Customer Reviews for

Two Kisses for Maddy: A Memoir of Loss & Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    You'll Cry, Laugh ... Truly An Incredible Book.

    I absolutely loved this book! From page one the book is engaging ... You will find yourself welling up with tears at unexpected, incomprehensibly-painful moments ... and then a few pages later, in reading of a much lighter moment, you will catch yourself chuckling out loud (without a care as to whom may see/hear you doing so). In reading the book, you'll find yourself thinking, "I want to be loved like Matt loves Liz!" It is a love story that was meant to end with the words "... and they lived happily ever after." But life, tragically, altered the script. The book offers a life affirming -- and love affirming -- perspective in moving through (not past) grief with hope, perseverance and honoring the life well-lived. You'll definitely want to buy extra copies of the book for the people you cherish. Because a great book, like this one, is meant to be shared not shelved. While the book was written as a gift to the author's wife, Liz, and daughter, Madeline ... it truly is a gift to us all.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    LOVED it, but ...

    I am giving the book four stars, because even though I really enjoyed it, the language was loathsome at times. I honestly feel like the bad language served to limit my ability to connect to the author and story. I realize it is a memoir, and Matt was only being honest with his emotions, but I would not be being honest if I gave the book five stars. There were no warnings on the cover regarding the language, so stumbling upon the first f-bomb caught me by surprise. Despite that, I chose to keep going because I had to see how it ended.

    What concerns me most about the book is that he wrote this intending for it to benefit his daughter some day. I would like to think that as a father, he would set higher standards for his daughter. All my life, I never heard my father utter the "f" word. I lost my dad suddenly a month ago (stroke), and we were sitting around sharing memories, and my brother repeated a conversation he had recently with my dad, where my dad exclaimed, "what the f--- was that?!" I told my brother I never heard my dad say that word, to which he said, "he said it." It suddenly occurred to me that I experienced the side of my dad that he "allowed" out of a certain amount of respect for his daughter, and ladies in general. It made me admire him all the more.

    The other thing was that I was surprised to learn that Matt is a "non-believer", especially after his experience in losing Liz. I saw signs of God everywhere, even though he says he does not believe in signs. When the teller at the bank breaks down crying at the sight of Matt's tears, all of the beautiful places on the Earth that Matt and Liz were (extremely) fortunate enough to experience together before she left, the beautiful replica of Liz in Maddy, the fact that he ended up in the same place on Liz's birthday that she was the year before, without him knowing beforehand--and even, the irony that Maddy held her bottle there for the first time ever, must have been a gift for them both to share together--and that's not all. The very way he is responding to the outpour of others' caring (what I would consider God working through people)--and insisting on returning the blessings by giving them back. That is the way that God tells us to live our lives. In addition, there were so many similarities between the couple and my husband and I. Liz sounds like just the kind of person I was (about 10 years ago, I've changed a lot in a decade, however, I am still 4'll). I even called my husband a "pus**" all the time! The number 7 was always my favorite number (and lucky number). I feel that 7 is one of God's special "completion" numbers (will not diverge on that explanation here). However, my husband's lucky number is 13, so he insisted we get married on June 13th (FRIDAY THE 13TH!!!!). Also, I have always wanted to live in Pasadena, CA. The fact that Maddy was seven months old when he returned to work; they first rode in Liz's car it had 77,777 miles on it ... man, how could he not see that? What are the chances of all these things?? And, I think him assuming that Liz would not want Maddy to be told of the possibility of God's existence could be off base here. Let's face it, Liz did claim the Catholic religion in the hospital, and the way that she absolutely loved Christmas, obviously her spirit recognized something deeper at the very least. Regardless, I appreciate Matt's commitment to share his experience; i

