Customer Reviews for

The Two Princesses of Bamarre

Average Rating 4.5
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Incredible, touching read

'Two Princesses of Bamarre' is yet another incredible book from Gail Carson Levine. It takes place in Bamarre, a mythical kingdom plagued by monsters such as spectres, ogres, and dragons. Centuries ago, the great hero Draught came to the land of Bamarre and fought off m...
'Two Princesses of Bamarre' is yet another incredible book from Gail Carson Levine. It takes place in Bamarre, a mythical kingdom plagued by monsters such as spectres, ogres, and dragons. Centuries ago, the great hero Draught came to the land of Bamarre and fought off many of the monsters, but left after his love, Freya, was killed. Now, the monsters have returned in full strength. The king of Bamarre has two daughters the elder, Meryl, is brave and adventurous, while the younger, Addie, is frightened by everything and prefers to be rescued rather than rescue. But Addie must rise to the challenge after Meryl is struck with grey death- a mysterious illness that begins with weakness, followed by seven days of sleep, and then three days of fever. At the end of the third day, the victim always dies. No cure has been found, but now Addie must set out, leaving the comforts of the palace behind, and face all the monsters of Bamarre to save her sister. 'The Two Princesses of Bamarre' is bittersweet and touching, and I cried when I read the ending. The tie-ins between Draught and Addie are clever, and the characters are deep and real. I felt Rhys was a little 2-D, and the romance between him and Addie was unneccessary and would do better without. But overall, a great read and a neccessary one. I would recommend this book for 8-14 year old girls, although older girls may still enjoy it. It will probably be too long a read for anyone below second grade. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Two Princesses of Bamarre

It was OK, and it definitely has Levine's unique touch but it pales in comparison to Ella Enchanted.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Incredible, touching read

    'Two Princesses of Bamarre' is yet another incredible book from Gail Carson Levine. It takes place in Bamarre, a mythical kingdom plagued by monsters such as spectres, ogres, and dragons. Centuries ago, the great hero Draught came to the land of Bamarre and fought off many of the monsters, but left after his love, Freya, was killed. Now, the monsters have returned in full strength. The king of Bamarre has two daughters the elder, Meryl, is brave and adventurous, while the younger, Addie, is frightened by everything and prefers to be rescued rather than rescue. But Addie must rise to the challenge after Meryl is struck with grey death- a mysterious illness that begins with weakness, followed by seven days of sleep, and then three days of fever. At the end of the third day, the victim always dies. No cure has been found, but now Addie must set out, leaving the comforts of the palace behind, and face all the monsters of Bamarre to save her sister. 'The Two Princesses of Bamarre' is bittersweet and touching, and I cried when I read the ending. The tie-ins between Draught and Addie are clever, and the characters are deep and real. I felt Rhys was a little 2-D, and the romance between him and Addie was unneccessary and would do better without. But overall, a great read and a neccessary one. I would recommend this book for 8-14 year old girls, although older girls may still enjoy it. It will probably be too long a read for anyone below second grade. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    The best Gail Carson Levine book that I have ever read

    The Two Princesses of Bamarre is a fascinating book filled with suspense, action, drama, romance, and lastly, a young lady's loyalty and love for her sister. I read this story for a book report last year and could not put it down. My eyes widened and I smiled as I got excited reading many parts of the book, and I squealed during all the romantic and surprising areas. This book opened so many doors in my Literature selection. I used to be very picky about books and I wasn't drawn to them as much as I am now. I never thought that I would be so interested in romance and action! I definitely recommend this book to readers of all ages.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Greatest Book, The Two Princesses of Bamarre!

    This book was absolutly great especially for a fantasy lover like me. It has fantasy creatures, action, adventure, love and suspense all in one. If you are a fantasy lover this book is DEFINATELY for you!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book

    Ella Enchanted (the movie) was good, the book---not so much. The Two Princesses of Bamarre however was fantastic. It had all the elements of a good story, adventure, sci-fi, love, danger, and the main character found herself. The storeyline was great (although a bit childish at times) and was an overall great read!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Interesting...

