Customer Reviews for

Two Graves (Special Agent Pendergast Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read,

Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read, and yet read tiny little bits of it at a time to slowly savoring it!!!  For those that follow the Special Agent Pendergast series, of course you have to read this one!  It ties of all of the loose ends and ...
Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read, and yet read tiny little bits of it at a time to slowly savoring it!!!  For those that follow the Special Agent Pendergast series, of course you have to read this one!  It ties of all of the loose ends and unanswered questions from the previous books. I find it very hard to put down any Preston & Child book, but this one has you on the edge of your seat!!

posted by KGL on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

agnes V

Blasphemy and foul language ruined this story for me.

posted by vislo on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read,

    Two Graves is RIVETING!! I wanted to devour it all in one read, and yet read tiny little bits of it at a time to slowly savoring it!!!  For those that follow the Special Agent Pendergast series, of course you have to read this one!  It ties of all of the loose ends and unanswered questions from the previous books. I find it very hard to put down any Preston & Child book, but this one has you on the edge of your seat!!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    DLK

    This book was FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!! Couldn't put it down!!!!!!! It has everything!! Suspense, wrenching twists and turns and a vocab stretching!!!! This is Preston and child at their very best!!!! A top notch book!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Outstanding This was a great trilogy. Read the whole series in

    Outstanding
    This was a great trilogy. Read the whole series in just a few days. Would love to see another book added to the series. GREAT!!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    I could not be more thrilled to have Agent Pendergast back!!! Ve

    I could not be more thrilled to have Agent Pendergast back!!! Very unexpected story twists, and typical Pendergastian originality. I loved it!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    The best Pendergast novel yet!

    This novel is for the serious fan of good, solid, literary fiction. It is the culmination of several Pendergast novels and the best one yet. Each page of the 517 nook pages was a true "turner." I could not put it down. I only missed some of the peripheral characters that usually take part in his adventures. Many questions were answered and resolved and each time a new novel comes out we learn more about the very complicated Penergast and his family.
    I highly recommend this read to all serious followers of Preston and Child. I can't wait or the next one to appear.
    If I were still teaching English, I would love to do a psychiatric evaluation with my students about Aloyisus Pendergast!
    Thumbs up all around.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    This is the best Pendergast novel to date. It completes at least

    This is the best Pendergast novel to date. It completes at least one plot story, while leaving open at least one. We see a different side of Aloysius
    but his Bond-ish style is still present. Character development of others continues, giving the reader incentive to keep reading this great series. I'm always amazed that two writers can collaborate on complex story lines and make it appear to be written by one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Love anything these guys write and I love the Pendergast books.

    Love anything these guys write and I love the Pendergast books. Preston and Child you need to write faster, I love all your books. Two Graves is great I love it...Hurry up with your new book...I love all your books you write., Keep them coming.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THIRD IN THE TRILOGY This book follows up on ¿Fever Dream¿ and ¿

    THIRD IN THE TRILOGY
    This book follows up on “Fever Dream” and “Cold Vengeance”. It features a darker side to Aloysius Pendergast. He is transported from a suicidal depression to an all encompassing obsession for revenge which powers nearly superhuman feats that would make James Bond proud. D’Agosta, the vulgar, outspoken, New York Detective, plays a lesser role than usual due to a temporary rift with Pendergast. Several threads run through the story that have little to do with the main plot line. One involves the background of his ward, Constance Greene, currently residing in an institution for the criminally insane, and the efforts of her psychiatrist, Dr. Felder, to risk life and limb to verify her seemingly impossible tale. Another less interesting thread involves Corrie Swanson, the young Goth in hiding for pilfering Nazi documents pertinent to Pendergast’s quest, and her quest to prove her father’s innocence on a bank robbery charge. The plot takes several unexpected twists and turns which serve to introduce a new ward who can be expected to continue under Pendergast’s care and a new villain which will undoubtedly resurface in the future. This book is a satisfying ending to the trilogy featuring the apparent death of Perdergast’s wife Helen associated with medical experimentation with a rare avian virus with Nazi involvement, and Pendergast’s quest to save Helen and punish and thwart those responsible. However, this book would be much less satisfying to those who had not read the first two books of the trilogy.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Kind of bummed that I paid for pre-order and it is free today!!!

    Kind of bummed that I paid for pre-order and it is free today!!! Enjoyed I love all the books by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Phenominal

    Preston and Child have once again crafted a wonderful ride of a story! It is very weel written and extremely captivating! I couldn't put it down and now desperately await another tale of their creation!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This is the last chapter in the trilogy and, if you read of the other books in the series, you defiently don't want to miss this one!!
    Just FAB!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    HAVE TO HAVE

    Well, right up front there are two "OH NO, I can't believe this happened" moments and then Agent Pendergast is off on another wild adventure. As usual, its spellbinding. Have not finished yet and resent having to work when I could be reading about Agent Pendergast! Oh, and Carrie too (love her). If you are contemplating buying a book other than this one, then DON'T!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    A MUST-READ , FOR SURE

    THEY DID IT ONCE MORE.......BRILLIANT WRITING AND THE PULL OF THE STORY TO NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN.!!!! A MAGNETIC, BUTT-PINCHER WITH OUR BELOVED CHARACTER AT HIS BEST, EVEN AT THE WORST OF TIMES.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Another winner!

    I absolutely love the Preston and Child novels, especially the agent Pendergast series. this one had all the twists and surprises I've come to expect. couldn't stop reading it - it was great.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Love this book!

    As always these two gentlemen know how to put a story together!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    12 books into this series and still going strong. Reading a Preston and Child book is like strapping yourself to a rocket and taking off. The pages fly by - the story never lets up and the reader gets swept along with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Excellent

    Very exciting, I came late to the pendergast books, but when ii received my nook for my birthday, I was also given all 12 of the pendergast books. I read the first two and didn't think the series would be one I would enjoy, as they were more fantasy than anything else. I am glad I kept reading because the series isn't fantasy, but a very well written part detective/ part character study. So. because they were a gift I kept reading, I am not sure when I realized I was hooked, but hooked I am. My only problem now is that I am on the last one, and am trying to figure out how to make it last until november when the next one comes out. I love how the authors don't "dumb it down" and have even had to reach for my dictionary several times. . .....
    .these. .may.... be....

    Written more for men. But ladies will enjoy it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    GREAT series!

    Preston and Child score another hit in their "Pendergast" series. I have loved these stories since first reading "Cabinet of Curiousities" and haven't stopped. I'm normally not a huge fan of series as most seem to be fairly repetitious and rehashing the same things over and over again, but I would recommend this series to adults who are fans of the "Hannibal" series and love such shows as "Dexter," "The Following." and "Elementary," with a bit of a mystical twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    loved it

    love all in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Wow - I don't want it to end

    Another great book in a great series - I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7