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Breathtaking

    All the blurbs have been truly amazing. Matt's book has been a long time coming and very much anticipated by his loyal blog readers and fans. Having read his blog myself, just the title alone brings tears to my eyes. He's got an incredible story...not unique, as many people out there will be able to relate on some level or another...however his way of coping and expressing his thoughts and feelings through his writting has created a following that not even he could have ever imagined. His writing is eloquent, deep, poised, heartwrenching, thought provoking, but most of all it's real. It's a real man's feelings and actions in dealing with a terribly horrible situation, of which he manages to turn around for the better. Whether you think you can relate or not, it's worth the read and will have you captivated from the moment you crack it open, until, well forever.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a very sad story. I truly felt his pain, it seemed that the grief that consumed him would never go away. But he was left with a beautiful gift, a daughter, and a reason to continue on with his life the best way he knew how. I have only one complaint, the use of the F word throughout the book. Did he really think it would make a better read. I felt offended. This word does not have a place in this type of story. Out of respect for his wife's memory and his daughter.
    Is using this word the norm for writers now days, this is the second book I have read this week that the F word was used in practically every sentence.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Loved the book!

    Great book about love, loss and the steps one takes through the grieving process.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I do not do reviews although I take the time to read them before I pick out a book. Hoever, I decided this book deserved my review! Having recently lost someone close to me I decided this would be a good read. I was right! Matt is very REAL. The one thing I hate the most is "self help books" this is anything but. You learn from his story and take what you want. I could have gotten through this book in one day but took several days as I did not want the story to end. Thank you Matt for sharing your story with us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Simply wonderful.

    I just finished Matt's book this past weekend and it was just excellent. His candid writing style and ability to feel his pain were well done. It's an outstanding "Taj Mahal" for his wife Liz, and gift to his daughter. Thanks for the great read, Matt!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Please read... you won't be disappointed!

    If you've been reading Matt's blog, you're going to love his book. Matt has a way of tugging at the heart strings. He's done an outstanding job of raising his beautiful little girl during a very sad time and I'm so glad he's using this tragic situation to help people out. Although I haven't read the book yet, I'm really looking forward to April 2011.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    It's a tear jerker, but a great story of what love and a child can get you through.

    I loved this story. It showed me what the love of a husband and wife is all about and getting through a very difficult time for the sake of your child...especially that it is from a mans perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    HEART BREAKING, But Honest.

    Thank you for sharing your soul in this powerful memoir. This story can teach us all to be thankful for the blessings in our lives. It was absolutely refreshing for a guy to be so honest about his feelings. God bless you and Maddy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Beautiful

    A hauntingly beautiful written story of loss, life, and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Heartfelt

    I+really+enjoyed+the+book.+I+read+it+in+2+days.+It+was+amazing+to+feel+how+much+he+loved+his+wife+but+stayed+strong+for+his+daughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Good reading but depressing at times

    Not often a book brings me to tears. . . Well written. . . Gives a good perspective on the topic of male grief since this has not been covered very well and in such detail. As depressing and sad as it was, I could not stop reading and was hoping for a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    What a touching book

    What a touching book of loss and love. Matt is a wonderful daddy and Maddy is a very lucky little girl to have him. Keep up the good work Matt. This book will allow Maddy to know how much she was loved and wanted by her mommy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    A must read

    I have followed Matt's blog for quite some time and have waited in anticipation for the release of his book! I'm not a big reader and this book captured my attention from the very start. When you read his story you feel as if you've walked right beside him the entire way. Liz would be so proud of Matt and how he has handled his life without her. It takes a very special man to open up his heart and let us be part of his journey. Congrats Matt! The book is incredible!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Heartbreaking, yet loving and inspirational

    I could not put this down. Through its sadness, the love prevails. The love of a husband and wife. The love of a dad and his daughter. The love of a mom and daughter...no matter how brief. It eventually brings us back to the love of family. Though heartbreaking (have tissues on hand) it is inspirational and thought provoking at the same time. A DEFINITE read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Astounding

    Truly a beautiful book. Heartbreaking story of the trials of life and how one really can not only survive but thrive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Offended

    The father uses horrible language. There is a cuss word on almost every page. I did not finish this book, one of the fist times ever. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Daniels

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 244 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13