Customer Reviews for

The Two Princesses of Bamarre

Average Rating 4.5
( 308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Incredible, touching read

'Two Princesses of Bamarre' is yet another incredible book from Gail Carson Levine. It takes place in Bamarre, a mythical kingdom plagued by monsters such as spectres, ogres, and dragons. Centuries ago, the great hero Draught came to the land of Bamarre and fought off m...
'Two Princesses of Bamarre' is yet another incredible book from Gail Carson Levine. It takes place in Bamarre, a mythical kingdom plagued by monsters such as spectres, ogres, and dragons. Centuries ago, the great hero Draught came to the land of Bamarre and fought off many of the monsters, but left after his love, Freya, was killed. Now, the monsters have returned in full strength. The king of Bamarre has two daughters the elder, Meryl, is brave and adventurous, while the younger, Addie, is frightened by everything and prefers to be rescued rather than rescue. But Addie must rise to the challenge after Meryl is struck with grey death- a mysterious illness that begins with weakness, followed by seven days of sleep, and then three days of fever. At the end of the third day, the victim always dies. No cure has been found, but now Addie must set out, leaving the comforts of the palace behind, and face all the monsters of Bamarre to save her sister. 'The Two Princesses of Bamarre' is bittersweet and touching, and I cried when I read the ending. The tie-ins between Draught and Addie are clever, and the characters are deep and real. I felt Rhys was a little 2-D, and the romance between him and Addie was unneccessary and would do better without. But overall, a great read and a neccessary one. I would recommend this book for 8-14 year old girls, although older girls may still enjoy it. It will probably be too long a read for anyone below second grade. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Two Princesses of Bamarre

It was OK, and it definitely has Levine's unique touch but it pales in comparison to Ella Enchanted.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Incredible, touching read

    'Two Princesses of Bamarre' is yet another incredible book from Gail Carson Levine. It takes place in Bamarre, a mythical kingdom plagued by monsters such as spectres, ogres, and dragons. Centuries ago, the great hero Draught came to the land of Bamarre and fought off many of the monsters, but left after his love, Freya, was killed. Now, the monsters have returned in full strength. The king of Bamarre has two daughters the elder, Meryl, is brave and adventurous, while the younger, Addie, is frightened by everything and prefers to be rescued rather than rescue. But Addie must rise to the challenge after Meryl is struck with grey death- a mysterious illness that begins with weakness, followed by seven days of sleep, and then three days of fever. At the end of the third day, the victim always dies. No cure has been found, but now Addie must set out, leaving the comforts of the palace behind, and face all the monsters of Bamarre to save her sister. 'The Two Princesses of Bamarre' is bittersweet and touching, and I cried when I read the ending. The tie-ins between Draught and Addie are clever, and the characters are deep and real. I felt Rhys was a little 2-D, and the romance between him and Addie was unneccessary and would do better without. But overall, a great read and a neccessary one. I would recommend this book for 8-14 year old girls, although older girls may still enjoy it. It will probably be too long a read for anyone below second grade. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book

    Ella Enchanted (the movie) was good, the book---not so much. The Two Princesses of Bamarre however was fantastic. It had all the elements of a good story, adventure, sci-fi, love, danger, and the main character found herself. The storeyline was great (although a bit childish at times) and was an overall great read!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Interesting...

    This book is funny and packed with thrilling adventures of a princess afraid of just about everything. It was good. I wouldn't rate 5 stars because I had a problem with the ending but that's just my opinion. I don't want to be responsible for you not reading a book that you may really like. Before taking my advice, ask around.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    great book!

    The Two Princesses of Bamarre was one of the best I've read! A fairytale story with lots of adventure. Addie and Meryl are very different but are both brave and love each other. The story is told by Addie, the shy one, who learns more about herself and finds love as she goes out to find a cure for Meryl. It was just kind of weird when Rhys was gone for 30 pages and came back. The time when he and Addie were apart kind of messed up the effect. In think effect is the word. Well, I couldn't put the book down! Gail Carson Levine is one of my favorite authors, even though I've only read 2 of her books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    A Weird Story

    the writting is good and all yet it can really anoy you!! I whould expect more from the author of Ella Eechanted!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    The Best Book Gail Carson Levine has Written!

    This story was the coolest 'fairytale' I have ever read. All the fairytale monsters were really cool. The way Addie discovers herself is great. But the ending was really sad.:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    An Excellent Adventure

    The story is excellent. Seeing Addie bloom because of her sister's illness and the suspense of whether she shall save Meryl is exciting and wonderful to read. Ms. Carson Levine writes so beautifully and skillfully that you never get bored and you believe you are in Bammarre. I definetly reccommend this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2002

    EXCELLENT MUST READ BOOK!

