle with Grace as she seeks answers on how to control her diabetes, and we take great pleasure in her relationship with her special friend, Bob, as it continues to grow. Then there is Amelia, whom many consider the most fragile member of this trio. After moving to Covington, Amelia discovered an amazing aptitude for photography, but now she seems to be growing weary of several things that are involved in her newfound career. .............. Within the pages of this book, through the relationship between Hannah and Max, we are allowed a rare glimpse into the deep-seated fears of intimacy held by many older people. Although Hannah and Max are getting married, both have neglected to tell the other that what began as friendship and a marriage of convenience, has grown into much more. In fact, to her own surprise, Hannah has come to realize that she has developed a deep love for Max and a surprising desire for passion which she cannot bring herself to discuss with him. Because of this, she is left to agonize over his feelings for her. Has he grown to love her as she loves him? Without the ability to communicate on an intimate level, she might never be sure. ............ Joan Medlicott has my deepest respect. I have found that her perceptiveness and depth of understanding of the emotions of women, at any age, is exceptional, as is her talent for writing. She puts down on paper the feelings and emotions that many feel but are too embarrassed to mention. ............... ***** This is a story about love and friendship at any age and the many ways it can be expressed. If you have been following this series, you will immediately step right back into the lives of Amelia, Grace, and Hannah. However, make no mistake about it, if you have NOT been keeping up with these ladies, you will soon be under their spell and intertwined in their lives. Bravo, Joan! You¿ve done it again! *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A charmer

    In quiet Covington, North Carolina Grace Singleton, Hannah Parrish and Amelia DeClose share a farmhouse. However, change is everywhere, but especially to the three best friends.-------------------- Hannah and Max agree that they will marry soon, but not live together as they will continue to maintain separate homes. Grace worries that her friend Bob, who has moved next door, is too harsh a disciplinarian on her two grandchildren living with her since their mom left for Florida to practice law he thinks Grace lets the infant tyrant two year old Melissa get away with anything including destroying her brother Tyler¿s history report. Amelia¿s photographs have become very popular and people from as far away as New York buy them. In fact, she is going to attend a showing of her work in the big Apple of an impoverished mountain family that lays bare their fall into the ooze below the food chain.---------------- Clearly for fans of the series only, life moves on filled with relationship troubles that lead to changes for the three Tarheel ladies. The story line is obviously character driven by the trio as each has problems to cope with while dealing with other people. However, one must wonder how you¿re going to keep Amelia down on the farm after she seen New York City.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1