Customer Reviews for

Two Graves (Special Agent Pendergast Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read,

Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read, and yet read tiny little bits of it at a time to slowly savoring it!!!  For those that follow the Special Agent Pendergast series, of course you have to read this one!  It ties of all of the loose ends and ...
Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read, and yet read tiny little bits of it at a time to slowly savoring it!!!  For those that follow the Special Agent Pendergast series, of course you have to read this one!  It ties of all of the loose ends and unanswered questions from the previous books. I find it very hard to put down any Preston & Child book, but this one has you on the edge of your seat!!

posted by KGL on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

agnes V

Blasphemy and foul language ruined this story for me.

posted by vislo on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    A winner

    Again, i read the book so fast that I can only fault for being over too soon. My favorite characters appeared along with meeting a new one and a new villian. And as always my vocabulary is tested and happily increased!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    love loved it .didn't want to put it down

    love loved it .didn't want to put it down

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Great ending to a great mystery

    I really enjoy reading all of the Preston & Child novels. I actually had to read the first novel over in this trilogy. So I read them all back to back. It was a great way to enjoy the story of Pendagast and his wife. Highly recommend this book and any others by the authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    A good read, the plot was solid -- not sure why the authors work

    A good read, the plot was solid -- not sure why the authors worked Corrie Swanson into this novel at all -- it was more of a distraction than an integral part of the plot or plots in this case.  You get a deeper look at Pendergast (and some of his cracks or weaknesses, a deeper look at Constance Green and even Proctor's character gets more detail.  Overall, just a great read, again the only part that didn't really belong in the book (unless the authors felt she was a loose end) was Corrie Swanson.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A must read if you have read Fever Dream and Cold Vengance

    Two Graves returns to the mystery and adventure surrounding the death and resurection of Helen Pendergast first revealed in Fever Dream and then continued in Cold Vengance. All Pendergast novels ask the reader to suspend belief in biology and physics, and none more so than this one. There is almost non-stop action, chronicled nearly hour by hour. There is the usual mysticism used as a way to advance the plot in a god in the machine fashion. Personally, this effort didn't stand up to the higher standards in Fever Dream for consistency and plot development, and the conclusion is a bit of a let down, but it is a good way to put this chapter of Pendergast's life to rest and move him forward to new adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    As always a great read

    This was as always a very good story although I found it a little harder to read than I generally do this series. But I certainly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great Read

    I just loved it. This book kept me reading well into the wee hours. It was a return to the early works like Relic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Excellent

    I highly recommend to anyone wishing for a thriller and highly excited page turner. It introduces a storyline you can only imagine will develop over time into a side of Pendergast never seen not to mention family members.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Reading Preston and Child for the first time is like riding a bullit train on steriods!

    This was the first novel I read by Preston/Child. I then read ALL of the Pendergast novels,just finishing this one.ALL GREAT READS!!!!! I would love to see a book done using agent Pendergast that is set to humor! GREAT JOB GUYS,KEEP WRITING AND ENTERTAINING!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Wonderful but somewhat farfetched

    I really enjoyed this book. However, at times it felt that some of the twists wet a bit farfetched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent and fun read

    This was my first time reading Preston and Child. I found the storyline to be very far fetched, but it made for an extremely fun and fast read. I will likely read their other books in the Special Agent Pendergast series. It may be best to read the books of this series in sequence to better know the characters, but I found that it stood on its own quite well. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Again, AWESOME book, just couldn't put it down.

    You have to read this book. I love the way more than one character has their own mystery happening while weaving in and out of Agent Pedergast's. I spent 12 hours reading the whole book and can't wait to order the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Scary mom

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Preston & Child Do it Again.

    As usual this book is a very entertaining read. Pendergast is again larger than life and his abilities beyond reality. Preston & Child always come up with unusual plots. I'm addicted to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    pendergast, love him

    can't get enough pendergast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    A good read!

    Agent Pendergast is at it again. The mystery of his wife's birth is revealed. And he has a son!! And what a clever murder is stalking New York, although a very sick individual. Can no one stop him?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pendergast is finally re-united with his wife Helen for a "

    Pendergast is finally re-united with his wife Helen for a "few seconds" before she is kidnapped. This starts a tense and heart pounding chase by Pendergast to rescue her. Later we see Pendergast fall to the lowest emotional depths of his life and none of his friends (Vincent, Laura, Viola) can do much to get him out of his funk.

    As Pendergast is wrestling with his demons, a serial killer tabbed the "hotel killer," is killing hotel guests and leaving weird clues at the scene. Vincent knows that he needs Pendergast's help to find this killer but it seems that will not happen given his current state.

    The book is really divided into three separate plots. Pendergast will later face an enemy greater than Diogenes, Corrie will try to locate and clear her father, and a doctor will try to help Constance (new readers may want to go back to some of the previous Pendergast tales to understand these other characters).

    This book is loaded with tense moments and Messrs Preston and Child have really upgraded their game setting up gripping and action filled scenes. They also do a good job of wrapping up this particular trilogy though I wish that Vincent served a larger role in it. Some of the best prior books were the ones where he is more of a sidekick to Pendergast.

    Overall, this is not the best Pendergast books but it is a very good one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast is part Sherlock Holmes, part eccentric, brilliant and a force to be reckoned with. In spite of grave injuries, no sleep, odds against him, he is unstoppable-you get the idea! He is one of the most unique protagonists in the thriller genre today! He is often machine-like and mysterious. He is a legend.

    The opening pages of the book are cloaked in mystery, an unidentified woman walks slowly through Central Park with her unidentified brother beside her. She is tense, anxious, waiting for someone...and there he is, the world falls away and they are reunited after many years. Pendergast and his wife, Helen are finally together, again. Sadly, it is short-lived and the story takes off from there!

    Actually, there are several stories going on at once! Corrie gets her story fleshed out, following lessons learned watching Pendergast. For Pendergast, who has fallen into deep despair over not being able to hold on to his wife, more shocks are in store! He has sons???? One of them is a twisted criminal. One has lived his life as a cast off at the whim of his brother and the Covenant. They are both the product of Nazi experimentation and study. How does the usually unflappable Pendergast deal with this?

    From page one I was hooked on this dark mystery. Pendergast's character mold is amazing! His looks belie his actions. He has the ability to either make loyal friends or instant enemies. He never leaves a stone unturned. Be prepared to board the train of intrigue and suspense!

    This edition was provided by NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Better than I expected.

    This is book three in a 3 book series, and after a very average book two (Cold Vengeance) I thought the authors actually put together a fairly beliveable story line. Without giving away too much of the story, Agent Pendergrast loses his mind, gets it back again and gets the bad guys. And that is one of three different story lines all happening at the same time. Keep your score card handy, because you are going to need it to keep track of everything going on.

    Now that this story line is over, can we please get back to Pendergrast and Vinny chasing monsters, human and otherwise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Typical great & suspenseful reading from Preston & Child.
    Agent Pendergast comes through as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4