    Gail Carlson Levine has done it once again, with this great epic story of two sisters that are very different. When one encouters the Gray Death what shall her sister do?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2001

    Exciting and fun

    This book is exciting and you think you can guess what will happen next-- but sometimes you cant!!! it has some beautiful poetry in it. I defently recomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Original and Splendid!

    The book was so exciting that I couldn't put it down! I enjoyed all the charaters like Rhys the wizard. If you enjoy Fantasy Books then this is for you! I highly reccomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Fun, But doesn't compare with Ella...

    I am half way through with this book, and am enjoying it but finding it much slower than Ella Enchanted. Also, although the characters are interesting, neither Princess Adelina, nor Princess Meryl stands as out as a character that is really great to read about, because they complement each other to nicely, and never fight! Since this book is still in Hardcover, I would say it is worth reading but to wait til it comes out in paper back:-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    Pretty Good

    This book ranked right up there with Ella Enchanted as one of my #1 favorite books... until the end. The ending wasn't really sad, but it was difficult to understand. It was kind of vague, not the out-and-out happy endings that I've known Gail Carson Levine to have in her books- it was more bittersweet. Nonetheless, it was still pretty good and it deserves 4 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    One of my middleschool favorites

    Still a good one I love to return to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    Princess Adelina (Addie) is the exact opposite of her older sister, Meryl. She's shy,timid, and prefers to do quiet inside activities.

    Every year, a horrible disease called the Gray Death kills people every year. When Meryl catches it, Addie must find her courage to go on a quest to find the cue. Or will she be to late to save her sister?

    This book was pretty good. It was better than Ever, but Fairest is the best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    I Have Read Better, but it's not bad

    This book is well written, but it sound much more exciting than it actually was, anyway the ending is unexpected but I really didn't like how sad it was. So if you are looking for a comepletely happy ending look elswhere, otherwise it is pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    dis book iz soooo good...i wanted 2 give it a 4.5 cuz its really hard 4 me 2 give out a 5....i would totally recommend it 2 every1...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Quest to find the cure

    The book I read was called 'The Two Princesses of Bamarre', and was written by Grail Carson Levine. This book is really a fantasy story will not really cause royalty and princesses do exist, and this story is about two sister who are princesses. They live with their father, and sadly their mother died when they were little, so a servant took care of them. The tragedy in this story is that there is a disease called the gray death. Its around killing people and the sad part is that one of the sisters has the gray death and its up to the other sister to save her. Addie is one of the two princesses, she is fearful and shy. Her deepest wish is her safety. Meryl the other princess of Bamarre is bold and brave, and her deepest wish is to save the kingdom Bamarre. Her father the king of Bamarre is always out and taking care of business and he's hardly at his palace. Addie and her sister Maryl doesn't of her father, but they do from a servant who took care since they were little, and thats why Addie and Maryl love her so much like a second mom. A tragedy has happened at the kingdom of Bamarre, Maryl has caught the great death. Its up to Addie to save her. Maryl has a high fever and nothing could cure the gray death, but to bring special water from a river, but first Addie has to fight with dragons, ogres, and other magical creatures. The only problem is that Addie is frightened of everything. Now she has to be brave for her sister so she can save her life. Addie goes on a quest to get the water that her sister Maryl needs so she can be cured from the gray death. The only problem is that Addie is trapped in the dragons cave and she can't escape, she is worried because time is running out, and her sister Maryl is dying and has a few days to live. With her trapped in the cave she can't do anything about it, unless she stabs the dragon. If they had found the cure for the gray death on time, then they would have saved a lot of people's lives. Nobody knew what was the cure for gray death, it could be anything. They tried everything to cure it, but nothing worked and people were dying. Addie was the first one to discover it. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about royalty, kingdom, and princesses. I give it a thumbs up because I liked it it was interesting because it was incredible that a frightened sister goes into a quest to save Maryl's life from gray death. She left her fears in the past and got big enough to go on the quest for sister and bring the cure for. Addie sacrices her life for her sister and that is amazing, and that means she really loves her sister.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Awesome Book!!!!

    A very sad, passonate, exicting, scary, unpredictable, sisterly book i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Fantasic...

    I loved it and i'm 13!! I totally got what was going on. I loved all the adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    What a Book!

    This book is a great fantasy and has thrilling characters. It has the wonderful world of make believe, but it still holds a good moral and down-to-earth characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3