    This book is funny and packed with thrilling adventures of a princess afraid of just about everything. It was good. I wouldn't rate 5 stars because I had a problem with the ending but that's just my opinion. I don't want to be responsible for you not reading a book that you may really like. Before taking my advice, ask around.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!

    i loved this book the moment i started it...haha i started it when i was 5 and i finished it when i was 12 lol it was really confusing then...whatever...you have to read this its awsome!!!LUV IT!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Amazing

    This book you dont just read, you live.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    Could not put it down!

    This is an awsome book. From the moment that I picked it up, I couldn't put it down and I felt myself being sucked into this fantasy world of princesses and sorcerers and dragons. It keeps you on your toes at every turn of the page! I love how happy the ending turns out, and it just leaves you with a happy feeling inside!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    great book!

    The Two Princesses of Bamarre was one of the best I've read! A fairytale story with lots of adventure. Addie and Meryl are very different but are both brave and love each other. The story is told by Addie, the shy one, who learns more about herself and finds love as she goes out to find a cure for Meryl. It was just kind of weird when Rhys was gone for 30 pages and came back. The time when he and Addie were apart kind of messed up the effect. In think effect is the word. Well, I couldn't put the book down! Gail Carson Levine is one of my favorite authors, even though I've only read 2 of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    this is one of my FAVORITE books, but i wouldn't reccomend it to

    this is one of my FAVORITE books, but i wouldn't reccomend it to anyone over about 5th grade or under first grade. Parents. if you are checking for child appropriacy, it has some killing and death appropriate for about second-graders and up. gail carson levine is a fabulous author and if you enjoy this book, or ella enchanted, you should read fairest and a tale of two castles, however, fairest is slightly longer and a tale of two castles is more entertaining for the older person.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    I loved this story

    This is an amazing story, i thought that it was very origanal and i loved how you could really feel how princess Addie grew in the story, at the beging she was this timmed little girl (and she was a litle girl wether her age said she was or not) but by the end she had grown into a brave young women. it's really amazing!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    A Weird Story

    the writting is good and all yet it can really anoy you!! I whould expect more from the author of Ella Eechanted!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Two Princesses of Bamarre

    I think this book was great! I finished it in 2 1/2 hours! I LOVED it! Gail Carson Levine writes the best books ever! I love how there are so many diffrent things going on at once in her books, and how there are so many diffrent charecters, with diffrent personalities! I think that if you haven't read one of Gails carson's books you're really missing out on something! ( =

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Great story

    This book was good i loved it!! Gail Carson Levine is one of my fav authors. The ending is execllent it made me cry but it was good that is all i am saying. Read it it is worth ur time

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Read It Now!!

    This book was great. From the moment I picked it up, I knew it was going to be an awesome book. It's about a girl named Addie who must search for a cure for a deadly diease that her sister has. She must battle monsters and feelings alike. A compelling read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Wonderful

    This is a charming, wonderfuly woven fairy tale. It shows how love can motivate us to do things we would never have done before. It has humor, love, and action. A totally enjoyable book to read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    Great Story for Anyone!

    This is one of the most amazing books EVER! I love fairy tales and fantasy stories, and I could not put this book down! Gail Carson Levine wrote it so beautifully with so much feeling that it felt like you were living the story, and could really relate to the characters. This is an adventure of a lifetime for Addie, and there are twists around every cornor, including an ending you'd never guess-but that's all I'm saying!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    IT'S MY ALL TIME FAVORITE!!

    This book was the best that I've ever read! It only took me 2 hours to read! This book has two princesses who are sisters, but they are totaly different. Meryl is brave and Addie is shy. Meryl is longing to find the cure for the Grey Death, but she ends up catching it! So Addie sets out to save her sister. She has the help of her friend Rhys. You absolutly must must MUST read this book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Incredible!!!

    This book was incredible. It showed that even the weak can truly be strong and the strong love of two sisters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Wonderful book.

    This book was a masterpiece from the beginning to the end. People may say Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings books are the best, and I agree that they are excellent but this is by far the most well written story I have ever read. I hope i can someday write as well as Gail does.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 308 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16