Customer Reviews for

Two Girls of Gettysburg

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Read

    I absolutely loved this book. Through Rosanna and Lizzie, you could see how real the war was. So often we are so detached from what really happened that we don't realize the war was fought on people's lawns and farmland. Gettysburg, of course, was a major battle, and both girls are in the thick of it. They have different obstacles to overcome, but they are realistic for the time period. This is a book that you could actually imagine the events taking place in real life. I respect Lizzie, Rosanna too after a while. They are lovable, interesting characters who must overcome their own battles while helping those who fight the physical ones. Rosanna must find her practical, mature side, and Lizzie must decide what she wants to do with the rest of her life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    In Two Girls of Gettysburg Lizzie and her cousin/best friend Ros

    In Two Girls of Gettysburg Lizzie and her cousin/best friend Rosana have the life living in the sleepy little town of Gettysburg. But when the Civil War breaks out, Lizzie's father and brother go off to join the union. Which leaves her the butcher shop to look after. Then when Rosanas beau dies in battle, she goes back home to Richmond, Virginia. If you like a story that keeps you on your toes to see what happens next, a little bit of romance, and a good old civil war book, then this book is PERFECT for you!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Amazing!

    I checked this book out of the library 2 or 3 years ago and it was amazing! It is on my list to buy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Best Book Better

    I cried and laughed at the story of Lizzie . I cried all the time during the story of Rosanna and her beau it is a beautiful story that i almost refused to give back to the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Good

    I started liking this book after all the romance drama was mostly done.the battle parts were good,and i LOVED the patt with Abraham Lincoln.i could live without the romance of it all though ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book. I have read it twice now and will

    I absolutely loved this book. I have read it twice now and will do so again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    STOP CHATROOMING

    Please stop trying to use the reviews as a chatroom! I am already ticked off right now because I was looking at another book and TONS of people were chatrooming! PLEASE STOP or I WILL REPORT THIS TO BARNES AND NOBLE,

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    I need to pee

    Its big and muscely, can you guess oh yessiree, it has to go number three, it is my tushie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sincerely, pottymouth

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I loved this book! I thought i wouldnt enjoy it, but i was wrong. I couldnt put it done. Greate book!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Really good

    I really enjoyed this book. Could'nt put it down! Worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Best book i have ever read.

    I Laughed,cried,was shock.....it was beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Good book!

    This book follows two cousins that support opposite sides during the American Civil War. If you like historical fiction with a little romance, this book is for you. The characters are well developed and relatable. The story offers insight on what the Civil War was like not only for soldiers and nurses, but civilians as well. I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    Very good book!

    I thought it was a good mixture of history but the characters were ones you could relate too not just weird old timey people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    This book was amazing! When I first started it I thought it might be a little dull but I quickly relized that I couldnt put it down. Its a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    I love historical fiction with a splash of romance and this covered it. The characters were wonderful, though Rosanna bugged me often. I couldn't stop reading and on a couple of nights stayed up till one in the morning to read. It had interesting views on the Civil War and offered a view from both sides. The characters were relatable even though it takes place in 1863. Lisa Klein did a wonderful job of discribing the events through two different eyes. It was a GREAT book and I would recommend it for anyone and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book! Klein wrote the girls lives really well. They were peoploe I could relate too, even though they were going through the Civil War. The Civil War aspect made it much more interesting though. Definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book

    If you like historical fiction this is a perfect book for you. It has real facts, and the story is realistic. It follows 2 years in the lives of two cousins/ best friends. Lizzie is the son of a butcher, from Gettysburg, and a Yankee. Rosanna is from Virginia, living in Gettysburg with her widowed sister, and is a rebel. Rosanna ends up running away from Gettysburg, and gets married to a rebel solider, and becomes a nurse in the army. Lizzie takes care of the butcher shop since her father, and twin brother are fighting the war. When the battle of Gettysburg happens, Lizzie and Rosanna are reunited, their lives forever changed. At the end of this book you'll be wanting a sequel it's that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ

    This book is incredible!! It is an awesome book with a little bit of everything! It is a phenomenal book that I recommend for all it is, a page turner that keeps you interested from beginning to end and i guarantee that you will be sad to see the end of this book. You will be wanting a sequel! Please read and enjoy, you will be happy that you did!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2